Roast IF it isn't biased or ncompetent..... THEN it must be inciteful media coverage part II

A couple of very mysterious happenings last night. The first was a mark paid to Collingwood that looked to me like it was taken well over the line. I dunno though because we never got to see it again and it wasnt discussed. Also isnt it the goal umpires call seeing as he is sitting on the goal line for precisely that reason?

The more significant incident was Rioli getting bumped well off the footy in a situation he wouldn't have expected contact. Forced him from the field pissing blood. Its deliberate. High contact and either medium to high impact - 2/3 weeks. Again perhaps I'm imagining it because it was described as an accidental head clash? Who was the Collingwood player?
The mark was dubious. The Rioli was more of an unfortunate "accident". Collingwood player was Greenwood. He went off with the blood rule too. It was a clash of heads. Doubt much will come of it.

So is everyone ready for the Vic media narrative of our crowd booing Trav Varcoe? Heaps of salty flogs running with it on Twitter based on their perspective from their lounge rooms in Frankston. That is the go to source for journos these days, doing straw polls based on tweets from semi-literate morons.

Being at the ground I can’t even recall the crowd booing Varcoe in particular.

Won’t be any mention of the fact that I could have heard a pin drop during the moment silence for his sister before the anthem.

When Varcoe kicked the goal, a large portion of the west coast crowd where I was sitting applauded quite rapturously.

The mark was dubious. The Rioli was more of an unfortunate "accident". Collingwood player was Greenwood. He went off with the blood rule too. It was a clash of heads. Doubt much will come of it.
No such thing as an accident though. Ask Andrew Gaff. Greenwood chose to bump Rioli and forced him from the field with a head wound. I'd at least like to have another look at it.

When you've watched the replay be thankful for James Brayshaw who was at least reasonably balanced. The relentless Collingwood barracking from Darcy (no surprise) and Richo (a bit of a surprise) was appalling.
Predictably we were told over and over how brave and plucky the Magpies while the fact we lost a player in the 1st quarter was barely mentioned.

Very true - watched the replay after getting back from the game. Brayshaw was reasonable but the commentary in the 3rd - jesus. At one point Collingwood by 3... commentators - ('Collingwood running away with it...)

Also what was the deal with the fox post game - showed some of Buckleys presser did not even bother to show Simmo the winning coach?!? Pfft

No such thing as an accident though. Ask Andrew Gaff. Greenwood chose to bump Rioli and forced him from the field with a head wound. I'd at least like to have another look at it.
Its a bump not in play, or a player about to affect the play. Ie Intentional, High and either Medium or High contact. But vic team so wont be looked at.

Had to sign up to voice my annoyance at the commentary on yesterdays classic victory by some team other than Collingwood.
That was ******* disgraceful on every level. I usually can't stand Darcy , but he was nothing compared to the incompetent , unprofessional steaming pile of **** Richardson. That was disgusting and reflects poorly on a competition that is slowly regressing back to an VFL competition. Is there agenda setting going on at AFL house ?

Completely agree on all points and yes, the regression back to a VFL competition began after the mid 2000’s “Non Victorian Dominance”. Here we are in 2018 and the media/coverage of this game is at an appallingly low ebb with no signs of recovery. There is a clear Victorian First agenda which starts from AFL House. I know it is tin foil hat stuff, but honestly, the weight of evidence is building. This competition needs a non Victorian premier again soon, god I hope it will be us :)

Im not one for conspiracies at all, but some outcomes do appear to be manufactured . The Bullies amazing premiership, followed by another drought breaking Tigers flag, Wouldn't be the stupidest thing to suggest an "incredible" Melbourne drought breaking victory ?

I could understand if they had actually won the game...talk about how the inspirational return lifted the team etc...but COME ON...

View attachment 556528

Goldsack was very good for sure but a very rusty Kennedy still managed to kick 17% of our winning score. At one stage in the last Kennedy to a mark on him and the commentary was talking about Goldsack not doing anything wrong. What about the forward who took a good mark. Worth mentioning perhaps?

Im not one for conspiracies at all, but some outcomes do appear to be manufactured . The Bullies amazing premiership, followed by another drought breaking Tigers flag, Wouldn't be the stupidest thing to suggest an "incredible" Melbourne drought breaking victory ?

I fully agree with you, I’m the same, not one for conspiracies either. But when you have the CEO of the league state on the eve of the season that he would like to see Melbourne win the flag this year...

They are the new fairytale. St Kilda had their chance and blew it. Carlton, Norf are getting into “drought” territory, Norf could be in the eight next year if they land Gaff and Polec. Carlton are a mile off. Poor Essendon hasn’t won one for a while, it will be good for business if they are up there next year :rolleyes: Yes. Essendon/Collingwood/Richmond. Would be perfect for the VFL if they are the big contenders in 2019.

Yeah this is what Im worried about.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Ive got no doubt the AFL will be praying for a Richmond v Melb GF and next would be GWS v Melb GF.

We would be last on their preferred premiers because they know we fill stadiums and already make money.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Threads get locked once they get to 10,000 posts simply because they get too large and mess with the search function or something like that

Thread was a victim of its own success and the ncompetence of our not so beloved medi

Thanks for the explanation. I guessed it must be something like that.
Or the collective rage was melting the insides of the Bulletin Board.

Im very much for a conspiracy and if it happens u know this league is rigged. Very hard to do in a team sport like afl tbf but it wouldnt shock me at all

Make no mistake, the AFL is a business now. Us old dinosaurs can remember when it was solely about sport. But not now. It is now a huge business based on sport.
And of course businesses always abide by the law don't they?

Subtle thread title change Keys ?
Nope. Wasn't me

Did make the mistake when I edited the thread title originally and saw it straight away but decided to leave it as it seemed appropriate in light of the thread topic

One of the other humourless/spelling nazi mods must have corrected it

swannies larrikin Quinz

Just rewatching game on fox and at 3 qtr time one of the Muppet commentators on Collingwood said "and they are just one quarter away from one of their most famous victories"
There was 10 pts in it and the other team, not sure who as all you hear is pies and Collingwood, was at home.

coincidentally the mihocek mark and hit on riloi was only replayed once quickly and moved on, if it were the eagles Richo would have been dissecting it for 20 minutes.

Most annoying part for me was the lack of calls for incorrect disposal/contact below the knees. Varcoe took out jettas legs on the wing then only got called when he literally pulled jetta down by the foot. Adams took out Yeo's legs - free to Adams, saw Mcgovern slid under multiple times. The amount of good tackles I saw where collingwood literally dropped the ball or just flung it out unpenalised was outrageous, there's a rule there either call it always or never.... The fact they will call it when they choose makes me think there's been an instruction on this from AFL HQ - yep tinfoil hat.

It was disgusting. They couldn't go 2 minutes without mention Tyson Goldsack, who was pretty solid, but from the way they talked him up you'd think he was BOG.

Talk up Tyson Goldsack when his opponent kicks a good chunk of the winning score, give Tom Barrass 4/10 for completing negating a guy he was giving up a foot of height to - Vic logic.

Centre clearances where 14 to 10 for Collingwood. Eagles won overall clearances.
Wouldn't have thought so listening to the Muppets.
Eagles getting smashed in Centre clearances.
Collingwood dominating Centre clearance, the two previous Centre clearances before this call where to Sheed and Yeo.
Just so Pie Eyed.