Jack Anthony.

• Thread starter Thread starter mattys123

It's going to be hard road for Jack to get to peak fitness.
He is going to have to put in a few outstanding performances in the VFL to grab a spot, but after what he went through, year before last with his neck, I reckon he's a monty to do it. May not be his year, but he'll be back and better.

Trade him while he still has some currency.

We have a handful of players that can play a similar role to him.

In fact, we have unbelievable depth of forwards that can kick 5 one week and not get a kick the next week.

Good young players are going to be hard to come by over the next few seasons. In most cases, you have to give something to get something. You only get one Ross Lyon in your lifetime!

Something.jpg

People are so quick to ride this guy off lol when his playing good footy he shits all over Dawes.

You watch when he gets some confidence he will kick a forward out of our team lineup bank on it

If the rumours doing the rounds are true then I think his attitude stinks.

Wasn't there a story going about that he ran up the isle at Josh Frasers wedding in trackies to shake his hand even though he wasn't invited? If true, it's clear that he's the kind of guy that would polarise his teammates.

On his footy, he's got a good straight kick and in my opinion, that is all!
Is terrible at ground level and not big enough to dominate through the air.

Would not be terribly disappointed if he was packing his bags to the Gold Coast next year.

In saying all that, I don't claim to be 100% correct on the stories and rumours but if true, it says alot about him as a person.

Poor JA has alot of rumours going around. There is another on about he and Pendles. And some idiot that has a whip in their avatar was claiming he wouldn't be getting a game because of it. Just goes to show how much you take these rumours on the internet. I know of one wierdo on the internet that has been sued for making up such rumours.

24 games and 50 goals last year. Now he can't get a kick. This is a real shame. He must turn it around in the Magoos this week. That being said, our forward line is not that easy to break into. Chris Dawes is also very talented and could be anything, but he played a couple of bad games and he is back in the twos. Our forward line is too talented and has too much depth for players to have 'too many chances'.

If I had to choose a player to kick a goal for my life, it would be Jack. He has something very rare among our forwards - composure in front of goal.

Calls for him to be traded are ridiculously premature, given his fitness and limited opportunities this season. We've persevered with much less promising players and they've come good. We've got to keep him.

* Why can't he even perform at VFL level, against lesser opposition?

He kicked 2 x bags of 5 goals in his first 2 games back in the VFL

* Why has his work rate dropped off so much?

Has it? I thought he worked pretty hard from my spot in the stands of the Gabba, hard to tell in games on TV though. He's obviously nowhere near as aerobically fit as last year though, due to no pre-season

* How can a player with so much potential almost disappear off the senior "radar"?

He can get injured, miss the pre-season, miss the entire NAB Cup, and then still get rolled out for Round 1 when clearly not fit. He then underperforms, cops it from supporters, drops in confidence and gets dropped.

* Is he injured?

Not anymore, but as a reuslt of being injured, he isn't fit.

* Has he had other problems off field?

Depends who you believe, but I don't think so.

The above is correct but I believe one of the main reasons he has struggled that he has been found out as being too one-dimensional.

He can't play any other position except leading from the square. As soon as he leaves the 50m arc he seems completely lost.

Disagree, early in Round 1 vs the Dogs - he took a ripper of a contested grab up on the wing that really got us started.

Obviously he can also play key defence, which people seem to have forgotten.

* Why can't he even perform at VFL level, against lesser opposition?

He kicked 2 x bags of 5 goals in his first 2 games back in the VFL
He's only had one bag of 5 goals in the VFL in his entire career, I'm not sure where you're getting your information.

VFL practice match, maybe? :confused:

In his first two games "back in the VFL" this year he kicked 3 and 1 goals, followed by 5, 4 and 0 in his next three.

I'm not interested in arguing Jack's ability to stand out at VFL level again, but your stats are not up to scratch.

Would Anthony be available at the end of the season? Really wouldn't mind him at Melbourne, even if Watts develops into a power KPF in the future I think we'd need another big forward like Jack Anthony.

What would you be looking at price-wise?

Given our forward-line is clearly our worst third, and given Anthony is the only FF on the list (other than the chronically injured Rusling), I can't see us trading Jack.

Especially as we're not going to want picks or unproven young guys in return (and you wouldn't give up proven young guys), which essentially leaves Davey, Green or Sylvia. And I'm not sure Green or Sylvia would fit structurally.

Given our forward-line is clearly our worst third, and given Anthony is the only FF on the list (other than the chronically injured Rusling), I can't see us trading Jack.

