Geelong rorting the system

Not according to the article on the AFL website.

"The League revealed on Wednesday that the Cats had not breached any total player payments or soft cap rules, but they had failed to disclose some third-party deals".

A $77,500 fine with $40,000 suspended is a wet lettuce leaf for "failing to disclose some third-party deals". Player salaries and club caps are not publicised nor are third party deals. The AFL is an amateur organisation that fails upwards.
Can someone please explain to me how this is any different than the Kurt tippet saga? Genuine question. Is it a lesser crime? From memory tippets was all about disclosure too?

Do…. Do you know how farms work?

A little off topic but to own livestock, profit from it, benefit from it etc, you don’t have to show physical proof that you have handfed it every meal it’s ever eaten or that you’ve crutched every sheep that’s ever set foot on your property with your own teeth.

We could just pay for several farmhands to do it for him or buy some livestock and pay the agistment on it at another nearby property etc and rort it that way.
Seriously, you are joking. Any AFL footballer who own a farm, either don't have much land or are leasing (the land) it to a real farmer.

Not according to the article on the AFL website.

"The League revealed on Wednesday that the Cats had not breached any total player payments or soft cap rules, but they had failed to disclose some third-party deals".

A $77,500 fine with $40,000 suspended is a wet lettuce leaf for "failing to disclose some third-party deals". Player salaries and club caps are not publicised nor are third party deals. The AFL is an amateur organisation that fails upwards.
They really should has said "Not that we know what breeching even is" when they said they hadn't done it. It seemed to work for the tanking debate when the AFL fined themselves and punished Adelaide.

AFL to everyone. You have to use a pick in the first round of a draft 2 in every 4 years.

Cats yeah nah that applies to everyone but us.

Biggest ****ing cheats going around and AFL seem to have two rule books

One for everyone else. One for the cheats.

How many first Rd picks has Geelong had in the last few decades? Genuinely curious.

AFL to everyone. You have to use a pick in the first round of a draft 2 in every 4 years.

Yep, in changing the rules to be 2 out of 5 years they have decided it's too complicated to figure out so everyone gets a tick for 23 + 24 so Geelong can trade all three out. Geelong still getting all the luck without any rorting going on....

Its amazing how the AFL literally changed the rules hours ago and one of the teams benefiting from that rule change have 3 consecutive 1sts on the table...

The AFL aren't even trying now.

Seriously, you are joking. Any AFL footballer who own a farm, either don't have much land or are leasing (the land) it to a real farmer.

Grimes literally lives and operates and has done for the best part of a decade on a 100 acre winery which is a decent size by winery standards.

Hawkins’ farm is 170 acres. For perspective I grew up on a farm that my dad lived on for 70 years that was 250 acres. Depending what you’re doing on it, it’s easily enough to be a full time job if you wanted it to be.

Not really the point being made though.

I was responding to the idea you seemed to be suggesting that they give Curnow livestock to incentivise him to live there to take care of it or was I misinterpreting what you said?

Three first round picks for Curnow...1 each over the next 3 years.

This years will be what...around 20?

Next years...mid teens at a minimum.

Third year...closer to 30 by the time the Tassie picks are taken into account.

That is an offensive first offer.

I wonder who leaked it to Cal...was it Geelong to show that they are serious (deluded!) or was it Carlton being totally offended at the lack of respect and being treated as fools?

Three first round picks for Curnow...1 each over the next 3 years.

This years will be what...around 20?

Next years...mid teens at a minimum.

Third year...closer to 30 by the time the Tassie picks are taken into account.

That is an offensive first offer.

I wonder who leaked it to Cal...was it Geelong to show that they are serious (deluded!) or was it Carlton being totally offended at the lack of respect and being treated as fools?
Its a baseline. Sydney 3 first rounders should be better quality then Geelong puts in 3 first rounders + best 23 player.. maybe get a future carlton 2nd round back

Grimes literally lives and operates and has done for the best part of a decade on a 100 acre winery which is a decent size by winery standards.

Hawkins’ farm is 170 acres. For perspective I grew up on a farm that my dad lived on for 70 years that was 250 acres. Depending what you’re doing on it, it’s easily enough to be a full time job if you wanted it to be.

Not really the point being made though.

I was responding to the idea you seemed to be suggesting that they give Curnow livestock to incentivise him to live there to take care of it or was I misinterpreting what you said?
At the end of the day its a throw away line but I'm from a farming background too. As long as you have decent pasture cattle make good money, handy if you have your own wheat too.

Geelong rorting the system