Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2012 Mock Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Knightmare

knights; you mentioned earlier that Josh Simpson would be a ideal target for the lions if we went for a speedy mid....what other guys should we look out for in this mould.

The lions desperately need a speedy mid/for with a bucket load of talent/skills...A Jetta, Bennell, rioli type...This "Super draft" Should have a few of these types right?

Zyrus Manson, not sure whether he is even still interested in getting drafted but I strongly believe he deserves the opportunity. There are language and cultural barriers which have scared AFL clubs out of him but I'd love for a Sydney or some club with a strong culture and some appropriate mentors to take a chance on him because he is one of the best talents to ever pick up the oval ball. I believe clubs have miss-read the lad and misinterpreted his demeanour.

With all due respect, there is no way you can say any of that without actually meeting Manson and being involved with clubs in their drafting.

For one, I tend to think he was massively overrated. Obviously he was a smokie that very few people had heard of until he went in the BigFooty Phantom Draft Trial, and then he just exploded on here. But he was always going to be a late pick at best. There was a lot of variation in his measurements, and his production tended to come against poorer (and much smaller) competition. I don't necessarily think he is any better than Liam Jurrah, he is certainly nowhere near a Franklin.

And whatever led to him being overlooked, I doubt it's simply a case of clubs being scared off. They would have done plenty of work on him, and it could well have been that they decided taking him away from his home and family would not end well for either party.

As for some of the other 'older' players you mentioned, I don't see Waldhuter or Nelson getting picked up. And Bolger wouldn't be drafted either if the draft was any time soon. I also think it's time for BigFooty to give up on Ben Brown, eventually we just have to admit it wont happen.

In terms of others, Riley Milne and Nathan Batsanis have been new recruits to the SANFL and have been doing quite well. Milne has been playing as both a KPD and a big bodied midfielder, while Batsanis is just doing what he always does - could maybe get another chance like Pfeiffer. Aseri Raikiwasa has come on, and Jarrod Harding is back too. But realistically, not many 19 year olds get picked up after missing out in their draft year.

Having said that though, Jackson Coleman should have been drafted last year and should definitely be picked up this year. I thought he was a much better player than some of those who got picked up, and also offers much more to work with. Was probably the one I was most surprised at getting overlooked.

knights; you mentioned earlier that Josh Simpson would be a ideal target for the lions if we went for a speedy mid....what other guys should we look out for in this mould.

The lions desperately need a speedy mid/for with a bucket load of talent/skills...A Jetta, Bennell, rioli type...This "Super draft" Should have a few of these types right?

I'm not sure this is a "super draft" but certainly it is stronger this year than the past few with some outstanding high end selection in particular.

Plenty of outside talent this year and it would probably be the real strength of this years draft, so there will be opportunities to pick up players of this variety with any selection.

Josh Simpson, Ben Kennedy, Matthew Haynes, Dayle Garlett, Shannon Taylor, Laine Wilkins, Emmanuel Irra and Anthony Bonaddio would be among those I'd look at for pace.

Knightmare what are your thoughts on Luke Reynolds as KPF mini draft selection from Port Magpies? And also luke dunstan as a GWS mini draft selection 2?

With all due respect, there is no way you can say any of that without actually meeting Manson and being involved with clubs in their drafting.

For one, I tend to think he was massively overrated. Obviously he was a smokie that very few people had heard of until he went in the BigFooty Phantom Draft Trial, and then he just exploded on here. But he was always going to be a late pick at best. There was a lot of variation in his measurements, and his production tended to come against poorer (and much smaller) competition. I don't necessarily think he is any better than Liam Jurrah, he is certainly nowhere near a Franklin.

And whatever led to him being overlooked, I doubt it's simply a case of clubs being scared off. They would have done plenty of work on him, and it could well have been that they decided taking him away from his home and family would not end well for either party.

As for some of the other 'older' players you mentioned, I don't see Waldhuter or Nelson getting picked up. And Bolger wouldn't be drafted either if the draft was any time soon. I also think it's time for BigFooty to give up on Ben Brown, eventually we just have to admit it wont happen.

