Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Do you think the Blues made the wrong call on Cripps?

Cripps still has the opportunity to make the grade. Late bloomer so still has more improvement to come. It's unlikely he was the best guy there but that could be said of any pick. If he becomes a regular down the track it can be marked a good pick, but for now until then it's up in the air.

Knightmare, what are the similarities with O'Rourke? in watching GWS I haven't been able to work out what special talents landed him top 3 in the draft. Where would be compare to the midfield talent on offer this year Pick wise? top 5? Top 10? Cheers

Like O'Rourke, Menadue is more a receiver than ball winner. Menadue has equal if not possibly better pace and ability to take on the game. Menadue has equal or better footskills. O'Rourke is the slightly more productive of the two but similar style and both have the ability to do many of the same things.

O'Rourke I saw as an outside top 10 pick in his draft year and I see Menadue the same. Both 10-15 talents in their respective drafts. The two drafts are both pretty similar quality.

Knightmare You mention the likes of Tim Jones, as a possible draftee. What are your thoughts on somebody like Mat Hanson? He didn't play with Jones in the Div 2 Comp, but he is a teammate of Jones at the Western Storm. In my eyes has more to offer then Jones (no offence to Tim he is a great bloke and player), or any other player currently in the TSL. Tested very well at the Tassie combine according to reports.

Haven't seen Hanson play. Not familiar with him. From Tasmania unless a guy plays u18 champs changes are I haven't seen them.

Is there any footage of Hanson available online or stats?

what kpf will the dogs be looking at pick 5??

Not out of the question Peter Wright slides depending on how he closes out the season and how clubs evaluate him.

For a key forward Reece McKenzie is my guy. Genuine power, marking forward. Would take him before Darcy Moore.

I was looking at who were the best performers in the championships in terms of disposals and I was wondering weigh or you think these players will be drafted if drafted at all.
Keays, Benjamin
And Abraham ankers

Ben Keays is eligible next year as a Brisbane academy next year. He is my favourite talent in the draft next year. He is the best talent QLD has produced since Dayne Beams and is in that same category as someone with the scope to become a very high level midfielder.

Abraham Ankers is a scrappy little fella for NT with his ball use suspect. Mostly just found the ball because others haven't. Most likely overlooked but I've been wrong before.

Do you think either of Lech Featherstone from Coburg or Brett Eddy from South Adelaide would be worth a late selection/rookie pick?

Having seen Featherstone quite a few times, I would definitely have him a chance. Strong hands, smart leading patterns and knows where the goals are. Biggest issue for mine is he's not great defensively, but a genuine KPP at 193/96. Eddy I can't comment on, someone like Chris25 would know more

Josh McGuienness and Caleb Hislop from Tassie! I'm from Tassie and not sure how this guy compares to other players his name is Jesse Johnson. I know him very well and go to school with his younger brother!

Featherstone has shown some potential but needs another year of development in the VFL.

Brett Eddy I've seen plenty of. Used to play for Collingwood VFL before switching to the SANFL last year (which I also now watch more frequently than VFL with not only some good u18 talent playing there but also slightly better state league talent). Eddy may not be a best 22 guy but as depth I like him. Definitely the best of the state league key forwards and is in the mix late/rookie with his first half to the season particularly impressive.

Knightmare is there any talent coming out of Tasmania that you think will get drafted?

Josh McGuinness is in the mix. Caleb Hislop and Tim Jones are the other chances.

Nice update knightmare, just curious as to why de goey has slipped and Menadue has sky rocketed? Menadue sounds like a quality player would be happy with him although others have him going later second round.

Haven't seen Hanson play. Not familiar with him. From Tasmania unless a guy plays u18 champs changes are I haven't seen them.
He played u18s last year for Tassie and was really good, but went under the radar a little due to the amount of talent in Tassie last year. There was an article in the paper last month saying a few teams have been asking about him.

Jones did have the best numbers for the champs per game but he also did it against Div 2 sides which takes the gloss off it. That and having a disposal efficiency of less than 60% despite averaging more handballs than he did kicks.

To be fair to Jones, his numbers in the TAC cup have been even bigger from memory. I haven't seen him play though, so can't comment on how good he is.

Knightmare, why the massive drop for De Goey and Ellis? Most others have them top twenty.

Thanks.

Your doing well Knightmare --If Brisbane get Ryder and Melb dont get a priority pick Wright will end up at the dogs? Thoughts

Nice update knightmare, just curious as to why de goey has slipped and Menadue has sky rocketed? Menadue sounds like a quality player would be happy with him although others have him going later second round.

De Goey just hasn't done as much as expected - not finding enough of the footy and not having the anticipated impact.

