News Jackson Thurlow a pre-season bolter

• Thread starter Thread starter witsend

Yada yada , lets see him play in the preseason cup in wa against the weagles and the flockers.

But yes in theory , if he is an outstanding prospect that looks a better option than the other "kid" that could play that role , then play him.

I look forward to Caddy, GHS and perhaps someone like Kersten playing against the Hawks. These guys have the runs on the board , have already shown form at VFL finals level football

If he's up to it, then I look forward to seeing him get a gig. As he himself says though, he's still pretty light framed and will need a fair bit of conditioning before he's going to be of any real use in the seniors.

Jimmy is the Dark Horse. Its good to hear he is doing well. So many young players I want to see play. Im really excited for the NAB cup. I want to see them play together. I'd actualy like a rematch of GFC 2015 side against GC 2015.

A rematch of two teams that don't exist yet. There's some lateral thinking right there.

I appreciate the work of the club's media people in putting out a steady stream of content, but the 'dark horse' bit seems a little OTT. He's played well in a scratch match, that's enough.

When Wells picked him=he made the point that he had played Senior football last season for Launceston

All things being equal -thats proven to be a big advantage. You look at HarryTaylor who had a couple of seasons with East Fremantle -they just walk into the side and dont look out of place

You look at players like Crameri and Duigan -mature age recruits -they look very accomplished players right away.

If there got the ability -and playing senior football background =-big advantage

Whilst Im rapt to see that he is having a crack and is not out of place in a January inter club match practice, I tend to think there is a fair bit of temperature difference between this and the kitchen heat of a Rd1 Cats Hawks clash. Chances are you will see Sept intensity for passages in March.

Also, there are fair few more seasoned and ready heads wanting that same list spot and as awesome as it is to think he can cut it I would rather not see that kind of expectation placed on him. I reckon we have enough of that already on Caddy, Menz, Vards et al.

I agree we could definitely be seeing the senior footy advantage with him and it is very encouraging to see him hold his own after 3 months...

GO Catters

He's not Crameri or Duigan, he's a young boy from TAS, ATM.

I think we won ourselves an absolute pearler here, but no, I'd prefer us to resist temptation and remember what happened to Motlop a few seasons back.
Just from the experience side, I don't think it would be fair on him, but what great news from those in the know.
If you just go on looks alone, he's a standout.:)

Yes, and I have to agree, these interstate draftees with seniors experience as in top draft choices seem to have it, Mitch Duncan is another.
You've pulled an ace from the pack Stephen Wells.

Stephen Wells is a very astute judge of footballing ability, Thurlow must have something going for him for Wells to pick him ahead of Grundy? I think he has been selected as the Enright replacement more than anything else. I think Thurlow will play at least 10 maybe 12 games this season.

I don't know whether the leak is fair dinkum or not.
But it's similar to the leaks cum promos they fed us last pre-season re Smedts.

I'd rather wait and see what happens in the real stuff before making any calls, I have no interest in January champs.

Whilst he may (or may not) have the goods, I wouldn't really expect to see them until he puts some more meat on his bones, which will happen eventually. In the meantime he is likely to get worn down as the season progresses.

This kid is no bolter. It is just that nobody was paying attention to our league or under 18's team performance last year. He isn't that all that light framed either, there aren't all that many 18 year old new recruits from this year who have the muscle mass he has, but of course like all 18 year olds (bar a few freaks), bulking up is naturally a priority.

Lot of water to go under the bridge before a round 1 debut though. He has the potential to do it though.

Thurlow.jpg
(Not particularly light framed)

This kid is no bolter. It is just that nobody was paying attention to our league or under 18's team performance last year. He isn't that all that light framed either, there aren't all that many 18 year old new recruits from this year who have the muscle mass he has, but of course like all 18 year olds (bar a few freaks), bulking up is naturally a priority.

Lot of water to go under the bridge before a round 1 debut though. He has the potential to do it though.

View attachment 9796
(Not particularly light framed)
Muscle definition is not muscle mass. He's still got to get heavier, and he acknowledges that directly. Also the 2.5 hour training sessions have shocked him so he will need more conditioning and stamina training too. I would love for him to be Joel Selwood II but he's a much taller kid and will be manned up by bigger opponents.

I think all comments are spot on -it's only early and he is a talented first year player who there shouldn't be great expectations on. But I must say as an observation and watching the AFL interview- he appears to understand exactly where he is at and the huge challenges ahead in 2013.

Can he get a game round 1? or even at all in 2013 in a strong cats side? Who knows.

