Gamble in Saints' best 18?

l.

there will be all the usual meaningless banter this season only the problem for cats fans is that you have no ammo

Mate...you haven't fired a live shot since 1966. Come back here when you have....

Right now...your all bluff and bluster...

the reality is that players change clubs. shit, malthouse was once a saint but i'll tell you this, the guy who tried to keep ball at the club is one of the biggest guns in the comp. LB didn't listen, won a flag with collingwood and found himself in the twos against frankston half way through the very next season.

still, no guarantee bally would have been in our 22 this year anyway.

Is it 2012 already ?
Crikey the footy season flys by quickly

Mate...you haven't fired a live shot since 1966. Come back here when you have....

Right now...your all bluff and bluster...

Great call.

Winning a grand final stays with you forever and thus will be forever admissible as "ammo". Of course, a St Kilda supporter wouldnt know this feeling. 2009, the year that got away... Followed by another two trips at the last hurdle in a year of "unfinished business"

i am saying that brett peake is a better footballer than luke ball yes. ball, gun, no. kidding you i am not.

All jokes aside, i would be interested in what you base this view on. i dont see the saints play that often but when i do, Peake is nothing but below ordinary. Ball on the other hand i see play often, and to even compare the 2 makes me question the motive of your post.

no way would I want Luke Ball at our club, he is slow, slow and slow. Cannot kick goals but is one of the courageous and hard in and under players in the game today. If we are rating both players on current day form I reckon Peake has far more up side than Ball who will now struggle to keep a spot due to the speed of the game and the agile taller athletes roaming the park.

Sim Dog please mate you need to stop saying to opposition supporters that we will get flogged!:mad: You only have to look at the current odds as bookies have the inside word on absolutely everything and they do not give away free money that's for sure.

no way would I want Luke Ball at our club, he is slow, slow and slow. Cannot kick goals but is one of the courageous and hard in and under players in the game today. If we are rating both players on current day form I reckon Peake has far more up side than Ball who will now struggle to keep a spot due to the speed of the game and the agile taller athletes roaming the park.

Sim Dog please mate you need to stop saying to opposition supporters that we will get flogged!:mad: You only have to look at the current odds as bookies have the inside word on absolutely everything and they do not give away free money that's for sure.

i dont care enough about either party to comment any further apart from saying Peake is potentially the crappest player i have ever seen. Ball, whilst not quick is a better than good performer. The end.

Sim Dog please mate you need to stop saying to opposition supporters that we will get flogged!:mad:

You are making out like I do/have done this often. Would you mind pointing out where? I actually really believe we could be a chance if we play a quicker and more well balanced side than we saw last year and don't buy into this 'Geelong are too old and will slide down the ladder' crap.

That said I'm just not that confident this week but would NEVER rule us out of winning any game. If we can attack them as the Bombers manage to do we could win quite easily as they start to drop their heads/stop working hard for each other and then start to look VERY ordinary and with their game plan coming from behind is very difficult.

I must say that awful one-handed marking attempt in the last quarter warmed the heart. That's the Ryan Gamble I remember from Geelong.

They can't say we didn't warn them.

What's funny is that like Charlie Gardiner, he will keep getting a game for them all year (even if he keeps squibbing it), and will probably still kick 30-40 goals.

I must say that awful one-handed marking attempt in the last quarter warmed the heart. That's the Ryan Gamble I remember from Geelong.

They can't say we didn't warn them.

Exactly what I thought: Gamble was Gamble as he's always been, thinking of taking mark of the year or kicking goal of the year rather than just doing the team thing. He's like the worst elements of Stevie J without any of the redeeming elements.

Without getting personal his physique looks less than impressive in that jumper - maybe the hoops flattered him but he seems to have no muscle defenition and just doesn't look athletic at all. His arms looked like a kid who has been in the system for 5 minutes let alone 5 or so seasons. Was sorry to see him go initially but totally over it now !!

Gamble won't kick 30-40 goals this year. No chance.
I'm not sure he'll get enough games to do it.

He's fortunate Gilbert asked to be returned to the back half otherwise I doubt he'd have been in the side against us. Certainly wouldn't have had Kosi been available as well IMO.

Still, at pick 90 he was worth a punt by the Saints. Pick 90 is about the mark though.

Interesting comments.
We were meant to win because we did, but IF Milburn had not got that last goal,and we lost by 5 points, I wonder if all the flak would have been sent Varcoe's way this week for gifting Gamble his goal, which in effect was the one that could have been most costly. So glad it didn't transpire that way.

Interesting comments.
We were meant to win because we did, but IF Milburn had not got that last goal,and we lost by 5 points, I wonder if all the flak would have been sent Varcoe's way this week for gifting Gamble his goal, which in effect was the one that could have been most costly. So glad it didn't transpire that way.

I was more annoyed with the one which just bounced through. WTF was that about?

We had a few handballs intercepted. I think in a 20 plus goal game you can wear it, but when they're so hard to come by it's a different story.

Interesting comments.

There were two hideous goals we let in.

One was Varcoe's idiotic handball, which resulted in Gamble goaling, then Hawkins allowing McEvoy to mark firstly, then no one being on the goalline. Absolutely basic stuff. Hawkins nearly contributed by having a handpass blocked when taking a mark in the last quarter.

I have to ask, do players even possess peripheral vision anymore? Either Varcoe and Hawkins only had to run another couple of metres further and there was no way anyone could spoil. Really dumb choices by pretty experienced players now.

Varcoe has to get possessions in a tough game to take the next step. It's the one thing he still hasn't done.

Varcoe's was a clanger and half all right....but he did get over 20 possessions. Not his best game for sure but I suspect he will be hot on Subi this week.

FWIW it was a stinker piece of play but at least he was attempting to be proactive. I know it was costly given the circumstances but you can wear it if you're trying to be positive. It's the same with Wojak. I don't mind him being caught every now and the. If he's having a crack at breaking lines..

But still 20+ disposals in a performance that was well below his best.. Just imagine what he'll be doing when he hits his straps?? You can see why he has been likened to Andrew McLoed