Geelong attempted to avoid salary cap with Tim Kelly

“Goodness, I think we tried everything. We tried absolutely everything and I don’t think we could have done more. I won’t go through all the measures we did, but I don’t think we could have done any more,” Cook told SEN on Thursday.

“If I could just mention one thing that we tried to do was we tried to get assistance outside the cap for the family.

“Unfortunately the Kelly’s have two children who are autistic and need unbelievable support and assistance and we tried to work around the AFL in terms of getting some compensation.

“We eventually we couldn’t get that; the AFL wouldn’t allow that, which I felt wasn’t in the interests of the game or him or anyone really. The only thing we could have done better was to get some more dollars to do more things to help them in more ways.”

So Geelong tried to ask the AFL to pay Tim Kelly, a rich footballer, more money outside the salary cap to keep him, because apparently he didn't have enough money to support his disabled children.

How is this acceptable? And why the hell would a player set to earn $700,000+ per year need more money outside the cap to look after his kids? That's ridiculous.

So Geelong tried to ask the AFL to pay Tim Kelly, a rich footballer, more money outside the salary cap to keep him, because apparently he didn't have enough money to support his disabled children.

How is this acceptable? And why the hell would a player set to earn $700,000+ per year need more money outside the cap to look after his kids? That's ridiculous.
It's hardly cheating to ask, is it?

(Edit: Subject changed from “cheat” to “avoid” :angry: )

No shame in asking the question when you’ve got the AFL paying players “ambassadorial” money on top of their fat contracts.

They didn't cheat because it was denied. But their intention was to cheat the system with a bullshit reason

It’s not cheating if the governing body signs off on it.

I wouldn't be at all impressed if it was discovered certain star players were being paid "legally" outside the cap because they supposedly didn't have enough money to support their families

They didn't cheat because it was denied. But their intention was to cheat the system with a bullshit reason
and had the AFL granted it you can’t calling it cheating if the governing body approves it.

Cheating is doing something you’re forbidden from doing

and had the AFL granted it you can’t calling it cheating if the governing body approves it.

Like this for example:

The charges stemmed from the contract that Tippett signed with Adelaide in 2009, which made him the Crows' highest-paid player.

Adelaide allegedly agreed to trade him to a club of his choice for a second-round draft pick - a massively lopsided arrangement - when the contract finished at the end of 2012.

The Crows allegedly made a further payment of up to $200,000 to Tippett outside the salary cap.

Hence Geelong "attempted to cheat" the salary cap. You aren't allowed to pay players outside the salary cap. The AFL told them to get stuffed.

Didn't Dusty get paid a fat sum to appear on the Footy Show to flog off his contract decision? What about those Puma deals? Judd + Visy, Ablett + ambassador payments up North.

Good to see the AFL has it's priorities in check, that stuff is all fine but therapists for two kids with autism is too much. Inclusive AFL.

8966588-3x2-940x627.jpg

As Ilksy said - it's not cheating if the AFL approved it.

We have seen numerous occasions where the AFL, and Gil in particular, make dodgy decisions and seem to face no accountability. Just a few weeks ago, the AFL made a bizarre ruling about the wording of Jaidyn Stephensen's suspension that allowed him to play a VFL game. We have also previously seen teams like Hawthorn have usually-ineligible guys suit up for VFL finals for match practice. They also kept changing what "2 first round picks in 4 years" actually meant. And as was mentioned above there is also "Ambassador" contracts, and a whole range of payments that players get outside of the salary cap that could very easily be linked to their club.

Don't blame Geelong for asking the question.
Blame the AFL if they approved it (which in this case it looks like they didn't)

Hence Geelong "attempted to cheat" the salary cap. You aren't allowed to pay players outside the salary cap. The AFL told them to get stuffed.

It's not "attempting to cheat" if they asked and the AFL allowed it.
It would be "attempting to cheat" if they tried to sneak it through on a hidden deal and were then found out.

Lol this is naive, plenty of players get paid outside the cap legally, all signed off (and paid for) by the AFL. Nic Nat is one. Gary collected heaps at GC.

Tenuous argument at best. Sounds like it was a 3rd party or Ambassadorial payment that was asked for. The AFL can, and has in the past, granted those requests. Doesn’t constitute cheating.

Breaking your TPP is. Any suggestion that’s what we asked to break?

This is what real salary cap cheating looks like: