Fifa 10

• Thread starter Thread starter Beamdogg

WTF, are you serious? I can't change it?:confused:
At the start of the demo. One of the first screens, pretty sure it's right after "language selection" it asks you whether you are beginner intermediate or World Class. Beginner is selected and you just have to toggle across to whatever you want.

If you already have amateur selected just restart the demo and it'll ask you again.

At the start of the demo. One of the first screens, pretty sure it's right after "language selection" it asks you whether you are beginner intermediate or World Class. Beginner is selected and you just have to toggle across to whatever you want.

If you already have amateur selected just restart the demo and it'll ask you again.

Thanks heaps!

Gave the demo a thorough workout today and ill have to agree that this feels awesome.

In regards to the keeper AI i had a game where the computer sent in a cross from the bottom of the screen and it dipped and swerved and went into the far top corner. I was pissed off but at the same time amazed as there was nothing the keeper couldve done to stop it and it looked so realistic as he was trying to track the ball in the air as he initially misjudged it. Awesome :thumbsu:

Yeah everyone time you begin the demo it asks you for your experience level and your control preferences.

One interestinh thing to note is that I've played 4 games now and still haven't seen an offside.

Quick free kicks are awesome.

Good things:

- 360 degree movement seems almost efortlessly implemented in this game. I can't imagine playing FIFA without it. Evrey little tiny nuance with the stick is accurately recreated with the player, moving his whole body into a correct position to play the ball.

This goes beyond just dribbling, this effects the whole game in ways I certainly didn't invisage.

- Skilled dribbling is amazing. For the first 5 games I didnt know how to use it, and was pretty pissed off because I didnt see this new, much talked avout feature. One pit stop to the FIFA forums and I was armed and ready. Well.

It changes the game. In collaboration with the 360 dribbling, it makes the attacking aspects of the game that little bit better. For example, Essien controls on the wing, and slowly dribbles towards the defender. I go into skilled dribble. A bit of dancing, and just as the defender sticks his leg out, I use the right stick to kick away from him. Whips a ball in and Drogba finishes. Not an isolated incident, and really made me sit up and go "wow"

- Shooting. ONe of the biggest downfalls of '09. Completely fixed 100%. The ability now to blast shots from 30, as well as deftly place them from 25. The chip is not bulletproof. The finnese shot is not a certain goal. You can belt goals from miles out low and hard into the bottom corner. The feeling you ghet from really seein g aball fly of Drogbas foot and into the net is terrific.

- Keepers are as good as promised. Some have siad they are too good, or are at times a little reckless. Havent found this at all. They are hard to beat, but not impossible. Certainly dont feel like a cheat, but are good enough to make it intersesting.

- Atmosphere, its hard to explain i guess, but I really felt a part of the game. Lampard scored a 90th minute equaliser from 25 yards, and I actually yelled out "YES!" I cant remember the last time I did that in a game. I just got caught up in the emotion, and almost forgot it was a game.

- Player Individuality. When you control Drogba, you are controlling a man mountain. Hie isnt as delicate with his pasiing or with his feet, but he can sure keep the ball and hit it hard.

When you control Xavi, you have a playmaker. His passing is immaculate, can wriggle his way out of tight situations, and can actually control a game from midfield, something not present in any previous football game.

It's this sort of thing that makes it so terrific, you can actually utilise each individuals greatest traits in all parts of the game, not just who's the fastest. Can't wait to see how they've done the Everton playes in this area!

- Commentary!! Finally you can listen to it!! They talk about interesting things, are up to date with the play, and have new and fresh things to say. Long time coming, and supposedly is going to get better with specific manager mode quotes, reacting to the state of a season.

- Little things have been made notibally brilliant. The ref jumps out of the way of balls, the keepre gets up his defenders when he misses, the lack of cut-scenes is great, quick freekicks are awesome. Sure there is much more too.

- I havent seen the same game, goal or exciting moment twice. I've played 20+ games, and each one has been different. Not every game do you get a nailbiting goal fest, and not every goal is a lofted through ball to one on one with the keeper to finnesse goal. I've scored long range goals, headers, volleys, tap ins, penalties. the only thing I havent quite got yet is a free kick, but damn Ive been close! One hit the bar, one was just saved, but I should mention that free kicks are much improved. Easier than 09, but not too easy, as I havent scored yet. Lampard hits a mean free kick!

Bad things:

Hard pressed to find, but here goes.

- Heading off crosses and corners is quite hard. Sent a lot of good crosses over the bar or just past, and Im not sure how to not do that. Keep practicing I guess! This is made better by the fact that the crosses are awesome. maybe Im admiring the cross too much, and not focussing on the finish!

- Ummmm. Actually wish I could find something so my review wasnt that biased, but i really cant. Maybe in another 20 games Ill get annoyed at something, but for now, I just cant wait to get back on!

Hope that is useful for someone, sorry bout the length!

Just got home from work and only had time to play one game before heading out again. Here are some quick thoughts:

- By far the best thing I noiticed was the seamless pick-up of passes. In previous years, you'd be on a counter attack and when passing to a team mate, the ball would 'bobble' for a second however in FIFA 10, your players keep running when they receive the ball. There is absolutely no break in transition which is amazing.

- As others have said, keeper logic is great. While I still managed to score on both my 1-on-1 attempts, I was really made to work for it as the keeper came right out to the edge of the box.

