Hurley vs Walker

nothing like coming out of the woodwork and getting chirpy after one good game is it, especially when the other guy didn't even play.

Good luck to Tex and his mullet. There's still no club in the league who'd pick him over Hurley given the choice.

The guy has managed over 100 goals in 46 games....Hes had a few good matches:) doubled Hurleys output so far anyway....Oh wait Hurley Didn't play on the weekend, I take it all back

If Walker continues his current form for the rest of the year and kicks 70 goals for the season, I very, very, very strongly doubt most clubs would take Hurley over Tex. Unless of course Hurley improves dramatically and starts ripping games apart when he comes back from injury. Walkers year this year is shaping up like Jack Riewoldts 2010 season, lets just hope he can continue his good form for many a season unlike Jack who has been dissapointing the last year and a half.

Hurley has a lot more class about him there is no doubt about it.

Walker has been beating up on the average sides hence why he leads the coleman. (bar the 5 against sydney who adelaide match up on well)
4 disposals against hawthorn just about says it all.

Honestly Walker and Crameri are probably better comparisons. Both pick 75.
Crameri :- 29 games, 8.2 kicks per game, 8.0 h/balls, 4.7 marks, 1.7 goals, 1.3 behinds, 2.5 tackles, .1 h/o, 1.1 ff, 1.4 fa Walker :- 51 games, 7.4 kicks, 3.5 h/balls, 4.7 marks, 2.2 goals, 1.5 behinds, 1.4 tackles, .5 ff, 1.0 fa

Hurley has a lot more class about him there is no doubt about it.

Walker has been beating up on the average sides hence why he leads the coleman. (bar the 5 against sydney who adelaide match up on well)
4 disposals against hawthorn just about says it all.

He kicked four against Hawthorn last year, when we were a far worse side than we are now.
[YOUTUBE]9GcY346aYik[/YOUTUBE]
He's got to work on his consistency, but there's no pattern of him playing worse against top 8 sides.
He certainly doesn't lack "class," either. Tex has plenty of flaws to his game, but he's got a heck of a lot of class for a bloke his size. Beautiful kick on either side, and finds heaps of space, despite being one of the slowest blokes in the team.

Ill take gun forward over gun backman everyday of the week and twice on sundays...totes

The above is a good point, however if true Walker is losing the poll to a backman imagine he was up against a forward. i.e Franklin. The fact is as a foward, backman or player in general any club would take Hurley over Walker. The GC and GWS offers confirm this.

Having said all this Walker is a super talent up foward no doubt about it but Hurley as all the qualities that can lead and take a team to premierships, I don't think Walker has these qualities, not yet anyway. Btw you can't always measure success on goals as Hurley plays up the ground more as a CHF. Crameri is our FF.

The above is a good point, however if true Walker is losing the poll to a backman imagine he was up against a forward. i.e Franklin. The fact is as a foward, backman or player in general any club would take Hurley over Walker. The GC and GWS offers confirm this.

Having said all this Walker is a super talent up foward no doubt about it but Hurley as all the qualities that can lead and take a team to premierships, I don't think Walker has these qualities, not yet anyway. Btw you can't always measure success on goals as Hurley plays up the ground more as a CHF. Crameri is our FF.

Franklin isn't in the poll, its hurley v walker, stick to the OP

haha **** this thread is filthy. Neither teams would trade players, thats it. Walker is the 9th youngest player ever to reach 100 goals. Im pretty ****ing happy with him and I could not give a rats ass how bombers fans think Hurley has the potential to be the best KPP in the game.

Is this primary school?
Both very different players, with different skill sets etc. etc.
Instead of criticising and being overly defensive, perhaps we just acknowledge and discuss these players in a positive way instead of the constant pissing contest that these poles dissolve into.
It's awesome that both teams have the pleasure of watching Walker and Hurley develop into fantastic players for their respective clubs.
5 years from now, we may see Walker vs Hurley (in defence), Or a shoot out between the two, bloody awesome either way.
Walker may be limited in where he can play, but as of last week's showdown, i believe Walker was the 10th youngest player in AFL/VFL history to hit 100 goals (sorry if this has been said).
Hurley has all the skills to be fantastic at which ever end he ends up (which goes to show how seriously talented he is. Could potentially be AA in forward or defence)
Look forward to how it progresses either way. :thumbsu:

Walkers disposal efficiency is better than Hurleys and that's still including the fact Walker kicks a shitload of points. There should be a field kicking efficiency stat because Tex would be close to 90% I'd say.

Also Tex averages more disposals per game + some n00b posted coaches votes... Tex has 19 so far this season? Hurleys?

nothing like coming out of the woodwork and getting chirpy after one good game is it, especially when the other guy didn't even play.

Good luck to Tex and his mullet. There's still no club in the league who'd pick him over Hurley given the choice.

Walker has blown past Hurley this year. One forward has kicked 27 goals in 8 games - the other 7 goals in 8 games. One is playing at a great level the other potentially could. I would take the proven player.

Hurley has been a disappointment this year where Walker a revelation.

Walkers disposal efficiency is better than Hurleys and that's still including the fact Walker kicks a shitload of points. There should be a field kicking efficiency stat because Tex would be close to 90% I'd say.

Also Tex averages more disposals per game + some n00b posted coaches votes... Tex has 19 so far this season? Hurleys?
whilst I think DE is a bullshit stat, and I'm not really sure about the pertinence of your points, regardless don't you think this post is far better than your last one? Maybe you should have made this one first instead ;)

Walker has blown past Hurley this year. One forward has kicked 27 goals in 8 games - the other 7 goals in 8 games. One is playing at a great level the other potentially could. I would take the proven player.

