St.Albans (Geelong Football League)
I am interested in who will be the players at Geelong that we could expect to see some real improvement in the coming season. Also, what area of their game would need work for that improvement to take place. This need not be restricted to regular senior players.

Kane Tenace is the big one for me. He needs to back himself a lot more, take players on and provide a whole lotta run through the middle of the ground. If he gets his act together he could as good or better than Wojcinski at it. He also needs to improve his kicking, but I think that will come with confidence.

Others:
N Ablett - needs to bulk up in the upper body and impose himself on games more.
Varcoe - should have got a lot of confidence from his '07 season, now needs to step it up another level.
Blake - another one who should have got a lot of confidence from '07, and now needs to show why we kept him over King.
Gamble - troubled by injury in '07 after a standout '06 in the VFL. Now is his time.

I would also expect all the second year players - Hogan, Djerrkura, Hawkins, Bedford - to be a couple of rungs further up the ladder now that they have a season of experience under their belts.

Gamble - an injury in the pre-season screwed up his 2007 season.I'd expect him to be pushing for senior selection early in 2008.

N Ablett - the pressure of a Premiership win is off his back now.Hopefully this will allow him to cut loose.The same could apply to Hawkins.

Varcoe/Djerrkura - a good pre-season should see at least one of those 2 push for senior selection in place of Byrnes.

Go West - with King gone,he can now be #1 ruckman in the VFL,which will help his improvement.

Nathan Ablett - Cruised through 2007. Snagged 30 odd goals rotating through the key posts and did his job. In 2008 he needs to increase his involvement to become more dangerous. Had a few lean patches and needs to ensure that doesn't happen again.

Mark Blake - Yes it was a hard luck story for Blakey but one that I agreed with. A good tap ruckman but after that there's not too much happening. Needs to get more of the ball around the ground but that won't happen until his skills improve dramatically. I know it gets the crowd involved when he goes to kick the ball but the fact that he getting paid $200 - $300 gorillas a season to play footy but can't kick the bloody thing is astonishing. Improved fitness base and heaps of ball work in the off season is a must.

Nathan Djerrkura - Probably not one that needs to improve so much but a bit of luck on the injury front wouldn't go astray. I reckon he was one or two games off snatching Shannon Byrnes' spot in the GF but he just couldn't string enough games together. His pace and attack on the ball and the man is something that will lift the entire side when he debuts.

Ryan Gamble - Was the one that I thought would come out and that SJ's spot for that start of the year at least but an injured ankle put an end to that. Didn't have the impact at VFL level that he had the year before so a big season looms for Vegas in 08.

James Kelly - Bartel has done it, Gaz has done it, Dog was forced into it so now it's Kel's turn. This bloke at the midway mark of 2004 was our best player (well best midfielder anyway) so we all know what he's capable of. Another that could benefit from a massive preseason and would make our midfield even scarier for opposition clubs.

Kane Tenace - Without doubt injury wreaked his year. Injured through the preseason then another midway through the season before a torn hammy ended his season before it really got going. Needs to take risks no matter what the consequences. Wojak is the perfect example. For every time he gets caught holding the ball trying to do too much, he breaks the lines half a dozen times. Tenace needs to sprint, not run, when he gets the pill. Put it under your arm young man and go like the wind. That's the message that has to be drummed into him during the off season. If so, we'll reap the rewards.

Travis Varcoe - Fantastic pressure on the ball carrier but needs to learn how to be more dangerous offensively. Doesn't run and carry either but that will come with more confidence. Needs to build up his tank so that he doesn't get pigeon holed as a forward pocket. Must start getting front and square at the foot of marking packs up forward to increase his output.

Trent West - With King's departure this could open the door for Westy. His mobility and skill level surpases Blake's but his ruckwork is not at the same level. Just get the feeling that this kid will be a very handy player and is well suited to the modern game. I'd like to see a bit of mongrel in him next year as well.

Now if all this happen pencil us in to win the flag by 200 points next year!!!

Rosso, agree with your list of improvers in the main,although I think you were being a bit harsh on Kelly who I believe had a very good 2nd half of the year and a fantastic Finals Series.
Would like to add the following players;

Prismall - Needs to stay injury free,has wonderful disposal both by hand and foot. Also possess great vision but needs to lift his intensity at the ball if he is to take the next step.

Davenport - Has the potential to be a sensational player with his speed and goal kicking ability.One to watch.

Hawkins - Needs a full pre-season to build up his stamina and speed and we will see a far more dynamic player than the one we saw last year.Is probably 2-3 years away from taking the game by the scruff of the neck ( this will happen) but is still capable of a similar year to Nathen's '07.

