Geelong – most loved to most disliked?

Selwood is generally running off with the ball when the free kick is called.

In contrast, for example, I saw Suban drop to get a high tackle a few times tonight. That stuff is all for the free kick because they can't do something useful after they drop.

Selwood draws the high contact as part of escaping the tackle. Easy solution would be for the umpire to not call it and let him play football.
Yeah but he does sook it up if it turns into a stoppage and he doesn't get a free.

It's weird. I was at the game, watching with Freo supporters and they had no qualms with the umpiring. I guess Bigfooty knows best.

It's only dropped off because 3/4 of geelongs 2007-2009 bandwagon has disappeared

I still say most of the shift flinging began down the highway :)
No it didn't. It all came from hawks supporters dismissing our 2007 premiership as down hill skiers. Apparently cos the cats lost a home and away game in round 3 to Hawthorn in Launceston by 3 points then Geelong was not worthy of the 2007 premiership. That is when the mud slinging started.

You mean when the Geelong fans started trumpeting the "we beat everybody" line?

Never liked them. Even when they were winning Grand finals I still went for Port and Saints.

You seem to be good at backing losers in Grand Finals don't you ?
Port,Saints,Freo :p

Why not try reverse psychology and barrack for Geelong next time ? ;)

I'm not trolling, it won't be long til some parent sues the AFL for their kid ending up in a wheelchair because they've tried to get a high free kick and have snapped their back. Mackie got to the ball first, had a chance to stand up, instead ducked looking for a free kick resulting in him getting a severe knock to the head. The only way to stop this is to stop giving players frees for it.
You can't keep the head sacrosanct if the head is being used to win free kicks.
I don't think the issue is whether he had time to stand up but whether he had time to turn his body when he picked the ball up. I remember thinking 'you dickhead' when he did it but have to see the footage again to be certain. We were always told to turn our body to absorb impact and be able to get a handball away.

I respect the cats so much they just keep on keeping on

*Yes they give me the 2 bob bits as well

I don't think the issue is whether he had time to stand up but whether he had time to turn his body when he picked the ball up. I remember thinking 'you dickhead' when he did it but have to see the footage again to be certain. We were always told to turn our body to absorb impact and be able to get a handball away.

If you watch the replays he was fumbling trying to pick up the ball. Seems like a pretty straight forward free from a clumsy front on tackle....
Will have to find the replays and then will get back to you.

Edit. Watched it. Absolute free kick. Still not quite sure about his actions and have some questions
1) did he do enough to protect himself in that situation? Ground ball 101.
2) was he trying to draw a free?
3) did he have a choice?
Legit questions.

This thread sums up Cat supporters pretty well I would have thought

They can't handle any kind of criticism

I will tell you this name a Geelong game in the last 5 years where they have been hard done by from umpires? Always seem to get the rub of the green.

For a start, their near-cheating in our recent game vs. the Bulldogs. 25-13 free kicks their way, including most 50/50 calls (incidentally, similar calls weren't paid our way).

Yep and Gary Ablett snr is saying Hi to Cam Mooney. We can play this game all day.

The conversation started because a Freo supporter said 'How does Varcoe seriously get a game?'. Two different coaches have seen fit to include Varcoe in grand finals sides. I'd rather trust their opinion over some illiterate flog on Bigfooty.

I love watching them play, and have more than a healthy respect for them.

I don't love Selwood's ducking, Chris Scott's incessant sooking, and I don't love the armchair ride they've been given over the past 2 weeks. The latter is hardly their fault though.

The conversation started because a Freo supporter said 'How does Varcoe seriously get a game?'. Two different coaches have seen fit to include Varcoe in grand finals sides. I'd rather trust their opinion over some illiterate flog on Bigfooty.
I don't have an opinion on Varcoe's value now but past glory may not be a relevant reply when considering current form, medal or not.

Never seen an entire team so focused on just winning free kicks, and that includes West Coast. Bartel has become a genuine scumbag IMO. Geelong players would get the footy tonight and what would happen next? Play for the high tackle every, single, time. Disgusting. Was a a clear directive to me.

Saw Mitch Duncan said before the game that they'd have a few tricks to counter us this time, really unoriginal to be brutally honest. Playing for frees (and being rewarded) under the slightest pressure? Why the **** not, perfectly legit.

Hope Geelong actually contest us with footy next time.

Respect for a champion team all gone.

Loving this.

Tears of unfathomable sadness.

I don't have an opinion on Varcoe's value now but past glory may not be a relevant reply when considering current form, medal or not.

His current form is good enough for him to play every game this season in a team that is joint top of the ladder.

I love the sooking about Selwood.
Lets do an exercise together, get a mate whose about the same size as you put his arms down close to his body.
Now come from behind him and wrap your arms around his biceps/elbow and get him to try to open his arms.
Can't do it? takes more strength to open his arms than it does for you to hold em down?
Well duh.
Don't blame Selwood if he is stronger than most and can break those tackles.