Geelong "forgettables"

• Thread starter Thread starter catempire

On SEN, Huddo just read out his team of forgettables for Geelong from the 90s. They were:

B: Crothers A.Darcy B.Grgic
HB: Corrigan Heffernan Miles
C: Woolnough T.Malekellis McCrabb
HF: Merriman Spencer McNish
F: Willison Spinks Loats
R: Hooper Sterrett Forssman
INT: Baldwin Brockman Allen Hungerford

Is it just me or does it seem like we've had a mountain load of these types of players over the years? :o

Missing:

White
J. Mooney
Bamford
Arnott
Lowther
Bray

heaps more :o

No wonder we lost the 92 GF, we had Merriman, Miles and Sean Simpson playing. :eek:

Bit harsh on woolnough do you guys think? Was crucified with injuries

On SEN, Huddo just read out his team of forgettables for Geelong from the 90s. They were:

Is it just me or does it seem like we've had a mountain load of these types of players over the years? :o

Why is Anthony Darcy at FB ?
He was a midfielder

Just noticed McCrabb on the wing.Was the person that selected this side pissed at the time ?

Wooly on the wing to! he was a bigman haha

A few they missed and I don't think have been mentioned by others

Tim Hargreaves - his bull horns v Melbourne was his only highlight at Geelong

Justin Wood - 4[?] goals on debut.I think that might've been the game at Princess Park where Nathan Brown waved the ball as he ran into an open goal.Geelong goaled from the following centre bounce and won.

Cain Liddle - he kicked 4 or 5 in a practice game against Hawthorn at Geelong West Oval and was then "hidden".Sadly he's still in hiding.

Craig Biddiscombe - promised so much,delivered so little.Thankfully we suckered Richmond into taking him

Danny O'brien - small forward who probably didn't get much of a go.

Daniel 'Piggy' Lowther - starred in the VFL.Bombed in AFL.

A few other noteables : Bret Bailey,Daniel Fletcher,Paul Lindsay,Joel McKay and David Wellsby

A few of those weren't even from the 90's!

The Gerge was a bit of a tease. Just too laid back for AFL footy. Plenty of talent though.

Leigh Brockman was a top 10 pick wasn't he? He was picked quite high anyway and was useless, here and then in Sydney.

Corrigan was servicable. We've had worse players.

Geoff Miles kicked a few bags in late 92. Wasn't that bad.

MacNish came, kicked 5 in a game then was gone almost as quick. Those were the days of the mid-season draft!

Loats was ordinary in his only game.

Spencer was ok as a CHB in the early 90's.

Darren Forssman was close to State of Origin selection in 92 IIRC. He was solid for a few years after that too.

Stephen Hooper could have been anything if it wasn't for injuries. Same for Marc Woolnough.

Baldwin was VFL level only. It was embarrassing that he was needed in 2000 and 2001 all because we had no forward line. He kicked 3 on debut and that was it.

Spinks did a job for a year. But we wasted many picks on similar players (eg. J.Mooney - as much as I loved watching him play though).

Did Hungerford ever play a game?

I reckon you could have picked a worse side than that. I may do it one day when I'm bored!

Hopefully. :)

Nah!
Screw im, he was a dog who should have stayed on and fixed what he didn't feel was right or appropriate at the club. He wasn't worthy of the honour, and while he may have had his reasons, a real man would have stood his ground and put his heart in to what needed to be done.

While some (yes I will plead gulty to this also) rag out King, based on form only, he didn't pull up stumps when it got too tough.. He's been man enough to ignore all the crap thrown at him, and keep going.

Good for him!

I don't really hold any grudges..

honest :)