Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Question to Knight, Chris, Skipposs and anyone who would like to answer.

Which Clubs do you see nominating Stretch, Findlayson and Hammelmann to make Melb, GWS and Bris use their early 2nd Rd picks. Personally i think all 3 are worthy and will be bid on. And i also think all 3 will be matched.

It is unclear exactly which team bids but my hope is the teams late first round bid of Stretch, Finlayson and Hammelmann or Melbourne, GWS and Brisbane will be getting out and out bargains in the third round.

I'd bid pick 19 on Hammelman for sure

That's funny because i had Ess maybe bidding on Stretch and Finlayson. And probably not Hammelmann.

I reckon you need a pacy wingman with nice skills - Stretch

And i reckon with Daniher and Carlisle already two 200cm guys, i reckon Finlayson's mobility higher up the forward line would be perfect. More so than Hammelmann.

I heard that essendon's pick, given it's not a "normal" pick, can't be used for bidding, can anyone confirm? Compensation picks thus far have not been used for bidding.
I think a team can bid with it. Brisbane wouldn't have to use a compo pick to get him though.

Hey Knightmare , i have been following Alec Waterman all year, watching him slide from our first, to second & now to our third of fourth pick.

Why do you think there has been such a dramatic slide from the beginning of the year?

Personally i'm rapt that he has slid, his only knock for me is that he doesn't have a great top speed but his contested ball work is good, he is a fairly good kick and knows how to find the footy.

It doesn't add up.

Really enjoying reading your thoughts on the draft this year Knighta. It's like you've stepped it up a notch with the other good draft watchers skip & paige hot on your heals. Good work mate.

Hey Knighta! Love your work, just wondering about a few top end mids in this draft.
Saints are in huge need of quick midfielders, particularly on the outside. Who would you rate in that pick 15-35 range that is quick both physically but also in terms of ball movement (long, flat kicking) with clean skills?

This is a 2013 article stating that they could only use a third rounder because that's the first pick they had. If a team bid for one of their father sons in the first round they wouldn't be able to bid for it without a second it sounds like.

I would have thought they could bid their own pick on other father son picks though. Just because it's a compensation pick doesn't mean it can't be used on father sons. Ridiculous argument.

This is a 2013 article stating that they could only use a third rounder because that's the first pick they had. If a team bid for one of their father sons in the first round they wouldn't be able to bid for it without a second it sounds like.

I would have thought they could bid their own pick on other father son picks though. Just because it's a compensation pick doesn't mean it can't be used on father sons. Ridiculous argument.

"And they cannot use their newly allocated selection at the end of the first round in next year's draft for father-son purposes."

"The AFL confirmed the additional selection which could be pick 19 - handed to them after intense negotiations - could not be used for father-son selections."
"

Rivanwarder quoted the relevant part of the article for you. That's Patrick Keane, an official AFL spokesman so presumably he'd know/check his stuff.

Hey Knightmare , i have been following Alec Waterman all year, watching him slide from our first, to second & now to our third of fourth pick.

Why do you think there has been such a dramatic slide from the beginning of the year?

Personally i'm rapt that he has slid, his only knock for me is that he doesn't have a great top speed but his contested ball work is good, he is a fairly good kick and knows how to find the footy.

It doesn't add up.

Lack of pace hasn't helped. Playing colts and not at league level hasn't helped. With the super strong bodied midfielders there is often a perception at the lower level that they are dominating due to size superiority and in clubland it is possible they see Waterman in that light.

He is worth a second or third round pick in my view but given his state combine invite it doesn't sound like he is so highly valued by clubs.

Really enjoying reading your thoughts on the draft this year Knighta. It's like you've stepped it up a notch with the other good draft watchers skip & paige hot on your heals. Good work mate.

Every year I'm working to step things up a notch so glad to year you're enjoying what I've got to say.

Once the football season finishes watch page one for my updated draft profiles and for more profiles to appear. When games are complete I'll have more time on weekends to get some more profiles up.

Hey Knighta! Love your work, just wondering about a few top end mids in this draft.
Saints are in huge need of quick midfielders, particularly on the outside. Who would you rate in that pick 15-35 range that is quick both physically but also in terms of ball movement (long, flat kicking) with clean skills?

In that top 15-35 range I like Connor Blakely, Dean Gore, Alex Neal-Bullen and Peter Bampton as more your onballers.

For pace Connor Menadue I really like. Again I like him more on the ball but he is still more a receiver. With his sidestep, explosive pace and damaging footskills has star potential.

Jarrod Garlett is that other I would consider in that range as someone more suited on a wing and would be a strong get.

evening KM

i asked you last year about any potential bob murphy clones...players that are a bit quirky, play with a bit of pizzazz and are entertaining to watch. does menadue fit the bill this year, and are there any others about i can keep an eye out for?

Rivanwarder quoted the relevant part of the article for you. That's Patrick Keane, an official AFL spokesman so presumably he'd know/check his stuff.
Touché! Should have read more carefully.. That sounds really weird but that's definitely what it says so must be correct!

Lack of pace hasn't helped. Playing colts and not at league level hasn't helped. With the super strong bodied midfielders there is often a perception at the lower level that they are dominating due to size superiority and in clubland it is possible they see Waterman in that light.

He is worth a second or third round pick in my view but given his state combine invite it doesn't sound like he is so highly valued by clubs.

Every year I'm working to step things up a notch so glad to year you're enjoying what I've got to say.

Once the football season finishes watch page one for my updated draft profiles and for more profiles to appear. When games are complete I'll have more time on weekends to get some more profiles up.

