Roos06

Just had the telly on and they playing the game V Collingwood from 94, think it was the one where T.Shaw played his 300th and our 125yr celebration?!?!

They came out and jumped us then Corey fired and saved the day......

Then I pressed the red button to go active..........SUNDAYS GAME :(

I think 94 was one of the best years to be a North supporter, you just knew what was coming and it was starting to happen.

Great to see a young team playing attacking football, if only we had the skill in our current side to do it.

That's the funny thing, for all our complaints about the coaches ineptitude, bad tactics, no spirit, bad recruiting, etc - if we threw a 1994 Wayne Carey into our current team with the same coach we would be top 4 right now and a serious contender in 2006.

The Zebra said:
That's the funny thing, for all our complaints about the coaches ineptitude, bad tactics, no spirit, bad recruiting, etc - if we threw a 1994 Wayne Carey into our current team with the same coach we would be top 4 right now and a serious contender in 2006.

I doubt it.

If we played as indirect and moved the ball as slowly as we play now then we would be just as fubar.

The reason Carey did so much damage was that we moved the ball so fast teams couldn't often put the 3 players on Carey.

Laidley allows teams to drop players back in front of guys like Thompson and Sav and those two are 100x time better than Longmire. He almost kicked a ton twice because we got it down to him and the others quickly, went directly and rebounded fast, used the corridor.

We are going around the flanks slowly like a little league team atm.

Carey wouldn't have dramatically changed things right now. Firstly, the long kicks that found him 10 years ago even during the dominant periods of our opponents would have been cut off by any number of backmen dropping back. We saw that a lot during 2000 season when Essendon did it to perfection.

And our current midfield wouldn't even get to hold the candle to our 90's crop. Thompson was doing reasonably well one on one against Rutten on Sunday, yet we only saw 3 or 4 examples of him one out. We had a forward on Sunday who is no Carey but is pretty dominant in todays footy yet we just couldn't get the ball any where near him.

Briedis said:
OI!

Wash your mouth out with soap!

:eek:

Seriously, did Horse ever take a contested mark over his head during his career? :p

I know he did, there was a tremendous roar when he did, but there were not that many. If you can't take an overhead mark and have a shot at kicking 100 goals then that says a lot about the rest of the team. ;)

Tas said:
Seriously, did Horse ever take a contested mark over his head during his career? :p

I know he did, there was a tremendous roar when he did, but there were not that many. If you can't take an overhead mark and have a shot at kicking 100 goals then that says a lot about the rest of the team. ;)

leave jonny longmire alone. :eek:

Tas said:
Laidley allows teams to drop players back in front of guys like Thompson and Sav and those two are 100x time better than Longmire.

Fair go Tas. While you can say that sav is a better goalkicking machine than Longmire, he is certainly not x 100 better. As for Thommo, there is no way that you could say he was better. He's definately not better than Longmire was before he did his knee (the second time). While i'll grant you that footy has changed and become more low-scoring, so direct comparisons are difficult, but longmire has kicked more than 90 goals in a season twice, is second on our all-time greatest goal scorers, was five years in a row leading goal scorer, was able to play ruck and CHB.

magoo said:
Fair go Tas. While you can say that sav is a better goalkicking machine than Longmire, he is certainly not x 100 better. As for Thommo, there is no way that you could say he was better. He's definately not better than Longmire was before he did his knee (the second time). While i'll grant you that footy has changed and become more low-scoring, so direct comparisons are difficult, but longmire has kicked more than 90 goals in a season twice, is second on our all-time greatest goal scorers, was five years in a row leading goal scorer, was able to play ruck and CHB.

I am not having a go at Horse, he just couldn't mark over his head. He was a solid full forward for us but if Sav or Thomo were playing back then they would have kicked 150. ;)

Tas said:
I am not having a go at Horse, he just couldn't mark over his head. He was a solid full forward for us but if Sav or Thomo were playing back then they would have kicked 150. ;)

Do you mean in the same way that thommo continually misses chest marks:o ?

The Zebra said:

Hilarity abounds.

- Allison would never get into the forward line.
- Adrian McAdam woud be at Port Adelaide.
- Roberts would never get out of the back pocket.
- David King would be a tagger.
- Schwass wouldn't be allowed to run and would have to kick backwards.
- Longmire & Rock would be in the seconds.

You are becoming very tiresome Flag Man. Can't you just leave the Laidley bagging comments for the million other dedicated threads you've contibuted to since the weekend.

On the thread topic:

The turning point?

McKernan's goal in the third. I thought 'they're never going to catch us now'.

Flag Man said:
Hilarity abounds.

It's funny because its true

Yes....that was the ad with Carey, "they're never gonna catch us now..."

Was is for gatorade??

If Carey wasn't there during the 90's, I honestly think Big John would have topped the 100 maybe more than a couple of times. Remember, he was doing the job well, even before The King arrived!

And Thommo wouldn't have kicked the ton, to do that, you have to dominate, and he can only dominate for so long, before he takes himself off.

Flag Man said:
Hilarity abounds.

all good servants of North even black magic McAdam in 1993 and 1995 in the reserves :D

Roos06 said:
Yes....that was the ad with Carey, "they're never gonna catch us now..."

Was is for gatorade??

Sports Plus I reckon.

What about the Duck's ad at Vic Park with Tony Shaw? He had a wheelbarrow full of money. I think that was for Tabaret?

FoxFooty could have a special on footballers in commercials.
Sam Newman for Geelong Cement or Melcann with the ladies in bikinis anyone?

yes flagman, the bag laidley comments are becoming quite boring and repetitious. we all know how you feel and don't need to be constantly reminded of it. getting fed up mate so give it a rest!

i was going to say **** off somewhere thre but ill leave that to you mate, i know you love saying it. please proceed.

Master Chief said:
yes flagman, the bag laidley comments are becoming quite boring and repetitious.

I have as much right to state my comments as anyone else.

In fact, as a paid supporter of this board it could be viewed that I have more rights than some.

My post has not been deleted, nor has a moderator contacted me about it.

Master Chief said:
we all know how you feel and don't need to be constantly reminded of it. getting fed up mate so give it a rest!

We?

Where the hell do you get off in thinking that you speak for the entire collective?

One person has stated that they agreed with my views and even found them humorous.

Another person also appears to have appreciated the irony in my comments

I am sure that if I took the time to search nearly every members previous posts, I would find comments relating to a person or persons they were unhappy with.

Master Chief said:
i was going to say **** off somewhere thre but ill leave that to you mate, i know you love saying it. please proceed.

No need for that as I have explained myself clearly.

However, if you are Dean Laidley then I would like you to find the time to arrange an appointment with me so that you could actually outline what it is you are doing.

I am quite sure i'm not the only one that would like an explanation.