Menadue has risen through improving performance and his big final last weekend he really showed more than any game this year the influence he can exert on games. Just has so many points of difference with his sidestep, acceleration and footskills. I like him a lot. Whether recruiters agree with me I'll have to wait and see. Haven't heard anything about him going first round but he looks like a first round quality prospect to me.

Do you think Brisbane would look at Brayshaw at pick 4 when we're a chance of getting Ryder

I wouldn't be surprised to see Sydney make some shifty moves to relieve some salary cap space to make room for Ryder as a delisted free agent.

No guarantee he is going to Brisbane with GWS and Gold Coast also sure to display interest looking for more guys who can elevate them now.

Brayshaw will be in the mix for Brisbane and if Brisbane do land Ryder he is the more logical get ahead of Wright.

Still lots of options up in the air for Brisbane. Wouldn't be surprised Ryder or no Ryder for that pick to be shopped. I'd even advocate moving down the draft for Gold Coast's first round pick and the compensation pick they receive from Geelong if not overly excited by the early draft options available and looking more for quantity of good talents.

Knightmare, why the massive drop for De Goey and Ellis? Most others have them top twenty.

Thanks.

Neither have done a great deal to impress - not finding the quantity of ball or having the influence on games expected. Same could be said of Lamb who may also experience a similar drop down draft boards.

Your doing well Knightmare --If Brisbane get Ryder and Melb dont get a priority pick Wright will end up at the dogs? Thoughts

Ryder seems most keen from reports to move to a non traditional footballing state (specifically QLD or NSW).

With Minson and Campbell at the Dogs and as a bottom 10 team I don't see the situation appealing to Ryder.

De Goey just hasn't done as much as expected - not finding enough of the footy and not having the anticipated impact.

Since the U18 Championships, DeGoey has played just four matches in the TAC Cup. Last week, he injured his ankle in the opening few minutes and didn't return. Before that, he was averaging 17 disposals, 5 marks, 4 tackles and over a goal a game. Considering he hasn't been playing as a full time midfielder, I would suggest they are good numbers. Particularly as he has never been the type to win big numbers. He is instead a big, tough midfielder/utility who makes his touches count. And when he hasn't been playing for Oakleigh, DeGoey has been lining up for his school and has had some good games - including one 6 goal haul.

Can only assume you're trying to be different by saying he is the 49th best player in the draft.

Knightmare, I remember last year you said Lewis Taylor was the player most capable of moving like Ablett - out of last years lot.
Looking back, that is amazing foresight, well done mate.
You are a cut above.

Knightmare, I remember last year you said Lewis Taylor was the player most capable of moving like Ablett - out of last years lot.
Looking back, that is amazing foresight, well done mate.
You are a cut above.

Taylor as a small and such a productive small as a junior with a few special traits - most notably his speed was always in my view going to be one of the better immediate players. May not be in the top 4-5 for career impact all things said and done from last years draft but still a very good footballer.

Hopefully I can again this year continue to get more picks right and continue my own personal improvement.

Hey Knightmare,
Sorry for asking this question again but
How do you rate our chances of getting moore with 2nd round pick
now that we have pick 8, and Moore has hip issues which might rule him out of the combine, as well as him having consistent low possession games.

Hey Knightmare,
Sorry for asking this question again but
How do you rate our chances of getting moore with 2nd round pick
now that we have pick 8, and Moore has hip issues which might rule him out of the combine, as well as him having consistent low possession games.

It's unlikely Moore slides through to the second round. Not out of the question, but improbable. 90/10 we have to use our first round pick on him. Recent talk is Carlton will bid their first round pick on Moore.

Since the U18 Championships, DeGoey has played just four matches in the TAC Cup. Last week, he injured his ankle in the opening few minutes and didn't return. Before that, he was averaging 17 disposals, 5 marks, 4 tackles and over a goal a game. Considering he hasn't been playing as a full time midfielder, I would suggest they are good numbers. Particularly as he has never been the type to win big numbers. He is instead a big, tough midfielder/utility who makes his touches count. And when he hasn't been playing for Oakleigh, DeGoey has been lining up for his school and has had some good games - including one 6 goal haul.

Can only assume you're trying to be different by saying he is the 49th best player in the draft.

If he's not playing as a mid in his TAC Cup team it's not really that likely he'll be drafted high though, is it? He looks a good player but it's all very well to play flank in the champs, but most guys who are drafted first round either play mid for their U18 teams or are KPPs.

He is playing as a midfielder, he just isn't spending 100% of the match in the middle because of his value elsewhere. DeGoey would be the Chargers best midfielder, but also their best medium forward - and they only have one of him.

Interested you had Ahern as a selection for WC and not Laverde. Is there a rationale behind this?

Laverde meets our needs far more. I know draft position at this stage is rather arbitrary, but I would be interested in your explanation, especially given you rate Ahern the lesser player