Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
It's uniquely Australian. I don't see it any other sports comps overseas.Why do the sacked coaches get dragged out to a press conference in this country? Very odd tradition we have.
It's sudden but not that unexpected.
Not sure I see the point in sacking a coach 3 weeks before the end of the season though, can someone explain that to me? Maybe they already had someone ready to take over.
The players seem to love him? All except Petracca maybe.
No current season stats available
I've seen a few people ask this question, if they try to contend with what they have they will be stuck in the North /WC bottom 4 purgatory.Will dees go all in on a rebuild now? Or will they try to contend immediately under the new coach? Feels like this group has taken them as far as they could.
No current season stats available
You don’t sack a premiership coach a year after a flag. You just don’t.Yes
Their issues were plain to see. And since then they've just been going around the round-a-bout European Vacation style.
That's from the guilt of stealing Billy's wife.More chance of suffering a heart attack next summer such is the amount of weight he's stacked on recent years.
Get around me?I implore everyone to read through this entire thread and count how many Melbourne supporters are here posting. I've counted one. If I'm wrong, someone correct me.
This has to be the least engaged supporter base in the AFL. Maybe all their supporters are over 75?
Absolute flog he is.How about Gary Lyon take over instead of potting every other coach the gutless flog.
The worst was the Brendan Bolton one. Finished up with ‘I love coaching’. I think he went to shake the presidents hand and got nothing.It's uniquely Australian. I don't see it any other sports comps overseas.
Always thought it was a cultural cringe we have to endure for some reason.
In fairness, Petracca seems like a bit of a tosser hell bent on building his so called 'brand' and finding his wife something quick and healthy to eat for dinner.Probably a good idea to not have your best player annoyed though
I agree, just not sure the club is brave enough to make that call. It's the wrong draft to be rebuilding too, if they do decide to move on 2 or 3 of Petracca, Fritsch, McVee, Lever, Oliver etc.I've seen a few people ask this question, if they try to contend with what they have they will be stuck in the North /WC bottom 4 purgatory.
Do what every successful rebuild has done, slowly bleed anyone of value over 25 so you keep enough experience to support the kids while stocking up on a critical mass of talent. They've already got a headstart on the young talent as well
In fairness, Petracca seems like a bit of a tosser hell bent on building his so called 'brand' and finding his wife something quick and healthy to eat for dinner.
I agree, just not sure the club is brave enough to make that call. It's the wrong draft to be rebuilding too, if they do decide to move on 2 or 3 of Petracca, Fritsch, McVee, Lever, Oliver etc.
And don't forget the absolute s&&t show that is their culture and their management apparently. You would have to be very keen on the money or someone who enjoys pain to put your hand up. Maybe they should think about appointing an AI agent?Seems very odd timing, given the fact they’ve played possibly their best footy of the year the last two weeks, outside of the last quarter v us obviously.
Not sure how enticing a job it would be to take over, given their list profile.
They’ve been a bottom 7 team the last two years now, and 3 weeks ago lost to Carlton, while only missing Lever of note, while last week they lost to us missing as many as 7 of our best team, with them only missing May and Lever of note, yet their arguable best player turns 34 in a few months (Gawn), May turns 34 in 5 months, Melksham turns 34 in a month, McDonald 33 next month, Viney is 31, Petracca turns 30 in 5 months, and isn’t what he was, Salem and Langdon also turn 30 within 6 months, and Oliver is going to be on a reported $1.7mil back-ended contract, yet is a shadow of his former self!
They have some very young guns (especially Langford, Lindsay and Windsor), but really only one “gun player” between the ages of 20 and almost-30 (Pickett).
To make things worse, they traded their first this year for the pick they got Lindsay with, so will finish bottom 6 or 7 and not have a first rounder, and then they’re going to lose a bunch of their very best players in the next 2-3 years, and will presumably have to rebuild as Tassie are coming in.
Got to wonder how appealing it will be to walk into that situation.
Yeah they ****ed it not trading out whoever last year but every year they delay it takes more value off anyone decent until they have to pay to get rid of them. Tassie and the draft being shit this year has ****ed the draft for 3 years, but something is still better than the nothing they'll get after these three years.In fairness, Petracca seems like a bit of a tosser hell bent on building his so called 'brand' and finding his wife something quick and healthy to eat for dinner.
I agree, just not sure the club is brave enough to make that call. It's the wrong draft to be rebuilding too, if they do decide to move on 2 or 3 of Petracca, Fritsch, McVee, Lever, Oliver etc.
I think you're underestimating the ability of players like Stanley in that flag year and Danger /Selwood in that year overall, among others.Dangerfield was excellent in that GF, seriously incredible. Stanley was ok
But Danger still wasn't Petracca or Bont - he was on 60% game time, and coached brilliantly. Basically, an ageing footballer was played to his strengths.
Great news.
Was petrified we would become the Western Bulldogs and keep him for 9 seasons after winning a flag like the Dogs have done with that dud Beveridge.
Now lets go get a great coach.
Expect him to be re-hired within the weeksMelbourne sacking a premiership coach. What could go wrong?