Josh Carr's Ruthless Port Adelaide

This could go into a few threads but I will put it here.

Adam Simpson was on his usual Whateley segment and they discussed Ange and Spurs Europa Cup win, and Ange's line that he always wins things in his second year.

Simpson said he made a Grand Final in his 2nd year ie 2015 and then said;
Longmire won a flag in his 2nd year - 2012
McRae won a flag in his 2nd year - 2023
Beveridge won a flag in his 2nd year - 2016

He mentioned Kingsley in his 2nd year last year, but they had to get past Brisbane to win it.

I then thought Hinkley has got the closest to a GF in his 2nd year - a 3pt loss to the Hawks in 2014, when if we didn't blow our chances in the first quarter kicking 3.9 vs 2.3 we might have won the PF and maybe the GF.

Hardwick is in his 2nd year at GC and they are doing better than Richmond did in 2019, the first year of the 6-6-6 rules and obviously Richmond's second flag. Simpson and Longmire put up a series of stats comparing Richmond 2019 v Gold Coast 2025 and they are in front of Richmond. Doesn't mean the GC will win, but you see the big impact.

Chris Scott is the exception - flag in his first year, managing an older but very talented squad. Second year not so good and finished 7th as age caught up with a few players and a few guys retired at end of 2011.

Paul Ross won the flag in his third year.

As Simpson said, you have a full preseason between your first and second year to hone your game plan, as the players were getting used to it in the first year.

What's this got to do with Josh. The first year might not be great as some players leave, new coaches, a bit of a shake up and a new game plan is implemented and we fans have to be patient and hope that there is a big improvement in the second year.

Adam Simpson was on his usual Whateley segment and they discussed Ange and Spurs Europa Cup win, and Ange's line that he always wins things in his second year.

He mentioned Kingsley in his 2nd year last year, but they had to get past Brisbane to win it.

I then thought Hinkley has got the closest to a GF in his 2nd year - a 3pt loss to the Hawks in 2014, when if we didn't blow our chances in the first quarter kicking 3.9 vs 2.3 we might have won the PF and maybe the GF.

Hardwick is in his 2nd year at GC and they are doing better than Richmond did in 2019, the first year of the 6-6-6 rules and obviously Richmond's second flag. Simpson and Longmire put up a series of stats comparing Richmond 2019 v Gold Coast 2025 and they are in front of Richmond. Doesn't mean the GC will win, but you see the big impact.

Chris Scott is the exception - flag in his first year, managing an older but very talented squad. Second year not so good and finished 7th as age caught up with a few players and a few guys retired at end of 2011.

As Simpson said, you have a full preseason between your first and second year to hone your game plan, as the players were getting used to it in the first year.

What's this got to di with Josh. The first year might not be great as some players leave, new coaches, a bit of a shake up and a new game plan is implemented and we fans have to be patient and hope that there is a big improvement in the second year.
Hence why extending Ken over and over again was baffling. The only exception to new coaches finishing a flag in their first few years was Hardwick and Fagan when they won the flag well after their first few years as head coach.

What's this got to do with Josh. The first year might not be great as some players leave, new coaches, a bit of a shake up and a new game plan is implemented and we fans have to be patient and hope that there is a big improvement in the second year.
Or maybe because his thoughts and ideas are not brand new to them it might be first instead of 2nd :)

This makes sense but also at the same time proves the club made the wrong decision not sacking Ken last year going into contract years for 2 crucial years in Bergman and Butters. Next year would've been Josh's second year and if that sugar hit in 2nd year comes to fruition then Butters would be more inclined to stay. If the first year is below average then we're in trouble with Butters.

Mate the names your putting up are most probably better candidates for the head coach job than they guy we are going with.
Bottom line is they won’t come to Adelaide for an assistants job.
Also the club runs on a cheap Charlie budget, you get what you pay for.
Yeah, I'm just throwing darts on the board.

I'd like a great 2nd in charge type of coach.
A hard nut winner for the midfield.
A great development coach.
A decent Magpies coach aligned with the Power.
An intelligent defensive coach.

Dare to dream.

1747954008762.jpeg
As people have said Carr will need help, the club needs to make it more attractive for coaching assistants to come over.

The years we were hitting finals we had good assistants Richardson, Walsh, Schofield and Carr.

We currently have nobodies except for Carr. Priority is good coaching assistants from good systems like Coll and Geel.

What do you mean learn from your past mistakes?
Haven't you heard, when you make a mistake in the 21st century, you are hung, drawn and quartered by the social media keyboard warriors who are absolutely perfect - so perfect I'm sure they are an expert in being experts.
Do you mean that mistake that ruined his club and they haven't made a final since?
Are you talking about systemic cheating?
That's the guy you want coaching?

He didn't pour himself a beer while no one was looking at the bar. It's a bit more than a mistake.

I don't want that guy at Port Adelaide. I want a guy who wants to win but not to the point of cheating. Call me old fashioned.

No
Hird - toxic narcissist
Selwood - very anti-Port

Maybe
Hodge - tough footballer, seems embedded in media land
Ratten - been involved in some high functioning teams, but also some shit ones

Yes
Schofield - famously clashed with Hinkley, that's enough for me
Davenport (development) - knows the club but has a lot more experience outside PAFC
Camporeale - knows his football, especially forward craft

Saw this article a couple of days ago..

