Fire Up Knighter

27 possessions for an 18 year old in his third league game, following on being best player two games ago. Very impressive.

From those that have seen him play live (probably excludes most of us!!), what possie do you think he will work into????????

And does he remind you of any established AFL player, past or present?

I've only seen him on TV. Well built, 6'1", left footer, not lanky but solid, moves well, etc

All I have to say is that this kid has been REALLY impressive. Its his first year, he's playing League SANFL and he's racking up high 20's despite a limited pre-season.

I go to Victoria now-and-then to see a few relatives, maybe even catch a Crows game (need to time it well ;) ) and make sure I see a TAC Cup game (Victorian under-18's).

I saw Knights on two occasions last year, and he impressed me thoroughly in both. Knew how to get the ball, not awesome pace but definitely not slow either, used it quite well and always kicked a couple of goals. Played some very attacking football and on Draft Day I hoped we would pick him up.

In terms of position, either a wing or on-baller would do. Early in his careeer should start as a HFF/Wing, and then slowly move into the midfield.

I can't put a finger on who he remind me of, but Brock McLean is quite similar. Both know how to get the ball, about the same pace (though Knight's is probably a bit better) and both are very attacking footballers.

I think he's a real find and if he continues this form (and if the Crows begin to struggle) he should be given a go. :)

Bockchoy67 said:
All I have to say is that this kid has been REALLY impressive. Its his first year, he's playing League SANFL and he's racking up high 20's despite a limited pre-season.

I go to Victoria now-and-then to see a few relatives, maybe even catch a Crows game (need to time it well ;) ) and make sure I see a TAC Cup game (Victorian under-18's).

I saw Knights on two occasions last year, and he impressed me thoroughly in both. Knew how to get the ball, not awesome pace but definitely not slow either, used it quite well and always kicked a couple of goals. Played some very attacking football and on Draft Day I hoped we would pick him up.

In terms of position, either a wing or on-baller would do. Early in his careeer should start as a HFF/Wing, and then slowly move into the midfield.

I can't put a finger on who he remind me of, but Brock McLean is quite similar. Both know how to get the ball, about the same pace (though Knight's is probably a bit better) and both are very attacking footballers.

I think he's a real find and if he continues this form (and if the Crows begin to struggle) he should be given a go. :)

Cheers Bokchoy67. Spoken with the knowledge of a true Rooster!!!!

His running style reminds me of Mattner.

His kicking is a bit hit and miss. Speaking of kicking, isn't it time that we get a specialised kicking coach down at west lakes so we can correct Watts' kicking action as early as possible. No good getting all these shots on goal and missing majority of them. One thing I noticed with Watts lately is that he will take a ripper mark and imediately play on to kick a goal when he marks 30 out directly in front. He has more confidence in his kicking on the run than he does on set shots. I think its time this aspect of his game is addressed.

thoroughly agree Stiffy - i dont know what kicking coaching the players actually do receive but for years i have thought that several players should have their kicking technique remedied (as distinct from just kicking practice)

eg Burton - leans back as he kicks and gets under the ball
Skipworth - i'm sure that he could add at least a couple of metres to his kicking length by having his technique looked at etc
etc etc

and on a similar subject - i believe that a few players could add a bit of pace to their game (and especially "pace off the mark") by having their running techniques modified (eg Knights runs like a "plodder", Skippy again etc etc)

and finally - ditto with some players tackling techniques - i hate seeing innocuous "finger tackles"

Knights always seems to end up with a few scoring shots to his name. So maybe he could be used as a small forward initially.

**** said:
Knights always seems to end up with a few scoring shots to his name. So maybe he could be used as a small forward initially.

As I said, HFF would be the best option once we introduce him.

In regards to previous posts, indeed he is a bit robotical in his running, but I wouldn't term him a "plodder".

outback jack said:
i saw him on TV only and he didnt look anything special. Looked very skinny too.
oh Jack, what a surprise!! Something else about the Crows that doesnt impress you, great to see !! Seriously Jack, you wouldnt know a developing player if they had a 60 foot neon sigh over their heads.

