How do you live on an Apprentice/ Uni wage?

yeah i'd sell probably 1-2 a week, but the profit margain is higher than in a car, so it justifies my job.

on the pay thing. by the time i'm 24-25 i will probably be on around 800-900 a week. combined with my mrs, who is a qualified chef, should be able to buy a house, lol.

that's money well spent, but i'd personally go for new socks.

there's not too many better feelings in the world than putting on a new pair of socks .

If I remember correctly I think I did by some new socks that day, black ones for work...

I concur with your view on new socks...

Im always in the money. Even when I was at uni I still had 20 odd thousand in the bank. Im grateful ive never had the problems you all speak of

I've never seen anyone talk as much shit as Embers, and my best mate talks a lot of shit.

Urban legend caused by the fact I post more then others. If you take opinion as fact then thats because your not intelligent enough to differ between the two. Not my fault thats the case. Just read a little closer next time

Actually, I'll give you credit, a lot of what you post is very knowledgeable, however, some of it is laughable.

Probably because you don't think things through before you post.

just saw this forum talking about wages when i did a google search, wierd how all you sparkys are gettin around 250.

im first yeh doing electrician and getting nearly 400 a week, after tax

I don't see how anyone can struggle.
I got my first job when I was 15 and by the time I was 17 I had already saved over $10,000. I didn't work at all during year 12 and all the income I got was just dividends from putting some of my money on the ASX.

I bought a little manual car for $300, fully working when I turned 18. I have more than enough money now to pay off my HECS and I work part time and try to get as many hours as possible.

As others have said, I don't self indulge too often and I limit my spending on alcohol, food, travel and petrol.

It's easy enough to earn a decent profit and even though i'm probably not enjoying life as much as people who work less and spend more than me, I should reap the benefits later on.

I get 285 as a first year if i do a 40 hour week. Problem is i started my apprenticeship old enough to go clubbing which i love but too young for matureage apprentice wages.

I struggle a bit but i'm quite good at saving money by transferring to a different account. Still it's not exactly the highlife.

Finally moved away from home two months ago, and having worked full time since leaving school and being thus "independant" for Youth Allowance purposes, the extra money is such a relief. That and I now live about 20 mins away from uni instead of two hours.

Its amazing, everyone else thinks an extra $200 odd a fortnight is peanuts, but when you are used to living on such little, it makes a huge difference

Heading to Uni next month for the first time. 18 years old. Im from the North West Coast of Tas and the main Uni Campuses are in Launceston and Hobart. I will be attending Launie, but it is still 180km away, 2 hour drive. I will be renting a house with 2 friends. I work casually at Kmart and have got a transfer to the Launceston Kmart. But i want to go to centrelink this week with mum to see if im eleigble for something like youth alowance or living away from home. Rent is 270 divided by 3 so 90 each and food will probably be 50 a week each. I will be scraping the barrel, i hope i cant "only just" afford to live because i would hate not to be able to go out and have fun with my mates because im only young once, and while i was at school still it was the perfect life, no need to pay for anything but fuel, and the rest of your money could go to the w.e. Launie and Hobart residents have got it so easy, they can live from home like the did with school and do Uni and still live the life.

I don't see how anyone can struggle.
I got my first job when I was 15 and by the time I was 17 I had already saved over $10,000. I didn't work at all during year 12 and all the income I got was just dividends from putting some of my money on the ASX.

I bought a little manual car for $300, fully working when I turned 18. I have more than enough money now to pay off my HECS and I work part time and try to get as many hours as possible.

As others have said, I don't self indulge too often and I limit my spending on alcohol, food, travel and petrol.

It's easy enough to earn a decent profit and even though i'm probably not enjoying life as much as people who work less and spend more than me, I should reap the benefits later on.
i think youve shown yourself how one can struggle right there champ.

its a choice of either living the now, or waiting for tomorrow.

yeah i'd sell probably 1-2 a week, but the profit margain is higher than in a car, so it justifies my job.

on the pay thing. by the time i'm 24-25 i will probably be on around 800-900 a week. combined with my mrs, who is a qualified chef, should be able to buy a house, lol.

G'Day Champ....

Yeah and your going to one day own your own house being a semi-trailer salesman? Ok mate.

I'm building a house next month.

i think youve shown yourself how one can struggle right there champ.

its a choice of either living the now, or waiting for tomorrow.
With alcohol - I don't see why people have to go out and get smashed every single week on Friday and Saturday. It costs heaps and it eventually adds up.

With food - It's just as easy to go down to Coles and get a loaf of bread and some snags for $5 that will last you a couple of days instead of going and getting fast food. The only down side is that you have to cook them, which requires a ridiculous amount of effort.. But I guess you can get Macca's 5 times a week, become obese and reduce your quality of life anyway.

With travel and holidaying - This is entirely personal opinion, but I barely ever go interstate and I've never gone overseas. I get a lot of enjoyment going down to Apollo Bay and Dromana every now and then during the summer.

Petrol - It's beyond me why every second P plater has a fuel guzzling Commodore. Cars were invented to get from point A to B. Why do people feel the need to spend 10's of thousands buying mags, low profile tyres, spoilers, mufflers and shitty body kits to put on there Commodore, Lancer or Skyline. I say - stop worrying about the size of your wang for a while and just buy a small Holden or Toyota. Unless i'm shopping for groceries, I ride to the shops. You save money and time looking for a parking spot.

I didnt live off a Uni wage, was working at a bottleshop after uni for 4 hours a day mon-friday, and sunday, and another 4 hours driving a forklift on sundays, which was about 460 a week all up, unfortunatly i had pretty much no time to myself, mix that with 32 hours at uni, and then add up study, and i hated it, so i dropped out

I'll go back part-time or wait untll i've saved up a bit of money so i can rely on that rather then work 2 jobs

Obese? No. A little soft maybe....

Alcoholic? No. But I do drink more than most....

VL Turbo? No. VS Commodore on gas.....

I'm probably halfway. I'm just saying there is more to life than saving every penny.

How do you live on an Apprentice/ Uni wage?