Liverpool, Chicago Bulls.
A time capsule....

I dont want Stenglien, Whitnall, Thompson or Ottens.... or anybody really.

I am extremely happy with our squad so trading players IMO would be stupid, I think the whole squad is developing into a premiership contender. But hey.... trade away, there is nothing I can do about it. But as the title suggests, just for the record, I dont want to do anything!

yeah i'm not overly keen to do anything to the midfield. Steinglein may be handy but i'm not willing to part with Wirrpunda (as has been suggested).

Probably the only thing i really think we should trade for is a young back up tall backman. And i wouldn't be too dissapointed if we lost a bit for that, just as long as what we get in return was just as good.

A defensive midfielder would be handy, but not an essential ingredient. I really think we try to develop one from within. I reckon Waters or Selwood are the sorta players who turn into good defensive midfielders if we give them a good shot at it.

I am for trading away draft picks for these players if they come at the right price, especially if rumours are true that the draft is weak this year. Wouldn't want to see any core players traded though.

I am happy to trade draft picks for Stinger or Hay for 2 reasons:

1: We have blooded enough youngsters this year who have shown enough promise/potential to work with into next year.

2: We laready have a 1st round draft pick guaranteed in Morton which we will pick up in Rnd 3.

Eagles4Eva said:
I am happy to trade draft picks for Stinger or Hay for 2 reasons:

1: We have blooded enough youngsters this year who have shown enough promise/potential to work with into next year.

2: We laready have a 1st round draft pick guaranteed in Morton which we will pick up in Rnd 3.

Draftpicks yes. Players no.. unless they are Chambers/Wooden/Lynch/Humm or Beeck. No other player in my opinion is tradeable.

I'd be happy to see us trade any of Morrison, Wooden, Chambers, Johnson, or the draft picks.

I'd part with Wirrpunda to get Hay.

I don't think we need to go after the likes of Ottens or Thompson or whatever- the forward line looks good, and it would be counter-productive to bring in someone else after spending a year developing McDougall

Stenglein would be an acceptable addition, especially if we can get him on the cheap. Hay I would be prepared to shell out a fair amount for, Whitnall would be a strictly bargain basement proposition.

I'm not willing to give away our 1st Round pick or any player other than Carroll, Humm, Johnson or Chambers. If we can't get Stenglein for our 2nd round pick and one of or a combination of those players then I am not interested. I don't want Hay, Gaspar, Whitnall, Ottens, Parker, McManus or Thompson.

I am happy with where we are at and would rather we delisted Humm and Carroll, traded/kept Johnson, traded Chambers to whoever he wants to go to, promoted Jones and possibly Graham and used our 3 picks in the draft.

Retire: Jakovich
Delist: Carroll, Humm, Collica, Munro and Johnson
Promote: B.Jones, Graham
Veteran List: Banfield
Draft: Picks #12, #28, Mitch Morton

2006 we can Veteran List two players from Cousins, Morrison, Wirrpunda and Matera which should give us the cash to keep Judd.

No more suprise delistings like Read.

Mead said:
I'd part with Wirrpunda to get Hay.

Alleluliah! Finally someone has come out & said it.... Wirra is a great team man but he is tradeable. I would hate to see him go but.....

What we need is presence and consistency - at either end. Hay will give us that.

triplegee said:
Alleluliah! Finally someone has come out & said it.... Wirra is a great team man but he is tradeable. I would hate to see him go but.....

What we need is presence and consistency - at either end. Hay will give us that.

Yeah I like Hay because he'd give us a versatile option at CHB if necessary, and give us FB depth if Glass gets injured- rather like the idea of a Hay/Glass/Hunter defensive tall lineup.

I rate Wirra, but he's basically a great running defender who gets a lot of the ball and sets up a lot of attacking play out of defence. Thats not to be sneezed at, but with Nicoski coming through and Morrison still around there really isn't room in defence for all three. We could afford to offload one of those guys (preferably Morrison.)

And Wirra's value to the team diminishes with the imminent arrival of Stenglein....

Looks like an amicable parting of club and player is highly likely - the timing is perfect for both parties. Send him home to be with his family - he deserves it given his service to the club. The Eags can maximise his trade value & he can negotiate the best possible contract to see out his playing days and set himself up.

Good luck Wirra.

West Coast Stre said:
I'm not willing to give away our 1st Round pick or any player other than Carroll, Humm, Johnson or Chambers. If we can't get Stenglein for our 2nd round pick and one of or a combination of those players then I am not interested. I don't want Hay, Gaspar, Whitnall, Ottens, Parker, McManus or Thompson.

I am happy with where we are at and would rather we delisted Humm and Carroll, traded/kept Johnson, traded Chambers to whoever he wants to go to, promoted Jones and possibly Graham and used our 3 picks in the draft.