Especially as we're not going to want picks or unproven young guys in return (and you wouldn't give up proven young guys), which essentially leaves Davey, Green or Sylvia. And I'm not sure Green or Sylvia would fit structurally.
Why would we not want picks? I'm averse to the idea of trading JA if at all possible, but I have nothing against picks. We haven't had a top-10 pick since 2006, so our investment in the draft has not been great for several years.

We're not St. Kilda, FFS. :D

You think we'd get a top 10 pick for Jack? That's optimistic.

Why would we not want picks? I'm averse to the idea of trading JA if at all possible, but I have nothing against picks. We haven't had a top-10 pick since 2006, so our investment in the draft has not been great for several years.

We're not St. Kilda, FFS. :D

If we're trading away an AFL-ready KP player, any pick we get would not be able to replace him (in all likelihood) for at least 3-4 years.

IMO, that should be a basic criteria in all our drafting/trading in the next year or two. Can they help us in the next 3-4 years? If not, we'd want a really good reason to draft/trade for them.

I know St.Kilda ****ed up the Ball situation, but I'm generally a big fan of the Paul Roos approach to trading/drafting (which Lyon's obviously followed at the Saints). Roos has, for years, exploited the well-documented fact that draft picks are badly overvalued on the trade market, and it's helped Sydney immensely.

Basically, my philosophy would be A bird in the hand... unless that bird isn't good enough to make our best 25.

If I had to choose a player to kick a goal for my life, it would be Jack. He has something very rare among our forwards - composure in front of goal.

Calls for him to be traded are ridiculously premature, given his fitness and limited opportunities this season. We've persevered with much less promising players and they've come good. We've got to keep him.

Well said Snag. People get very reactive about poor form, which is even more perplexing when there are some obvious explanations for it. Anthony will be great for us, I think with more experience and a few improvements to his game he'll be the key forward we are crying out for.

I never said we'd get a top-10 pick for JA?! :confused:

Well it was an implication.

I'm averse to the idea of trading JA if at all possible, but I have nothing against picks. We haven't had a top-10 pick since 2006

Trading JA won't get us a top 10 pick so whats the point? Loading up on 2nd and 3rd round picks is for developing lists. I wouldn't be against getting a top 10 pick seeing as we havn't had one for a while, but we'd need to give up someone of quality which means we'd be robbing peter to pay paul, it's a wash really.

Keep it mind that Melbourne's first rounder will probably be around the 15-20 mark this year.

A second rounder for Jack would be in the late 30's or early 40's next year, which really isn't worth it.

People are so quick to ride this guy off lol when his playing good footy he shits all over Dawes.

You watch when he gets some confidence he will kick a forward out of our team lineup bank on it

Well said Snag. People get very reactive about poor form, which is even more perplexing when there are some obvious explanations for it. Anthony will be great for us, I think with more experience and a few improvements to his game he'll be the key forward we are crying out for.

Both of the above.

As others had said, this was the year he was supposed to bulk up, however, with a shoulder injury in the pre-season requiring surgery, this could not eventuate.

As he gets stronger, he will become fitter and that's when he will better his 2009 output.

Season 2010 is a hard-luck year that Jack just needs to work through because he is behind the ball in terms of fitness.

Well it was an implication.
I didn't imply. You inferred. [/Lisa Simpson]

What I said was that it indicates that we haven't invested a lot in the draft since 2006. This should also be apparent as we traded out of the 2007 and 2009 drafts. Only Rhyce Shaw netted us a 3rd rounder instead of a 4th rounder.

Trading JA won't get us a top 10 pick so whats the point? Loading up on 2nd and 3rd round picks is for developing lists. I wouldn't be against getting a top 10 pick seeing as we havn't had one for a while, but we'd need to give up someone of quality which means we'd be robbing peter to pay paul, it's a wash really.
Pick #11 is so abhorent? :p

I don't buy the talk about "developing lists". Our list is developing; Brown, Reid, Dawes and Anthony all have much less than 50 games each to their credit. The reality is that every team is developing their list, it's not just a term that's been hijacked by basket cases like Richmond and Melbourne. You either develop your list or you go backwards.

I agree that trading JA would be the wrong move, but it may be that he's out of contract, not getting enough opportunity and decides to leave. In this hypothetical situation we won't get a top 10 pick. However it's not as though picks outside the top 10 are worthless... geez I wouldn't mind Daniel Hannebery with pick #30 in 2008, and I said as much to anyone who would listen at the time (Chip Douglas was right there with me afront the bandwagon).

Having a ripper game down back in the 2's.......

Still dont know where he is at as a player,maybe putting him down back will work for us as he was drafted as backmen...

Only thing means we would have Brown,Reid,Presti,Maxwell,anthony all as backmen where i think there all good,i think we need some kpf for the future....