- Fighting for the disputed ball is great.

- Slide tackles don't always result in fouls.

- Team mates actively run to open space and point where they want the ball. You can dink a ball in behind the defense and have your winger run on to it. SUPERB!

i downloaded the demo today and loving it passing and movement is so much better.

The good things have been mentioned and i agree with them few questions though

- Is there handball? Just had a shot and it was going in but it definitely hit the guys hand.

- Do you think there should be a "dive" button? I know it seems like its promoting poor sportsmanship but sometimes you should get a penalty and there is nothing....if anything the refs could just be really strict on it.

I disagree about corners. I score so many from corners, and not from those renown for headers e.g Yaya Toure.

Really fun so far it sometimes goes both ways sometimes you dont do that well then all of a sudden next game you play so well, seems like it's a confidence kinda game which is awesome.

I forgot what else I was gonna say apart from the fact i am quite impressed and those who don't have the demo, i know its 1 gig or whatever but get on it...

P.S Refs are freaking awful - that is all.
Those with HD is it much better than the old one, im still on this piece of shit non hd haha

I downloaded this straight after work today and just played a few games.

I am very very impressed and a bit gutted that it is only a demo. The dribbling is amazing and to me it feels much better to last year (which wasn't too bad I must admit) it just seems that I have far more control of what I'm doing in this edition. It is an oldish version too so I expect the final copy to be even better.

It took me a while to score a goal and hit the woodwork about 5 times in my first couple of games but then Ibra netted a 1 on 1. My second goal was a great team goal, just knocked it around until I had an easy shot in the box. The AI seem better, they run into space and point in the direction they want the ball which makes it a lot easier to knock the ball around and set up a chance.

There are a lot of physical battles too which makes it feel like real football. Also love the fact there are no cut scenes after a foul and the ref just charges up to the player who committed the foul.

- Is there handball? Just had a shot and it was going in but it definitely hit the guys hand.

- Do you think there should be a "dive" button? I know it seems like its promoting poor sportsmanship but sometimes you should get a penalty and there is nothing....if anything the refs could just be really strict on it.

I disagree about corners. I score so many from corners, and not from those renown for headers e.g Yaya Toure.

Really fun so far it sometimes goes both ways sometimes you dont do that well then all of a sudden next game you play so well, seems like it's a confidence kinda game which is awesome.

I forgot what else I was gonna say apart from the fact i am quite impressed and those who don't have the demo, i know its 1 gig or whatever but get on it...

Those with HD is it much better than the old one, im still on this piece of shit non hd haha

No handballs, no dives. The FIFA fair play thingy doesnt allow it.

I competely agree with what you said on confidence and each game being different as far as performance goes. Ill go from losing to Chicago to beating Barca in the space of 2 games.

No handballs, no dives. The FIFA fair play thingy doesnt allow it.

I competely agree with what you said on confidence and each game being different as far as performance goes. Ill go from losing to Chicago to beating Barca in the space of 2 games.

Thanks for clearing that up, was just curious.

How is the game going for everyone?

Nah haha its on professional, I am newish to FIFA on xbox, I normally play Professional and sometimes world class on 09, as its a new version trying out pro then go on from there...but yeah seriously Yaya toure has an extremely bs shot lol

mate, if you want dives and handballs, you should get PES.. but seriously... there's nothing more satisfying than winning a penalty from a dive when playing against a mate

I came back from futsal last night and the demo was downloaded, played a few games but didn't spend hours on it.

Obvously the 360 degree movement is incredible.

The new jostling system makes it harder to keep the ball, the stronger player always wins and quickly, in 09 the weaker one could handle him off for a few seconds and then lose possesion but in fifa10, the stronger player will win the ball quickly.

Tackling seems quite clean, alot of the time in 09 you would clip them when your holding x and give them a cheap free-kick on the edge of the box.

Passing needs to be much more precise in fifa10, many of the passes which i done in 09 don't work in fifa10, you need to think about it alot more, which is good.

Crossing is very different, but with playing games, you will workout yourself, how to master it.

Just my thoughts, played just the 4 games, will try to upload something for a laugh. :)

I think you need to keep playing in terms of tackling. I reckon its much harder to perform a clean tackle in 10. I gave away well over 5 one game, none of them were slides.

Still only seen one offside in like 5 games.

I think you need to keep playing in terms of tackling. I reckon its much harder to perform a clean tackle in 10. I gave away well over 5 one game, none of them were slides.

Still only seen one offside in like 5 games.

Yer just played some more now and agree with you on the tackling.

Because of the 360 degree movement of your opponent, alot harder to make a perfect tackle.

HBK you seem to be knowledgeable in this area. I am not sure if it was you I think it was but there was a "buy 1 EA sports title get $25 dollars off another" if I got FIFA '10 and then got another copy (for a mate) would it still work? Also if I were to preorder it, could I bring in Fifa 09 and do that deal by preordering it? for example

Lets say fifa 09 is worth like $20.

$89 + $89 = 178 - 25 = 153 then fifa 09 trade in - 20 = 133
Would that be OK do you think?
Yeah, that should be fine.

It is EB Games though that you will have to pre-order at to get that deal. So make sure you price match when you get there.

Just to be sure though (Because I'd hate to lead you down the wrong path) when you pre-order FIFA 10 just ask if that will be ok (If you've already pre-ordered, might be a good idea just to give them a ring).