List Mgmt. Grundy: Did we make the wrong choice?

Brockman. And it is Thurley, not Thurlow.

Hopefully Thurlow and Burbury can change it around. I think there was another player too from that era, but his name escapes me.

Thurley if I remember correctly turned down a contract just before the list deadline and we had to take an unplanned late pick in the draft to replace him. All in all it turned out very well :p

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk 2
You might be thinking of Tom Allwright who also came from Tassie, he was rookie listed.

Spent a fair bit of time injured while with us.

Off topic: Thurlow and Lonergan were high Tassie picks last year and Kade Kolodjashnij is likely to be another Taswegian who is taken in the first round this year.

His brother Jake is a decent chance to be drafted later in the draft as well and Eli Templeton is another Tassie boy to watch.

This is why BigFooty can be entertaining - we are all armchair observers with big opinions who think that we know it all!

Personally I was gutted when we didn't call Grundy's name out. I don't really buy the argument that we would have had too many ruckmen on our list - hell, our list has 40 odd names on it - if you have one or two more ruckmen than some other teams in order to get the right one for a year or two then so be it. You can always trade one out the following year. It's not like the guy you are picking up is likely to impact in his first year anyway..

Having said all that Thurlow does look like a very good prospect in his own right. Wells has enough credits on the board to give him the benefit of the doubt. And there were 14-15 other clubs that passed on Grundy anyway. GWS to me are the real losers - why not pick him up when you had SO many picks in the top end of the draft?

Edit: just love that METO was able to use Varcoe in his post in a thread comparing Grundy and Thurlow! Wtf?

Off topic: Thurlow and Lonergan were high Tassie picks last year and Kade Kolodjashnij is likely to be another Taswegian who is taken in the first round this year.

Can't wait to hear BT try and say that name.He might actually get himself kicked off air ;)

BT better start practicing now.

I shudder to think what he'll do with it.

Here's an unpopular view - what if we kept both first round picks, we could have had both Grundy and Thurlow.
Our other rucks in West, Vardy, Blicavs and Simpson are all relatively young. With our aging midfield (Kelly, Bartel, Corey and Stokes aren't getting any younger although they are still in some great form) I'd argue that we need a Caddy type more than we do a Grundy type for the future.

I think it was a logical and pretty obvious decision to top up the list with a player like HMac. If he was on the park, he would be doing a great favour for our premiership chances while Vardy and co develop a bit more before it is their turn.

Instead of Caddy we play GHS instead.
Now we have both. That's freaking brilliant. I honestly don't see how you can dispute that.

After Ottens retires, we go for Ben Hudson or Ivan Maric instead of Stephenson, then we wouldn't need to go for McIntosh.
It was our decision to get rid of Stephenson. He could have easily played on for the Hoops, in fact right after we delisted him, he made a point to say that he wants to keep playing AFL.

Hudson - no thanks. We probably wouldn't have been able to match Richmond's offer to Maric anyway.

I'm not criticising our recruiting, there are ALWAYS gambles and mistakes, just looking at things in hindsight.
In hindsight we are currently second on the ladder and the future is looking as bright as ever.

How could you possibly complain.

You might be thinking of Tom Allwright who also came from Tassie, he was rookie listed.

Spent a fair bit of time injured while with us.

His brother Jake is a decent chance to be drafted later in the draft as well and Eli Templeton is another Tassie boy to watch.

I'm not thinking of Tom, though I did forget about him. It was in those glory days of the late 90's - around the same time as Brockman and Bennett. Maybe somebody with the last name 'Woods'? Jason Woods pehaps?!?

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk 2

Call him motlop

Like he does with varcoe stokes bundy

Oh he topped it last night when Christensen kicked a goal and at the same time Walker went down injured.He says "Christensen has goaled and injured himself at the same time" .The camera was showing Walker coming off holding his arm yet he still called him Christensen.

The other mans' grass is always greener , forget Grundy - he is dead to us
Thurlow is going to be a beauty , let's rejoice in that and hope that Vardy / West and Ballroom - not to mention Dawson carry our rucks until the next King or Ottens come along ;)

I think the point is we wouldnt have needed to take a 650k salary cap hit and give up a second round pick for Hmac

Conceivably we could have taken Grundy in round 1 and still got thurlow in round 2

Bad trade by the cats when you take everything into account
Except the trade period comes before the draft!!
Grundy was expected to go top 5 so probably was in our list calculations!!

If we think it was a mistake not to pick Grundy this year because of our ruck woes, I think that is short sighted. Grundy probably wouldn'tve got a game anyhow as he so raw and wouldn't be an option in September against bigger bodies. I reckon the MC are on the money at the moment: if you have a big guy that's too raw to actually assert themselves in the ruck and probably won't offer much more around the ground, concede the hit outs and play to strengths around the ground ala Blitz and Vardy.

Grundy may well be a gun but there could also be another ruck in coming drafts who is just as good. Besides, if Dawson stays healthy (touch wood) then we have a pretty handy first ruck.

I'm happy with Jackson Thurlow

Oh he topped it last night when Christensen kicked a goal and at the same time Walker went down injured.He says "Christensen has goaled and injured himself at the same time" .The camera was showing Walker coming off holding his arm yet he still called him Christensen.

I'm glad someone else heard that, I really thought I'd imagined it.:rolleyes:

If Dawson Simpson wasn't injured this question wouldn't even be relevant. Cant help bad luck. Very happy with Thurlow.

Surely every draft pick must be viewed as it occurred at the time - in the context of the list we had and the needs we had. Thurlow was picked to replace Corey Enright, and I am telling you that we had the rucks covered but at that point anyone would have prayed we could possibly replace someone as special as Enright. Well, it looks very much like that Wellsy did just that, and that is no mean feat. It's far too early to make any calls really except that both Thurlow and Grundy look good. Remember that the big guys are more likely to be buggered if they get a serious leg injury, and it's early days.

If we had've picked up Grundy, he would've been playing from round 1 this year (or was he injured, I can't remember). Exposing a very young ruckman to the rigors of AFL footy too early is obviously risky.
That would've also meant that Blitz was still an unknown.. what a pity that would've been!

If we had've picked up Grundy, he would've been playing from round 1 this year (or was he injured, I can't remember). Exposing a very young ruckman to the rigors of AFL footy too early is obviously risky.
That would've also meant that Blitz was still an unknown.. what a pity that would've been!

He missed 90% of the preseason with stress fractures in his back and didn't start playing vfl until rd 14.