Goulburn Valley FL 2020

Lost a couple too though
Including one of their top players over the last couple of yrs.

I do hear they keep in contact with Faulks often too
Have heard that Jared Bacon is looking to move nearer Geelong. Still needs a teaching transfer so not done yet. The President might retain him for another year you might think ... even if he travels back for 10 games during the season.

Why don't all leagues have the same salary? Surely it's harder to get guys to play in smaller towns, as there isn't as many locals, so they have to buy more players in
I reckon there are only a couple of clubs in the KDFL up around the Shepparton way that can actually afford to spent the whole cap. But yes you are right, it’s a tough gig and will always be a flawed system, as well as the points.

Why don't all leagues have the same salary? Surely it's harder to get guys to play in smaller towns, as there isn't as many locals, so they have to buy more players in
Being pessimistic , it is another means to try to prevent players leaving the larger cities for the smaller towns .

I reckon there are only a couple of clubs in the KDFL up around the Shepparton way that can actually afford to spent the whole cap. But yes you are right, it’s a tough gig and will always be a flawed system, as well as the points.
Which makes the KDL really tough as not only do those further away have to deal with paying extra for travel but they can’t raise the funds to do so .

With the continued growth of Nagambie as a town surely they will outgrow the KDFL.

Always thought they would be a good fit in the Heathcote league. Facilities would need a complete overhaul before even thinking about rejoining the GV.
The HDFL is certainly turning some heads with the quality of players heading to it. Nagambie will be in an interesting position in 10 years time if it continues to grow substantially.

Pretty slow on here at present.

Is Holman the only one out of Kyabram? Tipping KDFL clubs might be throwing some $$ at some of those players outside the top 12 or so.

Yes Silver, the Free Press in an article today about Tom leaving mentioned all other players committed to returning or have already signed plus additions of Herbert and Denahy

Pretty slow on here at present.

Is Holman the only one out of Kyabram? Tipping KDFL clubs might be throwing some $$ at some of those players outside the top 12 or so.
My understanding Silver is that most clubs have banked plenty during COVID and are prepared to spend it . Problem is it is not the top echelon they feel there’ll be an issue or wish to spend coin, but more so on having enough and building two’s numbers . The ability to avoid concerns what if’s regarding injury ( eg insurance ) proving a real issue for those who have now become more accustomed to the safety of the couch straight after work or just working on weekends.
Peoples habits regarding socialising has altered dramatically in Victoria and might be along time before people see football / netball as critical to socialising as they once did .

My understanding Silver is that most clubs have banked plenty during COVID and are prepared to spend it . Problem is it is not the top echelon they feel there’ll be an issue or wish to spend coin, but more so on having enough and building two’s numbers . The ability to avoid concerns what if’s regarding injury ( eg insurance ) proving a real issue for those who have now become more accustomed to the safety of the couch straight after work or just working on weekends.
Peoples habits regarding socialising has altered dramatically in Victoria and might be along time before people see football / netball as critical to socialising as they once did .

Im in the opposite camp roar, people have been cooped up for the best part of 7 months, they will be chomping at the bit to socialise down at the clubrooms

In regards to player numbers, just like work after covid their will be change, maybe 2s will train only Thursdays, maybe 2s footy will be shortened in time as well. I still think female footy will be played before the seniors before long.

I'm not sure how clubs will be rolling in cash? Unless they are ag based, clubs with small populations, that don't rely heavily on business sponsorship maybe ok, eg out in the Mallee, but I hold grave fears for many clubs and I expect a number of mergers in the next 3 years directly from the Rona shutdown.

I hear people say that players will work on weekends instead of playing, but I can't too much work on weekends, these big subdivisions where many tradies get their time and a half and double time, rely on large migration from O/s and interstate for these to go ahead, I can't see 2 men and his dog moving to Melbourne for a long time. Maybe footy will turn back into a community sport rather than the businesses they have become, which could be a good thing

My 2 cents worth 🤷🏻‍♂️

Im in the opposite camp roar, people have been cooped up for the best part of 7 months, they will be chomping at the bit to socialise down at the clubrooms

In regards to player numbers, just like work after covid their will be change, maybe 2s will train only Thursdays, maybe 2s footy will be shortened in time as well. I still think female footy will be played before the seniors before long.

I'm not sure how clubs will be rolling in cash? Unless they are ag based, clubs with small populations, that don't rely heavily on business sponsorship maybe ok, eg out in the Mallee, but I hold grave fears for many clubs and I expect a number of mergers in the next 3 years directly from the Rona shutdown.

I hear people say that players will work on weekends instead of playing, but I can't too much work on weekends, these big subdivisions where many tradies get their time and a half and double time, rely on large migration from O/s and interstate for these to go ahead, I can't see 2 men and his dog moving to Melbourne for a long time. Maybe footy will turn back into a community sport rather than the businesses they have become, which could be a good thing

My 2 cents worth 🤷🏻‍♂️

Over 350000 Melburnians prepared to pack up after all of this. No disrespect but its like living in a place like Ouyen but with 5 million people atm. Some regional populations and football clubs may benefit from this?

Yes Silver, the Free Press in an article today about Tom leaving mentioned all other players committed to returning or have already signed plus additions of Herbert and Denahy

About 6 or 7 could be missing from 19 flag side
Ins are Morgan Williams Crowe ( injuries)
Herbet Catternole Denehy Keogh??
Maybe others

Hey guys, newbie here - just wondering what the difference is between the GVFNL and the KDFL? Is one comp stronger/better than the other? They seem to play in the same areas. So trying to work out the difference between them...