News Jack Dyer Stand may go in $60m Punt Road Oval redevelopment

If it was solid and functional I could understand the argument of trying to incorporate it. But every old player you hear from says it was derelict in their time, riddled with rats and possums and leaks when it rains.
You might be able to recreate it, but so much of the original would have to be replaced. It’s be like taking the engine from a vintage car, putting it in a new body and claiming it’s the original car.
They can often gut buildings and refit them keeping key parts of the original façade, but it's a much more costly and complicated project often than just ripping down and starting again.

There is no way the government are going to sell us more land or build a tunnel just so we can keep an old grand stand that gets used once a week or so when we happen to be playing a home VFL game etc.

The location is what's significant. Not the grandstand.
That intersection desperately needs an upgrade regardless of what happens at our ground. Punt rd is a nightmare on its own and only gets worse when the G is hosting events. It’s a terrible pinch point for traffic coming off the Monash, it’s very dangerous for the 10s of thousands that cross the road from the station to the mcg every weekend and closing down Brunton Ave and using police for traffic control is a large ongoing cost every weekend.

If the oval upgrade triggers some serious thought and action on that intersection and Richmond Station then I’m all for it

Na he’s right
The Holden alloytec was one of the best motors around at the time and extremely reliable
When they developed the ecotec they completely f’ed it
Don’t go anywhere near any ecotec Holden’s unless you want trouble
I think Holden gets a bad wrap. Depends on your experience, I've owned a VX, VZ and now a girly little Cruze in my lifetime still fairly new, would total over 500k across the 3 in my lifetime and that's with over 450k across the first 2 and the current one has a heap left in it. They were only replaced for other reasons and were still going strong, never caused more issues than what you'd expect over time.

No one knows what the cost is because there are no plans.

It's common sense mate. Building on top of a 100 year old derelict building would cost way more than taking it down and starting again.

Solutions that involve the government/MCC selling us land that isn't for sale or spending hundreds of millions on a punt road tunnel are completely unrealistic.

It's common sense mate. Building on top of a 100 year old derelict building would cost way more than taking it down and starting again.

Solutions that involve the government/MCC selling us land that isn't for sale or spending hundreds of millions on a punt road tunnel are completely unrealistic.
Yup, instead of a redevelopment it becomes a restoration
Costs skyrocket quickly needing specialist trades people and things needed to be reproduced by hand

If doubt you’d build on top , development would be within the structure,, but hey I’m only a salesman

Like I said, no one knows. I don't know if anyone's suggested building on top of it.

And for what it's worth the rfc don't own any of it anyhow. All of it, including the existing buildings are on land leased from the MCC.

That means if we knock it down we wont own the new bulding either.

I don't know if anyone realises that.

If it gets heritage listing the options are do nothing, move completely or negotiate with the mcc for land (behind the goals at one end or the other, or both).

No one knows what the cost is because there are no plans.

If if was heritage listed already, all the pro development crew would be demanding to get land from the MCC rather than move to the boonies.

Which is pretty obvious.

But hey the club can be w***ers about it and there'll be ongoing objections until such a time as it gets heritage listing by default and we're back to my original point.
I’m pretty sure part of the reason it needs to go is we want to upgrade the ground to have the same dimensions as the MCG. There’s not a whole lot of options for where to put a ground. It either gets extended over the area where the JDS is, over Punt Road, or over Brunton Avenue. Going over Punt Road would be nearly impossible given houses fronting it.
Brunton Avenue seems more feasible but the costs of sinking that would be significant. If national trust wants to chip in the difference, I’m all for it, but the balance between Richmond’s history and future is the sole responsibility of the Richmond football club.

If doubt you’d build on top , development would be within the structure,, but hey I’m only a salesman
If we are talking heritage that’s not an option
Would need to be as it was with zero alterations

If we are talking heritage that’s not an option
Would need to be as it was with zero alterations
That’s not right , it’s the facade that’s generally protected otherwise most of the pubs listed would still have pre war interior . REFER espy , I got an idea the first thing they removed was the chewing gum carpet , google before and after pics

But wouldn’t an extra level be a major alteration to the facade?