In terms of others, Riley Milne and Nathan Batsanis have been new recruits to the SANFL and have been doing quite well. Milne has been playing as both a KPD and a big bodied midfielder, while Batsanis is just doing what he always does - could maybe get another chance like Pfeiffer. Aseri Raikiwasa has come on, and Jarrod Harding is back too. But realistically, not many 19 year olds get picked up after missing out in their draft year.

Having said that though, Jackson Coleman should have been drafted last year and should definitely be picked up this year. I thought he was a much better player than some of those who got picked up, and also offers much more to work with. Was probably the one I was most surprised at getting overlooked.

The comments I have heard about Manson is that he was "confused and disappointed" about not getting drafted.

Manson is a different player to Franklin. I think his game would be perfectly suited to the way AFL football is currently played and would be an excellent marking target up forward with his combination of leaping ability, body control in the air and strong hands in the air which are as good as any.

This is my view, but his production is absolutely unbelieveable for a young tall forward, regardless of the competition he is playing against. These are man size numbers, not numbers of an 18 year old kid. Manson's numbers stayed consistently high so his results were hardly outliers. It would have been optimal to have seen him against more high level competition but anyone who can produce to the level Manson has at any level can play.

This article might be worth a read and similar to my interpretation of why Manson was not drafted without knowing all the details: http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/socie...ch-modern-afl-must-engage-20120323-1vphu.html

Coleman I didn't rate last year. Is those few years older and didn't nearly dominate the way he should have at his size last year. But I like the way he has started this season and I'm quickly growing into a fan now that he has started to show some serious development.

I always watch the state leaguers more closely coming up to and during the finals. So quite likely I'll have an entirely different list come draft time of mature agers I see a future in as I did last year and years gone past.

See, I think that article is a cop out to all the clubs. It suggests they would have treated him like any other player off the street, I very much doubt that. Nobody would have expected him to be a scholar, the clubs would have been very forgiving in the interviews.

The reason he was confused is more likely to do with people buying into the media hype that surrounded him. But again, that was all drawn up by people with no inside knowledge. I just think its a two way street, and that blaming the clubs for overlooking him is the easy way out.

You are right. Marcon and Coleman have started the year well. Coleman's development is particularly encouraging considering how far back he is coming from. Lock impressed me some weeks ago when I saw his game. Willie Wheeler looks like another bigfooty favourite who will get talked about again this year with his continued improvement.

Myles Bolger is a favourite of mine and should have made a rookie list at worst last year. If he has a healthy season he should make an AFL list.

Zyrus Manson, not sure whether he is even still interested in getting drafted but I strongly believe he deserves the opportunity. There are language and cultural barriers which have scared AFL clubs out of him but I'd love for a Sydney or some club with a strong culture and some appropriate mentors to take a chance on him because he is one of the best talents to ever pick up the oval ball. I believe clubs have miss-read the lad and misinterpreted his demeanour.

Shane Nelson was very unlucky to miss last year and should get picked up this year.

Joshua Waldhuter in the SANFL is another I'd look at.

Ben Brown in Tassie with a full preseason is another I'll be looking out for with interest.

Kyal Hartigan is too good to be playing at VFL level. Any club looking for a key defender could do worse.

Boland looks like a solid key forward option.

Dwyer is wasted in the VFL and should be on an AFL list.

Also really interested to know how Jye Bolton goes with Werribee.

I'm sure another dozen or so names will come up as the year progresses. Always plenty who pop up with strong improvement or big production.

Any I left out that you recommend I take a closer look at whether that be VFL or interstate?

I like your list, of the interstate guys I like, I do like Duffy and Nelson. Callum Sinclair would thrive in an AFL enviroment.

From the VFL though, I have mentioned my two guys I like most (Colemen & Marcon) whilst everyone knows about Wheeler.

Dont really worry about to many of the others (apart from maybe Boland who is really encouraging in his development).

Also I'd be interested to hear a summary on Ben Duscher's game and your thoughts on what sort of impact you could see him having at AFL level. Being an Essendon fan and close VFL follower you would have a much stronger grasp on his game than I do. The more detail the better as I see very little Bendigo VFL.

Ben Duscher is a very interesting prospect. Have heard that 2 - 3 AFL clubs have been interested in him the past couple of years. Word has it, an injury got out and recruiters were put off by him. He is a carpenter by trade and the toll working 5 days a week in a fairly taxing trade has never really allowed him to get his body 100%.

