Mega Thread Hardwick Vent Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter SPOCK

Re: Hardwick hiding in the bleachers...must be gone years end

I was walking through Washington Square Park today and one of the old hippies from the 60's grabbed my arm and said "take it from me Hardwick is on very thin ice....."

Hahahahaha...never trust anyone over 30... :):thumbsu: ...

I was walking through Washington Square Park today and one of the old hippies from the 60's grabbed my arm and said "take it from me Hardwick is on very thin ice....."
That hippie has 2,000,000 Apple shares, bought them in the 60s, same green as his Kombi, careful who you judge

Sack the coach, something that has proven so successful in the past in making Richmond such a powerhouse!!!

Fair dinkum, this guy has a poor list to work with, is 18 months into a rebuild and you want to sack him. I doubt anyone else would have gotten more out of this list at this time.

Stop wanting quick fixes and bide your time. Quick fixes have completely f$%ked your club in the past. Get another 2 good drafts, more preseasons into Cotchin, Martin, Vickery, Conca etc etc and your side will develop.

That hippie has 2,000,000 Apple shares, bought them in the 60s, same green as his Kombi, careful who you judge

I miss my '76 wattle yellow Kombi camper... :) ...

Ahhhh the 60's i hardly remember them... :) ...

Cannot agree with op. We have to push on and have some faith.
The only thing I would like is for someone to pit some hard questions to him in reference to- Shane Tuck what's the story?
-why is Reiwoldt playing?
-why is Jackson playing?
- Do you think shelving the Carlton game was a mistake?
-Do you accept that travelling to Darwin late and without gloves was a mistake?

If he were to come out and wear some responsibility and admit that he has made some poor errors I'd be happy with that. Live,learn and improve.
If he remained stoic and defiant to at least 3 of those I'd be very concerned.

Just wondering, why has he gone from sitting on the boundary to back up in the coaches box?

Because he doesn't have the courage to follow through on his convictions is my best guess.

Last year when a ripple of disquiet went around the senior former coaches brigade it could be ignored because it was all about the development.

The best part of two years in, with a game plan that had band-aids applied week after week to the metaphorical equivalent of arterial bleeds, he's retreated to the coaches box at the very same time where if his courage matched his convictions, he'd be sticking it out and teaching from the boundary as he first decided was best.

Has he lost confidence in that conviction, or all faith in his assistants to plan for and execute the game without his immediate oversight?

Personally, I've always felt that the no.1 assistant should be the motivator and teacher on the boundary, directly in touch with a head coach who has his eyes, ears, and any other sense he can muster spread across every facet of the game he can possibly absorb.

It's getting pretty hot in the spotlight now, any week now 'the couch' or something similar is going to shift their clumsy, albeit effective focus to 'Dimmer.' It's not going to be pretty and he's been in full damage control and preparing for at least a month now.

If the average supporter knew how many times we do tactically unforgivable, clinically brain dead things, there would be a riot following every game and we'd beg the board to install Bojangles, Walls, Geitsch and Frawley as an interim coaching panel until we could entice Mal Meninga into switching codes and taking over with a five year plan.

I wish I was kidding.

It's ironic, given our much documented history with coaches, but March could give us one hell of a farewell gift to his reign of utter incompetence and make his first genuinely successful move as President by sweeping the decks clear of the clearly toxic Hardwick/Campbell era and handing over to a united board with a team like Malthouse/Balme in place and the unmistakable stench of old, wise, successful Tigers with zero tolerance for failure back around the club to really revitalise the place.

Best-22 every week, no man-fetishes, tough conversations which develop genuine character in every player on the list, done every single week.

Spock should jump on his Starship Enterprise and head out to find new star systems.

Finally, we have a plan in place and 18 months in people want to "sack the coach". Gee, that will achieve a lot.

At the moment it's about finding the bottom 7 to 8 players to support what really is an impressive top line of footballers. Once we have done that I think we will have a good side.

Many absurd posts in this thread. Fact is we have the second youngest list in the league and out form reflects that; it's that simple. We are well positioned for the future, with several potentiailly elite mids, a good, solid full back in Rance, a quality third backmen in Grimes, good forward prospects in Jack and Griff. We have holes in other positions, and Hardwick and co. need to have the oppurtunity to adress them. I've been very impressed with the kids we've recruited so far since Hardwick game in, particularly in this last draft.

