International Rules 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter coyler

It came from International Rules and you know it...

The stated intention was to keep the game moving, ironic that the introduction of the reserve was to slow it down. Perhaps re introduce the kick in restrictions and revert to the 4 man interchange.

What have the police got to do with holding the ball??

If there are more holding the ball decisions paid...then the rule is being used more liberally.
They shoud arrest you for flagrant misuse of the English language?

If you dont get the fact that "relaxed" is not the correct word to utilise when talking about an increase in penalties I guess it explains the absurdities of your postings...:o

err, yes it is. A relaxed, more liberal, more open interpretation of the rule enables more free kicks to be given.

If it was a tighter interpretation of the rule, there would be less free kicks awarded.

Which is what we have seen since the last International Rules series and the slight change in interpretation of the rules.

I see Andy D has confirmed that International Rules is indeed alive and well and we will all see you back for further debate in two years time.

It is clear that Australian fans are upset.

Either at:-

1) Being thrashed by the Irish
2) Their best players not playing
3) The laws of International Rules itself
4) The fact it is close to an international sport as their will play.

Something about the whole experience is seriously upsetting people in the AFL heartland.

Either at:-

1) Being thrashed by the Irish
2) Their best players not playing
3) The laws of International Rules itself
4) The fact it is close to an international sport as their will play.

Something about the whole experience is seriously upsetting people in the AFL heartland.

Why don't YOU know though? The amount of times you've referred to footy as "our" game you're clearly purporting yourself to be an AFL fan, and now it seems to be "their" game :confused:

I am very confused and wish for you to clear this anomaly up for me. Thanks in advance, bitter Australian fan.

I am an Aussie tbh. Someone confusingly called me Irish and it stuck. Although I have visited Ireland. I have made love to some Irish women. I have drank Irish beer. I have walked up the Giants Causeway. So maybe I have a foot in both camps.

All I was commeting on, was Adrain Anderson's desire to tweek Australian Rules Football so it was more like International Rules.

When we travel over to Ireland in two years time, it will be very interesting to see the response from the Aussie players.

Junket = Success.

Some Australian Fans may be upset, most propose that they are indifferent(even thogh they make a lot of noise for indifferent people.
All fans agree that the Irish are deserved winners.
Most people would have liked a lot more preparation by the Aussies.
A lot of people believe the team should contain high profile players not necessarily to win but to watch.
Most people agree that rules have historically produced balanced games.
The fact that we argue the game looks like GAA and the Irish reckon it looks like AFL is only a debating issue of no consequence.
They are people who enjoy the game for what it is a diversion of the international kind after the season has ended and there are people who don't care it because they prefer to watch only Australian Football.
The only reason I'm upset is that mods are not consistant across the boards.
When somebody who is clearly a trolland very poor one at that is repeatedly allowed to post the same garbage.

I think this thread is about played out - hopefully we'll meet again in two years time without idiots like 'Blessed'

Bit harsh mate. At least I am enthusiastic about Aussie Rules players playing at an International level.

I can't understand anyone who doesn't want to give 110% for their country.

Any challenge is worth it. Just for the challenge of playing for your country. Self pride and all that.

Australia has lost it’s mojo in most sports. Remember hen we were world champions at International rules, Rugby Union and Rugby League as well as Cricket and we had the Davis Cup and won 17 gold medals at the Olympics.

Now all the papers are about old champions making comebacks – Thorpey or Warney.

And not even good ones at that.

Where are the young bred to take the mantle?

And the Australia spectators have become apathetic about their sport too.

We were once a great sporting nation. Now all we want to do is play Nintendo.

I see the Aussie players were not paid and only got a daily allowance. There in a nutshell is exactly how they played.

It seems without the lure of money, there is no reason in Australia to play for your country.

The world has changed. Bradman used to play for the glory. AFL players used to work on a Saturday morning before a game to make ends meet. They played footy because it was a reflection of themselves, not because it was a job.

Now AFL footballers are just pampered pooches.

Geelong won the flag because they bucked the trend and had some hard nuts in the team; who had pride in their jumper.

http://www.theage.com.au/sport/olym...ympian-task-20111109-1n7bk.html#ixzz1dG8uK9YS

AUSTRALIA will win fewer medals at next year's Olympic Games than at any Games in 20 years and so slide out of the top seven nations in the medal tally.
The Australian Olympic Committee has made the grim forecast that, based on 2011 performances across all sports.

Just as I commented; the golden age of Australian sport has died.

I personally really like the game and hope it continues.
Not least because tehre is seriously nothing else on in Octobe usually.
People bagging it are the biggest sooks going around.
Aussies lost fair and square. Peopl seem really insecure about this and cant face that:

1. The amateur irish players are much better than we credit them for;
2. Our guys arent as "elite" as well like to believe and as the AFL marketing machine keeps pushing down our throats.

And Im also sick of our guys doing cheap shots and playing the man we we are being beaten and outskilled. Rubbish blokes.

So well done to the Irish. Good on em! Stop the pathetic excuses from our end. And long may the game continue.

and that is why the AFL want International Rules to continue.

It gives them a presence and exposure at a time of year where the game has usally had nothing.

the fact they selected a cr@p team, didn't help their cause.

if Australia beat Ireland, you blokes would be all over International Rules as the greatest game ever.

and that is why the AFL want International Rules to continue.

It gives them a presence and exposure at a time of year where the game has usally had nothing.

the fact they selected a cr@p team, didn't help their cause.

if Australia beat Ireland, you blokes would be all over International Rules as the greatest game ever.

But we DID beat them last year, in fact we beat them comprehensively and this year there was still hardly any interest in the game. You're so easy to contradict :)

Thats not true. The HeraldSun put the first game at Ethihad up on its tracker and everything. But as soon as Australia fell 40 points down, they took it all down and disowned it. Proving the contradictory nature of the relationship Australia has with it's international Aussie Rules players.

lol thats what you get from that?...to me if true its just added confirmation the HUNs a piece of shit rag :rolleyes:

Your probably a Michael Clarke hater too.

lol thats what you get from that?...to me if true its just added confirmation the HUNs a piece of shit rag :rolleyes:

the HUN has to be the biggest two faced rag ever.

one second it praises, the next it destroys.

all in the name of selling one more paper.