Still think he is a lot like a young Riccuito. Similar build, similar style of play. Definatly a good pickup at this point.

Maric played his first game today for the Maggies and did ok. Took a while to get going - seemingly struggled with the pace of the game, got cuaght a few times and scuffed some kicks - but his ruckwork in the centre was excellent and in the last 45 minutes or so he did pretty well dropping back across half back.

Macca19 said:
Still think he is a lot like a young Riccuito. Similar build, similar style of play. Definatly a good pickup at this point.

Maric played his first game today for the Maggies and did ok. Took a while to get going - seemingly struggled with the pace of the game, got cuaght a few times and scuffed some kicks - but his ruckwork in the centre was excellent and in the last 45 minutes or so he did pretty well dropping back across half back.

Thanks for that update on Maric Macca. Sounds like he's coming along at a pretty good rate for a young ruck type with not a lot of footy behind him.

Jack - get your hand off it. Why can't you take those sh*t cloured glasses off when you look at anything related to the Crows. Knights is not skinny and is a very promising type.

I see him starting off as a HFF/winger type eventually moving into the mid-field, just as Bockchoy does. If he keeps his current form up it won't be too far into the future either.

He looks a very good pick-up IMO.

Macca19 said:

Thanks for the feedback mate, I was actually looking forward to it as I had a feeling you would let us know how big Ivan went :)

Thanks for that :)

I find it interesting that Benny Hart is a big G for Ivan. He appears to be Benny's favourite from this lot of draftees.

On a slighlty, different note, I watched North Vs South today and I was a bit disappointed with VB. He got a fair bit of footy and worked really hard but his disposal really let him down I felt. He just kept burning it :(. I groaned so many times when he disposed of it. More times than not it didn't hit the mark.

I guess the positive is that he is actually getting his hands on the footy.

Stiffy_18 said:
Thanks for the feedback mate, I was actually looking forward to it as I had a feeling you would let us know how big Ivan went :)

Thanks for that :)

I find it interesting that Benny Hart is a big G for Ivan. He appears to be Benny's favourite from this lot of draftees.

On a slighlty, different note, I wanted North Vs South today and I was a bit disappointed with VB. He got a fair bit of footy and worked really hard but his disposal really let himm down I felt. He just kept burning it :(. I groaned so many times when he disposed of it. More times than not it didn't hit the mark.

I guess the positive is that he is actually getting his hands on the footy.

I believe that for first year players its a giant plus if they're racking up possesions. I went to the game and noticed him out there, for both good and bad reasons, but he was getting his hands on it.

Its good to see he has good ball-finding ability. His disposal can easily be worked on.

dA Crow said:
oh Jack, what a surprise!! Something else about the Crows that doesnt impress you, great to see !! Seriously Jack, you wouldnt know a developing player if they had a 60 foot neon sigh over their heads.

macca23 said:
Jack - get your hand off it. Why can't you take those sh*t cloured glasses off when you look at anything related to the Crows. Knights is not skinny and is a very promising type.

:cool:

This is a little of an overall reaction. Knights is skinny thats for sure, he doesnt have a mans body yet, he has alot more development in him. I didnt say he didnt have promise and no one knows if he will be a gun yet. All i was saying is that i've heard how he has really been looking the goods from fellow posters, however when i saw the eagles game, that was the day watts kicked three, he was barely noticeable at all and i was looking for him. It was pis$ing down though. It appears that he was talented but slipped lower cause of his knees. We shall wait and see..

outback jack said:
:cool:

This is a little of an overall reaction. Knights is skinny thats for sure, he doesnt have a mans body yet, he has alot more development in him. I didnt say he didnt have promise and no one knows if he will be a gun yet. All i was saying is that i've heard how he has really been looking the goods from fellow posters, however when i saw the eagles game, that was the day watts kicked three, he was barely noticeable at all and i was looking for him. It was pis$ing down though. It appears that he was talented but slipped lower cause of his knees. We shall wait and see..

