Sacramento Kings
With the Wizard Cup match against the powder fast approaching I thought I would try and put my coaching hat on and come up with some key match ups for the game.

Stenglein Vs Francou:

We absolutely HAVE to control this guy because he has a tendancy to kill us in these games. He is as tough as they come so I think Stenglein would be a good match up for him. Stenglein usually gets the first crack at the oppositions best midfielder and usually does a good job. So I say tag Francou with Stenglein but allow Stenglein to be offensive himself.

Goodwin Vs James:

James is arguably Port's 2nd best midfielder and requires attention. I feel Goodwin would be good match up for him since Goody is also good at negating his opponent and getting loads of footy himself.

Biglands Vs Primus:

I would start Biglands ahead of Clarke. Biglands seems to upset Primus at the centre bounces and had the body strenght to wrestle with Primus at stoppages. If Primus goes to forward line Biglands follows.

Hart Vs C. Cornes:

Chad is a real treat in the air and around the ground. Hart has played on him in the past and has generally done a good job. I think Hart has the height, agility and aerobic capacity to go with Cornes.

McGregor Vs Tredrea:

Having heard all the reports at how much Kenny has improved during the pre-season I would give him a first crack at Tredrea. My instruction would be to spoil, spoil and spoil some more.:D If it doesn't work get Smart to stand Tredrea.

Torney Vs Dew:

Dew is a real worry especially with his long bombs and possibility of kicking 9 pointers. Torney is a disciplined defender who does his job with the minimum of fuss. Has the size to go with Dew and also has the running capacity.

John**** Vs Pickett:

This would be a HUGE test for Stiffy, playing on his hero. Both play similar styles and both are physical. One thing Stiffy doesn't lack is confidence so he will ALWAYS back himself in.

As always feel free to comment:D

Stenglein must, must take Francou who destroys us in most games. Perhaps Edwards could take James, freeing up Goody. Who will Carr tag with no Roo or Sugar?

Burton v Stevens would also great matchup on a wing. Both have great running ability & can do heaps of damage for their respective side.

Burns v S Burgoyne could be on the cards if the Power wish to use jb as more of a defender.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Stenglein must, must take Francou who destroys us in most games. Perhaps Edwards could take James, freeing up Goody. Who will Carr tag with no Roo or Sugar?

Burton v Stevens would also great matchup on a wing. Both have great running ability & can do heaps of damage for their respective side.

Burns v S Burgoyne could be on the cards if the Power wish to use jb as more of a defender.

I'm with you Kane we have to curb the influence of Francou & James but also the work of Primus at stoppages although with the new rules concerning ruck contests this might help in some way,
As for N Stevens control his feed from the above 3 & that will see him struggle for quality possessions,

Would use Nigel on Tredrea & McGregor on Cornes if Cornes plays up forward,

Don't be surprised to see some unusual placings put on the field by both coaches & what ever happens we have to start off in a positive frame of mind regardless of the injuries to key players.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Torney Vs Dew:

Dew is a real worry especially with his long bombs and possibility of kicking 9 pointers. Torney is a disciplined defender who does his job with the minimum of fuss. Has the size to go with Dew and also has the running capacity.

John**** Vs Pickett:

This would be a HUGE test for Stiffy, playing on his hero. Both play similar styles and both are physical. One thing Stiffy doesn't lack is confidence so he will ALWAYS back himself in.

Does everyone agree with these 2 match ups??????

Re: Re: Re: Key match ups

Originally posted by noddy
I think Torney could be given the job on James but the Stiffy on Pickett looks a goer & that would be a real buzz for young Johnc*ck

If Torney picks up James then who do we match up on Dew who is a real dangerman with his long kicks and possible 9 pointers.

Originally posted by noddy
Would use Nigel on Tredrea & McGregor on Cornes if Cornes plays up forward,
Port are likely to play 3 tall in their forward line - Tredrea @ CHF, Lade @ FF/pocket & C Cornes FF/floater. Even though Smart has done well on Tredders in the past, I would like our CHB in McGregor to be given this task, as he needs to become our premier key defender. Bassett is too small for Lade, so a great opportunity to give Rutten a go. That leaves Bassett to match up on Chadly.

I agree with all of those Stiffy, especially Stinga v Francou.

Tonight's news braodcasts are suggesting that a few Powder players may miss this week's game - Primus, Wakelin and Montgomery. Any truth to these rumours?

Well if they do miss this week, I'm sure you'll hear from 'em next week as they go around promoting their new movie.

http://www.ezydvd.com.au/item.zml/222292/id=N4QRv:7CcAd

cheers

Jerome

Originally posted by Jerome
I agree with all of those Stiffy, especially Stinga v Francou.

Tonight's news braodcasts are suggesting that a few Powder players may miss this week's game - Primus, Wakelin and Montgomery. Any truth to these rumours?

Well if they do miss this week, I'm sure you'll hear from 'em next week as they go around promoting their new movie.

cheers

Jerome

Primus is in Victoria for personal reasons and should be back by saturday's game. He will play mainly as a forward which could be a bit of a worry. I still say play Biglands on him at all times.

Wakelin: - first I've heard of it but if powder decide to give Thurstans and Morgan a go, Wakelin could possibly miss but I doubt it.

Montgomery: - I think he has a knee injury and is to be tested but is listed as doubtful

Carr: - He has a sore foot and is also considered doubtful for Saturday.

If these 4 miss it might even the ledger a bit:D .

As for the link, Absolute Ripper Mate!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D

I must say, its actually not a bad cartoon. My little sister and I watched an episode together once and it was hilarious. I might have to buy it for her.

Jerome

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Port are likely to play 3 tall in their forward line - Tredrea @ CHF, Lade @ FF/pocket & C Cornes FF/floater. Even though Smart has done well on Tredders in the past, I would like our CHB in McGregor to be given this task, as he needs to become our premier key defender. Bassett is too small for Lade, so a great opportunity to give Rutten a go. That leaves Bassett to match up on Chadly.

I heard on channel 10 (???) yesterday that Primus will play majority of time up forward during Wiz woks and leave the rucking duties to the likes of Lade, Brogan and Ackland. I also agree with you about Kenny lifting up a notch and picking up oppositions best forward. He has to start doing this during this year since by all accounts Smart will not be around in 2004. So I still think Kenny picks up Tredrea and Biglands picks up Primus. Play Bassett as FF and let Rutten / Hart take on Chad Cornes.

Originally posted by Jerome

Well done, Jerome. Fits that mob down the road to a tee!!:D All we have to do is work out which one of them is Blossom, Bubbles, and Buttercup etc!! :)

What do you guys think of a Nathan Bock Vs Chad Cornes match up. Could be a possibility.:)

Chad is a really top player and demands a good opponent. Smart or Hart IMO Stiffy. I think Bocky will start on the bench and be eased into it.

Originally posted by macca23
Chad is a really top player and demands a good opponent. Smart or Hart IMO Stiffy. I think Bocky will start on the bench and be eased into it.

I don't think he will start on him but I would be very tempted to give him a bit of a crack at some stage during the game. Not from the start but ease him into the game.