Favourite Beer

Went on a bit of a road trip last weekend to the Southern Highlands of NSW, picked up 3 localish microbrews.

A Wig and Pen "Kembery" Ale which was a little underwhelming. Wife thought it tasted like old dishwater. :eek:

And Bowral Brewing's Pigs Fly Pilsner and Pigs Fly Pale Ale. The pilsner was not so good, seemed weak in flavour, but the Pale Ale was top quality.

Went on a bit of a road trip last weekend to the Southern Highlands of NSW, picked up 3 localish microbrews.

A Wig and Pen "Kembery" Ale which was a little underwhelming. Wife thought it tasted like old dishwater. :eek:

And Bowral Brewing's Pigs Fly Pilsner and Pigs Fly Pale Ale. The pilsner was not so good, seemed weak in flavour, but the Pale Ale was top quality.
I've had Pig's Fly PA before. Fresh from the brewery would have been very nice indeed.

After going to Melbourne on the weekend, and experiencing the accessibilty of craft brews, I feel we are being robbed here in Sydney. You can go anywhere in Melbourne, and there is at least a couple of Mountain Goats, and maybe a 'homebrew' of the establishment on tap. Here, we are lucky to have a JS variety in 1/2 the places.

Really? Hahn Super Dry is fairly rubbish, but as far as Australian macro lagers go, I reckon it's definitely one of the least offensive. It's low carb too, which makes it very useful for getting trashed on. Would take it over Corona any day of the week.

In Mexico none of the locals drink Corona - they call it watered down Gringo beer - all the Mexicans drink TELCATE

Oddly enough, I found the Kembery Ale to be much better a couple of months after buying it, after just sitting in the fridge. I got a six pack for my birthday, and had five of them over a couple of weeks, and they were alright, but pretty ordinary compared to some of the other stuff the Wig and Pen put out. Basically a macro lager with a bit more hop flavour and without the metallic flavour a lot have. Not bad, but boring. But I found one nestled at the back of the fridge a couple of months later, and it was as if it was a different beer. Much hoppier, much more like an APA, and really quite good. Seems very odd, firstly for it to have aged noticably after only a couple of months of sitting in the fridge, secondly for it to have aged well at all given the style, and finally for it to have aged the way it did (becoming hoppier? WTF?). Maybe I had just eaten something which emphasised certain flavours, and it hadn't really changed at all, I don't know, but I was very pleasantly surprised.

Haven't tried the Pigs Fly Pilsner, but their Pale Ale goes alright. There are plenty better pale ales at a similar or better price range (LCPA and Fat Yak, for example), but it's not a bad option when choices are limited, or it's on sale.

Went to one of the Belgian Beer Cafes here yesterday arvo, (currently doing their "Drink 42 different Belgian beers in 6 months and get a plaque on the wall" dealie - 9 to go in the Cup :p) and had one of these:

busham.jpg

Phewwwweeeeee! :eek: even knowing it was 12% didn't really expect to clearly taste the alcohol in it, particularly compared to the more subtle Rochefort 10 and Westvleteren. A very complex toasty heavy flavour.

Had a Chimay Blanche and a La Guillotine as well, so that didn't help matters, but still. :eek:

My housemate bought me a few beers for my birthday, and sank this one yesterday:

75845.jpg

Also known as 'Disputin', due to Old Rasputin belonging to another Russian Imperial Stout brewed by North Coast in the States.

Was my first ever Russian Imperial South and it was awesome. Individually numbered bottles. Like the Rochefort 10 in terms of consistency and syrupiness, but with a stout punch. Will be trying a few more Imperial Stouts, for sure.

Look for BrewDog IS's. Stuff like Tokyo*, Paradox, Abstrakt varieties. All can be found at Slowbeer. Held in high regard.

Also, look for Barleywine styles. Just as big and complex as a IS.

Just wondering what you favourite beer is or if you have any sugestions for some I could try.
Just had a carton of Millars cold filtered supposedly American beer. But I think its brewed in the east under instruction from the brewery in the USA.
But it is very very nice. Cost me $47 dollars for a carton of 24 but the bottle size is
330ml so it is a little dear , but nice taste.

Delicious over the bar at the Carringbush pub.
Is that the Hightail Ale? Should try the Rare Breed Double Hightail Ale.

The MG Rare Breed series are very good. The Rare Breed IPA is an excellent Australian English IPA.

dear god.. this thread is full of fudgepackers.. how can you not like crown lager, coldies etc... they sure as hell taste better than all that "imported" foreign stuff that tastes like soda water mixed with off date fruit.. harden up the lot of ya!

also.. corona's are quality and for all you people saying they are girls drinks look at the sh*t you are drinking seriously.. i'd rather be seen with a bacardi in hand than a pure blonde or premium pale ale and all that sh*t

haha (sound like a real bluey bogan there, believe me i'm far from it.. but i just can't believe some of the stuff people are saying in here:D)
Its all in the tongue of the beholder hey?

Is that the Hightail Ale? Should try the Rare Breed Double Hightail Ale.

The MG Rare Breed series are very good. The Rare Breed IPA is an excellent Australian English IPA.
Can't answer the hightail question but it was Mountain Goat introduced to me by my son he's back home in Melbourne now, and its delicious!

Yeah, Mountain Goat has a huge range, especially for Australian Micros. Look for their Long Neck Rare Breed range. Top stuff.

For a lighter style, the Steam Ale (actually an obscure Lager style from the West Coast of the US) is brilliant.

Just partaking in a Coopers Vintage or three.

The only explanation for this beer is...............sublime beer wine.

At 7.2 % abv. Three stubbys have gone to my head. Warms the cockles though, beeeeeautiful :thumbsu:

This particular vintage was saved from last year, so its aged a bit.

5213808866_ac101ca829.jpg

Yeah, Coopers Vintage is sublime. Should've kept one cellared or something. Finding previous Vintages is incredibly hard.