Not bagging Kel at all. I'm a big fan of his work actually and he had a solid year, a big improvement on last year. All I was saying is that if this guy gets himself super fit he will reap the rewards like Gaz, Jimmy and SJ have.

We all knew the SJ was a freak but I recall Bomber talking about him prior to the 2004 finals series stating that he could be anything if he got himself right. These were just words though. Sure SJ had out in some impressive performances here and there but there wasn't that consistancy there. This is what Kel had done though, before he broke his leg he was absolutely fantastic. I'm sure that it (breaking the leg) has sat in the back of his mind over the past few years and you can't blame him for that. This year he looked more confident than previous years but he is capable of so much more and that's what I'd love to see.

Don't forget, in the lead up to 2007, was there many on this board that would've nominated Gaz as one that needed to improve??? Just goes to show that if you're prepared to work that bit harder you can reap the rewards.

Nathan Ablett - Cruised through 2007. Snagged 30 odd goals rotating through the key posts and did his job. In 2008 he needs to increase his involvement to become more dangerous. Had a few lean patches and needs to ensure that doesn't happen again.
ROSSO

I think that Nathan needs to do some serious work in the gym on his upper body so that he can be a bit stronger in the body on body contests. He is still young, but have a look at the physique of the better forwards in the game.

ROSSO

I think that Nathan needs to do some serious work in the gym on his upper body so that he can be a bit stronger in the body on body contests. He is still young, but have a look at the physique of the better forwards in the game.

Fair call, although the one on one contests are a little rarer these days. Just as long as he doesn't lose any of his mobility. I would suggest that he has probably been doing lighter weight training in the past as his motor wasn't anywhere near where it needed to be when he came to the club. He is starting to get there now but you'd hate for him to go backwards engine wise for the sake of getting bigger. Muscles don't get the footy for you, just ask Courtney Johns.

Who is Courtney Johns?

A bunch. Chapman, who was quiet for most of the year. Blake, who's still learning. Hawkins, NAblett (if he plays on), Djekerra and Varcoe. As a dark horse, David Johnson. Mackie could also be better, more of a swing man. Wojo if he improves his kicking. Kelly. Stevie J could easily kick 60 or 70 goals over a full season. Really there is a bunch of room for improvement, and that's before you even start to talk about your Lonergans, etc.

Great post Rosso. I wasn't aware of Tenace's injury during the preseason. I was ready to trade him! Given what you've written, I think he has probably the most improvement given that he is still only young and I thought was ready to take the next step in 2007. I read that he was trying to work on his decision making later in the game because, by his own admission, he made mistakes when he got tired - perhaps due to a lack of preseason.

It's an exciting time for the Catters. The list is amazingly strong, there will no doubt be some big improvements from the likes of Prismall, Davenport, Varcoe. Oh yeah, and a bloke called Hawkins might just be ready this year. I saw some pics of him and he has trimmed down a heap.

Geelong:

Chapman: Struggled with injuries for most of the year and never really hit his mojo till the end of the season. Nothing else really needs to be said. Is one of Geelong's best players, a natural leader who is super competitive and more importantly- consistent. Tough and skilful, our very own Glen Archer. If he has pre-season Brownlow odds similar to that which Bartel had in 2007, he could be worthy of a serious flutter.

Rooke: Like Chapman struggled with injuries, but to a much greater extent. Rooke is one of those players who is under-rated by many, but if he finds himself fit he will add much toughness and versatility to the Geelong team for 2008. However, if Rooke struggles once again with injuries he may find it hard to regain his place given some of the young and talented options in the VFL

Kelly: A player who seems to polarise opinion, some would say he had an ordinary season in 2007 and his place in the team is at risk, while others would say he had a great year and is (again) on the verge of something special. I tend to lean towards the latter view, and after a few disappointing seasons, Kelly needed a good constant performance in 2007, and in my opinion this is what he gave. Maybe the extra pressure for places will see him realise his potential in 2008 after a solid 2007. Remember he was touted as the midfielder with the most potential from the Cats 2001 draftees by many 'experts', and having seen just how good G.Ablett and Bartel could be in 2007, it is not beyond belief for Kelly to be able to do something similar in 2008. Maybe needs to improve his kicking, especially with his inside 50's and shots on goal.

Some younger players who would be expected to improve and challenge for a regular spot in 2008 include Prismall, Hawkins and Varcoe.