He isn't quick by foot, but quick in mind. He is dual footed and can kick distance. An accumulator who you would hardly notice but has had it 25+ times. Started off with the flashy high marks and long goals when he first came (back) to Bendigo but has since increased his aerobic capacity to allow him to run out full games in the midfield.

A clean player who has led Bendigo superbly, he would not be the worst player on an AFL list should he be given a go.

KM

Can you give me a little bit more info on a couple of Stingrays boys?

Jake Calvert had another best on ground playing Queensland up north yesterday, along with his best on ground 3 weeks ago against the Rebels.

Would love your take on him and another Stingray, Billy Rolfe?

Thanks for that buddy :thumbsu:

Chris25 or Knightmare -

Is Kurt Heatherley from NZ (Hawthorn aligned) a tall mdifielder?

Knightmare what are your thoughts on Luke Reynolds as KPF mini draft selection from Port Magpies? And also luke dunstan as a GWS mini draft selection 2?

At this stage it's most likely that Jack Martin and Jesse Hogan will go 1+2 in the minidraft.

Haven't seen allot of Reynolds and Dunstan yet so I'll leave it to the SA scouts who have seen more of their games to give you their thoughts but both are among the better SA prospects for next year.

interesting to see Sam Mayes still been touted/played as a med forward...he spent most his junior days (playing senior footy) as a midfielder/wingman

I'm keen to see where he plays for SA in the u18 champs. If he does play a more perminant midfield role he could push up high in the draft order if he can do it well.

Ben Duscher is a very interesting prospect. Have heard that 2 - 3 AFL clubs have been interested in him the past couple of years. Word has it, an injury got out and recruiters were put off by him. He is a carpenter by trade and the toll working 5 days a week in a fairly taxing trade has never really allowed him to get his body 100%.

He isn't quick by foot, but quick in mind. He is dual footed and can kick distance. An accumulator who you would hardly notice but has had it 25+ times. Started off with the flashy high marks and long goals when he first came (back) to Bendigo but has since increased his aerobic capacity to allow him to run out full games in the midfield.

A clean player who has led Bendigo superbly, he would not be the worst player on an AFL list should he be given a go.

Thanks for the notes on Duscher. Interesting to hear that he is a tradie. What is Duscher's inside game like? Is he mostly outside or a strong inside ball winner also?

KM

Can you give me a little bit more info on a couple of Stingrays boys?

Jake Calvert had another best on ground playing Queensland up north yesterday, along with his best on ground 3 weeks ago against the Rebels.

Would love your take on him and another Stingray, Billy Rolfe?

Thanks for that buddy :thumbsu:

Calvert has shown some strong improvement since last season. Is that year older as a ruckman. Don't have his measurements but is a strong body and really attacks the ball hard. Can take contested grabs and will crash packs. Has shown that he can sneak forward and kick some goals and has started the season well.

Rolfe has played some good footy for some years. Big ball winner and high production midfielder. Has also at times shown some ability up forward this year snaging some goals. Rolfe is one I'm keen to see produce at the U18 champs against strong competition.

Chris25 or Knightmare -

Is Kurt Heatherley from NZ (Hawthorn aligned) a tall mdifielder?

More of a midfielder. Is strong overhead which is a great asset for a tall mid. Has some quickness. Reasonably duel sided. Willing tackler and just appears to have a dip when he plays. Will be a handy addition.

Thanks for the notes on Duscher. Interesting to hear that he is a tradie. What is Duscher's inside game like? Is he mostly outside or a strong inside ball winner also?

He is actually really good inside, not as flashy inside but generally takes the right, safe option.. He is a tradie as well, carpenter if I am correct. He can win the ball on the inside as well as link up on the outside. I've seen him tear games apart playing as an inside midfielder whilst I think his fortay will be a Jason Porplyzia half forward/third tall forward if he were given a shot at the big time, with some stints on ball (should he build a tank).

Calvert has shown some strong improvement since last season. Is that year older as a ruckman. Don't have his measurements but is a strong body and really attacks the ball hard. Can take contested grabs and will crash packs. Has shown that he can sneak forward and kick some goals and has started the season well.

Rolfe has played some good footy for some years. Big ball winner and high production midfielder. Has also at times shown some ability up forward this year snaging some goals. Rolfe is one I'm keen to see produce at the U18 champs against strong competition.