It will be interesting watching how he develops over a long season as there is a lot of water to go under the bridge -from my point of view I'm an interested onlooker who won't pass judgement on what he can and can't do in 2013. Is he good enough in 2013 , is he too light? I saw him play and perform as a 70kg-72kg 17 yearold in finals at TSL senior level 2011. Now eigteen months later and 10 kilo heavier it will be fun watching him continue to develop at VFL /AFL level over the course of the season to see how quick his development continues.

I guess as he said - for him its head down bum up and see what happens in 2013. Anything achieved will be a bonus in year 1.

Muscle definition is not muscle mass. He's still got to get heavier, and he acknowledges that directly. Also the 2.5 hour training sessions have shocked him so he will need more conditioning and stamina training too. I would love for him to be Joel Selwood II but he's a much taller kid and will be manned up by bigger opponents.

What 18 year old doesn't have to put on muscle weight to play AFL at their full potential? Besides the odd freak like Viney and Lonergan. Also, you don't have well defined muscle without having decent muscle mass. Those shoulder striations don't occur on people who are simply skinny. You need to either gain or maintain a decent portion of muscle for that to occur, otherwise whilst you are becoming skinny, you lose both muscle and fat and you end up looking like a vegan. That's why people who have low body fat as a result of large calorie deficits and no resistance training (like me when I was 67kgs), do not look ripped or have decent muscle definition.

He'll be fine, I am sure the term "shock" is a bit of hyperbole, all newcomers would take time to get used to AFL training. He also has the right attitude if you read the part about him pretty much just training, eating, and sleeping and acknowledging that's what he has to do to be elite. That's indicative of a good work ethic.

Now, I never made any massive claim in my post. Not saying he is going to debut in round 1, or win the rising star, just saying he has the body, the will, and the ability to play in round 1. Whether or not it happens, we will see.

What 18 year old doesn't have to put on muscle weight to play AFL at their full potential? Besides the odd freak like Viney and Lonergan. Also, you don't have well defined muscle without having decent muscle mass. Those shoulder striations don't occur on people who are simply skinny. You need to either gain or maintain a decent portion of muscle for that to occur, otherwise whilst you are becoming skinny, you lose both muscle and fat and you end up looking like a vegan. That's why people who have low body fat as a result of large calorie deficits and no resistance training (like me when I was 67kgs), do not look ripped or have decent muscle definition.

He'll be fine, I am sure the term "shock" is a bit of hyperbole, all newcomers would take time to get used to AFL training. He also has the right attitude if you read the part about him pretty much just training, eating, and sleeping and acknowledging that's what he has to do to be elite. That's indicative of a good work ethic.

Now, I never made any massive claim in my post. Not saying he is going to debut in round 1, or win the rising star, just saying he has the body, the will, and the ability to play in round 1. Whether or not it happens, we will see.
Meh, striations aren't even remotely an indication of muscle bulk and people would do well to stop oohing and aahing over them. Deltoids especially seem to make people weak at the knees because on anyone with low body fat they will create the illusion of size because of the way they flare out over the biceps/triceps. Action shots will always make a player look more ripped too, as they are captured mid-movement so the muscles are usually flexed and distorted.

I don't need to be schooled on weight training dude, people see me and accuse me of being on steroids (I've been seriously lifting for 18 years).

I'd rather wait and see what happens in the real stuff before making any calls, I have no interest in January champs.

Whilst he may (or may not) have the goods, I wouldn't really expect to see them until he puts some more meat on his bones, which will happen eventually. In the meantime he is likely to get worn down as the season progresses.

Totally agree

Meh, striations aren't even remotely an indication of muscle bulk and people would do well to stop oohing and aahing over them. Deltoids especially seem to make people weak at the knees because on anyone with low body fat they will create the illusion of size because of the way they flare out over the biceps/triceps. Action shots will always make a player look more ripped too, as they are captured mid-movement so the muscles are usually flexed and distorted.

I don't need to be schooled on weight training dude, people see me and accuse me of being on steroids (I've been seriously lifting for 18 years).

At no point have I said that Thurlow is massive, he just isn't all that light framed. That's the only claim I have been making, so not sure what your point is exactly. Striations are most definitely an indication of low body fat, as you say. Action shots, particularly with arms forward like Thurlow's will also best highlight those striations in the shoulders as you correctly pointed out. But low body fat sufficient to have the kind of striations Thurlow is displaying doesn't happen unless you are doing decent amounts of resistance training to at the very least maintain your muscle mass. You don't get that kind of definition simply by being skinny. It won't happen. We both agree that he needs to bulk up, but that's 101 for 99% of new recruits. Doesn't mean he is too light framed to start in round 1. He's hardly Josh Bootsma.

943178-jackson-thurlow.jpg

Looks skinny to me, but with potential. I think with a few preseasons he will have the bulk of Joel Corey.