Gary Ayres - Kelvin Moore - Chris Langford
HB Luke Hodge - Chris Mew - Peter Knights
C Shane Crawford - Sam Mitchell - John Platten
HF Lance Franklin - Dermott Brereton - Gary Buckenara
F Jason Dunstall - Peter Hudson - Cyril Rioli
R Don Scott - Michael Tuck - Leigh Matthews
INTERCHANGE: Terry Wallace :), Ian Law, Darren Jarman, Paul Salmon
COACH: Alistar Clarkson

Yeah, nice effort....But that bloke with the smiley next to his name couldn't kick over a freakin jam-jar....And no Dipper?....Spare me!

Here's the best 22 thus far:

MANAGER: JOHN Kennedy Snr
COACH: Allan Jeans
ASST COACH: AL Clarkson

B: Andy Collins - Kelvin Moore - Gary Ayres
HB: Chris Langford - Chris Mew - Peter Knights
C: Shane Crawford - Sam Mitchell - Robert Dipierdomenico
HF: Gary Buckenara - Dermott Brereton - Lance Franklin
F: Leigh Matthews - Peter Hudson - Jason Dunstall
R: Sir Donald Scott - Michael Tuck - John Platten

INT: Luke Hodge - Cyril Rioli - Graham Arthur - John Peck

EME: Darren Jarman - Shaun Burgoyne - John Hendrie

Yeah, nice effort....But that bloke with the smiley next to his name couldn't kick over a freakin jam-jar....And no Dipper?....Spare me!

I reckon this is the one, can't really better this side.

Rioli may be contentious but I love him and would have him in too.

I reckon this is the one, can't really better this side.

Rioli may be contentious but I love him and would have him in too.

True....Though I'm also an unapologetic Sizzle fan....I'll add some emergencies just to compensate for said bias.;)

Welcome to 1925 and the first vfl game of the hawthorn football club.

We may struggle on our first couple of years, but no other team will win more premiersips than us in the next one hundred years

"I reckon hes had a few too many of those champagnes, mate"

Edit, carlton or collingwood could still blow this prediction by winning one more than us in the next decade :)

I might get red carded for this but will ask the question-

Was Michael Tuck as good as what people make him out to be as a pure footballer? I understand he played 427 games (phenomenal durability) and was skipper of the club during our greatest era but as a kid growing up through the 80's and going every week to watch us Tucky never ever really stood out to me.....

(Always contributed for sure and obviously a great leader of men)

Was Michael Tuck as good as what people make him out to be as a pure footballer? I understand he played 427 games (phenomenal durability) and was skipper of the club during our greatest era but as a kid growing up through the 80's and going every week to watch us Tucky never ever really stood out to me.....

What year did you start going to the footy?....Tucky was elite from 1975-1984 IMO...Thereafter he became more of a role-player & a shut-down specialist.

Played two seasons worth of games in finals alone. I wonder if he ever appreciated getting september off when it happened

Only happened 3 times once he became a regular in the squad...

1972 - 0
1973 - 0

1974 - 3
1975 - 2
1976 - 3
1977 - 3
1978 - 3
1979 - 0
1980 - 0
1981 - 0

1982 - 3
1983 - 3
1984 - 3
1985 - 1
1986 - 3
1987 - 4
1988 - 2
1989 - 2
1990 - 1
1991 - 3

First premiership 76. In the 1983 flag, only matthews and he remained. Seven years later

Eight years after the 83 flag, In 1991, Ayres, Mew, Brereton and he remained.

Diperdominico Buckenara and Kennedy jr also made it to 89

Its suerly the passing of the years which has given rise to the myth he was just a lucky, but not great footballer.

I think Tucky just played a couple of seasons too many, that's why he's seen as a battler. His last few years he played as a tagger, as a defensive player. He was still okay, but he'd lost his zip.
And he didn't want to retire!

In his earlier years, he had Judd-like speed off the mark.
He was the consummate ruck rover, quick reactions, beautiful safe hands and he kicked 60 metres off a step.

Also interesting that he never won a Best & Fairest.

First premiership 76. In the 1983 flag, only matthews and he remained. Seven years later

Its suerly the passing of the years which has given rise to the myth he was just a lucky, but not great footballer.

KNIGHTS?

True.... Only those who saw the last 7 years of his career would question his legend status.

As a kid growing up & going to the footy; it was always Barney, The Golden-Haired Boy & Friar Tuck I idolized.....When I saw all 3 break thru the banner at the start of each game, I felt relieved & assured that we'd win that day....All 3 were vital cogs & equally important as each other so far as match-winners for the HFC throughout the 70's & early 80's were concerned.