Ive seen Calvert dominate games this year (in the local papers reports) so interesting to hear how "the big man" has gone and what are his chances this year. Interesting to see how little big men are 'standouts' this year, perhaps a few more are taken in the rookie draft compared to previous ND's.

Who does Rolfe play like? will he be a flanker or could he become a pure onballer?

One last thing bud, any small forwards worth mentioning? See Tipungwuti (sp?) has been in and around the mark again this year, has he improved from last year or is he is just bigger than the other kids?

He is actually really good inside, not as flashy inside but generally takes the right, safe option.. He is a tradie as well, carpenter if I am correct. He can win the ball on the inside as well as link up on the outside. I've seen him tear games apart playing as an inside midfielder whilst I think his fortay will be a Jason Porplyzia half forward/third tall forward if he were given a shot at the big time, with some stints on ball (should he build a tank).

Ive seen Calvert dominate games this year (in the local papers reports) so interesting to hear how "the big man" has gone and what are his chances this year. Interesting to see how little big men are 'standouts' this year, perhaps a few more are taken in the rookie draft compared to previous ND's.

Who does Rolfe play like? will he be a flanker or could he become a pure onballer?

One last thing bud, any small forwards worth mentioning? See Tipungwuti (sp?) has been in and around the mark again this year, has he improved from last year or is he is just bigger than the other kids?

Assuming Duscher has the inside game I'd without a doubt give him a position on a list. Lack of pace doesn't concern me and it sounds like he has everyonething else.

Unsure whether Calvert will get a position next season on a list. Would be interested to see his measurements, don't think he would be 2m so if shorter it might be less likely that he gets a serious look. Just needs to continue to improve, because if he is to get drafted it will be on the back of strong and continued development.

Rolfe is more outside than inside, at AFL level could play as a flanker or outside mid but isn't speedy for an outside type. Will get back to you on an appropriate player comparison.

Tipungwuti has shown some improvement this year and from all reports has put in a serious Summer. Not tall at around 171cm but has some game. There are a number of really promising group of forwards this year. Ben Kennedy, Dayle Garlett and Shannon Taylor will be among the more popular smaller forwards.

Interesting read Knightmare. What makes you think that the lions will take a KPF with their first pick - don't they need a ruck?

After taking Longer at 8 last year can't seem them taking rucks in the top 10 2 years in a row.

Interesting read Knightmare. What makes you think that the lions will take a KPF with their first pick - don't they need a ruck?

Leuenberger is pretty handy when healthy. Longer is looking promising. The long term ruck future looks pretty strong and the top end looks set. Brisbane could do with further ruck depth, so perhaps a rookie ruck or a mature ager if keen to add further depth might be among Brisbane's options.

As for key forwards I don't see anything I like. Jonathan Brown is 31 this year and has little other support. If he can last another 2 years he might be able to mentor a young key forward. No better time to invest in the next generation big key forward.

Mason Shaw is the best rated KPF in the 2012 draft pool right?

How does he stack up against the 2 mini-draft picks everyone keeps talking about though? Jack Martin and Jesse Hogan are prime KPF potential right?

In terms of size, Shaw is a couple of centimetres taller and a bit heavier from what I have read (this could be because he is a bit older), but how would you rate them on performances?

Also, I read in an article that the other players possibly going in the mini-draft would be:
  • Luke McDonald (more likely as a f/s to NM though)
  • Joshua Kelly
  • Luke Reynolds
  • Luke Dunstan.
What types of players are those fellas (KPF, mids, etc)?

BTW - did you know about this incident! http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/eagles/13197559/eagle-under-fire-as-wafl-probes-broken-jaw-incident/

Leuenberger is pretty handy when healthy. Longer is looking promising. The long term ruck future looks pretty strong and the top end looks set. Brisbane could do with further ruck depth, so perhaps a rookie ruck or a mature ager if keen to add further depth might be among Brisbane's options.

spot on. No way the Lions will spend another top 10 pick on a ruckman.

If a gun forward (Shaw?) is available then they will jump, but if not a speedy mid will be the go.

Great work as always Knightmare.

Just wondering who the top shelf ruckmen in this draft are?