Jack, in that game that you did see he was only on for a quarter and a bit before going off with a knock to the knee by one of his teammates. He had 9 disposals in that time, so he was quite noticable WHILE on the ground.

As for being skinny - rubbish. He looks reasonably solid to me, and the website confirms that at 84kg. That's not skinny, although I do accept that he will get even more solid as he matures into a man.

macca23 said:
Jack, in that game that you did see he was only on for a quarter and a bit before going off with a knock to the knee by one of his teammates. He had 9 disposals in that time, so he was quite noticable WHILE on the ground.

As for being skinny - rubbish. He looks reasonably solid to me, and the website confirms that at 84kg. That's not skinny, although I do accept that he will get even more solid as he matures into a man.

ok, he must have been wearing a big jumper then. :eek: and maybe skinny isnt the right word, but looking at his frame, i think another 10kg easy wouldnt go astray. Must be taller that he looks to weight that much cause he didnt look that heavy to me. When he finishes up he will be a big bodied midfielder i suppose. Least we have some young ones comming though, now matty bode isnt our only natural 'ball hunter' as we are often told. Watch out matty, i think he might be following ladhams, massie and begley..

outback jack said:
ok, he must have been wearing a big jumper then. :eek: and maybe skinny isnt the right word, but looking at his frame, i think another 10kg easy wouldnt go astray. Must be taller that he looks to weight that much cause he didnt look that heavy to me. When he finishes up he will be a big bodied midfielder i suppose. Least we have some young ones comming though, now matty bode isnt our only natural 'ball hunter' as we are often told. Watch out matty, i think he might be following ladhams, massie and begley..

He is a reasonable size jack. The AFc site says 183 but I think that he's actually 185 which is a nice size for an onballer. He will end up a nice sized mid-fielder.

That's a good expression for Knights jack - natural "ball hunter" because that's how he plays. Reads the ball nicely off hands and is a damn good crumber. He has heaps more up-side than the players you mentioned IMO. He's every chance to play AFL this year the way he's going.

If Knights can have another couple of games where he is in Eagles best players, there is a fair chance he could get a game. Something tells me if he gets a game and gets decent game time he could hold his spot for the rest of the year.

Macca, did you watch North Vs South today and what did you think of VB??????

Stiffy_18 said:
If Knights can have another couple of games where he is in Eagles best players, there is a fair chance he could get a game. Something tells me if he gets a game and gets decent game time he could hold his spot for the rest of the year.

Macca, did you watch North Vs South today and what did you think of VB??????

Played well in a quiet manner, apart from a few disposal errors.

Stuck to his player like glue, and did some really nice spoils and followed up with tackles. He played a good team game IMO.

Not spectacular but solid.

macca23 said:
Played well in a quiet manner, apart from a few disposal errors.

Stuck to his player like glue, and did some really nice spoils and followed up with tackles. He played a good team game IMO.

Not spectacular but solid.
Was he playing as a tagger or HBF?

Seems to have been solid more than spectacular in all his games?

Is this what Van Berlo will be as an AFL player - more a solid contributor than a spectacular contributor - my inkling at present would be the former

Wayne's-World said:
Was he playing as a tagger or HBF?

Seems to have been solid more than spectacular in all his games?

Is this what Van Berlo will be as an AFL player - more a solid contributor than a spectacular contributor - my inkling at present would be the former

Seems to have a "narrow" game ATM whereas the top players are more expansive with more lateral movement and vision. Early days though and he could develop more dimensions to his game

cro_Magnum said:
Seems to have a "narrow" game ATM whereas the top players are more expansive with more lateral movement and vision. Early days though and he could develop more dimensions to his game
What do you mean "narrow game"?

Thanks for all the reports guys. Knights looks really good. I think if he can consistently be in the top players for a few weeks running he is a chance to make his debut.