Roast Grumpy Old Thread- 10k posts of whinging

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

SpiderBurton22 has a story about the Timboon footy club that might give you a nasty surprise. Something to do with wearing gumboots. All I can say is that it happened well after my time there.

Lomas Do you still follow the local footy team, the Timboon Horsef*****s?

Straight from the territory of Ben Cunnington, Horace and my good self there Hojuman. Dad was friends with Jack and I recall one day when I was about 14 or so, one of the O'Toole boys came to our place in Timboon - he sharpened our old axe and got an edge good enough to shave whatever hair I had on my arm. We used to go to the local shows as kids - the O'Toole's cleaned up the wood chopping. Another local, Frank Whiteside was a decent axeman as well, and Laurie Matheson. Maybe Horace remembers some of those blokes from the area back in the day?

Keeping the North Melbourne connection, John Rantall also gets a mention in this...

Most of those are very familiar names to me, SoS. Alistair and Stewart Lord probably best known as they grew up on a farm near Port Campbell not far from us. Their parents attended the old (long closed) one room Port Campbell School that my parents attended at the same time. Alistair and Stewart however to my recollection never went to school in Timboon but instead went to Geelong College.

Alistair coached the Port Campbell Junior Football team, when he was at Geelong, which involved him turning up to training, but obviously not there on match day. The old Port ground was an interesting affair in those days, because it had a significant slope down one wing. Not as bad to play on though as the original ground, which was atop those mighty limestone cliffs just out of Port on the Lochard side. The odd ball, when it wasn't blowing an Antarctic gale, used to go over the cliff into the sea. (And never salvaged)

By the way the old Timboon ground was worse as far as slopes go. As I recall it, if you won the toss, you kicked with the slope!

John Rantall was in the same year at Timboon with my late brother. Strangely, at school he was not seen as the best footballer at the school. He was certainly up there and he had one facet to his game that few people had, being that when he flew for a mark, his arms were always straight up in the air, making him a very good mark.

One of the things that we as locals got irritated about was that some idiot commentator decided to pronounce his surname as Rantell, with the emphasis on the incorrect pronouncement as tell, when in fact it was always just Rantall, with, if anything the emphasis on Rant.

The rest of those names are very famous within the Cobden area. Thorold Merrett and Frank Whiteside, probably best known. Thorold was a wonderful footballer for Collingwood and close to the best kick the game has ever seen, in particular his execution of the stab pass, a joy to watch. I think, sadly - along with the drop kick - gone from the game. Frank a larger than life figure in the area. Clyde Sefton pretty well known too for his cycling, while Graham Hunter and Colin Gaut are synonymous with local cricket.

Most of those are very familiar names to me, SoS. Alistair and Stewart Lord probably best known as they grew up on a farm near Port Campbell not far from us. Their parents attended the old (long closed) one room Port Campbell School that my parents attended at the same time. Alistair and Stewart however to my recollection never went to school in Timboon but instead went to Geelong College.

Alistair coached the Port Campbell Junior Football team, when he was at Geelong, which involved him turning up to training, but obviously not there on match day. The old Port ground was an interesting affair in those days, because it had a significant slope down one wing. Not as bad to play on though as the original ground, which was atop those mighty limestone cliffs just out of Port on the Lochard side. The odd ball, when it wasn't blowing an Antarctic gale, used to go over the cliff into the sea. (And never salvaged)

By the way the old Timboon ground was worse as far as slopes go. As I recall it, if you won the toss, you kicked with the slope!

John Rantall was in the same year at Timboon with my late brother. Strangely, at school he was not seen as the best footballer at the school. He was certainly up there and he had one facet to his game that few people had, being that when he flew for a mark, his arms were always straight up in the air, making him a very good mark.

One of the things that we as locals got irritated about was that some idiot commentator decided to pronounce his surname as Rantell, with the emphasis on the incorrect pronouncement as tell, when in fact it was always just Rantall, with, if anything the emphasis on Rant.