Retire: Jakovich
Delist: Carroll, Humm, Collica, Munro and Johnson
Promote: B.Jones, Graham
Veteran List: Banfield
Draft: Picks #12, #28, Mitch Morton

2006 we can Veteran List two players from Cousins, Morrison, Wirrpunda and Matera which should give us the cash to keep Judd.

No more suprise delistings like Read.

Stenglein is worth far more than a 2nd round pick and one of your duds. Because of the shallowness of the draft this season, your pick 12 is on offer, so unfortunately your hopes and dreams and already crushed. Bad luck.

Does anyone here actually think we would be trying to get Stenglein if he didnt want to come back???, Although we have tried to get him in the past (which pretty much means nothing now) i really doubt if he would of even rated a mention if he didnt ask to go home. We already have Selwood and Chick who can be those negators and we could even turn Waters into one if we liked. Obviously from our 4 goal performance in the finals we need a forward line so thats what we shud concentrate on. Our defence was no 1 for 13 rounds and with Graham or Beech to play CHB it should hold up nicely.

I say, Lets just go for a forward

F-U said:
Does anyone here actually think we would be trying to get Stenglein if he didnt want to come back???, Although we have tried to get him in the past (which pretty much means nothing now) i really doubt if he would of even rated a mention if he didnt ask to go home. We already have Selwood and Chick who can be those negators and we could even turn Waters into one if we liked. Obviously from our 4 goal performance in the finals we need a forward line so thats what we shud concentrate on. Our defence was no 1 for 13 rounds and with Graham or Beech to play CHB it should hold up nicely.

I say, Lets just go for a forward
Funny you failed to notice how unaccountable your midfield is.

Typical spindoctor, Only reads what he wants to read. I said that IF we need a negating midfielder we already have Selwood, Chick who can do that and we could probably turn Waters into a negatind midfielder if we wanted.

Negating midfielders are very easy to breed and we dont need to trade the world to gain one. Anyways since when was a negating midfield the key to success. Brisbane pretty much have no negating midfielders (i wouldnt call Shaun Hart a negating midfielder, he spends half the time on the bench) and they won 4 flags..... so basically spindoctor next time read my entire post before you make a loser comment which doesnt make any sense

F-U said:
Typical spindoctor, Only reads what he wants to read. I said that IF we need a negating midfielder we already have Selwood, Chick who can do that and we could probably turn Waters into a negatind midfielder if we wanted.

Negating midfielders are very easy to breed and we dont need to trade the world to gain one. Anyways since when was a negating midfield the key to success. Brisbane pretty much have no negating midfielders (i wouldnt call Shaun Hart a negating midfielder, he spends half the time on the bench) and they won 4 flags..... so basically spindoctor next time read my entire post before you make a loser comment which doesnt make any sense
I did read your post, but your big error is that with these players in your team, your midfield is still unaccountable. Er, kind of ********s up your whole argument.

Oh, and apart from Hart, Brisbane have Copeland, Hadley etc. Plus their midfielders are actually more accountable than yours. Brisbane don't run forward of the ball in stats-hungry waves unless they're actually in a position to do so.

our midfeild didnt have a bad last half of the season did they?

we had one bad game against sydney.

howd st-kilda go against brisbane in the finals?
Does basing them on that 1 game mean they suk?

Bomber1313 said:
our midfeild didnt have a bad last half of the season did they?

we had one bad game against sydney.

howd st-kilda go against brisbane in the finals?
Does basing them on that 1 game mean they suk?
Yes but it was what that Sydney final exposed that is the problem.

Like Port's gameplan was repeatedly exposed by finals and resulted in a new gameplan this season, that Sydney final exposed the crapness of your KPP stocks and the unaccountability of your midfield.

least we got a midfield crows boy....riccuito has one year left in him and Stenglein is coming home and Mcleod is horrendously down on form from what i have seen on the Adelaide boards....better start praying for a miracle in 2005 to avoid the spoon

spindoctor said:
Yes but it was what that Sydney final exposed that is the problem.

Like Port's gameplan was repeatedly exposed by finals and resulted in a new gameplan this season, that Sydney final exposed the crapness of your KPP stocks and the unaccountability of your midfield.

No, it exposed that at this stage Sydney are more experienced, more finals hardened and probably just plain better team, who with the aid of a home ground advantage and freakish conditions which suited their gameplan perfectly, beat us convincingly.

What I don't get is why you are posting here when your team has far far bigger issues to worry about?

West Coast have a better midfield than Adelaide (6th in disposals v 14th, top 3 in ATG clearances v god knows what), they are a far more aggressive, accountable side (7th in tackles v 14th) they are better overhead (13th in marks v 15th) they had a vastly better attack (more overall goals, far more productive set of forwards, both kpp and otherwise), tighter defence (conceded a lower score) and.. here's the amazing clincher, actually finished 7th on the ladder compared to Adelaide's 12th.
We're also younger, have a more promising set of youngsters and thus a brighter future than Adelaide. We were the only side in the competition who managed to oust the reigning premiers on their home turf, whereas Adelaide.. well, lets not go there, shall we?