Tucky had both the speed/endurance combo that you see in Isaac Smith today, but he could play inside....Equally adept on both left & right & his game was characterized by pack-breaking runs, dare I say it - ah la Chris Judd style. He would often leave opponents trailing in his wake while bouncing the ball 2 or 3 times down the centre square before sending a booming 60 meter torp with his right foot through the big sticks....One of the first 100 meter players there was (to use current footballing parlance).

Tucky could play almost any position on the ground, including CHF, which he did in 1980-1982 with aplomb. Prior to badly injuring his thumb around 1983, he was also a beautiful mark & I saw him take many a speckie & pack marks worthy of mark-of-the-day in his prime....One of the first true utilities was Tucky.

This is what both angers & annoys me when ignorant opposition flogs claim he is not worthy of AFL legend status....I saw over 80% of his career first-hand & can tell you that this is Complete & utter BS!

Swap the traitor with Arthur and give Birchall the bench spot, and this will be quite spot on. Especially loving the coaching team there!!

426 games. And yes, he really was that good.

I think Tucky just played a couple of seasons too many, that's why he's seen as a battler. His last few years he played as a tagger, as a defensive player. He was still okay, but he'd lost his zip.
And he didn't want to retire!

In his earlier years, he had Judd-like speed off the mark.
He was the consummate ruck rover, quick reactions, beautiful safe hands and he kicked 60 metres off a step.

Also interesting that he never won a Best & Fairest.

Tuck was a protected species in the end, had a dream run with the umpires. Did you ever see him give away a free kick? Was award plenty of frees. Free kick count 1988-1991, 155 for 82 against.

That's a pretty bloody good effort IMO. I'd swap Langers with Hodge, and Juda$ with Arthur...can't see too many other changes I'd make though.

Funny you say that, I always kinda felt the same way. Started going weekly from '82, and always just saw him as a good/very good honest player. I rate my old mans judgement though and he always says Tucky was a helluva lot more than that.

Swap the traitor with Arthur and give Birchall the bench spot, and this will be quite spot on. Especially loving the coaching team there!!

Cheers....Yep, 3 coaching legends.

Sorry. NO can do....As much as I hate the traitor, I still love & marvel at him as a player....You can't ditch a once in a generation player just out of spite.

Buddy didn't stick around long enough for consideration, sorry, I'd have Max Bailey or Stewy Dew in the team before him.

Crawf, Hodge, Mitch, Birch, Cyril have all delivered regularly and are committed Hawks, they all deserve consideration. If Clarko can deliver another flag in the next few years he's in.

Hmmm ok I will bow to the majority with Tucky. Started going every week from about 81 onwards and always thought you beauty Tucky is in the team but hardly ever recall thinking wow this guy is a complete superstar.

Gary Ayres Kelvin Moore Peter Knights

Grant birchall Chris Mew Luke hodge
(Capt)
Dipper Sam Mitchell Shane crawford

Lance franklin D. Brereton G. Arthur
(VC)
Dunstall Hudson Rioli

Don Scott Leigh Matthews michael tuck

Bench
Salmon Platten Langford Lewis

In
Hodge mitchell lewis Crawford rioli franklin
Birchall
Out
Col. Austen - won a brownlow only played 85 games Brownlow, but hodge is ahead
Albert mills - 3 time b&f but in a very weak era works against him rather birch
Ian law - very unlucky but it was him or crawf
Gary buckenara - franklin took his spot enough said
Roy Simmons - Lewis ahead of him
Jim bohan - Sam Mitchell enough said
Brendan Edwards - cyril enough said

Coach
Alistair clarkson 4 flags. outright most in club history in an era where it's the hardest to win consistently.

Gary Ayres Kelvin Moore Peter Knights

Grant birchall Chris Mew Luke hodge
(Capt)
Dipper Sam Mitchell Shane crawford

Lance franklin D. Brereton G. Arthur
(VC)
Dunstall Hudson Rioli

Don Scott Leigh Matthews michael tuck

Bench
Salmon Platten Langford Lewis

In
Hodge mitchell lewis Crawford rioli franklin
Birchall
Out
Col. Austen - won a brownlow only played 85 games Brownlow, but hodge is ahead
Albert mills - 3 time b&f but in a very weak era works against him rather birch
Ian law - very unlucky but it was him or crawf
Gary buckenara - franklin took his spot enough said
Roy Simmons - Lewis ahead of him
Jim bohan - Sam Mitchell enough said
Brendan Edwards - cyril enough said

I read this post, looked at the bolded bit, and thought 'nah, I'll just let it go'.
Then I re-visited the thread to read other posts and saw it again. Can't let it go this time.

You really haven't seen Brendan Edwards play at all, so have just assumed that since you don't know him, then he doesn't deserve to be there.

Of all those old timers in the TOTC, he the the very last one who I would omit. I am not arguing a case for Cyril, but man, to omit Edwards and include Lewis is just insane.

Why don't you just come out and say 'well I never saw these old blokes, so I'll put together a team of the last 40 years.' Then you may get some agreement.