Prismall would have been disappointed to have so few opportunities in 2007 due to him maybe (unfairly) being the 'scapegoat for the early season loss to North, and then finding himself injured or coming back from an injury when opportunities presented themselves later on in the year. From reports he thought about seeking a trade in the off-season but has decided to stay with the Cats- for now. He has great finishing skills and also likes a goal- he is a 'natural' goal kicker, unlike for example Kelly- and is definitely talented enough to be an attacking midfield option. Maybe he needs to work a bit harder defensively to fit into the Geelong blueprint, however the only real question is, barring injuries who would he replace?

Hawkins defied all realistic expectation early in 2007, but things soon settled down and he found himself at times struggling to get a kick in the VFL team. Found form and fitness later on in the season though, and again became a possible option for the AFL team. After another pre-season would be expected to improve his fitness considerably, which was the only real concern as we all know that he can seriously play the game. I doubt his opportunity will be a question of whether N.Ablett plays or not as an in form Hawkins with a solid fitness base will always be in the best 22 whether that be as the second or third 'tall'.

Varcoe was somewhat of a shock debutee in 2007 and was also one of the more controversial players in 2007 as supporters tended to either love him or hate him. I think it is fair to say that he was given plenty of opportunity to cement his place in the team but was unable to do so. However he did show some amazing ability and footballing nous. I think he will have to improve some of the more 'orthodox' footballing skills in 2008 if he is to get the same opportunities, however the selectors have played their card somewhat in 2007 and have shown that they believe he has something to offer and he will get more opportunities in 2008. Personally I would like to see him push up into the midfield in the VFL and be given a license to chase kicks and to run and take them on. He could be very special, but he could also fade away.. one to watch in every aspect of the word.

Some players who if they do not continue to improve might struggle to hold their place in 2008 include Blake, Hunt and Byrnes. All three I think have their detractors, however I think all have at times shown enough to be able to have confidence going forward that they have something to seriously offer the AFL side- that they are not there simply to make up numbers.

Blake I feel was managed poorly by Geelong late in the season, however to play King in the Grand Final was the right decision in the end. He will have something to prove, and will have young West hot on his heels if he needs any more motivation. The jury is still out, but if he can continue to improve his presence around the ground and gain some confidence, especially in regards to his kicking he could be a very handy member of the team in 2008. A lot will depend on how he deals with the disappointment of 2007 and maybe on the development of West who from all reports is coming on in leaps and bounds

Hunt really showed some positive signs in 2007 after a poor start to the season, and impressed with his use of his bulk and confidence to take on the opposition in defence. Hunt improved in every aspect of his game for mine and I was especially impressed with his development to be able to play as a spoiling defender. However I would still like to see Hunt play up the ground and be 'set free' to use his kicking as an offensive weapon. Hopefully a big pre-season and a larger fitness base will allow Hunt to play across half back or even midfield or half forward in 2008, though maybe just to get a game will he a hard enough proposition.

Byrnes along with Varcoe was the whipping boy of Geelong supporters for much of 2007, yet at the end of the season he had a Premiership Medallion along with 21 of his teammates to show for his hard work during the year. There is no doubt that he is a tireless worker, however he does seem to have flaws in his game that make it hard to imagine he will get a regular game unless injuries or suspensions to other players prevail. Saying that, he will continue to present and I have no doubt put himself up for selection due to his VFL form alone. I think he could still make it, as I feel his flaws are more an issue of confidence than anything else. We know he has speed, is good defensively, can read the play and always seems to find himself plenty of the football. The question will be can he gain the confidence to take players on and carry the ball, and can he get rid of the 'yips' in front of goal? With plenty of players such as Varcoe, Djerkurra, Prismall, Davonport, Gamble, and Tenace waiting in the wings, he may not get that opportunity.

I don't think it would be a stretch to suggest up to three quarters of the list could potentially "improve" from last year, so it's hard to really cut things down to any definitive list.

You've got guys who had injury interrupted years that stopped them from playing consistent top footy (Chappy, Rooke), so naturally, assuming they put those injury concerns aside, they can "improve" on their 2007 seasons.

You've got perennial 'potential' guys who are still looking to break-out on their teasing talents and put it all together (Kelly, Tenace) and "improve" in that sense.

You've got the plethora of young guys who are expected to "improve" by continuing to develop in one way or another. Put on some bulk, fix some weaknesses, move up the pecking/depth order, maybe even press for senior games etc.

And you've maybe even got the optimistic approach of looking at guys like Bartel/Ablett (or even Corey/Ling) and declaring that there's improvement left in them yet as they hit (what should be) their prime years.

Improvers in 2008? Hopefully the lot of them.