Autopsy "I remember when"

I remember when the GFC season ticket was a rigid cloth bound cardboard card, and I think it got you into ALL home and away games. There was a junior membership and an adult membership, nothing too complicated.

I remember when the GFC season ticket was a rigid cloth bound cardboard card, and I think it got you not ALL home and away games. There was a junior membership and an adult membership, nothing too complicated.
140.jpg

There was the cyclone fence down behind the Church St end goals over the back of the hill where you stood. The fence had numerous holes in it. When Radojevic was at the height of his powers, at home games when the Roosters were kicking to that end, kids would wait outside the ground behind the fence with a mate or 2 inside. When Joe would slot one through, a kid would grab the nice new Rossie Faulkner and throw it over to his mate.

It must've cost them a fortune.

Only went to a handfull of Geelong West games

A couple of memories from them

Went to a Oakleigh V G West game - saw Big Bob Johnson for the 1st time - unbelievable - the guy was ernormous - 6ft 6 - and he was huge . Barrot( ex Richmond) was also playing for Oakleigh - the VFA had a heap of big name players back then

But my main memory of Geelong West concerns ex Collingwood great Peter McKenna- when he played a season or 2 with G West- i was only a kid back then - but you could go onto the ground at qtr and 3qtr time to listen to either coaches address- and i will tell you what the ritual was with McKENNA - as soon as the huddle formed at qtr time -the 3 Geelong West trainers ( and trainers back then always wore white clothing) would rush straight to McKENNA - their eyes would be fixed on McKenna. Geelong West had one trainer- who was Greek - who was about 20 stone - plenty of bulk -and was hard to move - he would face McKenna - and have his hands on McKennas shoulders - the other 2 trainers would hold onto McKenna from behind - and i will never forget the anger in Peter McKennas eyes - hed be cursing - shaking his head - trying to break away from the trainers - but couldnt - if he had of - he would have knocked out 10 opposition supporters every week

Great man and a really good family. He is highly regarded by all those from Upwey, like their most famous person, and given the paucity of footy he's played, it's really a tribute to what he's done since then, and, dare I say it, the way he's gone about it.
Another great Eastern Ranges kid too, I might add.
Yeah, Im from the area, and definitely concur with this-the local clubs speak so highly of Jason. Have met his family a couple of times and they are really great people

I remember the first game I attended - Round 1, 1984 vs Fitzroy, and being more interested in watching Jacko's antics in the goal square than watching the rest of the action.

I remember a Hawthorn supporting mate of mine telling me in Year 11 that I should switch allegiances from Geelong to Hawthorn as Geelong were never going to win a flag. I'm glad I didn't take his advice.

I remember reading all those "Carn the (insert team mascot name here)" books from the school library, which were about a kid who supported a particular team going to the footy and talking about his favourite players, and the team's theme song was on the inside of the back cover. Was very rare to get your hands on a copy of the Geelong one though as it was always out on loan.

I remember going down to the town hall after the 1992 Grand Final and Malcolm Blight telling us all we were going to win the flag in 1993. Was amazing how many people were there after a loss.

I remember watching Gary Ablett senior having a sparring session against Lester Ellis in Neville Bruns' sports store in Market Square.

I remember when we broke the record score against Brisbane in 1992, and forking out $10 to buy this poster the following week (mine was unframed though):

website-2351-b.jpg

another thing I remember was going to the first game played at Waverley - Geelong v Fitzroy. David Clarke Snr kept getting hit off the ball.

Yep.And I remember the old Fish and Chips wrapped in Newspaper.Talk about hygiene.

Hey, it was a good way for us to disguise our bottle of plonk when we were underagers. Don't knock it.

I remember the first game I attended - Round 1, 1984 vs Fitzroy, and being more interested in watching Jacko's antics in the goal square than watching the rest of the action.
I remember that game. Several big names debuted for Geelong, but the blonde haired No.5 stole the limelight, taking spekkies, kicking goals, burning off his opponents, and getting himself reported. What a statement he made! It made Jacko and Greg Williams look 'ordinary'

Pretty decent centre line we had that day:

C: Turner Williams Ablett

I packed Kenny Newlands' groceries once, at safeway. In a paper bag!!:eek:
and once, our little league had a 'pie night' with guest Polly Farmer . Showed us how to handpass . Never missed the target. Such a nice humble guy...

I remember running onto the Lakeside Oval after the final siren in '76 when Geelong West won the Premiership. Back then I was more into the Roosters than the Cats.

I remember selling Footy Records at K-Park for years, and 'cos I didn't knock of until 1/4 time I had to fight for a spot up the old Cyprus tree at the city end of the ground. Fair few broken arms came from falls out of that tree on windy days.

I remember running onto the Lakeside Oval after the final siren in '76 when Geelong West won the Premiership. Back then I was more into the Roosters than the Cats.

I remember selling Footy Records at K-Park for years, and 'cos I didn't knock of until 1/4 time I had to fight for a spot up the old Cyprus tree at the city end of the ground. Fair few broken arms came from falls out of that tree on windy days.

Invoking your avatar - did you call a lawyer? :D

I also remember that back then if you broke your arm you went to the hospital to get it set and just got the **** on with things rather that run off the first ambulance chasing lawyer you could find.

I broke mine in my late 20s, had it set (I actually thought I'd popped a tendon, it was a more elastic sound than a crack), then straight back to work. No time off.

I'm tough like that. :D

This is a great thread of memories. A few of mine..
I remember when.....

- You rocked up at 11am to watch the reserves.
- Actually standing on the ground in the last 5 minutes of the game ready to run on as soon as the siren went.
- Getting in the rooms after games.
- Going to all the old school grounds, Windy Hill, Princes Park, Junction Oval, Victoria Park etc.
- Standing on cans in the outer so you could see.
- Lou Richards and Peter Landy commentated the game of the day, todays commentators should have a listen to these to to see how it should be done.
- Following Gary Ablett snr from end to end.
- Going down and watching training under lights and filling your autograph book.
- Collecting footy cards
- Garry Hocking collected your garbage and waiting at the window for a wave.
- Waving a flag
- The footy record was heaps smaller and you actually took notice of the little league ladder.
- A Junior Supporters Club membership off the tv show got you into every game.

Likewise.
Do you recall it almost became a bit competitive for some of us sellers- like approaching would-be buyers so as to finish the job earlier.
That was frowned upon; so I rarely finished before 1Q TIME.

Likewise.
Do you recall it almost became a bit competitive for some of us sellers- like approaching would-be buyers so as to finish the job earlier.
That was frowned upon; so I rarely finished before 1Q TIME.

I think the record contract back then was held by Mr Fowler at his newsagency near the corner of Moorabool and Fyans st. I did a daily paper round for him and used to ask him to dispatch me first from records pick up so I could bolt on the bike to the prime spots on each gate.

West Gate was the shitty draw (near the pool), prime spots were near the netball courts on the main gate and just under the train bridge at the train gate.

I even got the legendary jackpot once, when "that guy" from the Social Club would 1st thing in the day buy a bundle of 50 records off one kid. It only happened to me once, but everyone who got a sale to him over the years was off to a flyer for the day!