Preview Hawks vs Crows - changes, discussion.........

yeah, when playing insignificant bottom sides or the game is beyond doubt. Don't kid yourself, he only showed up when Port were done the other week. When the game was in the balance, he was too busy trying to be pretty. He's one of the biggest downhill skiers in the AFL.

Haha just plain wrong.

This year against teams with equal or more premiership points than us, he's kicked 20 goals in 9 games = 2.22 goals per game.

Against sides below us on premiership points, he's kicked 13 goals in 6 games = 2.16 goals per game.

His last 4 games:
v Kangaroos 3 goals 13 disp.
v Essendon 3 goals 21 disp.
v Port 4 goals 19 disp.
v GWS 5 goals 15 disp.

Plus since 2008, Eddie is no.1 in afl for score assists & forward 50 tackles.
And 3rd in afl for contested possessions in forward 50.

Why let facts get in the way?

Good reward for big boy. Very sad about Hill. We need him so hope this is just to get him cherry ripe for Sydney. Smith and Birchall will need bigger games this week along with the midfield in general. Hoping for better games out of our defenders too as I thought few could hold their heads high apart from maybe Litherland and Duryea.

What the hell is going on at the footy club? What's with all the soft tissue injuries? And why is it happening to the AFL senior players rather than the VFL senior players? It has to be a game day thing! No-one in the 2s are doing these type of injuries.

Friggin Hill missing again kills us, I'd also prefer Boxer to be playing rather than Ben Ross. I'm not actually sure what Ross brings to the table? Seems like a slow Simpkin! The positive is that Adelaide aren't great on the spread and are terrible clearance wise ( worst in the league) so this week is probably 1 week we can get away with it.

It's raining in Adelaide and it's forecast for large amounts of rain tomorrow so it will suit our key defenders ( or lack of key defenders). I'm not sure how Suckling is going to go in the wet, bodies will be slip and sliding everywhere, he may self withdrawl in fear of getting hurt.

C'mon boys, this is made for Hodgey/Mitch and Burgoyne, they will relish tomorrow night and hopefully bring home the bacon. Oh and good luck Woody, you deserve it mate, perfect night to debut on!

Haha just plain wrong.

This year against teams with equal or more premiership points than us, he's kicked 20 goals in 9 games = 2.22 goals per game.

Against sides below us on premiership points, he's kicked 13 goals in 6 games = 2.16 goals per game.

His last 4 games:
v Kangaroos 3 goals 13 disp.
v Essendon 3 goals 21 disp.
v Port 4 goals 19 disp.
v GWS 5 goals 15 disp.

Plus since 2008, Eddie is no.1 in afl for score assists & forward 50 tackles.
And 3rd in afl for contested possessions in forward 50.

Why let facts get in the way?
Don't let the stats get in the way of believing he's a valuable player. He's a downhill skier. He'll kick goals and pad his stats against the bad teams he's struggle unless his team are winning. Against Sydney, he did nothing. Against Fremantle, he looked good when the crows were winning, but as soon as Freo got on top, he was an also ran. Against Port v1 he got junk time goals late when the game was beyond doubt. Against Port v2, he got junk time goals again, when it was clear that Port were not playing well. Against Geelong he got 2 goals and missed a crucial goal in front of an open goal just before 3QT which was huge miss in the context of the game.

Sydney, Fremantle and Geelong are the only contenders they've played. Port won't contend for the premiership. For a player on $500K a year, you'd want a hell of a lot more than what he's giving you. For $500K a year, standing out against bad teams and bobbing up in junk time against good teams is not worth the money.
Don't kid yourself, he's a stat padder who looks good on the stat sheet, looks pretty against bad teams, but is insignificant against good teams.

Is that work taking $500K a year out of your salary cap? Is it worth $500K a year to maybe standout against the cross town rival? If the answer is yes, it explains why you support the crows.

Glad to see Big Boy Back for Hale.

I'm hoping we make 3 more changes.

Cheney for Lake
Langford for Sewell
Woodward (sub) for Ross.

