Arts & Humanities GD Cricket thread.

• Thread starter Thread starter Gough

Bloke at the WACA on Sunday got chucked out for shouting Allahu Akhbar at Amla. Incessantly. Dickhead.
this is why perth can't have nice things

Please tell me you're not serious?

******* Perth ffs! Amla is one classy guy on and off the field, probably score a triple century next time he plays a WACA test. If they ever have WACA tests again that is.
Sadly true. I don't think this guy even had enough of a brain to know what it means. Plus Amla was fielding in slips almost the whole time so I doubt he would have heard it.

When he got turfed out (about 10 overs into the SAF innings I think it was) the security guy told him it was for racist stuff. He had said plenty of stupid stuff, but that was the only thing I could imagine could be construed as racist. Security guy also said the complaint to chuck him out had come from one of the umpires. Not sure how true or realistic that is. I always thought it was just a joke cliche, but he even went the "I paid for a ticket I can say what I want" defence.

this is why perth can't have nice things

It's hardly just Perth.

I recall Dean Jones calling Amla a terrorist whilst commentating.

One Freo poster said a few years ago that he stopped going to ODIs at the WACA because he heard some of the worst racist sledges he'd ever heard.

I've only been to an ODI v England there in 2011 so I haven't experienced much myself but stories from that poster and a few others aren't painting a pretty picture.

I haven't been able to go too often in recent years but I will always remember the good hearted banter between fans and Ntini (champ) when he was fielding in the deep so it's pretty disappointing to hear. Aussie fans at the WACA have always gotten along pretty well with the Indians and their fans too so maybe it's just another part of this anti-Islamic push we've been seeing from the rednecks here recently or better yet just one lone tool.

I'd like to think he was chucked out...

Sadly true. I don't think this guy even had enough of a brain to know what it means. Plus Amla was fielding in slips almost the whole time so I doubt he would have heard it.

When he got turfed out (about 10 overs into the SAF innings I think it was) the security guy told him it was for racist stuff. He had said plenty of stupid stuff, but that was the only thing I could imagine could be construed as racist. Security guy also said the complaint to chuck him out had come from one of the umpires. Not sure how true or realistic that is. I always thought it was just a joke cliche, but he even went the "I paid for a ticket I can say what I want" defence.

You'd hope the complaint would have been issued by spectators around him long before the umpire (wtf?) could hear it. Sounds like a real dickhead.

Amla....

hashim-amla_0.jpg
Chappy should try this look.

You'd hope the complaint would have been issued by spectators around him long before the umpire (wtf?) could hear it. Sounds like a real dickhead.
I was waiting for them to put the SMS number up and I would have dobbed him in. He was more tedious than offensive to be honest. But for some reason they never put the number up until well into the second innings and he was already gone by then.

Please tell me you're not serious?

******* Perth ffs! Amla is one classy guy on and off the field, probably score a triple century next time he plays a WACA test. If they ever have WACA tests again that is.

Watched Amla and AB destroy us one day at a Perth Test - best batting I have ever seen in a day live. And that counts the time Warner took the Indians apart. Amla is a joy to watch - that guy is a flog of the highest order to be giving it to him.

Another story actually, one of my mates in Perth was kicked out of an ODI against NZ - was there with a group and had a kiwi mate next to him. They were basically giving a bit of banter to each other, my mate may have mentioned something about sheep sh@ggers ... Some bloke a few rows back complained, and out he went... Doesn't take much in Perth though, seen guys being kicked out for starting a wave or making a beer snake which really is pretty harmless.

I could watch de Villiers bat for days. He looks like he could take his pick from ten different strokes to play any given ball. S Smith has a bit of that about him too.

Marsh's bowling does not look like causing a quality batsman any issues this summer.

Another story actually, one of my mates in Perth was kicked out of an ODI against NZ - was there with a group and had a kiwi mate next to him. They were basically giving a bit of banter to each other, my mate may have mentioned something about sheep sh@ggers ... Some bloke a few rows back complained, and out he went... Doesn't take much in Perth though, seen guys being kicked out for starting a wave or making a beer snake which really is pretty harmless.

Have to get the problem out straight away otherwise there is no telling what will happen next in Perth

No doubt an unpopular opinion, but to me Michael Clarke is on the nose. Seeing the Australian cricket captain (the man with the second most important job in the country) douche around wearing ghey designer sunglasses, with a popped collar drinking coffee in hipster cafes flashing tough stickers just doesn't sit well. AB, Steve Waugh, Tubby he ain't. And the whole "get ready to have a broken arm" gate - seeing the scrawny man child trying to be all bad ass - well its kind of cringeworthy.

Watched Amla and AB destroy us one day at a Perth Test - best batting I have ever seen in a day live. And that counts the time Warner took the Indians apart. Amla is a joy to watch - that guy is a flog of the highest order to be giving it to him.

Did you miss Gilly a few years ago rip England a new one?

That day was great. I actually sort of enjoyed them tearing us apart.

No doubt an unpopular opinion, but to me Michael Clarke is on the nose. Seeing the Australian cricket captain (the man with the second most important job in the country) douche around wearing ghey designer sunglasses, with a popped collar drinking coffee in hipster cafes flashing tough stickers just doesn't sit well. AB, Steve Waugh, Tubby he ain't. And the whole "get ready to have a broken arm" gate - seeing the scrawny man child trying to be all bad ass - well its kind of cringeworthy.

He's had to carry the national team in recent years when no one else could find a run so he's okay by me. Great tactician too. Pretty tired of hearing flogs get so upset about what he does off the cricket pitch.

Clarke's seemingly a bit of a douche off the field, doesn't mean he isn't good to lead the country in cricket though. As long as he can bring the squad together, his on-field performances mean he is ok by me regardless of whether he is hipster, vegan, bogan or bloke. Who cares what Steve Waugh was like, would hate if we put someone as captain solely because they were like Warney and Waughy and Tubby and Bordery and liked a VB while rogering the missus etc.

Steve Smith will be a fantastic captain soon though.