Fev back off the wagon

Fev is a magnificent player, and greatly entertaining as a character. I like the bloke. And this incident, taken in isolation, is nothing. But he has a problem controlling his drink. He doesn't CHOOSE to go off the rails when he drinks, it's what he does because he loses control. We probably all have mates or know people who are the same way. As long as Fev continues to drink, it won't be too long until the next incident. Do you really think Fev can just say, 'well, all I need to do is drink without getting sh*tfaced and making an arse of myself,' and then that's the end of it? If he can, then good luck to him. But anyone with a few brains would have to admit that if he's back on the drink, it's most likely going to end in tears... or other fluids.

Great post.

Fevola has a proven history. He swore off drinking in 2006 after cheating on his pregnant wife (who suffice to say I'm disgusted didn't have the gall to piss him off like she should have), he enjoyed a great year and everyone was calling him a champion and blokes like Rex Hunt were saying the kids should admire what he's been able to do. The next we saw of him was planting a fist into the face of a bartender in Ireland, when drunk because he was refused service. As expected by sceptics such as myself, ofcourse it didn't last, and Fevola was back in big strife soon enough.

He swore off drink completely after the pre- season in 2008, everyone at Carlton got sucked in once again, now in recent weeks he's said "oh no I never said completely" and he's out until 2.30 drinking as of Sunday. The guy is a bonehead with no mental discipline, any idiot Carlton supporter who fell for his crap this year AGAIN is no better than him in my book. Alcohol isn't something you can just turn your back on, if you've got an inkling for it like Fevola does you'll always come back to it, and as said you can't go out drinking and expect not to get drunk soon enough and potentially get in strife. He'll be gone eventually.

What a few of you need to realise is that, none of are concerned about this one incident in isolation, he did nothing wrong. But what it demonstrates is that he can't keep his word, he can't keep away from alcohol, he has serious cracks in mental discipline, and it's just a matter of time before he is out on his arse.

I'm not surprised and really is it anyone's business what he does if he's not causing embarrassment to the club?

Hang on . . . is he?

Either his coach, CEO & team mates are liars or he's lying to them.

In the past 7 days I've heard all make comment on him "being off the drink".

Hey Jeff, you do know that from time to time coaches, CEOs & team mates might also say, for example, that player X is out with "the flu", right?

I myself have a problem with the drink in the past as a consequence i have not had a drink for 12 years. I call myself a recovering alcoholic. This means to me that i can't pick up a drink one day at a time. If fev has this DISEASE then i'ts only a matter of time before he has that one drink that tips him over the edge. Maybe we should all send good thoughts to him or if you like send him a prayer because it's not a very nice place to be in beleive me. Remember he is a human being not a robot.

Hey Jeff, you do know that from time to time coaches, CEOs & team mates might also say, for example, that player X is out with "the flu", right?
I do.

So you think they are lying?

The fact that he has been drinking isn't new, nor is it a surprise.

He's allowed to have a drink with his teammates after a great win, such as on the weekend, or a few at home.

He knows now that he has to stop though before he crosses the line to being too drunk to be able to control your actions.

You miss the point. He SWORE off the sauce for the rest of the year.

I love it how a few beers and an incident-free night out = massively disrespecting the entire playing list, administration, club and establishment.

Imagine the panty-twisting that would be going on on here if he'd actually had, oh I don't know, a small verbal with some random idiot - oh my! :eek:

Did he or did he not say he was OFF THE DRINK for the rest of the year after his previous incident?

WAKE UP.

I’m sorry but all I got out of the article was a vision of Will Monson and some big arse Irish Rugby player in Dancewars.

Great post.

Fevola has a proven history. He swore off drinking in 2006 after cheating on his pregnant wife (who suffice to say I'm disgusted didn't have the gall to piss him off like she should have), he enjoyed a great year and everyone was calling him a champion and blokes like Rex Hunt were saying the kids should admire what he's been able to do. The next we saw of him was planting a fist into the face of a bartender in Ireland, when drunk because he was refused service. As expected by sceptics such as myself, ofcourse it didn't last, and Fevola was back in big strife soon enough.

He didn't drink during the 2006 season and won the Coleman. By the end of the year he was having troubles with wife Alex and at the 2006 GF episode of TFS he met Bingle, which lead to he and Alex separating. On the Ireland trip, Blues officials had already expressed concern to AFL about Fev's state of mind and measure's to make sure he'd be looked after. Anyone whose been through a relationship breakdown, especially involving children, should empathise with the difficulty of the moment.

You really got your facts mixed up here; just imagine what else you've got mixed up without even knowing it.

