Analysis How the state of the game has evolved, is the increased rate of injuries a result of of the evolution

Finals footy has always been tough and hard. But for a long time, that didn't mean 30 players in one third of the field.

We haven't had true positional play for a long time, though. In a sense, this is a natural progression. Until something else comes along...

If the main issue people have is congestion and too many players around the ball, then surely the only change that will actually achieve this is to say that some players are not allowed around the ball i.e. zones? Every other change suggested has just as much chance of creating the opposite effect.

We haven't had true positional play for a long time, though. In a sense, this is a natural progression. Until something else comes along...

Probably 2004 about last time it was close to positional. It incrementally changed. Now is the time to do something about it. Reckon it will take one year of debate and the next year the act of fixing it.

And people have been lamenting for a long time about the ugly look of the game. More or less since the Swans under Roos, with some pause when the Cats and Hawks were winning with superior skill.

Probably 2004 about last time it was close to positional. It incrementally changed. Now is the time to do something about it. Reckon it will take one year of debate and the next year the act of fixing it.

Still not convinced action needs to be taken. The players and coaches will tell you the game changes subtly every few weeks. Wait and see, wait and see...
And people have been lamenting for a long time about the ugly look of the game. More or less since the Swans under Roos, with some pause when the Cats and Hawks were winning with superior skill.

"Clarko's Cluster" and the "Weagles' Web" were lauded as coaching innovations. Those were steps along the path to where we are now.

Still not convinced action needs to be taken. The players and coaches will tell you the game changes subtly every few weeks. Wait and see, wait and see...

"Clarko's Cluster" and the "Weagles' Web" were lauded as coaching innovations. Those were steps along the path to where we are now.

There is probably about ten of them. Some of them have well labelled names. Quite a few others do not. I do not like the look of the football but fascinated in how we arrived here. Really interesting times in the game as going to be some great healthy debate in next 12 months that not seen in my lifetime to decide how to fix the game as a sport we want to be the best version of itself.

I think "the debate" is a media construct (and will argue till the cows come home that some of it stems from buttthurt at Richmond upsetting "the natural order"). Can dig out posts from 7-8 years ago where I pointed out that the game was "eating itself" and got slammed for it. Nobody gave a shit then, so forgive me if I don't care for the discussion right now.

Everyone knew the Carlton/Bulldogs match was going to be an ordinary prime time spectacle with so many young players in both teams. I don't get the outrage.

If the main issue people have is congestion and too many players around the ball, then surely the only change that will actually achieve this is to say that some players are not allowed around the ball i.e. zones? Every other change suggested has just as much chance of creating the opposite effect.

Like abolishing third man up? Meaning the ruck contest rarely results in a clearing punch.

Dumbasses that change the rules and are baffled when the game changes in a way not contemplated....o_O

In fairness the wait and see approach is what got us here. The AFL did nothing when the rules committee recommended that the interchange needed to be capped at a low number in 2010

I think "the debate" is a media construct
Well you would be wrong because so many of us have not liked look of game for years. It has got to critical point this season where more and more fans have finally realised it is not just a cycle but gets worse each year. The media have been forced to talk about it as people that love football the game, are falling out of love of watching much of it. There is a lot of stuff that is media construct this is certainly not one of them. It is a construct of the whole football community and driving the media to talk about it more. Not the other way around. I am really happy it finally got a point with really healthy debate. Only good can come of it.

In fairness the wait and see approach is what got us here. The AFL did nothing when the rules committee recommended that the interchange needed to be capped at a low number in 2010

Yeah but what is "here"? Why is it special? I saw four full games on the weekend - two were pretty good, one was garden variety average and the other was poor. Pretty normal weekend. Why the alarm bells suddenly?

Nobody can accurately predict what will happen with further tinkering; all they can say is "In theory....". My belief is that further interchange cuts will disadvantage young teams like the Suns and make it more difficult for them to get out of the cellar and will act as a deterrent to clubs fielding youth in the senior 22. Just be careful.

With prompting from the media?

Some no doubt but talking to other people in general that have genuine interest in footy, lots of us have been really concerned the way the game has looked for years. It was actually the media the prompted the nonsense cliche saying, the game keeps evolving, it will fix itself. Finally because more and more people talk about it and glaringly obvious most games are ugly to watch for large chunks of games, they get it. It is not evolving at all. Strategy had evolved but the spectacle of the game as a sport to play and watch has regressed. I get it, some people like you fear the discussion and defensive about it. Some genuinely seem to like it this way. That is why the debate on radio I heard all week been great. Heard so many different views every different view been heard and respected for way each person views it. The debate ain't going away mate. If you take the time to listen to all views, even ones you do not agree with, you will find some very interesting takes. I do not agree with ideas of zones in principle but was totally fascinated in hearing Blight's thoughts on it yesterday on SEN. He had some great ideas I never heard before. As someone that was elite player that seen so much of it, he could notice some things that can improve game, never even thought about before. His insights fascinating.

From my perspective it's evolving.

In 2012-13 Richmond played a fast, entertaining brand which led to the opposition stacking the backline; in one game we had 70-35 inside 50's and only scraped over the line.

In 2014-15 we held onto the ball. Wasn't fantastic to watch, in fact there was more than a passing resemblance to Ross Lyon footy. But it worked... for a while. People said it wouldn't stand up in finals and they were right.

In 2016 we tried what Carlton started out with this year - run and gun. It fell apart in the second game against the Crows. It was difficult to decipher what the gameplan was after that.

In 2017 we hit upon football nirvana - move the ball forward long and direct, and if the opposition get hold of it, pressure them until they give it back. So simple it's almost genius.

So there has been plenty of evolution just at my club, and I'm sure other clubs are similar. I'm betting things continue to change.

