How has Port Adelaides membership grown so much?

key words in OP are "we were lead to believe"

the story SA and subsequently the rest of Aus was sold about footy here in the last 30~ years was basically a crock, we dragged this state to the city and into the 21st century, after dragging ourselves out of the mess they had created. one of the great untold stories as it was put by KT. people like authentic stories about people battling together, helps when it's attached to a longstanding community club that has been around forever

Adelaide Oval is the goods!
Having to do the extra travel to Footy Park, for people living in the south (Adelaide Hills and further) was a pain in the ass.

Now u can hit the city before a game, then do a short walk to the game, and then ofc a short walk back to the city, to enjoy the pubs, clubs and the cas. Defo a positive for interstate travellers as well.

I kind of think that the reason we don't get a lot of supporters interstate is because we have more of a niche market. Whereas the crows sell themselves as a state side.

To be fair, anybody not living in the western suburbs hated Football Park. It was good for the Crows from a business perspective. They had a cushy deal there. We should all be thankful though that the greater good prevailed with new Adelaide Oval. It's the best outcome for football supporters across the state.

Regarding Port's numbers, the real test will come when they have a bad season. Right now they are a mid-table team and supporters still cling to hope. I reckon if they we're to slide back to 2011/12 form, we're in tarp territory.

What the ****?

Janus seems to think all Crows supporters have Mr Burns money.

Niche market? Do go on.. :D
IF you look at it simplistically, We're a club, representing the Port Adelaide community. The crows are a franchise, who market themselves as representing the entire state of SA.

"The pride of south Australia" "the team for all South Australians" its a smart business tactic that gives you a solid fan base for the rest of eternity. It also makes it extremely hard for any other team in SA to succeed.

To be fair, anybody not living in the western suburbs hated Football Park. It was good for the Crows from a business perspective. They had a cushy deal there. We should all be thankful though that the greater good prevailed with new Adelaide Oval. It's the best outcome for football supporters across the state.

Regarding Port's numbers, the real test will come when they have a bad season. Right now they are a mid-table team and supporters still cling to hope. I reckon if they we're to slide back to 2011/12 form, we're in tarp territory.

Janus seems to think all Crows supporters have Mr Burns money.
Oh bother that game in Adelaide sold out. Well I guess we can just go to Melbourne next week again.

IF you look at it simplistically, We're a club, representing the Port Adelaide community. The crows are a franchise, who market themselves as representing the entire state of SA.

"The pride of south Australia" "the team for all South Australians" its a smart business tactic that gives you a solid fan base for the rest of eternity. It also makes it extremely hard for any other team in SA to succeed.
Weren't you guys also sure that it was hurting our national brand?

Is that why you sold your soul to China? :D

I no longer consider we are only targeting a
niche' in SA
I think for some time we have been aiming at the next generation of fans in SA who have never known or cared about the ol SANFL teams.
Its a bit defeatist to think the Crows are the only team marketing to all of SA now regardless of their team song , slogan or whatever

Kochie and Thomas have also for some time been aiming at the national and international markets .

As far as national awareness goes I note there is plenty of 'Power' teams in different leagues and codes ( including wearing versions of our colours)

Do the Crows have this same emulation nationally I wonder ?

Let's say Port home crowds dropped to low 30 thousands if they fell down the ladder

It will still be an average home crowd the envy of the majority of teams in the comp...
Well said, Tai Pan.

And yet the tarp jokes will still be around.
The tarp jokes will always be around, worst thing you guys did. Still maintain that if you hadn't used the tarps and just played in front of a half full stadium you wouldn't of copped half the grief. Was a bizarre thing to do at the time but thankfully you shouldn't ever need them again

Let's say Port home crowds dropped to low 30 thousands if they fell down the ladder

It will still be an average home crowd the envy of the majority of teams in the comp...

How many are actually Port supporters though? Footy in the city has brought life to Adelaide, and people that don't even follow football attend games at Adelaide oval for the experience, or just for something to do before or after dinner. The real indication was crowd figures at AAMI stadium, where only the truly dedicated supporters would travel to see their club play. Port supporters continue to spruik this line that their crowds numbers have improved because their supporters hated AAMI stadium or more supporters are attending now because they're getting back to their roots and playing on "their" ground. If anything, that is just more indicative of the type of supporters they are. Yes their crowd numbers are much greater now, but there's an obvious reason and it's nothing to be envious about. Look back at their crowd figure between 2008-2012 - that number is the true indicator when it comes to their supporters.

There isn't even a single ounce of reason or logic in this post