Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

Yep, whats been missed here is the relative sizes of the midfields.

SA have alot of talent, but are a bit on the small side. Dunstan and Dumont are decent sizes, and Scharenberg is big, but the rest are a bit of a mosquito fleet for mine.

Dunstan - 184cm, 81kg
Dumont - 185cm, 84kg
Scharenberg - 191cm, 88kg
Favretto - 187cm, 87kg
Buckby - 192cm, 86kg
Aish - 183cm, 75kg

That would likely be our starting midfield. And then throw in the rotations...

Reynolds - 188cm, 85kg
Donkersley - 186cm, 79kg
Bain - 185cm, 86kg

Yes, we have Wilson, Spina and Batterbsy all around the 179-182cm mark but they are the only three I'd consider certain starters. If anything, I could see our team being too tall.

Very good, I think WA are going to surprise this year, there's a lot of pace in the squad and enough extractors to feed the likes of Bourne and Edwards.

They'll be tough to beat in WA, biggest concern is the forward line.

There's no tall target screaming out as a power forward.

Hayes and Fort in the respective backlines? Have been impressive up forward for Sandy and Geelong (even though Fort needs to learn how to kick).

Luke McDonald very quickly makes Metro relevant then.

Hayes and Fort in the respective backlines? Have been impressive up forward for Sandy and Geelong (even though Fort needs to learn how to kick).

Often forwards are played out of position and down back in the champs.

Fort has played key defence before so it won't be an issue for him.

It's all about squeezing the best talents into each 22, regardless of each position which is typically what happens most years anyway. Though there will be some actual defenders I've no doubt overlooked who will be included in the squads.

It's all about them displaying their skillsets in a variety of positions and roles to get a feel for their draftability and what they can do.

Luke McDonald very quickly makes Metro relevant then.

Often forwards are played out of position and down back in the champs.

Fort has played key defence before so it won't be an issue for him.

It's all about squeezing the best talents into each 22, regardless of each position which is typically what happens most years anyway. Though there will be some actual defenders I've no doubt overlooked who will be included in the squads.

It's all about them displaying their skillsets in a variety of positions and roles to get a feel for their draftability and what they can do.
Fair enough. What are your thoughts on Hugh Beasley? He's been pretty consistent this year, would have thought he'd even have a gig above Orr (who has also been good).

He's certainly elevated his game this year. Form looking good early season.

One who with continued strong form could make some noise. Wouldn't put it past him.

Knightmare & Chris25, what are the chances of Dwayne Wilson slipping into the 20's? Him aswell as Boyd/Sheed/Billings with our first pick really interest me.

Entirely possible Wilson is available in the 20s. Some others will likely rise up the draft order so he could well go somewhere in that second round.

Boyd/Sheed/Billings all would be good gets early. I'd like to see the Dogs go tall (Boyd) early if available simply because I don't consider any of the Dogs talls (with the exception of Minson) guys you can win with long term. But in saying that you can't go wrong with Sheed or Billings either. Both are all class.

Knightmare if the lions finish bottom 3 , is there one player they just couldn't go passed

knights will have a better idea then me but i follow brissies list a little as i would love to see brissie up the ladder again and i reckon you guys would absolutely kill to have boyd. you think bris will finish that low?

Personally, I tend to think the only way is up for Dwayne Wilson and that the 20's would be the bottom of his range. The Championships should only increase his standing. He offers something different to a lot of the other players in this draft pool. As long as he gets to show off what he can do in the midfield (as he did this past weekend in the SANFL U18s) then I think he will go first round - either SA team would probably like to have him.

Knightmare if the lions finish bottom 3 , is there one player they just couldn't go passed

Thomas Boyd if he's there. Brisbane need that next elite key forward and this big fella is big time. Very big body, marks at the highest point and is largely Jonathan Patton without the injury issues.

He doesn't have that same freak agility as Patton at the same size but comes from the same program and his game is similarly dominant.

Boyd is very hard to go past for a club looking for that next generation key forward if available.

