Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

Knightmare what players from WA do you think have good chnaces of being drafted?

Now a whole lot left with Martin and Hogan gone. Dominic Sheed, Nicholas Robertson and Blake Acres I view as those top 3. Dayle Garlett is a heck of a talent and should get consideration again. Maybe Darcy Cameron.

Others will no doubt announce themselves during the u18 champs but I'm liking the VIC and SA talent more this year at this stage.

Now a whole lot left with Martin and Hogan gone. Dominic Sheed, Nicholas Robertson and Blake Acres I view as those top 3. Dayle Garlett is a heck of a talent and should get consideration again. Maybe Darcy Cameron.

Others will no doubt announce themselves during the u18 champs but I'm liking the VIC and SA talent more this year at this stage.
Any of the South Freo boys interest you yet at this early stage?

Ben Sokol at this stage is the one I rate most highly from South Freo. Has started the season strongly and is good enough to get drafted if he continues to build on his current form.

Not completely on topic Knightmare but out of curiosity, what do you look for in mature aged state league players to avoid picking what I'd call "The Veszpremi" - the player that can dominate with 35 disposals in the VFL and then get 4 at AFL level and have no impact at all? I realise there's no foolproof indicator, but I'm just curious to hear what you look for.

i do worry about the heights. look across the boards and while there is plenty of bomtempellis and dumonts and sheeds there are also plenty of guys that are currently sitting under 180cms.

Height through the midfield is one of the last things you need to worry about this year. You mentioned Sheed there, but he is pretty much the same size as the likes of Aish and Salem - and 183cm is hardly small anyway. Throw in Dunstan, Miller, Robertson, Lennon, Kolodjashnij and the multitude of South Australian utilities (Scharenberg, Favretto, Pitt) and I don't see it as being an issue at all.

Both Darcy Cameron and Scott Jones get drafted, Cameron going first. With a good Championships, Marsh could push to be one of the first few WA kids picked. Cripps too should get a look in. Also think both Aliir and Wood get taken this time around.

I reckon recruiters would be following this trend and looking around for this type of player now whereas five years ago maybe not so much. Are there any at this stage that look like they are worth a punt?

I was so pleased when Hawthorn took Kaiden Brand last year. I wasn't able to get many on board last year, but I thought he would be a good value pick in the back end of the draft.

And in terms of those tall defenders, I do like two players from SA - Jed Redden and Ryan Simister. Redden is a tall and athletic player standing 198cm, probably the closest to what you described. Has put in some solid performances down back this year. Whereas Simister is much more like Brand, being a slightly undersized but physical ruckman in the U18s - but he could play at either end too.

Any bandwagon's we can start up early?

Where dat Waylen Manson fella' get to?

I do love a good bandwagon, always funny how quickly they can catch off. The Manson one was the best, because essentially nobody had seen him play live - yet they were genuinely discussing him as a top 10 pick.

But if you're looking for a new one, then just venture over to the South Australian thread. I'm starting one for pretty much every player. :)

knightmare what pick would you see luke mcdonald going at if north did not have a F/S on him?

i do worry about the heights. look across the boards and while there is plenty of bomtempellis and dumonts and sheeds there are also plenty of guys that are currently sitting under 180cms.

Every year there is a stack of quality sub 180cm players and this year more than any year in recent memory there is a real overstock of these.

Knight mare who so you think the dogs should really look for in this next draft?

One of Thomas Boyd, Dominic Sheed or James Aish if available.

Luke Dunstan is probably that fourth guy but being another inside midfielder I'd look at the others first.

knightmare what pick would you see luke mcdonald going at if north did not have a F/S on him?

Pick 1 wouldn't have been out of the question with GWS and Melbourne both set for key forwards.

Certainly top 3 so you've got a ripper.

Every year there is a stack of quality sub 180cm players and this year more than any year in recent memory there is a real overstock of these.

One of Thomas Boyd, Dominic Sheed or James Aish if available.

Luke Dunstan is probably that fourth guy but being another inside midfielder I'd look at the others first.

Pick 1 wouldn't have been out of the question with GWS and Melbourne both set for key forwards.

Certainly top 3 so you've got a ripper.
What do you rate this draft class compared to other years?

Hey KM.. Really interested on your thoughts on the types of players St.Kilda will look for in their first couple of picks.. I think we would probably tend to go best available, but a beastly contested ball winner is high on the menu, ala Ollie Wines, Taylor Adams, Jack Viney etc.

Coupled with this though is the fact Pelchen has seemed to favour a lot of kids with enormous amounts of composure who are good decision makers and users of the ball.. I know Billings and Dunstan are getting talked about on our board, but I was just wondering on your thoughts on the matter..

Thanks and great work! :)

What do you rate this draft class compared to other years?

Good draft for midfielders. Not so much if you want a ruckman. Neither a good nor poor draft with it really coming down to what you want out of the draft.

Hey KM.. Really interested on your thoughts on the types of players St.Kilda will look for in their first couple of picks.. I think we would probably tend to go best available, but a beastly contested ball winner is high on the menu, ala Ollie Wines, Taylor Adams, Jack Viney etc.

Coupled with this though is the fact Pelchen has seemed to favour a lot of kids with enormous amounts of composure who are good decision makers and users of the ball.. I know Billings and Dunstan are getting talked about on our board, but I was just wondering on your thoughts on the matter..