He swore off drink completely after the pre- season in 2008, everyone at Carlton got sucked in once again, now in recent weeks he's said "oh no I never said completely" and he's out until 2.30 drinking as of Sunday. The guy is a bonehead with no mental discipline, any idiot Carlton supporter who fell for his crap this year AGAIN is no better than him in my book. Alcohol isn't something you can just turn your back on, if you've got an inkling for it like Fevola does you'll always come back to it, and as said you can't go out drinking and expect not to get drunk soon enough and potentially get in strife. He'll be gone eventually.

He never said completely, and it wasn't just in recent weeks that this has been clarified. Perhaps you're just not up to date with what's going on. Whatever the reason, your facts, much like your nickers, are in a twist.

What a few of you need to realise is that, none of are concerned about this one incident in isolation, he did nothing wrong. But what it demonstrates is that he can't keep his word, he can't keep away from alcohol, he has serious cracks in mental discipline, and it's just a matter of time before he is out on his arse.

Serious cracks in logic is all I see. If he's really been out on the piss, Blues fans should be concerned, but a few beers, meh... you're over-reacting.

Seriously though, Brendan Fevola is the real deal. Collingwood could have put 18 players on him on Sunday and he still would have lead the Blues to victory. That is how good a player he is.

Booze;) – is not going to prevent him signing on for $1.5M large for the next 3 years.:D

I do.

So you think they are lying?

Probably all just reading from the same script after being asked about Fev mate, which is why you would have heard the same thing from those different groups of people.

As Monkey King alluded to, I never heard Fev say "I'm not going to touch a single drop all year", and never expected him to do so. What he did swear off was getting blind drunk and making a dick of himself, the rest is just a media headline.

LastLineHero said:

You needed this report to demonstrate all that? No-one got 'sucked in', pretty sure everyone knows what the deal is with Fev by now. Maybe he will come undone in a big way soon, if he does we can all be assured that he'll be whacked from pillar to post and blokes like you and Daytripper will be on here panty-twisting and I told you so-ing till the cows come home, and good luck to you.

But don't treat this nothing 'story' as some revelation about or window to Fev's inner workings and state of mind - think we all know the score there and have for some time.

PS gee all those people at AA and in rehab will be rapt now you've enlightened them that "alcohol isn't something you can just turn your back on" and "will always come back to", they can all stop wasting their time, cheers professor! :rolleyes:

He didn't drink during the 2006 season and won the Coleman. By the end of the year he was having troubles with wife Alex and at the 2006 GF episode of TFS he met Bingle, which lead to he and Alex separating. On the Ireland trip, Blues officials had already expressed concern to AFL about Fev's state of mind and measure's to make sure he'd be looked after. Anyone whose been through a relationship breakdown, especially involving children, should empathise with the difficulty of the moment.

You really got your facts mixed up here; just imagine what else you've got mixed up without even knowing it.

He never said completely, and it wasn't just in recent weeks that this has been clarified. Perhaps you're just not up to date with what's going on. Whatever the reason, your facts, much like your nickers, are in a twist.

Serious cracks in logic is all I see. If he's really been out on the piss, Blues fans should be concerned, but a few beers, meh... you're over-reacting.

OHHHH you have come down with a huge case of DENIAL

Did he or did he not say he was OFF THE DRINK for the rest of the year after his previous incident?

WAKE UP.

Close. Find me the direct quote and I'll debate with you what it means vs what the media reported it as. :rolleyes:

I mean come on, did anyone seriously believe Fev wasn't going to touch so much as a red wine for 6 months?

1. He said he wasn't drinking in 2006 he did and got in serious trouble. That's all that matters, I admit I wasn't completely aware why he said he'd stopped drinking then, but he did for a while and then was back on the wagon and paid the price. I didn't get that fact mixed up. So he belted that bartender because he was emotionally vulnerabe hey?

2. OK so he says he's sworn off drinking for the year... oh but not completely now, righto then. Sorry, did I say "year", because I mean't "career." Maybe you should get your facts straight before posting Enjoy: http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23469661-19742,00.html

3. Like I said, this incident in isolation means nothing, but it proves he can't stick to his word and is just the first step in slipping back into some bad habits, ...pfft... anyone who knows someone or has been through issues with alcohol should know that ;)

Your obviously one of the bozos that gets sucked in.

PS gee all those people at AA and in rehab will be rapt now you've enlightened them that "alcohol isn't something you can just turn your back on" and "will always come back to", they can all stop wasting their time, cheers professor! :rolleyes:

They don't drink at all.

