Analysis How the state of the game has evolved, is the increased rate of injuries a result of of the evolution

They are appalling and they are affecting results.

Too many people get sucked in by late blowouts that wallpaper over the effect that poor umpiring has over setting up results.
You can’t change the umpiring until you make the rules less interpretive. In other words, you want to change over 100 years of history and significantly alter the character of football.

Too many teams this year think they should emulate Eichmond's style of play, but don’t have the skill to go with it. They’d be much better emulating Adelaide who just happened to have a bad GF, but could easily have won. Note that only West Coast and Richmond are averaging over 100 points per game.

You can’t change the umpiring until you make the rules less interpretive.

I agree, there's far too much "grey" that allows bad umpiring to hide itself.

In other words, you want to change over 100 years of history and significantly alter the character of football.

There's nothing "traditional" about contemporary football mate. You're kidding yourself if you believe that.

Too many teams this year think they should emulate Eichmond's style of play........

I agree. It's an alarming state of affairs for a game that has already been seriously compromised.

Just checking because plenty of your mob complain about the treatment Brown gets. Which is ridiculous.

He is a protected species.

Take your deflection to the bay champ. I'm not indulging you any further.

There's nothing "traditional" about contemporary football mate. You're kidding yourself if you believe that.

I agree. It's an alarming state of affairs for a game that has already been seriously compromised.

I’m not really sure. I’ve only been able to watch football back to the 60s. There isn’t much video footage before then. Sure, there used to be a lot of players standing around waiting to have the football kicked to them, and there was no out-on-the-full, and lots of players used the horribly inaccurate drop-kick to randomly kick somewhere within a 30° arc, but otherwise there isn’t a hell of a lot of difference. And thankfully, North are just as bad now as they were then.

The root cause of all of this is the AFLs neglect of grass roots footy across the country.

There simply isnt an oversupply of talent to justify the amount of teams.

I think 20 (2 conferences) is the right number for the sport to be honest and the solution isnt to reduce the number of teams, it shoyld be to increase the talent pool.

Football in Tasmania is dying. If Tasmania gets an ALeague licence AFL will be dead. AFL has made almost no progress in Qld and NSW so is losing out to rugby and soccer still.

WA and more particularly, SA governments are broke and the AFL rather than doing anything to help the local game would rather just tell the clubs to lobby the government for money they dont have. Less and less talent is coming from SA and WA.

NT is a source of untapped talent thanks mostly to the AFL turning a blind eye to any indigenous player that isnt a small crumbing forward they can put on a highlight reel.

The problem is is that there is a huge pressure on Victoria to churn out the overwhelming majority of talent which is being spread across 18 teams.

Soccer is the highest participation sport in the country, the AFL have just let that happen and seem to only care about the top tier level.

Add to that the evolution of the game into being one where fast and fit is the trump quality (unless you play for the crows) and you see a further dilution of skills at the top level.

The most ridiculous thing is that the AFL want to grow international when they don't even have it right domestically.
Tasmanian team makes soccer gf as the higher ranked team.

Gf in tasmania.....

What raw nerve? Why resort to a personal attack? A discussion on the state of the game is far more interesting.
I have clearly hit a raw nerve. Truth tends to do that.

Ah, I think I get it.

Because the Tigers are spanking everyone, and North had but a brief moment in the top 4, you think I’m concerned that if the rules change then Richmond will be bo good?

Wow, yeah I’m devastated that the Tigers are back on top.

I don't buy that mate. Holding 4-5 goal leads is not difficult in modern negation football. Many times appalling umpiring sets up leads that sees a side further capitalise with a late influx of goals as opposing teams are forced to take risks in order to compensate. This then serves to mathematically wallpaper over the earlier poor officiating. I have seen it too many times.

I reckon the number of games 'decided' by umpires in any given year would be about 2% - and even that might be being generous.

Most of them have professional jobs outside of performing their roles as a umpire. Perhaps they would be more proficient at their role, if they dedicated themselves exclusively to a full time umpiring position, rather than a part time hobby. Up to 200k for mediocrity....

On a seperate note. A
Billion dollar industry, where millions are gambled on a sporting outcomes.... paying part time umps 80k, is just waiting for a match fix. Perhaps it’s happened and we don’t even know.

I would think a lot of people would consider $80k a pretty decent full time wage as it is. And I cant imagine too many would think $200k is poor return for part time work.

Most of them have professional jobs outside of performing their roles as a umpire. Perhaps they would be more proficient at their role, if they dedicated themselves exclusively to a full time umpiring position, rather than a part time hobby. Up to 200k for mediocrity....

On a seperate note. A
Billion dollar industry, where millions are gambled on a sporting outcomes.... paying part time umps 80k, is just waiting for a match fix. Perhaps it’s happened and we don’t even know.

No regular umpire is getting anything near as low as 80K a year.

Afl football resembles a game of gridiron with it's stop start nature, setups and lanes. Then you add in the soccer style zone defence which makes afl not unique anymore.

Richmond scored the most points of all teams in round 6, scored 51 points in the last quarter, and won the game with the highest aggregate score. If all the other teams emulated Richmond's all out attack with the ball, and defence with an eye on attack, the game would be much more pleasant to watch.

What? It is similar to neither sport. So it’s not unique because it includes features from 2 other disparate sports? Wouldn’t that make it unique?

Yeah I thought that was silly too

I'm starting to think main reason for all the hand wringing from the old timers is the game is too complex and layered for their pallet, nowadays

What? It is similar to neither sport. So it’s not unique because it includes features from 2 other disparate sports? Wouldn’t that make it unique?
You cannot be unique anymore when you copy from other sports! Go inside a footy club four walls and you'll be surprise the vernacular they use that are straight from the gridiron playbook.

lots more talk recently about the state of the game. From what I've heard the TV ratings are well down on previous years, and if it wasnt for stadium upgrades in Adelaide and Perth in recent seasons, attendances would be down too.

IMO there are too many players and too many clubs for the available talent pool in Australia. We've ended up with many noncompetitive teams, or teams with far too shallow lists. Some injuries to key players results in a drastic drop in performance.

Add to this I think the modern style of play is just too sterile. One of the most appealing things about aussie rules is there is no offside, so players compete directly against one and other. With today's zoning and congestion, combined with thin list quality, many games are just too scrappy to watch, riddled with mistakes and turnovers. Maybe 1 or 2 games per round look interesting on paper, but the rest hold no interest for neutral fans.

I used to go to one or two other matches that didn't involve my club most weeks back in the 90's. Now I struggle to watch many of the games on television. It's all mostly over regulated formulaic rubbish.

I feel sorry for anyone 30 and under that have never and probably will never see the game when it is great.

It’s a lot easier to get excited about footy when your team is up and about and full of star players performing at the peak of the game too [emoji6]

After 40 odd years of having the shit kicked out of them, Richmond fans would gloat about a flag if it was won in a raffle.

You're not exactly the best population to have an opinion on such things.

Football just doesn't seem as skilled anymore.
it's all about pressure and contested ball.
In 5 years time there won't even be any big marking key forwards or defenders anymore.
Most sides will consist of small/medium type players who can run, pressure and tackle.
It's turning into a weird hybrid rugby game.
It's not very good to watch.
I miss the old days

After 40 odd years of having the shit kicked out of them, Richmond fans would gloat about a flag if it was won in a raffle.

You're not exactly the best population to have an opinion on such things.

Wow mate!! Ever thought I was referring to the fact that North were a power house during the 90s?? Fair dinkum. You’re a grumpy old campaigner.

Analysis How the state of the game has evolved, is the increased rate of injuries a result of of the evolution