- Dec 18, 2005
- AFL Club
- Carlton
- Other Teams
- GAVROI MOUNIA... GAMW TON PIRAEA
Correct me if i am wrong but didn't a 196cm guy called Kernehan play in the ruck for Glenelg when he was younger
Who
You've got the wrong club mate

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Correct me if i am wrong but didn't a 196cm guy called Kernehan play in the ruck for Glenelg when he was younger
Who
You've got the wrong club mate![]()
This is the eternal problem with Kreuzer. Is he a KP forward? Is he a ruckman? The answer seems to be neither. He's just a generic 'big'. How many of those are successful at AFL level? Rocca is one, and perhaps Ottens is the closest comparison. After that, you've got Pavlich and Goodes, who are both closer to midfielders than ruckmen; and then basically no-one. The rest of the top bigs are either exclusively ruckmen (Cox, Lade) or forwards (Brown, Franklin, Riewoldt)
I see no point in drafting a player if you can't see just HOW they're going to be a good footballer, especially if there is an alternative who is closely matched in talent who you CAN see slotting right into footy in a specialist role. And in this case, Cotchin appears to provide that exact alternative.
It would be nuts to draft Kreuzer simply because we lack ruckmen. It would be even crazier to draft him then shoehorn him into a position he can't play, just because we can...
So you wouldn't draft Rocca, Ottens, Goodes or Pav?This is the eternal problem with Kreuzer. Is he a KP forward? Is he a ruckman? The answer seems to be neither. He's just a generic 'big'. How many of those are successful at AFL level? Rocca is one, and perhaps Ottens is the closest comparison. After that, you've got Pavlich and Goodes, who are both closer to midfielders than ruckmen; and then basically no-one. The rest of the top bigs are either exclusively ruckmen (Cox, Lade) or forwards (Brown, Franklin, Riewoldt)
I see no point in drafting a player if you can't see just HOW they're going to be a good footballer, especially if there is an alternative who is closely matched in talent who you CAN see slotting right into footy in a specialist role. And in this case, Cotchin appears to provide that exact alternative.
It would be nuts to draft Kreuzer simply because we lack ruckmen. It would be even crazier to draft him then shoehorn him into a position he can't play, just because we can...
This is the eternal problem with Kreuzer. Is he a KP forward? Is he a ruckman? The answer seems to be neither. He's just a generic 'big'. How many of those are successful at AFL level? Rocca is one, and perhaps Ottens is the closest comparison. After that, you've got Pavlich and Goodes, who are both closer to midfielders than ruckmen; and then basically no-one. The rest of the top bigs are either exclusively ruckmen (Cox, Lade) or forwards (Brown, Franklin, Riewoldt)
Lads, at the end of the day, we've got 2 no 1 picks and a number 2 pick in our midfield to go with Judd.
I think our talls department needs more attention than our midfield
So you think KReuzer cant ruck?
Or doesnt have a position??
Based on what???
Whats Cotchins specialist role that he can slot straight into??... a flanker??
GET REAL!!... i think some of you blokes are losing it...
Its ike Kreuzer is a big dud... and the boys from Big Footy.have suddenly become experts in recruitment... and the recruiters (most of whome rate Kreuzer at 1) are all dumb!!!..
Cotchin will not be a midfielder for a few years.... he will slot into half forward...
I dont think were crying out for half forwards right now ..
Face it kiddies.. theyre both young and will both need seasons under their belts.. and they both will be good...
All this Cotchin is a superstar.. Kreuzer is shyt is really getting to me...
Why do we need Cotchin (The next Judd as some people call him in here) when we already have Judd... the real Judd.. the one and only Judd... the Judd thats we dont have to cross ou fingers to be "the next Judd"..
The rest is all guesswork.
Meanwhile Kreuzer carried the Knights for a whole season in the ruck and he was run down and injured towards the end... (yes even his draft camp resuts)... whilst Cotchin was swanning around playing school footy and came in fresh towards the end of the TAC season when the regulars were run down after a hard season.
Consider Cotchins State championships form too...
How did he go???
Hughesy's seriously lost the plot.....isn't Scotty Clayton looking for a gig?? I'd rather recruit Jarrad Grant as a permanent forward![]()
was practically BOG against SA in the bog at MC Labour.,
I dont see many big players who can move to as many contests as Kreuzer does... i see very few big men have his skills and smarts.. he tackles like a demon when the ball hits the ground and is in dispute...he is as good below his knees as a man much smaller.... if he cant mark it he is smart enough to bring it to ground where a guy like Eddie Betts will totally feed off him...he can stay a kick behind the play and be at the right spot to get to the contests... HE BECOMES A 19TH PLAYER .. during a game.. where most ruckmen are rendered useless in open field play.... his field kicking to position and goalkicking nouse make him the complete footballer...
Then again ive only seen him play like 6 or 7 times over 2 seasons ......
You start bagging ppl on BF for not being experts on recruitment and then you give a lecture why Kreuz should be taken. You are also not paid recruiter and your opinions are no more informed than any other supporter who has watched these kids.