Fev continues to drink as such it's far easier for him to revert to his old ways

1. He said he wasn't drinking in 2006 he did and got in serious trouble. That's all that matters, I admit I wasn't completely aware why he said he'd stopped drinking then, but he did for a while and then was back on the wagon and paid the price. I didn't get that fact mixed up. So he belted that bartender because he was emotionally vulnerabe hey?

Wrong. He decided to stop drinking between New Years 2005 and the end of the 2006 footy season and did it successfully. Had a great year too, wish he'd do it every year. You have got this one totally mixed up mate, I'd just concede if I were you.

2. OK so he says he's sworn off drinking for the year... oh but not completely now, righto then. Sorry, did I say "year", because I mean't "career." Maybe you should get your facts straight before posting tool. Enjoy: http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23469661-19742,00.html

Your link has absolutely no quote from Fevola, so I'm not sure what you think this proves. If you've sourced these facts of yours from this article, it is little wonder you're a bit off center.

What Fev actually said was:

“I won’t be having a drink because that seems to be the problem,” he said.

“I don’t usually get in trouble when I’m not on the sauce but if I have a drink I tend to stuff up and have too much fun, so the bottom line is don’t drink and I’ll be right.”
http://www.theroar.com.au/2008/04/18/fevola-says-he-owes-carlton/

As I discussed with someone at the time, personal language gives some range for interpretation of meaning. He said he won't be having a drink. Now what this means to you, may not mean the same to another. To me Fev's use of the term having a drink becomes clearer with the next line... if I have a drink I tend to stuff up. I'm sure he doesn't stuff up after a beer, so it seems more than reasonable to conclude have a drink in this context would mean drunkenness.

Indeed, this has since been clarified as being his meaning.

3. Like I said, this incident in isolation means nothing, but it proves he can't stick to his word and is just the first step in slipping back into some bad habits, ...pfft... anyone who knows someone or has been through issues with alcohol should know that ;)

Your obviously one of the bozos that gets sucked in.

What it proves is that your critical analysis of articles is weak and you're easily spoon-fed the opinions of others while being unable to attribute what you've heard or read to the appropriate person.

I assume the weakness of your argument is why you've resorted to calling me a tool and a bozo

As I discussed with someone at the time, personal language gives some range for interpretation of meaning. He said he won't be having a drink. Now what this means to you, may not mean the same to another. To me Fev's use of the term having a drink becomes clearer with the next line... if I have a drink I tend to stuff up. I'm sure he doesn't stuff up after a beer, so it seems more than reasonable to conclude have a drink in this context would mean drunkenness.

Hmm, nicely argued but clutching at very thin straws IMO.

Who gives a crap, he obviously wasnt causing trouble, and it hasnt effected his training sheduale. He had a few drinks, get over it.

Carlton should insist on a one year deal with onerous behaviour clauses. They should stick to their guns. They need to show leadership on this. The integrity of the club demands that they be firm with Fevola. :D

Wrong. He decided to stop drinking between New Years 2005 and the end of the 2006 footy season and did it successfully. Had a great year too, wish he'd do it every year. You have got this one totally mixed up mate, I'd just concede if I were you.

Your link has absolutely no quote from Fevola, so I'm not sure what you think this proves. If you've sourced these facts of yours from this article, it is little wonder you're a bit off center.

What Fev actually said was:

Indeed, this has since been clarified as being his meaning.

What it proves is that your critical analysis of articles is weak and you're easily spoon-fed the opinions of others while being unable to attribute what you've heard or read to the appropriate person.

I assume the weakness of your argument is why you've resorted to calling me a tool and a bozo

Mate, your denial is sickening. One article states the club and those closest to Brendan was aware he would stop drinking and had imposed not just a season ban but a career ban on booze, and a second article contains a direct quote from Fevola saying that as long as he doesn't drink he'll be right, and you still can't work it out. Your putting your argument down to how you (a Carlton fan :rolleyes:) have interpreted his words. Get you head out of the sand mate, your left hand off your phalice and your right off the Fevola poster and wake up.

An article with no quotes from Fevola and with quotes from Swann indicating that Brendan hadn't promised the club itself he wouldn't drink. Compelling.

Did you read the article Wojee? People at the club, including your CEO Greg Swann were aware Fevola had said he'd be off drinking.

Blues chief executive Greg Swann yesterday said he was aware of Fevola's decision to ban the demon drink.
"It's what Brendan has told people but the proof will be in the pudding. The proof will be in his actions" Swann said.
"But I'm pleased he has given this undertaking. He's started the process."

I have no problem if Fev, or any other AFL player enjoys a few beers after the game. Just so long as they don't make an idiot of themselves in the "wee" hours of the morning.

(Applauds)