The rest of those names are very famous within the Cobden area. Thorold Merrett and Frank Whiteside, probably best known. Thorold was a wonderful footballer for Collingwood and close to the best kick the game has ever seen, in particular his execution of the stab pass, a joy to watch. I think, sadly - along with the drop kick - gone from the game. Frank a larger than life figure in the area. Clyde Sefton pretty well known too for his cycling, while Graham Hunter and Colin Gaut are synonymous with local cricket.
Did any of those Lord's you mentioned have relo's in Orange or the North Coast of NSW that you know of Horrie?

I don't remember the old Port footy ground but I can remember the Timboon ground being a bloody mud-pile when it got wet. The whole outer side would have a puddle (a lake). If the ball went in it you'd have about two from each team go in while everybody else watched and laughed.

Our pre-season one year was raking out trucklloads of dirt. The dirt they piled in was full of tree roots so we had to rake it over and bag up all the roots which would have made good burning wood (I'll bet) for somebody. The centre of the ground was raised to about the same height as the fence so it was really a bloody hill in the end.

Last time I went there it had been fixed up a fair bit.

You are definitely right about the way the Rantalls pronounced their name. I went to school with one of the boys and he wouldn't accept Ran-Tell under any circumstances.

Here are a few of the Timboon players running the bed race that was contested between the teams who'd push these contraptions to Port Campbell.

1624008258028.png

I don't remember the old Port footy ground but I can remember the Timboon ground being a bloody mud-pile when it got wet. The whole outer side would have a puddle (a lake). If the ball went in it you'd have about two from each team go in while everybody else watched and laughed.

Our pre-season one year was raking out trucklloads of dirt. The dirt they piled in was full of tree roots so we had to rake it over and bag up all the roots which would have made good burning wood (I'll bet) for somebody. The centre of the ground was raised to about the same height as the fence so it was really a bloody hill in the end.

You are definitely right about the way the Rantalls pronounced their name. I went to school with one of the boys and he wouldn't accept Ran-Tell under any circumstances.

Here are a few of the Timboon players running the bed race that was contested between the teams who'd push these contraptions to Port Campbell.

View attachment 1158110
Bloke on the contraption looks a bit like a Nicky Dal ventriloquist dummy.

Did any of those Lord's you mentioned have relo's in Orange or the North Coast of NSW that you know of Horrie?

I really didn't know them well enough to be aware of any relations they might have had elsewhere, ferbs. By their names they had Scottish origins. Their father's name was Rhodes and I think their Grandfather was Bill Lord, both names of English origin so their Scottish names may have come form mother, whose first name escapes me. It was a long time ago

View attachment 1158110

Are you talking about the original Timboon ground or the current ground, SoS? The current ground was established in the mid 1960's if my memory serves me correctly. The old ground, also from memory, was up the road that takes off between the Pub on one corner and the NAB Branch on the other corner. (I started my working life at the NAB branch, which was pretty handy, being not far from home.)

The old ground didn't need to have the centre raised because the whole ground was one big slope.

Heytesbury Footy Club had a flat ground though a very rough surface. Scotts Creek however had easily the best ground to play on. Nice and flat and a good cover of grass. In those days, Nirranda, Nirranda South and Allansford played in what was known then as the Purnim Football League, becoming the Purnim Heytesbury Football League, before becoming just the Heytesbury Football League then folding. The few remaining clubs from that era, being Timboon, Nirranda and Allansford are now in the Warrnambool & District Football League and Simpson in the Colac & District League.

It is amazing to look back on those teams. At one stage the Purnim League had 8 clubs, being Timboon, Heytesbury, Scotts Creek, Port Campbell, Simpson, Nirranda, Nirranda South and Allansford. Of those 8 clubs, Scotts Creek was the first to fold followed not that long after by Port, Heytesbury (merged with Timboon) and Nirranda South (merged with Nirranda)

Previously a team from Princetown, Cunners territory, was in the league in the early days. At one stage or another, South Purrumbete, South Ecklin and Kolora-Mount Noorat figured as well.

Not sure if you have heard of the legendary Bill Couch, who was one of the greats at Warrnambool and would have made it at VFL level if had have had the inclination. He later returned to coach and play at Nirranda South and he was one of the toughest and scariest sights I ever saw on a football filed.

Not sure if it happened when he was at Warrnambool or Nirranda South, but one day he lost two fingers in a shooting accident. This part may or may not be true, but it is said that with the pain in his hand and his dogs barking, he couldn't sleep that night so got up and shot the dogs. Next day he played in a football final, minus two fingers. Probably milked the cows beforehand too.