It is still fit to use as far as I know. More than nostalgia , there is cultural significance.
The only thing that it is fit for and even that is a stretch is the local possums that call it home still. It's riddled with asbestos IIRC, which means that most of the rooms inside the building are unusable as such the whole club has to be housed in the other building. We can't continue to expand the club if we don't have the room to fit them in.

As for finding another training venue, we tried that already when we ventured out to Craigieburn and it was a disaster as none of the players likes it and the facilities had no gym or medical facilities unless the club trucked them out there and back each session.

The fact of the matter is that for us to continue to be a success we need to remain at Punt Road and where possible expand the facilities to allow us to prosper now and into the future.

Thank god wiser heads may prevail over the bulldozer brigade. Incredibly significant structure, to the club and to the Yarra Park/Richmond community. And what justification to it's removal? Creative architecture all that is required to have a wonderful blend of the old and new at PRO, there is oodles of space as I have shown with maps posted previously.

We already see the furphy 'It goes or we go' getting rolled out in response...as if any club would leave the greatest real estate in football because the offices are getting cramped..cram in together and enjoy it, the club won't always be this big and successful, we will shrink again when we inevitably fall down the table. That's football, boom and bust.

Finally, the fact that we have been a GOAT side the last 4 years with a training ground that is a mash-up of the MCG and Kardinia Park ground shapes puts paid to that argument too.

I just don't see a foothold for the demolishonists on this one.
Yes. No need to remove it.
We are in the midst of the most successful era in our club's history.
No correlation between improved team performance and building a new stand.
Insane and disingenuous to link the two.

The only thing that it is fit for and even that is a stretch is the local possums that call it home still. It's riddled with asbestos IIRC, which means that most of the rooms inside the building are unusable as such the whole club has to be housed in the other building. We can't continue to expand the club if we don't have the room to fit them in.

As for finding another training venue, we tried that already when we ventured out to Craigieburn and it was a disaster as none of the players likes it and the facilities had no gym or medical facilities unless the club trucked them out there and back each session.

The fact of the matter is that for us to continue to be a success we need to remain at Punt Road and where possible expand the facilities to allow us to prosper now and into the future.
The grandstand is not that big and doesn't take up much space.
I suspect corporate sponsors want to plaster some crap looking building with logos.

The grandstand is not that big and doesn't take up much space.
I suspect corporate sponsors want to plaster some crap looking building with logos.
1618995916602.png

Not a corporate logo in site and will better accommodate not just the playing groups, but also patrons who want to watch games at the ground as well as the administrative side of the club.

Just a few things here.

We are in a highly competitive high performance sport environment. Training facilities are becoming an "Arms Race" particularly with the development of Mineral Resources Park, RSEA, the Hangar and Cockburn. Hawthorn will develop Dingley. The days of having training facilities last 30-40 years are long gone. Even when the David Mandie Centre was developed 12 years ago, AFLW football was not foreseen. There is not a female changeroom and toilet in the gym area. It really does come down to do you want to be stagnant or do you want to win premierships across AFL, AFLW, VFL and wheelchair?

Our oval size is actually small and to make PRO at least MCG size, we need to take space in the north west side of the ground where the JDS and the carpark sit.

The Jack Dyer Stand, in its current form, is inhabitable only for a limited number of people (30 approx), plus possums, and cannot be insured for public access. So it's condition is a risk.

The Redevelopment Master Plan will actually increase PRO capacity to 8000 for AFLW and VFL games.

National Trust is an NGO organisation and does not write nor issue overlay.

Punt Rd will always be our spiritual home. Jack Dyer will always be honoured as a spiritual talisperson. I reckon we will not move to a Dingley, Tullamarine, Frankston or Cockburn type facility.

Haere Ra
you are not getting an MCG sized training ground at PRO ever, nor is there need for one as our current GOAT team have shown.

that is a red herring imo. If the JDS demolished, a building replaces it, not turf.

Problem currently is that people think we are going to have 100k members and play in Grand Finals every year from now on.
As much as we all wish, it won't last.

There is a danger here of a Legend's Stand-style white elephant imo.