What are your thoughts on Matty Goodyear? Is he in draft calculations?

knights will have a better idea then me but i follow brissies list a little as i would love to see brissie up the ladder again and i reckon you guys would absolutely kill to have boyd. you think bris will finish that low?
Probley, we have a hard draw now after Melbourne, and even that game isn't a gimme. Think we need pace with a bit of X-factor. Would love to get Dale Thomas as a free agent and get Boyd, and build our forward line around him and Lisle.

What are your thoughts on Matty Goodyear? Is he in draft calculations?

Played well v Sandringham Dragons so you can't count him out. I'd like to see more first. It will likely take a string of strong performances before he enters draft calculations.

Probley, we have a hard draw now after Melbourne, and even that game isn't a gimme. Think we need pace with a bit of X-factor. Would love to get Dale Thomas as a free agent and get Boyd, and build our forward line around him and Lisle.

If D.Thomas goes anywhere while little talked about I'd say Geelong is the more likely destination - despite the links to Carlton due to the Malthouse factor. He was a Geelong fan as a kid, it's a winning club with a great culture and development program but importantly with all the veterans money is opening up quickly so they may be able to make a substantial bid.

Until he leaves he hasn't, but my sense is that he is comfortable in Victoria - whether that be at Collingwood or Geelong/Carlton/alternative.

Played well v Sandringham Dragons so you can't count him out. I'd like to see more first. It will likely take a string of strong performances before he enters draft calculations.
Was going to start slow after breaking his ankle at the end of last year. Kicking needs to improve but a good championship and he will be in the mix.

Knights if we didn't look at someone as a free agent like Dale Thomas who has the same X-Factor type of player you think brisbane needs to look at ?

If looking for additional x-factor I'd say rob Melbourne a second time. Colin Sylvia while his numbers aren't elite can do some big damage and will be better on a stronger team. He may well be open to moving with the way Melbourne are going into another rebuild and seemingly turning over 1000 games every year in their over the top list cleanouts.

Steven Motlop if he can be had from Geelong would be a great get for any team.

Travis Varcoe after his latest injury could be open to moving to a new club.

Kieran Harper at North Melbourne could be another to become available. One of the most damaging players in the competition with ball in hand but just doesn't find enough of the footy. May be worth a look.

Jamie Bennell on that West Coast rookie list if he becomes healthy may also become a potential target depending on what West Coast have planned and how he is performing.

There are also some state league options. Marlon Motlop has something. Dayle Garlett I'm sure people have heard enough about this past season. I'm sure some other state leaguers have breakout seasons as happens every year.

So there should be options.

If looking for additional x-factor I'd say rob Melbourne a second time. Colin Sylvia while his numbers aren't elite can do some big damage and will be better on a stronger team. He may well be open to moving with the way Melbourne are going into another rebuild and seemingly turning over 1000 games every year in their over the top list cleanouts.

Steven Motlop if he can be had from Geelong would be a great get for any team.

Travis Varcoe after his latest injury could be open to moving to a new club.

Kieran Harper at North Melbourne could be another to become available. One of the most damaging players in the competition with ball in hand but just doesn't find enough of the footy. May be worth a look.

Jamie Bennell on that West Coast rookie list if he becomes healthy may also become a potential target depending on what West Coast have planned and how he is performing.

There are also some state league options. Marlon Motlop has something. Dayle Garlett I'm sure people have heard enough about this past season. I'm sure some other state leaguers have breakout seasons as happens every year.

So there should be options.
Thanks Knights

I'd like to see the Dogs go tall (Boyd) early if available simply because I don't consider any of the Dogs talls (with the exception of Minson) guys you can win with long term. But in saying that you can't go wrong with Sheed or Billings either. Both are all class.
In your opinion, if we have a pick somewhere in the vicinity of 3-6 and Boyd is gone, should we have a look at Conlon? He's superb at full forward imo but just suffers from being used far too much in the ruck. That said, it's probably not smart or easy to pass on one of Sheed/Kelly/Billings at that pick.