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1325829/who-sits-in-your-clubs-coaches-box

Interestingly, the segment on Port only mentions Hinkley, Sutcliffe, and Chris Davies. no other assistants are mentioned, not even the heir apparent, Carr.

Ken Hinkley moved to the Power's interchange bench after his side's Showdown loss in round three of the 2023 season. His team then went on a club record 13-game winning streak and Hinkley has remained there since, where his close relationship with players has been crucial. He positions himself next to runner Cam Sutcliffe, so as the messages going out to players are getting the direct messages from him during the game. Then there is usually a gap left before the place where the Power players sit on the bench, where Hinkley is regularly seen in discussions during the game. Via headphones he keeps in touch with football boss Chris Davies in the Power's coaches' box, with Davies directing the communication from in there with the assistants to ground level. – Callum Twomey

Even more interestingly, especially for PowerLil, is that Schofield didn't rate a mention on the West Coast segment.

No
Hird - toxic narcissist
Selwood - very anti-Port

Maybe
Hodge - tough footballer, seems embedded in media land
Ratten - been involved in some high functioning teams, but also some shit ones

Yes
Schofield - famously clashed with Hinkley, that's enough for me
Davenport (development) - knows the club but has a lot more experience outside PAFC
Camporeale - knows his football, especially forward craft

Saw this article a couple of days ago..

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1325829/who-sits-in-your-clubs-coaches-box

Interestingly, the segment on Port only mentions Hinkley, Sutcliffe, and Chris Davies. no other assistants are mentioned, not even the heir apparent, Carr.

Even more interestingly, especially for PowerLil, is that Schofield didn't rate a mention on the West Coast segment.
I think Bomber the article has more focus on the "not so familiar faces" in the coaches' box. Our segment should read "laughable faces in the coaches' box".
Re Schofield, not holding high hopes for his return post a discussion I had at the AGM.

The run to end last year where everyone was expecting us to lose all our games and we won everything came on the back of Selwood having a meeting with the playing group.
I think he's off the table for obvious tragic reasons & I doubt he'd move, he's certainly a quality football person the club should stay in touch with regardless of whether the initial reach out was because of his relationship with Ken.

My old AFL Record Season Guide books are in storage so I've had to depend on web archive but I think the chart below is correct as who has been Hinkley's main assistants. There are a whole lot of development coaches that may have spent time in the coaches box on game day but I haven't listed them.

2013 season was Pre Merger/Reunification so that's I didn't put Ken McGregor down as SANFL coach.

2020 and Covid, Scott Thompson was axed after doing the preseason and Rd 1 game and Port and the crows weren't allowed to play in the SANFL, so as to restrict AFL players playing against SANFL players. In 2021 his position wasn't replace.

Other lines shaded with grey means nobody was appointed to that position.

I have replaced the original graphic with one colouring individuals who have changed jobs whilst at Port to more easily pick up those changes.

View attachment 2321028
Lol its no wonder our forwards cant forward.

We won a lot of H&A games the past few years, but lost all the psychological battles when the pointy end came around. Need some hard headed bastard to get into the players psyche. I'm sure they were all lost between the ears as a consequence of Hinkley's inflated ego which is going to taint us in the immediate future

Would love Schofield, Campo and Selwood/Hodge in the box.

No matter what we think of Joel and his ducking crap, there is no doubt he is a winner. We need people like him around the club. We have been led by losers for too long. Same goes for Hodge - not a great bloke, a sniper on-field and a drink driver off it... but he is a winner.

Would love Schofield, Campo and Selwood/Hodge in the box.

No matter what we think of Joel and his ducking crap, there is no doubt he is a winner. We need people like him around the club. We have been led by losers for too long. Same goes for Hodge - not a great bloke, a sniper on-field and a drink driver off it... but he is a winner.
I don’t care if Hodge is into small fury animals, he knows what it takes to win and do it consistently.
I always through he was a bit of a mug but since listening to him talk on the tv he has more idea than any of the so called experts.
Unfortunately we won’t get him or his type for an assistant role.
I doubt all the assistants will go also unfortunately.

You can forget attracting anyone who is in the media, they are on stupid money.

When Dermie was doing TV shows for 9 he was once asked if he would consider being an assistant coach. His response was What I'm offered for that work wouldn't pay the tax bill I get for working on TV.

Plenty of retired players have had stints in the media and then turned to coaching, it just depends on if they have senior coaching aspirations, and if they do they’ll take a pay cut to chase that goal.

His other comment at the time was that he pays more tax than the prime minister gets paid.

What does Shaun Burgoyne do in the footy department, talking of ex players in the media? I know he does some admin work for the club.

Don’t let the truth get in the way of a good story. 😉

His other comment at the time was that he pays more tax than the prime minister gets paid.

What does Shaun Burgoyne do in the footy department, talking of ex players in the media? I know he does some admin work for the club.
Last I heard he didn't have a proper role, he was in admin, development and other small departments of the club.

Thought it was weird he wasn't a full time assistant considering he knew the successfull hawthorn system. I reckon Hinkley didn't want him so they chucked him elsewhere.

Josh Carr's Ruthless Port Adelaide