Is Anyone Not Renewing Their Membership?

• Thread starter Thread starter saints

So, if someone has a car accident and gets injured (was it Beau Dowler from Hawthorn ?) you can apply to place them on the rookie list ?

I think Ramanauskas having cancer was a unique situation and should not be used as a precedent to place long term injured players on the rookie list to obtain extra picks which is what it would become.

Agreed.

It sounds cold hearted but like the Fremantle CEO said Richmond has the option to put Polak onto their long-term injured list and elevate a rookie.

It's not like they don't a pick in the pre-season draft either and that makes you question Richmond's motives. It makes you feel guilty for even suggesting this because one thing that can't be questioned is the severity of Polak's injuries but it really does appear that Richmond are using his injury for their own gain.

It's an interesting one though. When the decision was made to allow Adam Ramanauskas to become a mature aged rookie it was because of his exceptional circumstances. A one off event.

Didn't Josh Gibson suffer bleeding from the brain or some similarly serious injury when he slipped over and hit his head in the bathroom?

Should the Kangaroos have been allowed to add him to the rookie list as well?

They are opening up a pandora's box here. You get the feeling the AFL do want Ben Cousins to find a new home and will allow Richmond to add Polak to the rookie list.

So far - the poll has only two St Kilda supporters threatening to not renew his membership:

You guessed it - the openning poster is one of these and Guru Joffa has also responded in a similar manner.

(The other 11 are non-Saints which begs explanations - why did they vote at all and why did they vote No)

Re: Anyone not reneweing there Membership?

My view of such supporters: If THEY'RE not renewing THEIR membership, then THERE must be some serious doubts about the loyalty they have to the Club.
I hate bullsh1t holier than thou posts like this, I havent got a membership for next year yet and am deciding whether or not to atm and its not because we wimped out of the BC deal.

I love the Saints but I dont have to agree with every decision those lucky enough to direct the club make and if I feel like with holding my hard earned due to whatever reason I will, and if we make the GF with Lyons in charge well I guess I will possibly regret it.

yep each to their own
although if you're withholding as some form of punishment to the board, just a note that you'll lose your ability to actually have a say.

... anyway I think PS was making a joke about the incorrect use of they're/their/there in the OP....

With Australia technically falling into recesion and by next year we will be in recession it would be very impressive if we got as many members as we did last year.
We are in a better position than some other clubs. NM for example might be in real trouble in 2 years time. Dont think for a second that the AFL is protected by the global economy break down. Sponsorship is made up by companies, big companies are loosing big dollars and may have to cut back on sponsorships and jobs. And people with out jobs dont renew memberships.

I wonder if that figure takes into consideration the sales from today.

I was on hold for a long time, listening to highlights that included the Robert Warnock charge on Luke Ball, the last quarter of the round 22 game at Telstra Dome and the Collingwood final. Must have been quite a few sales today.

Anyway 3 football/social club memberships and reserved seats renewed. :thumbsu:

God dammit - I clicked no when Imeant to say YES.

I will be renewing my membership just not renewing my L2 seat as a protest in regard to the heavy handed way the club forced L2 seat holders to become Social club members.

I was a SC member top start with but the two people I have gone to the football with for years aren't and they cant afford an extra $250.

The club said - bad luck - dont care if you have been a member 30 years and had the seats for most of the decade - if you dont pay up - piss off.

Nice one you money hungry bastards :mad:

A club that has won one flag in a hundred years should fall at our feet and thank us for sticking with them - but no - pay up you scum of the earth or f### off.

Well I am getting a regulation membership. Lets see how their heavy handedness goes once the recession kicks in. Anyone got $600 spare to go to one game less on L2?

Thats right $125 more for one game less and the right to see a boring defensive gameplan.

We have less than 15k members coming up to Xmas. Will be lucky to crack 30k this year.

hawks have already done so.

God dammit - I clicked no when Imeant to say YES.

I will be renewing my membership just not renewing my L2 seat as a protest in regard to the heavy handed way the club forced L2 seat holders to become Social club members.

I was a SC member top start with but the two people I have gone to the football with for years aren't and they cant afford an extra $250.

The club said - bad luck - dont care if you have been a member 30 years and had the seats for most of the decade - if you dont pay up - piss off.

Nice one you money hungry bastards :mad:

A club that has won one flag in a hundred years should fall at our feet and thank us for sticking with them - but no - pay up you scum of the earth or f### off.

Well I am getting a regulation membership. Lets see how their heavy handedness goes once the recession kicks in. Anyone got $600 spare to go to one game less on L2?

Thats right $125 more for one game less and the right to see a boring defensive gameplan.

We have less than 15k members coming up to Xmas. Will be lucky to crack 30k this year.

hawks have already done so.

While I can understand how you might feel this way and don't even assume to try changing your position, I am rather disappointed at the overall negativity of your post which seems like you've gone from a dedicated supporter of 30 years to begruding all that you cherished about them simply because they bundled a ticket scheme? I mean, it would be great if there was a perfect amount of individuals who were happy with the social club+L2 access combination to then allow those who were unhappy to keep one or the other, but ultimately this is unrealistic.

But like I said, merely commenting, not attempting to change anything, hopefully you refind the enjoyment in going you once had.