Hurley has been a disappointment this year where Walker a revelation.
gosh I'm shocked you think that mate.

As I've told you on numerous occasions, I'm not even slightly concerned about Hurley, as he spent 90% of his preseason in a moon-boot and has unfortunately had a bit of injury this year. The best players can be dicey after no pre-season. He's now had a solid 4 week training block so let's see how he goes over the second half of the season.

gosh I'm shocked you think that mate.

As I've told you on numerous occasions, I'm not even slightly concerned about Hurley, as he spent 90% of his preseason in a moon-boot and has unfortunately had a bit of injury this year. The best players can be dicey after no pre-season. He's now had a solid 4 week training block so let's see how he goes over the second half of the season.

I know you have a huge Hurley man crush but you must admit Walker has clearly been better in 2012.

Most Essendon supporters on your board list him as a disappointment in 2012 - and not many know about the moon boot on the grassy knoll.

I know you have a huge Hurley man crush but you must admit Walker has clearly been better in 2012.

Most Essendon supporters on your board list him as a disappointment in 2012 - and not many know about the moon boot on the grassy knoll.
I will happily admit Walker has been better this season. You'd have to be a fool to deny that. And I think Walker is an exceptional player. Hurley has been "disappointing" this season, but only to those who have unrealistic expectations or don't understand how missing a preseason impacts on performance.

As for "not many knowing about the moon boot", I dunno if that's the case, given Bomber Thompson mentioned it again on 360 two or three weeks ago. It's pretty common knowledge Hurley played out the second half of last year with a stress hot-spot, and spent the majority of the pre-season in the boot. I know you didn't know about it, but now you do.

He has been playing hurt, but a lot of AFL players do. Jack Riewoldt had 4 or 5 ops in the pre-season, Luke Hodge has played hurt most of his career and hasn't had full pre-seasons, yet still has still managed 3 All Australian seasons. Franklin played all of 2008 with his shoulder slipping out and has had lots of problems with his thumbs that has impaired his contested marking in 2010 and 2011. Chris Judd has played with bad groins and shoulders most of his career. Playing well with injury niggles is part and parcel of being an elite footballer.

That being said, Hurley is still young and obviously has time ahead of him. He would want to "come on" in the next couple of years though, as before he knows it, he will be 25 and still nothing more than an average AFL footballer. I'm banking on that he will come good, but this season has been a dissapointment regardless of the niggles he has been playing with.

He has been playing hurt, but a lot of AFL players do. Jack Riewoldt had 4 or 5 ops in the pre-season, Luke Hodge has played hurt most of his career and hasn't had full pre-seasons, yet still has still managed 3 All Australian seasons. Franklin played all of 2008 with his should slipping out and has lots of problems with his thumbs that has impaired his contested marking in 2010 and 2011. Playing well with injury niggles is part and parcel of being an elite footballer.

That being said, Hurley is still young and obviously has time ahead of him. He would want to "come on" in the next couple of years though, as before he knows it, he will be 25 and still nothing more than an average AFL footballer.
yeah but Hurley has been far from bad this season. The hype around Hurley is exactly that. The reality is that he is an enormously well-performed AFL footballer for being a 22 year old (just) CHF. He plays on the hardest position on the ground and does a good job. He hasn't kicked a lot of goals himself this year, but he's been involved in a hell of a lot of score involvements, and with the way AFL footy is these days, that may be the lot of the good CHFs - doing the hard yards instead of the finishing. (It's worth noting that Walker plays much closer to goal.) That said, I firmly expect Hurley to start kicking more goals.

He HAS been playing well injured, just not as well as the unrealistic expectations demand. There's not a hope in hell (IMO) that he will be a 25 year old average footballer. I think you yourself are falling for the hype a bit, and judging him by that rather than what he actually produces.

The age-old plainative cry applies here: give the boy time. At 25 he'll be a fully grown man. The "potential" tag is a blessing and a curse. A curse because people judge him by it; but a blessing because people can see what he could be, which is special. It's a good problem to have.

Of course I'm biased, but I'd definitely take Hurley ahead of Walker; but it's fair to say I'm on the market and trading in futures. No issues with that.

yeah but Hurley has been far from bad this season. The hype around Hurley is exactly that. The reality is that he is an enormously well-performed AFL footballer for being a 22 year old (just) CHF. He plays on the hardest position on the ground and does a good job. He hasn't kicked a lot of goals himself this year, but he's been involved in a hell of a lot of score involvements, and with the way AFL footy is these days, that may be the lot of the good CHFs - doing the hard yards instead of the finishing. That said, I firmly expect Hurley to start kicking more goals.

He HAS been playing well injured, just not as well as the unrealistic expectations demand. There's not a hope in hell (IMO) that he will be a 25 year old average footballer. I think you yourself are falling for the hype a bit, and judging him by that rather than what he actually produces.

The age-old plainative cry applies here: give the boy time. At 25 he'll be a fully grown man. The "potential" tag is a blessing and a curse. A curse because people judge him by it; but a blessing because people can see what he could be, which is special. It's a good problem to have.

Of course I'm biased, but I'd definitely take Hurley ahead of Walker; but it's fair to say I'm on the market and trading in futures. No issues with that.

Fair points. The hype around Hurley from some Essendon fans has been Lance Franklin-eque or Wayne Carey-esque, both who were pretty much the best or in the top 2 players in the comp during their 4th season ( and it's obviously Hurleys 4th year now ). Perhaps that's why some people tend to judge him harshly.

Hurley vs Walker