Again I may be wrong on this but I think he was the father of the late Paul Couch, another bGeelon Brownlow Medallist.

Are you talking about the original Timboon ground or the current ground, SoS? The current ground was established in the mid 1960's if my memory serves me correctly. The old ground, also from memory, was up the road that takes off between the Pub on one corner and the NAB Branch on the other corner. (I started my working life at the NAB branch, which was pretty handy, being not far from home.)

The old ground didn't need to have the centre raised because the whole ground was one big slope.

Heytesbury Footy Club had a flat ground though a very rough surface. Scotts Creek however had easily the best ground to play on. Nice and flat and a good cover of grass. In those days, Nirranda, Nirranda South and Allansford played in what was known then as the Purnim Football League, becoming the Purnim Heytesbury Football League, before becoming just the Heytesbury Football League then folding. The few remaining clubs from that era, being Timboon, Nirranda and Allansford are now in the Warrnambool & District Football League and Simpson in the Colac & District League.

It is amazing to look back on those teams. At one stage the Purnim League had 8 clubs, being Timboon, Heytesbury, Scotts Creek, Port Campbell, Simpson, Nirranda, Nirranda South and Allansford. Of those 8 clubs, Scotts Creek was the first to fold followed not that long after by Port, Heytesbury (merged with Timboon) and Nirranda South (merged with Nirranda)

Previously a team from Princetown, Cunners territory, was in the league in the early days. At one stage or another, South Purrumbete, South Ecklin and Kolora-Mount Noorat figured as well.

Not sure if you have heard of the legendary Bill Couch, who was one of the greats at Warrnambool and would have made it at VFL level if had have had the inclination. He later returned to coach and play at Nirranda South and he was one of the toughest and scariest sights I ever saw on a football filed.

Not sure if it happened when he was at Warrnambool or Nirranda South, but one day he lost two fingers in a shooting accident. This part may or may not be true, but it is said that with the pain in his hand and his dogs barking, he couldn't sleep that night so got up and shot the dogs. Next day he played in a football final, minus two fingers. Probably milked the cows beforehand too.

Again I may be wrong on this but I think he was the father of the late Paul Couch, another bGeelon Brownlow Medallist.
Getting a history lesson here H!

The old rooms at Scott’s Creek were pretty ordinary, even in my day. A small tin shack at best and too small for the U17s to be in when the seniors were getting ready. Only cold water as well.

Simpson’s ground was ok but it could get mighty cold on a mid-winters day. Nothing compared to Princetown though when the hailstones would blow in off Bass Strait.

Believe it or not, but Paul Couch was about 10, and was playing in the Nirranda U17s against us. The club was in its dying days and they were scoreless. One of our blokes jumped clear over Paul so the ump paid a sympathetic free. The little tacca kicked their only point.

The Couch family were prolific in the area. All of the boys were decent footballers.

Getting a history lesson here H!

The old rooms at Scott’s Creek were pretty ordinary, even in my day.
Nyora was prolly the worst ground i played at in the day, rooms were crap, you would get electric shocks of the shower taps, the ground leaned about 10 meters of fall to the speedway end and if some one kicked a goal to big and it went over the fence there was stuffing around to retrieve the ball from the speedway.

Love the history Horace! You should write a book one day mate

I have one wish, and that is to see North rise to the top of the premiership tally in my lifetime. This is our decade baby!!! 🔵⚪ We are gonna win at least 7 flags this decade.
Calm down guys - don't be a bunch of Debby Downers. A random bloke on the internet wants to back his team in to have a decent crack against a good side and you all try to dissect it within an inch of its life. I reckon we'll give it a good shake, you do not. That's fine. Let's just watch the game and hope for the best.

why isn’t there a thread for dumping all the multi quotes I keep accidentally pressing 😡

Well it’s not a weekend crisis or a crisis as such, it’s like a Fluro unit has died but you know its $150 for a 15 minute job kind of stuff
Pop the tube and starter and replace with an led replacement tube. All long as the tombstones are good it will be fine. With the starter out of the circuit the choke goes nowhere.

That’s wat the pair of them are. The malfunctioning one is 4 years old.