Hardwick needs time, and call for his sacking are quite pathetic. The LAST THING richmond needs is more instability.

Sad news for you 'SPOCK' but Hardwick will be coaching next year and will prove the knee-jerk reactionists wrong.
Knee jerk reaction Tugga ! mate what have you been watching for 18 months, give me ONE positive football thing Hardwick has done and dont tell me delisting players is a positive thing, in fact an its a negative thing an admission of failure

Please explain how Hardwick delisting guys that were failures before he arrived is an admission of failure? Perhaps you would have preferred we continued on with those guys rather than blooding a dozen plus players that he has in the last 18 months. From those players that we've blooded we've found a handful that could quite possibly be part of our next finals side. Along with that we've also managed to get a couple of guys in Vickery and Rance who were widely written off by the majority here to stand up and show that they too could be in our next finals side.

You miss the point RT, not blaming Hardwick for players going, just didnt want delistings seen as an achievement, and would YOU like to give me the ONE possitive thing

Every club delists players. Is that an admission of failure?
You want one positive thing? After round 9 last year we were being compared with Fitzroy when it was on death row. After a horror draw early this year, we were in finals contention by the halfway mark of this season.
Vickery, Rance, Nahas have all improved significantly under DH's leadership.
Sacking Hardwick after two years will not improve the club one iota and it's time people started realising that. He isn't going anywhere next season and I think you need to deal with it.

Every club delists players. Is that an admission of failure?
You want one positive thing? After round 9 last year we were being compared with Fitzroy when it was on death row. After a horror draw early this year, we were in finals contention by the halfway mark of this season.
Vickery, Rance, Nahas have all improved significantly under DH's leadership.
Sacking Hardwick after two years will not improve the club one iota and it's time people started realising that. He isn't going anywhere next season and I think you need to deal with it.

Far enough, we'll wait till the end of the 2012 season so we don't have to pay him out , that way we won't have to sell another game
So you think some isolated individual player improvement is coaches achievement
Nahas has been our top possession player the past 4 weeks NO EFFING WONDER WE HAVEN'T WON A GAME
Vickery is the softest tall in the game but has been ok in sparse patches
Rance, love him, but dont think Softy can take any credit for Alex being a psycho
Cotchin, Martin and Jackson look have gone backwards, but they did loose their coach at the end of last year, "such is life"

Far enough, we'll wait till the end of the 2012 season so we don't have to pay him out , that way we won't have to sell another game
Couple of questions for you now.
Who do you want to replace him?
How do you think this list would go under him?

My feeling is that the JC himself would have trouble with this list for the next couple of years.
My feeling is we need to stick with who we have chosen until the list resembles something that is coachable.

JC and all of his disciples wouldn't even be able to coach us at the moment....:)
As long as we play our BEST 22 and not just the guys that will be there in our next premiership because the way we are going none of our current list will be there come GF day.
Hardwick, do what you have to do mate, sacking coaches has got us nowhere in 31 years.
How about we try something novel and keep a coach for longer than 3 years......just an idea.:rolleyes:

Couple of questions for you now.
Who do you want to replace him?
How do you think this list would go under him?

My feeling is that the JC himself would have trouble with this list for the next couple of years.
My feeling is we need to stick with who we have chosen until the list resembles something that is coachable.

Who have West Coast added to their player list that has caused such a turn-around, if someone had said to you last year the Eagles list is better then ours you would have scoffed
Scott Burns has made a significant difference to the way that club plays
If Hardwick had coached the Eagles he would have delisted Lynch, Embley, Nicoski, Rosa and traded Kerr, you have to get the best out of your list not just hope like hell drafting will solve your problems
Brad Scott talks pure football, he and Hardwick are in the same place, Dimma talks absolute shit, says nothing addresses nothing, when he doesn't talk football it makes you wonder if he knows the core of his job, and thats not getting more kids it's knowing what every player on your list can bring to game day,sorry, there his just to many bad signs

Who have West Coast added to their player list that has caused such a turn-around, if someone had said to you last year the Eagles list is better then ours you would have scoffed
If Hardwick had coached the Eagles he would have delisted Lynch, Embley, Nicoski, Rosa and traded Kerr, you have to get the best out of your list not just hope like hell drafting will solve your problems
Brad Scott talks pure football, he and Hardwick are in the same place, Dimma talks absolute shit, says nothing addresses nothing, when he doesn't talk football it makes you wonder if he knows the core of his job, and thats not getting more kids it's knowing what every player on your list can bring to game day,sorry, there his just to many bad signs
West Coast have improved through the likes of Cox and Kerr being free from injury, Embley being an outside mid and some youngsters. They had a areasonable list actually. I firmly believe Worsfold was coaching the way he wanted to last year.
If you think Cotchin has gone backwards I suggest you get a tape of all his games this year and watch them again. With respect SPOCK, that is an absurd comment.

