Ex-Moderator
Aug 2, 2001
Swan Districts
Get them to watch the 92 grand final.

I have been very sick lately in case some of you don't know. With my last remaining days on this planet, I have been going back in time and remembering the good years I have enjoyed.

I watched the 92 grand final and saw a group of men who gave their all to win a flag for the jumper they wore and the club they represented. This current crop of Eagles are no where near the boys of 92. These boys in 92 were in battle mode and had a point to prove to the competition and gave so much blood, determination and guts to show that the club they represented would be a force to reckon with.

Sadly with this current crop of Eagles, they are no where near the boys of 92. If I was Adam Simpson, I would have them watch the 92 grand final and show this current mob on how much hard work is needed to make it in the AFL of today. We have a team that has the talent to give the flag a shake, but they are too worried about image, being hipsters and showing off their tatts.

This mob need to grow a pair and we will not be feared like the Eagles of the nineties until this current mob get over their prissiness and give all to the club they represent.

Now I know some of you may not agree with me, however, have a look at the 92 GF and look at the team we have today. This team of today are no where near the boys of yesteryear. They do not have the courage or the work rate of the team of the nineties.

We have the talent on paper, but not the attitude. This current mob do not have an open premiership window at all. They are a middle of the road side and deserve to be. Fremantle will beat us this weekend and once again we will throw our arms up in the air and ask questions.

West Coast will bottom out again and will need to rebuild to win a flag. I just hope this club does the right thing by their supporters and give us a side we can be proud of and give the flag a almighty shake.

Sadly, this current mob are a bunch of soft ***** and until we make the hard decisions we ain't going anywhere.

Shuey, Gaff and Mitchell have what it takes. Gaff just needs to learn to stand up, Mitchell would be great in the the center, MP and CM need to go back to East Perth and earn their place back in the side. MP maybe finished and we need to let him go. Masten has been a huge disappointment and we should have traded him yonks ago, he simply is not a AFL footballer. He likes the idea of being an AFL footballer, but lacks the courage of being a midfielder. We need to blood youth now instead of holding onto these guys who simply go through the motions week after week.

We really need a mid that can be a marking threat and can go forward to have an impact .

Think Dangerfield, Martin, Bontempelli , fyfe, Parker .

Get them
I have been very sick lately in case some of you don't know. With my last remaining days on this planet, I have been going back in time and remembering the good years I have enjoyed.

Terrible to hear your sick. Hope you don't mind me asking, but is this life threatening?

In my hurry to have another cheap shot at our midfield I completely overlooked the sentence about your health.

Hope everything is okay mate, or as good as it can be, and it certainly provides a little perspective. All the best.

Terrible to hear your sick. Hope you don't mind me asking, but is this life threatening?

Yeah, sad to say i have been given a month to live. But this is not about me, I just want the WCE to win a flag soon for you guys.

In my life, I have seen 3 WC flags and 5 Swan Districts flags. I have been lucky.

I could have been a St Kilda supporter. :)

I have been on BF for almost 16 years and loved it. Just wish this current crop of Eagles will give me a win before I die. Sadly, I don't see it.

Anyway, let's hope that we beat the purple ****s this week. Somehow I don't see it.

Yeah, sad to say i have been given a month to live. But this is not about me, I just want the WCE to win a flag soon for you guys.

In my life, I have seen 3 WC flags and 5 Swan Districts flags. I have been lucky.

I have been on BF for almost 16 years and loved it. Just wish this current crop of Eagles will give me a win before I die. Sadly, I don't see it.

Thanks for sharing, sorry to hear mate.

Good to see the districts good start, and good assessment.

Just missed that 85 Four-peat

1 month to live, bloody hell.

Others would probably be down in the dumps or doing something insane in their last days, but the fact your on here and being completely honest just goes to show real character.

I may be some random person on the internet, but I hope the best for you and your family.

Good luck, and hopefully we can notch a win against those purples down the road.

Look I did melt hard over the weekend but I try to be an optimist and sometimes things aren't as bad as it is and some times things aren't as good as they're. I just hop that this is our wake up call and sometimes sides need to have losses like Sunday to really get them going. I really hope this week we get on a role and start playing good footy and start building on for the rest of the year. As you said we have the talent but the intent is lacking so a loss like that can really bring the group down to earth and really make them hungry.

Going back to that 92 grand final, I always swore that it was Tony Evans just before half time that sparked the Eagles into action. Matera may have won the Norm Smith, but I believe Evans was the most important player on that day.

Ken Hinkley had a good match that day as well, he looks so different now to back then.

For the younger brigade who have never seen 92, it is on You Tube.

There are some basic different characteristics between the 1992 team and today‘s team. These characteristics might affect their behaviour and intent in success as a football team.
The major difference is that the 1992 team consists of a group of WA young players. They were seen as representing the state and not just a football team. Today, the WCE is a football team with good players from all over Australia. They are representing a football team called WCE, head officed in WA. Though we had attempt to use the slogan "the west is ours", it have more effect and affect to the fans than the players/coaches.
Today, it is more a high paid job in the sport industry than carrying the glory to represent the state called WA.

Probably, I am already hinting the direction to fix the WCE current side.

How to fix the WCE current side