So in summary, by every possible measure we're a long way ahead of your pathetic club. Until your team gets its house in order you really aren't qualified to be throwing stones at anyone else.

spindoctor said:
I did read your post, but your big error is that with these players in your team, your midfield is still unaccountable. Er, kind of ********s up your whole argument.

Oh, and apart from Hart, Brisbane have Copeland, Hadley etc. Plus their midfielders are actually more accountable than yours. Brisbane don't run forward of the ball in stats-hungry waves unless they're actually in a position to do so.

You really don't have a clue do you, are you getting your football knowledge from Porthos or the Adelaide Advertiser? Look at the stats this season moron and tell us who is unaccountable.

If you knew anything about football, you'd realize the flaw in your argument about running forward in waves and stats accumulation.

All bow to the footy genius. It takes years of reading Andrew Jarman articles and listening to KG Cunningham to produce this sort of intellect.

Mead said:
No, it exposed that at this stage Sydney are more experienced, more finals hardened and probably just plain better team, who with the aid of a home ground advantage and freakish conditions which suited their gameplan perfectly, beat us convincingly.

What I don't get is why you are posting here when your team has far far bigger issues to worry about?

West Coast have a better midfield than Adelaide (6th in disposals v 14th, top 3 in ATG clearances v god knows what), they are a far more aggressive, accountable side (7th in tackles v 14th) they are better overhead (13th in marks v 15th) they had a vastly better attack (more overall goals, far more productive set of forwards, both kpp and otherwise), tighter defence (conceded a lower score) and.. here's the amazing clincher, actually finished 7th on the ladder compared to Adelaide's 12th.
We're also younger, have a more promising set of youngsters and thus a brighter future than Adelaide. We were the only side in the competition who managed to oust the reigning premiers on their home turf, whereas Adelaide.. well, lets not go there, shall we?

So in summary, by every possible measure we're a long way ahead of your pathetic club. Until your team gets its house in order you really aren't qualified to be throwing stones at anyone else.

Hello, spindoctor are you there?

Mead said:

Why do you keep comparing yourself to Adelaide? Bad choice. Again, I freely admit our club has been absolutely ********house and I don't see Craig doing much better. But comparing your 'awesome world-beating finals team' to a club in crisis is no way to prove yourself. I'm not comparing my team to yours, I'm saying your team isn't as good as you seem to think it is. It shows how desperate you are, using the stats of a team that has had the worst season in its history, to compare you your won ********house team. I seem to remember West Coast having only 5.5 wins a couple of seasons ago anyway.

That your youngsters are promising remains to be seen, and as for your midfield being accountable...no amount of 'tackle' stats will change the fact that in pressure games, your midfield gets exposed because accountable is exactly what it ISN'T. There's only so many games your soft pansies can run forward of the ball before it bites them in the ass...and it did in Sydney.

If you think Chris Judd (no1 for hard ball gets), Daniel Kerr, Andrew Embley, Michael Braun and Beau Waters are pansies then you obviously have no clue about the West Coast Eagles. That midfield of so called soft pansies are able to match it with the most physical midfield in football, the Brisbane Lions..

So get a clue moron

jod23 said:
A time capsule....

I dont want Stenglien, Whitnall, Thompson or Ottens.... or anybody really.

I am extremely happy with our squad so trading players IMO would be stupid, I think the whole squad is developing into a premiership contender. But hey.... trade away, there is nothing I can do about it. But as the title suggests, just for the record, I dont want to do anything!
On Stinger, your club thinks differently as they have offered him a 3 year contract. I expect you will use your 1st round pick to secure his services in in a 3-way deal.

F-U said:
If you think Chris Judd (no1 for hard ball gets), Daniel Kerr, Andrew Embley, Michael Braun and Beau Waters are pansies then you obviously have no clue about the West Coast Eagles. That midfield of so called soft pansies are able to match it with the most physical midfield in football, the Brisbane Lions..

So get a clue moron

Again, teams like Port have proven regular season form means nothing in finals. Brisbane don't always pay attention during the regular seaosn, they are only switched on when they need to be. They have two gears. Unfortunately, West Coast don't, and Sydney's accountability exposed West Coast's lack of it.

Judd can get all the hard ball gets he wants, but if he is not accountable to his opponent he will get cut up...see Paul Williams, 2004 Elimination Final.

Accountability is not about hard ball gets. Accountability is about not running forward of the ball when the situation does not warrant it. That's what your midfielders do, and will get cut up when the game is on the line.

You're the one without a clue, mate.