You say most recruiters have Kreuz at #1 but you have no idea how any of them truly rate the kids. The media has had him at #1 from a long way out, thats all. The media/recruiters ( public perception) also had Tambling at 2 or 3 and in front of Griffin/Buddy etc
I wish I had no doubts about Kreuzer being able to hold his own in his ruckwork against the best/biggest AFL ruckmen going around, but I have strong doubts on that issue.
I also wish I believed he would be a gun forward at AFL level, but again I am far from convinced.
The question has to be asked that if he struggles with his ruckwork where will he fit into the team's structure/plans.
For me the closest comparison to Cotchin is G.Abblett jnr.
Cotch has less depth in his kicking, and not quite as strong, but probably has more talent overhead.
I do not have doubts that Cotchin will be a gun mid.
Mitch Farmer not playing that game ?????![]()
So you think KReuzer cant ruck?
Or doesnt have a position??
Based on what???
Whats Cotchins specialist role that he can slot straight into??... a flanker??
GET REAL!!... i think some of you blokes are losing it...
Its ike Kreuzer is a big dud... and the boys from Big Footy.have suddenly become experts in recruitment... and the recruiters (most of whome rate Kreuzer at 1) are all dumb!!!..
Cotchin will not be a midfielder for a few years.... he will slot into half forward...
I dont think were crying out for half forwards right now ..
Face it kiddies.. theyre both young and will both need seasons under their belts.. and they both will be good...
All this Cotchin is a superstar.. Kreuzer is shyt is really getting to me...
Why do we need Cotchin (The next Judd as some people call him in here) when we already have Judd... the real Judd.. the one and only Judd... the Judd thats we dont have to cross ou fingers to be "the next Judd"..
The rest is all guesswork.
Meanwhile Kreuzer carried the Knights for a whole season in the ruck and he was run down and injured towards the end... (yes even his draft camp resuts)... whilst Cotchin was swanning around playing school footy and came in fresh towards the end of the TAC season when the regulars were run down after a hard season.
Consider Cotchins State championships form too...
How did he go???
I'm saying the jury is out on whether Kreuzer can ruck at AFL level. He is slightly undersized for a ruckman, and others have criticised his tapwork. He may have carried the Knights, but he was also playing against boys. There may not have been a single AFL starting standard ruckman amongst the group he played; statistically, you'd think it unlikely that more than 1 or 2 decent AFL ruckmen would come out of a single TAC cup comp. In the AFL, he's going to have to ruck against guys like Lade, Cox etc; they're all physical freaks (as he is), and it'll come down to smarts and technique. Neither of those are proven in his case.
Now we're talking about shoe-horning him into a forward position. Really? You draft the best player in the draft on his form as a ruckman, and make him play CHF? Doesn't that sound just a little bit risky to you?
As for Cotchin - he's a midfielder. He can slot straight into the team, as you point out, as a flanker who rotates for patches in the midfield. Eventually, he'll be somewhere between a good and great AFL midfielder. You can see exactly how and why he'll be successful at AFL level, plus he can contribute in the short term as well as the long-term. Isn't that a far less risky proposition? And when you only have 1 pick in the top 30 in a weak draft, doesn't it make sense to make sure to minimise risk and get the guy you are 100% sure about?
His form at the championships may not have been dominant, but he was copping heavy tags from all accounts, and it takes time to learn to deal with that. Plus, you have to consider again the level of competition; there's far more depth in the midfield to fight against.
Why not? With his pace and elite endurance i'd have thought there's every chance he COULD be moulded into a Richo style CHF - one who can actually kick.
Who said anything about elite endurance. I reckon he would spend about 50% of the game in the ruck, and then 50% down in the goal square, very rarely getting futher out from goals than about 30m.
Don't get his willingness to get to every contest whilst playing in the ruck and elite endurance get mixed up.
He'll never be a roaming CHF, never!
Why not???
Not smart enough...
Not capable...
Lacks the work ethic???
Why couldnt he do it???
I'm actually not sure he has the athletisism and agility to play that position to be honest. The Knights had 2 other ruckman in Power and Fitzgerald that could have played in the ruck, and allowed Kreuzer to play that roaming CHF role.
Someone who is 200cm would have to be a freak to play in that position. Have a look at Gaertner from Dandenong. Would have to sharpen up his overall footballing skills to be able to do that, but he is the one that comes to mind about that roaming CHF.
One more point. The guy that Kreuzer has been most likened to - Josh Fraser - certainly does not play that position. Not even the great Dean Cox does it either, someone else Kreuzer has been likened to as well.
Yeah but that doesnt mean Kreuzer can or cant.. it just means Fraser and Cox dont..
I actualy think Kreuzer has a very good chance at playing a few different kinds of roles.. He is extremely talented..very clever... and his draft results dont do him justice because he had been carrying a kee injury at the ar$e end of the TAC season.. and i dont think he recovered for the camp...