How Important We Are To The AFL

The answer really depends on how you ask the question.

How important are we to the AFL? Super important. We're one of the most valuable clubs to the league, without question.

On the other hand, how important is to the AFL to look after us? Not important at all. They know the Crows have got a captive market that, barring disaster, will always be there. Or, in the worst case scenario, bleed over into Port's revenue stream instead. We don't need to be successful to draw crowds and retain memberships, we don't need to be supported to stay financially viable. They can safely whack us for any issue and we will rebound. And if fans or club officials are upset about it, that's okay because the majority of them are in a different state to the administration.

We're vitally important to the AFL, but right near the bottom of the list in terms of their consideration. We are super valuable to them and they don't need to do anything to maintain that value.

Good post.

And never a risk of possibly taking a flag away from a VIC team.

How important are we to the AFL? Super important. We're one of the most valuable clubs to the league, without question.

On the other hand, how important is to the AFL to look after us? Not important at all. They know the Crows have got a captive market that, barring disaster, will always be there. Or, in the worst case scenario, bleed over into Port's revenue stream instead. We don't need to be successful to draw crowds and retain memberships, we don't need to be supported to stay financially viable. They can safely whack us for any issue and we will rebound. And if fans or club officials are upset about it, that's okay because the majority of them are in a different state to the administration.

We're vitally important to the AFL, but right near the bottom of the list in terms of their consideration. We are super valuable to them and they don't need to do anything to maintain that value.

I saw a sheet that detailed the AFL's money distribution, showed that we were given the least out of all the AFL clubs with $10,553,565 compared to GWS with $21,548,274. If their was a worry list of clubs, we'd be right at the bottom. TV ratings, memberships and attendance as documented above show how valuable and asset we are to the competition.

Collingwood is contracted by the MCG to play at least 14 game there every season. There a massive club and when you look at the crowds at the MCG this year and in the past its understandable why. 10 teams in Victoria means there's always going to be that inequity. The recent CBA deal that was done means that both Western Australian teams will fly business class from now on. better them for when they travel to Melbourne.

How many seats are there in business class?

TV Ratings:
Again one of the best clubs when it comes to TV ratings. This year one the best rating Friday night game involved us against Geelong where 1,230,000 watched on all TV formats both FTA (free to air) and Fox, 210,000 FTA in Adelaide and a further 49,000 on FOX in Adelaide as well. On average our FTA rating are 173,000 and 40,000 on Fox. This is the best out of all the non-victorian sides, Western Australian sides are affected with their ratings being telecast on 7mate.

Would happily like to know others thoughts and it would be great if people would like to add anything more to the thread and their opinions.

Lastly i'd like the acknowledge AFLtables, the_wookie and mediaweekAUS on twitter for supplying the data seen on the thread here.
Wookies page: http://www.footyindustry.com/ http://afltables.com/afl/afl_index.html

On average the Crows rate 166,000 into Adelaide on FTA and 39,000 on Fox in Adelaide. There are no SA regionals. The national figures for crows games this year are 309,000 metro on average and 188,000 on Fox. In total Crows matches account for 11% of the total viewing audience in 2017.

West Coast average 135,000 into Perth and 49,000 on Fox with 238,000 on 5 city metro average and 198,000 on Fox.

It must also be noted that WA sides arent just affected by their ratings being on 7mate, but by them being at ridiculous times for the WA viewing public - like 6 in the evening on a thursday or friday or 11 in the morning.

Finally, Collingwood average 343,000 in Melbourne alone, and 374,000 nationally - not too bad considering it includes several games shown only in Queensland and NSW, as well as 1 game shown only in Perth and another in Adelaide. They average 102,000 on Fox in Melbourne and 226,000 nationally.

On average the Crows rate 166,000 into Adelaide on FTA and 39,000 on Fox in Adelaide. There are no SA regionals. The national figures for crows games this year are 309,000 metro on average and 188,000 on Fox. In total Crows matches account for 11% of the total viewing audience in 2017.

West Coast average 135,000 into Perth and 49,000 on Fox with 238,000 on 5 city metro average and 198,000 on Fox.

It must also be noted that WA sides arent just affected by their ratings being on 7mate, but by them being at ridiculous times for the WA viewing public - like 6 in the evening on a thursday or friday or 11 in the morning.

Finally, Collingwood average 343,000 in Melbourne alone, and 374,000 nationally - not too bad considering it includes several games shown only in Queensland and NSW, as well as 1 game shown only in Perth and another in Adelaide. They average 102,000 on Fox in Melbourne and 226,000 nationally.
Do those National figures take into account the number of Adelaide games which were only shown on FTA in SA?