Is this post a joke or what, we have a list of about 30 odd players that could possibly play senior AFL probably half a dozen or more are injured mostly back line players, so that leaves about 24 - 26 players to choose the 22 from at the moment, doesnt leave much space for innovative coaching, nor for punishing players that don't stick to the plan.

On top of this the top clubs are resting players when they are off the boil we cant do this nor can we afford a full list of at least usable players, that's why we need to sell games and have the FTF, we have no hope of competing for a full season until we can afford to pay the full cap and actually have some depth for injuries and to put pressure on the players in the ones, it's going to take time, but at least the club has identified that we need to build a solid financial base and at about the same time as we are clear of debt we should have the 100+ games into the legs of the new boys which is what is needed for success, going on what other clubs have done.

Last two months have been disappointing, but Im a long time supporter and still thing we are on track, as for Dimma, he has to be given next year at least, we can then review our options, who knows it could be Malthouse, but at least lets give Dimma a bit of a go, no one can say our list isn't better now than it was when he arrived.,

Now let me think, who coached West Coast last year? Ah, that would be the same bloke who coaches them this year. Plenty were calling for Bomber Thompson's head after three years at Geelong. I love the range of things people apparently know about what the coach is doing (or not doing). Must have some terrific inside information. And Brad Scott talks pure football? What were some of his pearls when they lost to Collingwood by 117 points the other week?

So you think some isolated individual player improvement is coaches achievement
Nahas has been our top possession player the past 4 weeks NO EFFING WONDER WE HAVEN'T WON A GAME
Vickery is the softest tall in the game but has been ok in sparse patches
Rance, love him, but dont think Softy can take any credit for Alex being a psycho
Cotchin, Martin and Jackson look have gone backwards, but they did loose their coach at the end of last year, "such is life"

Cotchin and Martin gone backwards?? Surely this is a joke!!
Martin is in his second year for starters! Some the games he has played this year have been unbelievable, ok he has played some bad games inbetween but be serious here mate, he is still learning the game come back and comment when he has played 100 games!

As for Cotchin he has taken his game up another gear. 1 of maybe 2 or 3 players in our side I could confidently say would be in any other teams starting 22. Remembering also this was his first full pre season so he still isnt as fit as he needs to be. His work rate is fantastic, wins the hard ball is always under packs ok dissposal is a little off this year but let me see you kick straight with 2 blokes hanging off you all the time!
"
These 2 have already shown they can be match winners and there probably isnt 100 games between them!

Maybe campbell deserves just a little bit of credit for the way our mids were going last year.

Nahas is playing for his future in the forward line with a licence to push up the ground, with his work rate im not surpised he gets it so much.

I think you are the only person this year to bag Vickery. He has jumped out of the blocks and is showing all his doubters wrong. Honestly before round 1 did you really think he was going to have the year he is having? Did anyone? Ill admit i didnt

It took Danny Frawley 4 years to get to where Hardwick is today.

Lucky for us we have dear old Wayne Campbell waiting in the wings to knife him.

Should have waited to the end of the game.

If you had said to me we will lose by 62 i would have said - that's about right!

I don't agree totally with you but hey you are entitled to your opinion. Espically after the effort you have made with the post.

I agree with yo. What could any coach do? Our list is made up of deadwood and a bunch of ludicrously hyped up but essentially ordinary kids. Malthouse would struggle. Any one would.

We are about 60 points off a top 4 team coasting along...we are always about 60 points off the top 4. It's what a crap footy club does.

terrible thread, go support carlton if it's becoming too much for you.

Pointing out that this is a crap club with second raters in every nook and cranny does not mean that someone wants to stop supporting the club. It means the person is a rational observer of the second rate rubbish club Richmond remains.

You can love a girl whilst knowing she is no beauty queen. Richmond is no beauty queen. She's the fat ugly bint left on the bench and we are the gormless bloke who marries her......stuck with her for good or ill.