Thanks and great work! :)

Dunstan is more your contested ball winner with Billings more your all class midfielder.

Both Billings and Dunstan look good. Can't go wrong with either but Dunstan is more your strong bodied contested ball winner.

KM what are your thoughts on Blake pearson

One of many smalls who is capable in the TAC. Started the year with a couple of strong games. Just so many quality smalls that it's hard to see who he goes in front of.

Hey KM love your work! Gws look to have picks 1, 10 and 19/20. What sort of players would u take at these picks? Given that we seem to only go for Vic players. Would love to leave the draft with Boyd, Kelly, wasley-black(NT zone) but not 2 sure about pick 19/20

Boyd may come into the picture with Patton going down with the ACL. It largely depends on what the club see Jaksch/Stewart among other KPPs developing into.

More likely despite the already plentiful midfield depth I'm expecting GWS to favour going after more midfielders still in that search to find even higher level mids than those Gold Coast have recently added with O'Meara and J.Martin so a Sheed or Aish with that first selection is probable unless Boyd is rated that clear standout on the draft board.

A Ben Lennon could be a good get around 10 as something different as a more explosive user of the footy. Bontempelli and Salem are others around 20 I could see if available strong fits also.

Loving your work as always KM.

I think with Grimes going down again the Tigers may be after another KPD, despite this draft being dominated by mids. Are there any good tall defender prospects worth a look in the 2nd round or later? Where do you see Cutler and Gardiner going?

Also, we're apparently we're pretty big on Salem for our 1st pick. What are his pace and kicking like? I've seen a bit of him and been impressed but not enough to judge those attributes very well. Cheers

Hey mate, watched the Norwood vs east Fremantle game last night and that Peter bampton looks like some players. Not eligible for this draft but any rough idea on what pick he is likely to go next year?

Loving your work as always KM.

I think with Grimes going down again the Tigers may be after another KPD, despite this draft being dominated by mids. Are there any good tall defender prospects worth a look in the 2nd round or later? Where do you see Cutler and Gardiner going?

Also, we're apparently we're pretty big on Salem for our 1st pick. What are his pace and kicking like? I've seen a bit of him and been impressed but not enough to judge those attributes very well. Cheers

Darcy Gardiner I see going around that early second round mark and is probably that only key defender I'm liking at this stage.

Tom Cutler having missed time may go later. At 190cm he may develop into more of a tall utility.

If looking key defence I'd look to add a either a mature ager if someone comes through in the second half of the season or the trade/free agent route.

Salem is a good user of the footy. Not super damaging but composed and hits his targets. For pace he's not a line breaker but a high motor guy with a strong work rate.

Hey mate, watched the Norwood vs east Fremantle game last night and that Peter bampton looks like some players. Not eligible for this draft but any rough idea on what pick he is likely to go next year?

Have seen bits of Bampton. Strong bodied inside mid for a 17 year old and has a real hunger for the contest from the bits I've seen. I'd like to see him play against stronger competition during the u18 champs to see exactly where he is at but looks draftable.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-22/aflcomaus-top-20-draft-prospects
if you were going to number this list what would you go with

I'll go one better and offer my up to date best 35 for 2013.

Power Rankings for 2013:
*Potential A-graders*
1. Jesse Hogan (WA - KPF) – Melbourne via minidraft
2. Jack Martin (WA - Util) – Gold Coast via minidraft
3. Luke McDonald (VIC - UTIL – NM F/S)
4. Thomas Boyd (VIC - KPF)
5.Dominic Sheed (WA – Mid)
6. James Aish (SA - Mid)
7. Jack Billings (VIC – Fwd/Mid)
8. Matt Crouch (VIC - Mid)
9.Luke Dunstan (SA –Mid/Fwd)
10.Ben Lennon (VIC - Fwd)
--
*Potentially high level AFL footballers*
11. Matt Scharenberg (SA – Mid/Def)
12. Josh Kelly (VIC - Mid)
13. Trent Dumont (SA - Mid)
14. Nathan Freeman (VIC – Mid)
15. Christian Salem (VIC - Mid)
16. Marcus Bontempelli (VIC – Mid)
17. Lloyd Perris (NSW – Mid - Syd)
18. Cameron Conlon (VIC – KPF/Ruck)
19. Darcy Gardiner (VIC – KPD)
20. Kade Kolodjashnij (TAS – Util)
21. Dwayne Wilson (SA – Mid)
22. Alex Spina (SA – Mid)
23. Nicholas Robertson (WA – Mid)
24. Blake Acres (WA – Mid)
25. William Maginness (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
26. James Tsitas (VIC – Mid)
27. Billy Hartung (VIC - Mid)
28. Lewis Taylor (VIC – Mid)
29. Jarman Impey (VIC – Fwd)
30. Erin Wasley-Black (NT – Def)
31. Jay Kennedy-Harris (VIC – Fwd)
32. Cain Tickner (QLD – KPP - Brisbane)
33. Isaac Conway (QLD – Mid- Brisbane)
34. Isaiah Miller (VIC – Mid)
35. Eli Templeton (TAS - Mid)

KM, I think Ben Lennon will be the big mover after the championships. Can you see him moving into top 10 contention?