Preview Geelong. Grand Final. You know when. You know where.

Who would you pick for the grand final?

I don't know who exactly was the source for this, but the host on midweek tackle was adamant that we do have to pay for extra things that does come out of the soft cap. Especially feeding the players and staff on interstate trips.

Club turning a healthy profit now so much more sustainable than the AFL paying for everything as they were for a time.

On midweek tackle, they did an expose on the lion's soft cap. So when Brisbane travels interstate for one of their away games; things like hotels, food for the players and staff are all considered part of the soft cap. Hence why we usually travel as late as possible so we can save money from our soft cap. However, during the pre-season, Dany Daly would circle a couple of away games where they afford to travel a day earlier. The Collingwood game that took place 2 months ago was a game where the players spent an extra day in melbourne as well as our games in WA. The reason for the WA games are obvious because it's a 5 hour flight, and the Collingwood game was picked because when we travel to melbourne a day earlier, we always performed better. In fact, we haven't lost a game when we traveled a day earlier this season.

Daly would also save a bit of money just incase we make finals; however, once you make the grand final, you're exempt from any fines for going over the softcap. Which is why you'll see the club go all out on bringing as many people as possible here - even those on the injury list. I thought it was interesting and it explains why Fagan has been so strong on increasing the soft cap, because I believe if the club didn't fear any fine from the AFL, they would preferably travel a day earlier each time as it's proven to be advantageous for us.
Seems totally ridiculous that travel and accommodation etc is part of the soft cap.
Non-Victorian teams immediately have less money to pay for staff.

I know last week I felt that beating the pies was enough, and given our fixture + injury list even just making the GF was a win for the season anyway.

After 3 days of the Geelong Media Machine being in full swing, I’ve changed my mind and decided we need to bury these arrogant c*nts. Every single one of them can get in the bin.

Worth noting that the feeling last year heading into the GF was very similar remember, ie “swans will smoke them” or “it’ll be a cracker of a close one”.

Let’s hope there’s a repeat this year.
The Pies were just the entree, the Cats are the main course, and the Lions are hungry.

They need a bit of arrogance, not just confidence, I daresay. I still think at their best the Lions can win, need to bring it. You know Geelong have it, strutting around like they've already won it. Make it physical and hit them hard.

I'm praying it's at least competitive if the Lions don't smash them.

Around lunch time last Saturday I felt a calm confidence that they would get the job done. Didn't trust the feeling entirely but i thought, not felt, that we would lose to the Suns.

I still have that calm confident feeling.

We got this.

Around lunch time last Saturday I felt a calm confidence that they would get the job done. Didn't trust the feeling entirely but i thought, not felt, that we would lose to the Suns.

We got this.
2018 grand final week I kept replaying gf scenarios in my head, had no idea who'd win, seemed like a genuine 50/50.

Morning of the grand final I just felt a strange calm assurance that we'd win that I can't really explain. That almost never happens, I usually get more nervous as the game starts.

I know it means nothing to Lions supporters, some random Eagles hunch, but I find it interesting. I'n sure there are some Cats fans feeling the same. Anyway as you were, I won't say more in your board.

2018 grand final week I kept replaying gf scenarios in my head, had no idea who'd win, seemed like a genuine 50/50.

Morning of the grand final I just felt a strange calm assurance that we'd win that I can't really explain.

I know it means nothing to Lions supporters, some random Eagles hunch, but I find it interesting. Anyway as you were, I won't say more in your board.

You are welcome here.

I am not know for being calm so it is a bit weird.

Good luck next year. If you end up with starce I'll be watching quite a few of your games. He never quits, hates losing a contest. Getting a gun defender from a winning team helped us climb out of the pit, hopefully he gives you a boost as well.

You are welcome here.

I am not know for being calm so it is a bit weird.

Good luck next year. If you end up with starce I'll be watching quite a few of your games. He never quits, hates losing a contest. Getting a gun defender from a winning team helped us climb out of the pit, hopefully he gives you a boost as well.
It's funny, before last year's gf I met someone who'd gone through a lot who was a huge Lions fan, and met up with her at the grand final parade. She related how her father - who passed recently - got her into footy and the Lions. We went into the G to watch the last training session and randomly got chatting to some Lions fans, and felt a team sense of commaraderie with them. I already really wanted the Lions to win, but that cemented it.

I initially thought Geelong easily...then thought the Lions just, and now, unfortunately I do find it hard to see the Cats losing, but still have faith they CAN do it, just want it to be Saturday already. Win or lose I'm sure they'll fine it their all and do you all proud. Not even a supporter of either but feeling the tension. Most invested I've been in a non Eagles gf since 2016 when I was living in Footscray maybe, along with the last 2 years.

I feel good about Starc if we get him. Always rated him, and what he did against Elliott (it wasn't a free, being as objective as possible) exemplifies that. We have several heart and soul players like Baker and a few of the younger guys, which is what we need.

I don't begrudge Oscar for leaving, he's been riddled with injury and I'm happy he's going to the Lions and not the Hawks.

Anyway, will be at Fed square with my Lions supporting mate on Saturday, can't wait!

Club turning a healthy profit now so much more sustainable than the AFL paying for everything as they were for a time.
Danny Daley was the source, they were saying that hotel rooms when they are travelling away and meals are in the soft cap so they have to manage it across the year. But grand final week is on the AFL so they can go early to do the promotional stuff.

We got this.
I feel exactly the same way. Having the Footy Gods on our side helps.

The other thing that gives me confidence is just how chronically underrated we are by so many people in the media. We know how great the Lions are because we watch them closely every week. It is going to take people a little while to catch on, but this team is a once in a generation side and the next decade could be the most amazing in the modern AFL era. The significant number of ex-coaches and players tipping us is a real sign. They know football from the inside and they are better placed to see what we see. Let’s hope Geelong turn up, like Sydney last year, expecting to win.

This is my shout out to the Football World. This song perfectly sums up how I feel about THE MIGHTY LIONS. If I had the skills, I’d make a video package of our amazing highlights with this as the soundtrack.

“But last year's light is shining, hotter than the sun”

I feel an ambush coming on. All this talk in the media about it really just being Geelong’s procession to the throne and we’re just the last little stop on the way, our team is going to be so fired up, we’re gonna belt them.
They've showed their hand and we have time to dissect. Will be interesting how this plays out.

Jack Riewoldt just got on us on SEN! 😲
Actually I think Jack & Jordon Lewis both tipped us on the Couch. Only Bucks went with Geelong.

Media previews beyond lame this year. I'm not surprised most are tipping the cats, I would tip the cats.

But no one even making an effort to consider how the cats could lose?

We did beat them twice before the QF!

Media previews beyond lame this year. I'm not surprised most are tipping the cats, I would tip the cats.

But no one even making an effort to consider how the cats could lose?

We did beat them twice before the QF!
I’d tip the Cats too - they’ve had a dream run and are fit. I love that we’re going in as under-dogs.

I reckon the ex-footballers who are tipping us expect the cats to win, but they know what we can do.

Hopefully it’s a cracker of a game!