James Kelly plays his first game!!!!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter dogboy23

Agree 100% with the broken leg. He was CARVING it up before that injury. I always thought he would be better than Bartel. He still does some very classy things now and then which make me believe he can still do it too!

Absolutely amazing to see posts from over 6 years ago, what a change has happened in that time! Chapman maybe hadn't been given much of a chance to prove himself at that point, in his 3rd season at the club.

Now, what a side we have. Kelly is really coming on now, a broken leg really is a horrid injury that takes a good 2-3 years to fully overcome. He was probably the best prospect out of the Bartel/Gaz Jr/S.Johnson group, and nowadays he is filling in beautifully as a member of the midfield, floating forward like last week to kick 4 goals. Quality player, and after many dim days in the early part of this millenium, and of course dark days two years ago, i am enjoying this period immensely. 31 wins in 33 games is peerless, and we went 8-1 without our best ruckman and also without last years All-Australian CHB in Egan. Taylor is looking more and more confident, and the side is motoring along beautifully.

The best part is that they have the maturity and focus to do the job that is required, and they have the pride to make sure they always answer the challenges. All Cat fans, this is as close to footy heaven as we can get!

Don't bag Rahilly! One of my favourite players.

James Rahilly was one of those fiesty players who was never blessed with a huge amount of skill, but he always put in as best he could. As it was, he often was troubled by hamstring injuries, and in the end retired a couple of seasons ago at just 26-27 y/o, his body unable to stand up to the rigors of today's footy. Played at least 7-8 years at the club, and was a faithful servant of the club.

I reckon Kelly has earned more of my respect in the past year than any other cat, and he gets better every week. I always saw him as a bloke who didn't work hard enough to get the ball, but he's turned that right around: does everything now. Not only that but his disposal now is generally very good. In most teams I think he'd be the #1 or #2 midfielder.

Chappy was a bit too much of a hot head in those days. I don't think he was close to being delisted, but like we did with Jimmy Bartel, we made him work for a spot.

He started to get a regular game not long after the OP, and has been one of our best and most consistent players since.

http://afl.com.au/Default.asp?pg=individualgame&spg=pregame&m_tournamentmatch_id=770

Here is the team

GEELONG FC

PLAYERS
Backs: D. Wojcinski M. Scarlett B. Sholl
Half Backs: D. Foster T. Harley D. Milburn
Centre: P. Riccardi G. Kilpatrick D. Clarke
Half Forwards: C. Ling B. Graham R. Burns
Forwards: G. Ablett K. Kingsley J. Bartel
Followers: J. Corey, S. King, A. Lord
Interchange: C. Mooney, P. Chambers, J. Rooke, M. White
Emergency: P. Chapman, J. Hunt, J. Kelly

Few names I haven't seen in a while.

Well done to James, really established himself since then.

It was definitely Cam. Jason had been delisted at the end of 2001.

At the time those calls were distinct possibilities. Moons hadn't delivered since he'd been at the club from 2000 and really didn't until 2004, and he himself will admit he was lucky to be still at the club after 4 years of injuries/indifferent form. Chappy wasn't getting a look-in despite playing well in the VFL.

So while we can laugh about it now, there were some serious question marks hanging over the heads of those two players at that stage.

Just goes to show if you stick with some players how far they can go...

Yep. It's all about keeping the faith, mate.:thumbsu: How many posts were there about sacking Bomber Thompson? Steve Johnson? Cameron Ling? It's natural to strike out when things are shit - but faith in someone's ability CAN be rewarded.

Sometimes!

PLAYERS

I must say that Corey's transition from a ruckman to a midfielder has been superb.

PLAYERS

I must say that Corey's transition from a ruckman to a midfielder has been superb.

Wow. An obvious key to our success. So many of those players (13 and without SJ) have been together in the senior team (some in and out) for six years now.

Just looking at my 2002 team poster that I have up at my desk (yes it made the trek with me all the way to Boston!)
Some very skinny young kids sitting down the front, look like primary school kids in my eyes (gaz looks about 9 y/o!!!)

Here's the list of players (bold = no longer with the team;

Back Row
Andrew Carrazzo
Adam Chatfield
Josh Hunt
Darren Milburn
Brent Grgic
Cameron Mooney
Marc Woolnough
Joel Corey
Corey Enright
Brenton Sanderson
David Clarke

3rd Row
David Mensch
Mitchell White
Matthew McCarthy
Paul Chambers
Steven King
Peter Street
Henry Playfair
Kent Kingsley

Matthew Scarlett
Tom Harley
Daniel O'Brien

2nd Row
James Rahilly
Glenn Kilpatrick
Will Slade
David Spriggs
Peter Riccardi
Ben Graham
Tim McGrath
Ronnie Burns
Brad Sholl
Daniel Foster

Front Row
Cameron Ling
Charlie Gardiner
Gary Ablett Jnr
James Bartel
David Wojcinksi
Jason Snell
David Johnson
Paul Chapman
James Kelly
Steven Johnson
Jarad Rooke

Seriously though, if you had shown me a picture of Gaz Jnr and said "this guy will be a NUT" I would have laughed my arse off. He looks soo young, and like fluffy or something. Must be the haircut. He definitely looks like I could kick his arse with my left pinkie finger.
I might have to take a photo and upload it.