In that top 15-35 range I like Connor Blakely, Dean Gore, Alex Neal-Bullen and Peter Bampton as more your onballers.

For pace Connor Menadue I really like. Again I like him more on the ball but he is still more a receiver. With his sidestep, explosive pace and damaging footskills has star potential.

Jarrod Garlett is that other I would consider in that range as someone more suited on a wing and would be a strong get.
Thanks KM! Sounds like Menadue might be the one! Think Garlett is too outside ATM but he doesn't sound too bad either cheers!

How likely is it Weller gets through to the second round? Slim to none?

evening KM

i asked you last year about any potential bob murphy clones...players that are a bit quirky, play with a bit of pizzazz and are entertaining to watch. does menadue fit the bill this year, and are there any others about i can keep an eye out for?

Menadue is that guy. Has real eye-popping talent.

Laverde is another but with a stronger frame.

Menadue is that guy. Has real eye-popping talent.

Laverde is another but with a stronger frame.

I'm going out on a limb and saying Laverde is my 3rd ranked player in the whole draft. Specccciallllllllllllllllllllll:)

1 & 2 = Petracca and McCartin

3 = Laverde

I'm going out on a limb and saying Laverde is my 3rd ranked player in the whole draft. Specccciallllllllllllllllllllll:)

1 & 2 = Petracca and McCartin

3 = Laverde

With Laverde he is a special talent so all things said and done you can never say never. My query is can he take that next step and shift into the midfield full time? If he can and do it well then he is deserving of a top pick. For now he is probably more a flanker who can as required pinch-hit on through the midfield which is why I tend to have him rated a touch lower.

imo special talents don't have to go thru the midfield much until their early/mid 20's. They can be matchwinners or matchturners on a flank. eg Wingard, Stevie J, Le Cras, Gray, Hoskin-Elliott, Bennell, both Menzels (hopefully) etc

imo Laverde has at least 4 star qualities for the modern game: ability/skill, sheer pace, frame, confidence.

To me he is the one (along with Petracca, McCartin and Wright) who you have to crane your neck to see the possible ceiling.

Hi KM what do you think of Dylan Hodge(Geelong Falcons) Luke's brother and Bill Gowers(Oakleigh Chargers) son of ex hawk Andy Gowers. Where could they go in the draft also did they along with Harry Dear get a invite to the AFL draft combine in Canberra this year.

Just on this. A conversation on the Crows board earlier today got me asking myself just why McDonald isn't considered as a higher level talent than he already is, something you've covered here. Chris25 too might have an opinion here. To me everything indicates he'll likely be a 100+ game reasonable standard KPD, potentially a 200 game top level KPD. Just seems to have it all going for him. So my question to (both of) you is why wasn't he in the conversation as a top 20-25 player a few weeks ago (merely a 40-70 type), and even then, why isn't he in the same conversation as a Goddard type from a KPD point of view. Just curious as I've not seen him nearly as much as you.

Keenan Ramsey for me still. Even with one eye, he's better than McDonald.

KM, do you think Essendon or anyone else will rookie ruck prospect Sam Tagliabue? Starting to hear a bit (probably rumours) of momentum for his name from a few clubs.

Excellent size and late bloomer as played more league growing up. A school mate of Breust's I believe. What are his strengths and what does he need to work on?

Hi KM what do you think of Dylan Hodge(Geelong Falcons) Luke's brother and Bill Gowers(Oakleigh Chargers) son of ex hawk Andy Gowers. Where could they go in the draft also did they along with Harry Dear get a invite to the AFL draft combine in Canberra this year.

Both possible draftees but more fringe selections if they do get selected.

Hodge hasn't done a whole lot. Plays mostly as a forward but has not provided much scoreboard impact or found much of the footy. I would inclined to pass.

Gowers is probably more of a chance to get looked at but he would be more a late/rookie chance. Not a major standout in my mind but has played reasonable well in the TAC as a versatile medium sizer who has clean footskills on both sides and is a reasonably strong mark overhead.

Dear and Gowers were invited to the national combine. Hodge to the state combine.

KM, do you think Essendon or anyone else will rookie ruck prospect Sam Tagliabue? Starting to hear a bit (probably rumours) of momentum for his name from a few clubs.

Excellent size and late bloomer as played more league growing up. A school mate of Breust's I believe. What are his strengths and what does he need to work on?

Tagliabue was invited to the state combine so it's possible a small number of clubs may be considering him as a rookie. He is a big guy and relatively good tap ruckman but struggles some around the ground, with his ball use and also needs to become better as a forward - needing to take more marks and provide greater scoreboard impact.

If you want a mature ruckman this year Sam Baulderstone from the SANFL is the guy for me. Not a round one immediate player but Baulderstone is my pick as a late bloomer who has shown rapid improvement and significant weight loss from year to year and is a really skilled guy who can find the footy around the ground and use it well while also being a sound tap ruckman. I like the volume of work and commitment to his footy he has shown in recent seasons and given his yearly improvement he is someone I would back in to continue that improvement and have a shot at with a couple of preseasons to become an AFL relevant ruckman.

Knightmare

Maynard's disposal gets talked up as being ordinary and I admit I've only seen him once being last week, but he was pin-pointing bullets from the back-line.
Did I just get him on a good day because if this is the standard, the left leg looks to be a weapon.

I was also impressed with Lonie. Good speed, very agile and extremely clean around his toes.
One pick-up in particular was of a premium standard. 5 goals also looked pretty good.