I am still going to get a membership and still support the team with all my heart.

I was against this new admin from the start. The indecent haste most wanted Butterss and his admin out was unseemly IMHO.

Now we have seen multiple losses and this tawdry grab for cash by a club that has shown it treats its long time and substantial financial supporters.

If you equate that to a loss of love or support for my team - you are wrong.

The club has shown it cares nothing for its supporters. It has shown that money is more important to it than loyalty. It has forced longtime supporters to pay $125 more a year for one game less.

We f##k that. This club has never stuck up for the supporters interests. It slinked away during Whispers in the Sky - took it up the wazoo by the AFL commission in Sirengate - did nothing when Baker was suspended on lies and corruption - and now says take it all and pay more for the priviledge.

Well I had a SC membership. I had a L2 seat. I can afford to but 5 if I wanted to. But the friends I have sat with at the footy for 5 years. Hard working people who dont earn much- but have always given and supported the Saints for over thirty years - are bullied to pay $250 more for a game less.

They simply cant afford it. I know of others on L2 who have small communities comming from Bendigo and Gippsland and the peninsula who now cant sit together because the club has deemed that money than these supporters.

It is a disgrace and I will not financially support the club again until the admin under Westaway and the Scottish git Frasier are gone. I will but a membership but thats all - no SC membership - (if we make a GF I will buy a $1000 ticket) no reserved seat. Saves me over $400 a year.

This club admin - not the team - sickens me

We f##k that. This club has never stuck up for the supporters interests. It slinked away during Whispers in the Sky - took it up the wazoo by the AFL commission in Sirengate - did nothing when Baker was suspended on lies and corruption - and now says take it all and pay more for the priviledge.

Wasnt your beloved butterrs the President when all of these occured Joffaboy?

Got my Adult interestate membership today, fairly happy with the package (took bloody ages to arrive tho). Not sure that I have much use for a tea towel or shopping bag at my age but the scarf is a vast improvement on my previous home made one. Free entry to the Tassie game is great too and the DVD of Harves was a good watch, albeit with a horrible twist at the end (I was in tears :( )

Got my membership pack!

Membership numbers listed on the Saints website stand at: 19541.

Isn't this a bit low for this time of year?

around the same as the previous 2-3 years.

Yeah, we're pretty much on a par with the last few seasons.

According to West of Moorabbin we had 20,260 on Feb 1 last year and 19,704 on Feb 2 in 2007.

The global credit crunch might hurt a little bit but providing we get off to a good start we should be in a position to pass last seasons total. I noticed in The Saint magazine that Ross Lyon bemoaned the fact that in recent seasons we're always around the 4-7, 5-6, 6-5 mark at the halfway point of the season. If we can jump out of the blocks this season things will be good.

Wasnt your beloved butterrs the President when all of these occured Joffaboy?

Yes he was. So what. This Westaway clown has just presided over a $500k loss.

Yup wonderful move to put these Bozo's in charge. Stuff the books - attempt to bend the long and loyal supporters over with heavy handed no consultation.

A complete disaster is Westaway and this Fraser git.

Really pathetic. I hope they can get all their cashed up supporters to keep giving as the economy goes down the plughole.

And these pr1cks cant expect me to dig deep like I did for SOS - not after what they have pulled.

I've joined again this year for the first time for a few years as a Country Member and the pack arrived today. As I don't get to any games I'll arrange for my sister to get the scarf.

Yes he was. So what. This Westaway clown has just presided over a $500k loss.

Yup wonderful move to put these Bozo's in charge. Stuff the books - attempt to bend the long and loyal supporters over with heavy handed no consultation.

A complete disaster is Westaway and this Fraser git.

Really pathetic. I hope they can get all their cashed up supporters to keep giving as the economy goes down the plughole.

And these pr1cks cant expect me to dig deep like I did for SOS - not after what they have pulled.

Look, I'm not really interested in getting into this too much, but a loss was almost inevitable last year, given the circumstances FF found themselves in, and the choices made by them (many of which alot of us applaud).

GT cost heaps - not just in terms of the end payout, but also in legal fees. That's not FF's fault.

The continual wrangles with Kingston Council and the initial organisational costs for where we'll be in 2010 were all going to cost heaps. But that's developing us a better training facility, which will help us be more likely of premierships. We can argue 'til the cows come home whether they muffed it with Frankston Oval, etc, but really, c'mon, nothing this big was ever going to be clear-cut.

They forked out HEAPS for more training, conditioning, and medical staff to help us alleviate our injury woes. The immediate result was that Raph Clarke began to play football again (and well!) after nearly becoming a cripple with back injuries. Oh, and Maxy Hudgton played almost every game. Oh, and Robert Harvey was able to be a 36yo playing nearly every game, so that he finished with a bang, not a whimper. Money well spent, hmmm?

And apart from all that, they've got this going for them - we've barely heard a thing out of Westaway and crew that was stupid, embarrassing or controversial, except for when he was trying to shut the former President up for making stupid, embarrassing, and controversial comments... AGAIN!

I'd give them a B+, or a B at least if I was harsh. They could be doing better, and getting As, but hey, that ain't bad.