gooch

kangaroos
I'm at the airport now, heading to London til early October!!! I'd be happy to return with us reigning premiers though, would make a memorable trip.

Anyway, I was hoping to get some info from some UK locals on when and where most games are on TV. Espeacially Roos games. Any help?

GR, might need your fabulous download service too.

I'm working for a few weeks at a festival so it's not all bad, but I will be missing the business end of the year, espeacially as I'm in the Prelim for my Super coach too.

I'm at the airport now, heading to London til early October!!! I'd be happy to return with us reigning premiers though, would make a memorable trip.

Anyway, I was hoping to get some info from some UK locals on when and where most games are on TV. Espeacially Roos games. Any help?

I'm working for a few weeks at a festival so it's not all bad, but I will be missing the business end of the year, espeacially as I'm in the Prelim for my Super coach too.

Have a excellent time mate. GR replays are very handy.
I'd be happy to return with us reigning premiers though
We can only hope for the best but this would be very nice:D Enjoy your time over there.:thumbsu:

I was in London recently, and there was an Australian pub in Fulham right near Chelsea's home ground Stamford Bridge that was showing every AFL and NRL game. I think they were delayed by a couple of hours, but if you're going to be in the south-west of London, it would be worth checking out.

Hey gooch,

i've been here since May.

as Roos4Eva mentioned, the place to go is The Slug in Fulham.

Its right next to Fulham Broadway tube station on the District Line. Good cheap meals too.

You can checkout the times the games are being shown on their website:
http://www.fulhamslug.co.uk/afl.html

oh and btw, I'v been warned and now i'm warning you, avoid the Walkabout pub like the plague!

try the Redback Tavern in Acton or the Southside Bar in Covent Gardens. there are a heap of "aussie" bars over there so you should be ok. grab a "TNT" magazine or a Southern Cross newspaper, usually located in bins near the entrance to tube stations and the will be chockers full of info for you.

Hey gooch,

Its right next to Fulham Broadway tube station on the District Line. Good cheap meals too.

oh and btw, I'v been warned and now i'm warning you, avoid the Walkabout pub like the plague!

Yep, that's the one.

I couldn't believe I found that pub, it was a complete fluke. It was the day before the St Kilda game but I was going to Amsterdam when the game would be played. I was rather annoyed at the missed opportunity, and I didn't find out the scores until a couple of days later. I'll never forget when I finally found an Internet cafe, the massive let down of finding out we lost to those spuds (apologies to Spud).

Sky Sports used to have a weekly 2 hour replay show that they would repeat a few times over a 24 hour period in Sky Sports 2 or 3 on a Friday the week after the games were played. If you don't have Sky find a quiet pub and get them to put it on for you. Setanta Sports used to show some games live or on a 2 or 3 hour delay - mostly Sydney games - but generally only the Irish clubs and bars in the UK have Setanta. There is a place in Liecester Square called The Sports Bar that can get anything and everything so you may be able to get them to put a game on live for you. Otherwise get used to sitting at your laptop listening to SEN, 3AW or MMM all night - via the AFL website as the AFL block direct streaming for the duration of the match. Sky Sports also shows the Grand Final live at about 5 or 6 am.

West Hampstead and Shaftesbury Avenue Walkabout's have all AFL games on too. I was at the former for the Brissie game a fortnight ago. Easy enough to get an AFL fix in London, tis a bit tougher on the continent though...

Is this your first trip over?

As far as watching footy, don't fret. There are heaps of options 'down south' (I'm in Scotland). Check Setanta Sports TV schedules online - they run both a highlights package + live games. I watched Adelaide v Hawks a couple of months ago bona fide live on Setanta.

There are a zillion Aussie related bars, places like Walkabout tend to show lots of AFL (saw the Essendon v Collingwood Anzac game playing at the Edinburgh one) so you'll have plenty of options. Just ring the pub and ask if in doubt. London's tube/transport is excellent so it'll be easy to cross town to get to any venues you need.

As someone also said, grab a TNT magazine for leads on Oz stuff - and my tip - get yourself an Oyster card for public transport and you'll be laughing.

Have an awesome trip - though your timing stinks. :D

Hey gooch,

Only problem with the slug is that you don't get the sound!

I'm more than happy to have a few London based BF Roos over to my place to watch the matches after I download them. I've got a video projector and sometimes watch them on my wall!

Only problem is that the person who normally posts them has stopped doing it the last few rounds. I'm like an addict whose dealer has died!

Go to afl.com.au on a Friday, click on Broadcast and then International Guide. It will show what games Setanta have. If you can't find a pub open for the live feed, check Setantas site. They replay the games often enough.

All the Walkabout Pubs play AFL games. If its a quiet day you can sometimes ask them to play it for you at the time you want.. Though its neither live nor good quality as they use internet streaming. Other than that, Setanta play 3 games a week. British Eurosport play one game a week (not live) and then there is Aussie Sport TV (internet streaming), which is my current method of viewing, though they have a habit of making the roos games the only ones they dont offer for the week.:mad:

Oh GR, if you have the Bigpond direct links I would be very greatful.:)

Only problem with the slug is that you don't get the sound!

I'm more than happy to have a few London based BF Roos over to my place to watch the matches after I download them. I've got a video projector and sometimes watch them on my wall!

Only problem is that the person who normally posts them has stopped doing it the last few rounds. I'm like an addict whose dealer has died!
When was the last time you got down there though?
I've only been here for a few months and every time i've been, i've had to talk over the audio because its so loud.

BTW: Downstairs there's a plasma on every wall and a project screen, all showing the same thing (so you can sit anywhere and get a good view)

Thanks for the advice all.

As it happens, I'm staying near Hammersmith for a few days, which is quite close to the Slug, so that will be the go for this weekend. Couldn't have planned it better!

I'm off to Reading for the next 3 weeks, then in and out of London til just after the GF, so I'll be sorted.

Thanks again.