With it being touted as a super draft and with the Saints lacking in ruck depth (McEvoy/Stanley/Lever the only options for the future) I was wondering if there are any big men you can see being worth a mid/late first rounder or if the club should take the best available and try and get another project later on??

Will Grundy fall far enough? Is McBean really worth a first rounder compared to the mid sized players around that mark?

Mason Shaw is the best rated KPF in the 2012 draft pool right?

How does he stack up against the 2 mini-draft picks everyone keeps talking about though? Jack Martin and Jesse Hogan are prime KPF potential right?

In terms of size, Shaw is a couple of centimetres taller and a bit heavier from what I have read (this could be because he is a bit older), but how would you rate them on performances?

Also, I read in an article that the other players possibly going in the mini-draft would be:
  • Luke McDonald (more likely as a f/s to NM though)
  • Joshua Kelly
  • Luke Reynolds
  • Luke Dunstan.
What types of players are those fellas (KPF, mids, etc)?

BTW - did you know about this incident! http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sp...nder-fire-as-wafl-probes-broken-jaw-incident/

Shaw is the best key forward this year.

Hogan this year looks to be overtaking Martin who has been disappointing to start the year.

Luke McDonald won't go in the minidraft, but would almost certainly go with that no.1 minidraft selection otherwise. McDonald is a mid/key forward.

Reynolds is a tall and could play as a key forward or ruckman.

Dunstan and Kelly are mids.

Great work as always Knightmare.

Just wondering who the top shelf ruckmen in this draft are?

With it being touted as a super draft and with the Saints lacking in ruck depth (McEvoy/Stanley/Lever the only options for the future) I was wondering if there are any big men you can see being worth a mid/late first rounder or is the club should take the best available and try and get another project later on??

Daniher would be if not a F/S selection.

Brodie Grundy looks like this years top ruckman and depending on draft position might be an option (looks like a top 5 selection, so I don't see him being available for St Kilda).

Liam McBeam is the more likely option to be available and is the other ruckman to look out for in the 1st round.

Could I just have this cleared up.

Luke McDonald if he was to be in the mini draft (I presume North will take him F/S) seems to be the consensus Number one selection.

Then what happened to Jack Martin. I thought he was the best thing since slice bread. Isn't he eligible for this years mini draft?

Will Grundy fall far enough? Is McBean really worth a first rounder compared to the mid sized players around that mark?

Grundy likely won't fall far enough, St Kilda look like a middle of the table and possible top 8 side. Grundy just keeps getting better and better very quickly. I'd be very surprised to see slide far enough.

McBean looks like a mid - late 1st rounder or thereabouts so he should be available unless another club with an early selection is keen for a ruck prospect. But who knows, just so early. Things change and he could easily rise up the standings. There are differing views on McBean, considering St Kilda's weak ruck depth I'd say McBean is worth it assuming a middle of the table finish.

Could I just have this cleared up.

Luke McDonald if he was to be in the mini draft (I presume North will take him F/S) seems to be the consensus Number one selection.

Then what happened to Jack Martin. I thought he was the best thing since slice bread. Isn't he eligible for this years mini draft?

McDonald would go no.1 in the minidraft if it was held today. But no need for him to go into the minidraft as a F/S selection unless North Melbourne are super keen to get him into training already and playing senior footy at VFL level.

Martin showed some great form last year but probably hasn't started this season as strong as expected. Don't think there has been any injury issues but when he has received games his production has been below what we have come to expect. Let's hope he turns things around in the 2nd half of the season.

Then what happened to Jack Martin. I thought he was the best thing since slice bread.

Personally, I don't think anything has happened. People move on, and look to the next flavour of the month. He was touted as the pick fairly early on last year, after 12 months people get bored and start looking at the others. The same thing happens with the #1 draft pick, last year Coniglio was gradually replaced by the likes of Patton and Wingard in mock drafts.

Martin may have had a difficult start to this season, but he is every bit as good as Stephen Hill and Harley Bennell. He's only played the four games this year, and he's hardly been disappointing. Wait until the Championships and his full return to the WAFL in the backhalf of the season, and he'll be the pick again.

If the mini draft were held today Jesse Hogan would go number one, especially after putting a bee boys into therapy down at Bendigo Bank stadium.

When he plays forward he rips sides apart.