Look, I love Blighty, but if he said anything positive about Richmond it would kill him.

From my perspective it's evolving.

Look, I love Blighty, but if he said anything positive about Richmond it would kill him.
Yeah, I get your perspective through those lenses but this is not about your team. It is about the whole game. Team systems ad strategies have evolved. The look of game has gone backwards. You will get it in time.
Big changes are coming. You can fear them but in time you will see it is for the better after it happens.

Yeah, I get your perspective through those lenses but this is not about your team. It is about the whole game. Team systems ad strategies have evolved. The look of game has gone backwards. You will get it in time.
Big changes are coming. You can fear them but in time you will see it is for the better after it happens.

I'm biased and make no attempt to deny it. Nearly everyone in footy has vested interests. The timing leads me to believe it is designed to drag Richmond down/push other clubs up.

As said earlier, I've been consistent for a decade in observing that the spectacle is in decline. They can "fix" it when we're down the bottom again.

Yeah but what is "here"? Why is it special? I saw four full games on the weekend - two were pretty good, one was garden variety average and the other was poor. Pretty normal weekend. Why the alarm bells suddenly?

Nobody can accurately predict what will happen with further tinkering; all they can say is "In theory....". My belief is that further interchange cuts will disadvantage young teams like the Suns and make it more difficult for them to get out of the cellar and will act as a deterrent to clubs fielding youth in the senior 22. Just be careful.

Iv been saying it for a good 5 years plus. I remember having the same debate with pessimistic this time last year. I don’t really care if the suns never really win as long as the spectacle is worth turning up to and at the moment it’s not really. I remember in 2015 I walked out of a game with my family half way through the second quarter because I was so frustrated by all the players being in the same part of the ground and when the ball finally got cleared they had to stop so the players could get in front of the ball again, which actually made the game a lot slower. Tbh I don’t mind if scoring stays low as long as it’s a end to end type game. This rugby maul that’s happening right now is a massive blight on the game and it’s shame because every Friday I get pumped up for a big weekend of footy and then half way through the first quarter I put on the history channel or showcase

I'm biased and make no attempt to deny it. Nearly everyone in footy has vested interests. The timing leads me to believe it is designed to drag Richmond down.

As said earlier, I've been consistent for a decade in observing that the spectacle is in decline. They can "fix" it when we're down the bottom again.

He he. Like your ability to see the bias but totally embrace it. Good for you. You might get lucky and they fix it at that exact point. Won't matter in the end, all 18 clubs are going to have to adjust to the changes coming.

Who makes the decision? There is no consensus whatever on what action to take or even whether to take action at all. In some cases vastly-experienced football people are at polar opposites. In the end, someone will make a call and it will be influenced by self-interest.

I won't trust the AFL until Brendon Gale's running it.

Who makes the decision? There is no consensus whatever on what action to take or even whether to take action at all. In some cases vastly-experienced football people are at polar opposites.
That's right. Right now there is no consensus, but the genuine discussion is happening of what do we want our great game to look like in near future and going forward? It is fascinating, vastly experienced football people can have extremely different views. I've loved hearing them as they all love the game but different thoughts on what is not working for the game and what is. The decision will be made by the AFL and the direction will be lead by Steve Hocking but the debate will be had by many. From that debate a general consensus will come forward as they are all putting great thought into it. That is why I expect the change in 18 months. I think the debate will rage for next 6 to 12 months and the best way forward will be decided and acted upon in 2020. But what is clear is it has finally heated up. The wheels are in motion and many smart minds in industry will voice their views and the ones that make the most sense and most approval will be the direction it goes.

I'm biased and make no attempt to deny it. Nearly everyone in footy has vested interests. The timing leads me to believe it is designed to drag Richmond down/push other clubs up.

This Richmond conspiracy theory is up there with the Bombers defence of Hird in the kool aid drinking stakes.

This state of the game stuff feels like it has been waxing and waning ever since the shitfest that was the 2015 GF. It's getting more air time at the moment because your average media ********* can calculate that average scoring is down - not because everyone hates Richmond. You had been irrelevant for so long most people didn't mind you winning it last year in case you didn't notice.

I put all of the blame on the Sydney swans under Paul Roos for the ugly tactics. Ross Lyon's Stkilda took it to a new level where they would win games regularly, despite having less inside 50s, unheard of at the time. Than Ross lyon's Fremantle took ugliness to a whole new level. It goes to show the best teams play the ugliest footy, nothing new here.

That's right. Right now there is no consensus, but the genuine discussion is happening of what do we want our great game to look like in near future and going forward? It is fascinating, vastly experienced football people can have extremely different views. I've loved hearing them as they all love the game but different thoughts on what is not working for the game and what is. The decision will be made by the AFL and the direction will be lead by Steve Hocking but the debate will be had by many. From that debate a general consensus will come forward as they are all putting great thought into it. That is why I expect the change in 18 months. I think the debate will rage for next 6 to 12 months and the best way forward will be decided and acted upon in 2020. But what is clear is it has finally heated up. The wheels are in motion and many smart minds in industry will voice their views and the ones that make the most sense and most approval will be the direction it goes.

Mmm, we'll see. Most people felt 2017 (pre-finals) was a revival of sorts. Six rounds later and we want to take an axe to it....

Flavour of the month.

Football
I put all of the blame on the Sydney swans under Paul Roos for the ugly tactics. Ross Lyon's Stkilda took it to a new level where they would win games regularly, despite having less inside 50s, unheard of at the time. Than Ross lyon's Fremantle took ugliness to a whole new level. It goes to show the best teams play the ugliest footy, nothing new here.

Terry Wallace's basketball tactic started it all when they used the ultra flood against Crows I think. That was heaps ugly but did the job...

Analysis How the state of the game has evolved, is the increased rate of injuries a result of of the evolution