Hopefully Dureya and Birchall are close to 100%

We really lacked leg speed last week, so at least Langford and Woodward provide some run.

Glad Hartung is close, but think it's bit of a stretch to bring him straight back after 6 (or close to it) weeks out.

Hopefully get Gibbo and Hilly back after the bye v Swans.

Huge match, can only really afford to drop one more if we want to finish top 2, that will most likely be against Freo (away)

Hill has an iliotibial band injury in his knee, more common for distance runners and relatively minor, not a hammy.

These don't disappear very quickly and can be reoccurring. They in fact can only start to hurt after you have run for awhile.

I used to run a bit and it used to start up after about 5km in. You could stop and the pain disappears and feel no after effects when walking the next day.

The muscle that runs down the outside of the knee is irritated by friction against the knee bone I believe.

Don't let the stats get in the way of believing he's a valuable player. He's a downhill skier. He'll kick goals and pad his stats against the bad teams he's struggle unless his team are winning. Against Sydney, he did nothing. Against Fremantle, he looked good when the crows were winning, but as soon as Freo got on top, he was an also ran. Against Port v1 he got junk time goals late when the game was beyond doubt. Against Port v2, he got junk time goals again, when it was clear that Port were not playing well. Against Geelong he got 2 goals and missed a crucial goal in front of an open goal just before 3QT which was huge miss in the context of the game.

Sydney, Fremantle and Geelong are the only contenders they've played. Port won't contend for the premiership. For a player on $500K a year, you'd want a hell of a lot more than what he's giving you. For $500K a year, standing out against bad teams and bobbing up in junk time against good teams is not worth the money.
Don't kid yourself, he's a stat padder who looks good on the stat sheet, looks pretty against bad teams, but is insignificant against good teams.

Is that work taking $500K a year out of your salary cap? Is it worth $500K a year to maybe standout against the cross town rival? If the answer is yes, it explains why you support the crows.

Wow I can't believe how wrong you are. Are u just making stuff up? Against Port v1 (as u call it) he kicked 4 goals and 3 were in the 2nd quarter when we were behind. He was our only avenue that day and was keeping us in the game.

Against Port v2 he kicked late goals but it was junk time. port we're coming at us in that last quarter and he kicked a clutch goal and then a 2nd goal to put it beyond doubt.

Did u not read my first post? He actually averages more goals & disposals per game against the better sides. Yet u still say he pads his stats up against the weak sides.

He is a forward. All forwards depend on what happens up the ground and would generally have better stats against weaker sides. I bet the Hawks forwards are the same. Even though Betts has actually had better stats against the better sides.

Glad to see Big Boy Back for Hale.

I'm hoping we make 3 more changes.

Cheney for Lake
Langford for Sewell
Woodward (sub) for Ross.

Hopefully Dureya and Birchall are close to 100%

We really lacked leg speed last week, so at least Langford and Woodward provide some run.

Glad Hartung is close, but think it's bit of a stretch to bring him straight back after 6 (or close to it) weeks out.

Hopefully get Gibbo and Hilly back after the bye v Swans.

Huge match, can only really afford to drop one more if we want to finish top 2, that will most likely be against Freo (away)
i can't see Langford and Woody in the same midfield if we are missing Rioli and Hill. Very one paced, when you throw in Mitchell and Lewis....adding Burgoyne Hodge

Adelaide aren't great on the spread and are terrible clearance wise ( worst in the league) so this week is probably 1 week we can get away with it.
Adelaide is 10th in the league for clearances, 3rd for centre clearances :)

Now you're just being a clown. All of a sudden with FA $500k isn't actually that much for a proven player. Dale Thomas $750k has done way less than Eddie.
Buddy & Tippett are on huge money and you think $500k is heaps? Get with the times.

Now you're just being a clown. All of a sudden with FA $500k isn't actually that much for a proven player. Dale Thomas $750k has done way less than Eddie.
Buddy & Tippett are on huge money and you think $500k is heaps? Get with the times.

Best you remember where you are mate.

Opinions are welcome but when you start with this sort of stuff on our board......