From memory the St Kilda game was only the 2nd FTA game of the year. We've had a decent run since then, but the first half of the season was almost all Foxtel games.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

Do those National figures take into account the number of Adelaide games which were only shown on FTA in SA?

From memory the St Kilda game was only the 2nd FTA game of the year. We've had a decent run since then, but the first half of the season was almost all Foxtel games.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

This might help

adelaidecrowstvandcrowds2017.png

I reckon it would be smarter if the AFL made Adelaide the away team on friday night games. The 2 games against St.kilda and Bulldogs flopped in Melbourne. .

I remember Fitzroy being scheduled on a couple of Saturday nights in the early days at footy park. They were bloody woeful back then and in these games Fitzroy played in front of the biggest crowds they had seen for a while. We just turned up to watch the Crows. Unfortunately this meant the AFL could dump the lower performing teams on us as we just didn't demand quality of opponent.

Teams struggling to fill their stadiums need Collingwood, Richmond, Carlton, Essendon to visit each year. They receive preference above the likes of Adelaide who will sell their stadium regardless of opponent. Our success is also our weakness. It's a very socialistic ideal pursued by the AFL. The better supported clubs are held back for the benefit of struggling clubs. Very strange values for a sport conceived in a democratic capitalist country. But I guess that's for another thread.

I remember Fitzroy being scheduled on a couple of Saturday nights in the early days at footy park. They were bloody woeful back then and in these games Fitzroy played in front of the biggest crowds they had seen for a while. We just turned up to watch the Crows. Unfortunately this meant the AFL could dump the lower performing teams on us as we just didn't demand quality of opponent.

Teams struggling to fill their stadiums need Collingwood, Richmond, Carlton, Essendon to visit each year. They receive preference above the likes of Adelaide who will sell their stadium regardless of opponent. Our success is also our weakness. It's a very socialistic ideal pursued by the AFL. The better supported clubs are held back for the benefit of struggling clubs. Very strange values for a sport conceived in a democratic capitalist country. But I guess that's for another thread.
That's why they always schedule clubs like St.Kilda, North, Brisbane, GWS at our ground because they know that they will get a garbage crowd there, where they'll always get at least 40,000 at AO.

I wonder what would happen if the AFL send out an ultimatum - the four teams with the lowest average home attendance in the upcoming season will be culled. GWS and North would definitely be in trouble
GWS never gonna happen. There crowds are improving well, last 2 games seen real rise in attendances guarantee 20k tonight against Sydney. Clubs like St.Kilda and North need to get their act together. Their crowds when they play non'-vic are pathetic and the AFL should get their act together on it. In fact that applies to all Victorian sides in my opinion.

Discussion or troll by Rucci ( either way I agreed with him) regarding crowd v membership numbers. Fagan wants tickets bought ie memberships and GA to count as crowd figures and not actual crowd numbers who turn up.

Then there is the problem surrounding different venues. ie Darwin tonight is a sell out, of 10,000 people. Does this go on crowd numbers or that we are involved in a sell out game? Tasmania suffers from this as well.

Or should the AFL mandate stadiums need to be 40,000 + as a condition?

Discussion or troll by Rucci ( either way I agreed with him) regarding crowd v membership numbers. Fagan wants tickets bought ie memberships and GA to count as crowd figures and not actual crowd numbers who turn up.

Then there is the problem surrounding different venues. ie Darwin tonight is a sell out, of 10,000 people. Does this go on crowd numbers or that we are involved in a sell out game? Tasmania suffers from this as well.

Or should the AFL mandate stadiums need to be 40,000 + as a condition?
They do this in England in the EPL, clubs over their base their attendance on tickets sold not the people who turn up. Undermines the word attendance.

I suspect this is already done by the AFL in Sydney for GWS games. Some of the crowd figures over there simply just dont line up with the visuals at times.

I think there fans sit on the telecast side of the ground.

I reckon it would be smarter if the AFL made Adelaide the away team on friday night games. The 2 games against St.kilda and Bulldogs flopped in Melbourne. .
Yes, the problem is that the Afl wants to practically schedule every single home crows game at night which as we know in adelaide in winter in a stadium without a roof is extremely dewey or raining. This generally means a poor spectacle to watch. If we see us scheduled at Etihad on a Friday night against a essendon, dogs, carlton, collingwood, ratings will be 50% higher. We need more days games here, not night games.

We got a load of Friday night because we play entertaining brand of footy plus the ratings in Adelaide are huge when we play. This friday night will prove that. what in your opinion are the best day timeslots.

Saturday afternoon.

How Important We Are To The AFL