Lance .... you're time may be up son

Big Slick

Apr 21, 2005
G'day guys,

Been lurking around here for ages, but just recently decided I should sign up and contribute to discussions so go easy on me ;)

Lance Whitnall has been a personal favourite of mine since he debuted with us and as we all know, when he's firing, he's a gamebreaker and absolute monster to man up on at CHF.

He was poor last year and there was obviously the much talked about transformation of Lance over the summer as could be seen by his Wizard cup form. He's gone on to show bits ane pieces this season, but he's still providing little value to the side, and having both Whitnall and Fevola on the ground at the same time can be a huge liability for us.

As much as part of me doesn't want to, unless he can play consistently good footy for the rest of the year, I think we should strike while the iron is hot and try and offload him. His market value would have increased a lot since last year, after clubs saw what he's capable of (Wizard Cup) when he regains some of his fitness, and we should be able to attract a decent offer from some clubs struggling with their forward lines.

Again, I'd love him to prove me wrong and fire for the rest of the year, but judging on the way he looks at the moment (yes, fatter), and the way hes starting to play, I can't see him doing a lot more for us.

Don't feel too bad Slick ,the way I feel right now we should ******** Fevola AND Whitnall off!

Right now we are just making up the numbers,mind you no team wins games kicking the way we did yesterday.
Why put Whitnall on Pavlich ALL game!
Pagan will not make moves on players that are getting a hiding,I don't get it.
Winning the Wizard Cup has turned out to be a poisoned chalice I feel!!

The market value on Whitnall isn't that high, not high enough to consider trading him anyway. He'll be on a much reduced contract next season so I'm pretty happy to keep him. Fevola on the other hand has got to go. He is just too inconsistent and we'll probably get alot for him. Trade him to collingwood for their priority and first round pick.

get off it you lot. 2 months ago everyone here was kissing lance whitnalls feet. and i think that he has been adequate so far this season although he hasnt been outstanding he hasnt been hopeless remember that he played a bit on pavlich this week and yeah i no he got shat on but so did thornton and no1 is having a bag wit t-bird. not one defender imo in the league could of shut down pav that game he was absoloutely brilliant and big red held tredrea to what 1 goal? did he kick any on lance i know he kicked 1 on kouta. but i dno bout lance.

if lance was too kick 5 goals agenst the hawks take 15 marks and gather 25 touches lets see how many people would be against him.

give the guy a break if hes in bad form the last thing he needs is ****************s like u guys givin him crap cheer him on and encourage him and he will do good and all u lot will be eating ur words

gandaal said:
Fevola on the other hand has got to go. He is just too inconsistent and we'll probably get alot for him. Trade him to collingwood for their priority and first round pick.

didnt hear anyone saying he was incosistent bad when he won us the wok. fair enough even i (bein a huge fev fan) was dissapointed with him this week but last week he kicked 4 which helped us and you cant always expect a forward to kick 6 goals a game. think of the pressure the young man is under give him a break hes our best forward by far and if we trade him for a new player who are we gonna put full forward? ian prendergast? exactly we cant trade fev unless its for judd or riewoldt :D

gothemightyblues said:
give the guy a break if hes in bad form the last thing he needs is ****************s like u guys givin him crap cheer him on and encourage him and he will do good and all u lot will be eating ur words

I certainly hope I will be eating my words, and would love it if he fires for the rest of the season.

The FACT is however, that the season is about 25% complete and IMO Lance has been ordinary for the majority of this time.

As I said, let him shut the critics up and prove he is the player that we once thought he was capable of becoming.

In terms of giving him a break, forfuxake, these forums are places where we can express opinions and where we see our club heading and this certainly isn't going to effect Lance Whitnall's performance ... and IMO if Lance continues the way he is going, we will need to offload him whilst he is worth something and look forward to the future.

Have a look back at the Saints of the 90's .... how far did the likes of Peter Everitt and Barry Hall take them?? Yes, they've gone on to be better players, but they are nearly the equivalent of a Fev and Lance for us (in terms of lack of comittment, team value, 1%ers, off field dramas). People criticsed St Kilda for offloading them, when they went on to star at other clubs, but look at the cohesive group of youngsters the Saints have now ..... hmmmm I wonder which option I would rather.

Big Slick, we've already got the youngest list in the comp. We need guys who have been at the club for a while to help guide the younger kids. The games that we've played so far this year, Fevola has had to contend with 2 opponents nearly every time he has gone near the footy.

As for Whitnall, he really is important to this footy club. I believe he is the best barometer on how we play. He plays well and we generally win. Yes his from has been down since the W-Cup, but we need to play him where he does his best work, and that is CHF. We've been hurt with Livo and T-bird not playing, and this has meant that Whitnall has had to fill holes in the backline.

IMO, you should never trade away KPP's, as they take longer to develop and aren't as readily available as your small players.

Lance has been very disappointing so far this season. For someone on so much money he does not perform.

He is not the answer at CHF. He is a one dimensional player. Can only mark it when it is kicked in front of him.

Until we get a gun CHF, we won't be going anywhere.

You can't have your 2 key forwards being only 190cm tall.

I'm not sure if too many clubs would be interested in him.

I reckon Richmond would take him.

We need a KPP, and Lance can be the perfect player for our sort of structure.

I forgave Larnce during the Wok Cup, but he just isn't cutting it..But he's defintely a more useful player around the ground than Fev..I reckon we trade Fev and get someone with discipline. Fev only does well against ******** oppostiotn, and will no doubt be the same at other clubs.

gothemightyblues said:
didnt hear anyone saying he was incosistent bad when he won us the wok. fair enough even i (bein a huge fev fan) was dissapointed with him this week but last week he kicked 4 which helped us and you cant always expect a forward to kick 6 goals a game. think of the pressure the young man is under give him a break hes our best forward by far and if we trade him for a new player who are we gonna put full forward? ian prendergast? exactly we cant trade fev unless its for judd or riewoldt :D

as a full forward with the game plan pagan plays fev needs to be kicking 4 goals a game. 1 goal a quarter is a minimum requirement

we also require more goals from our midfield.

legendtofski said:
I forgave Larnce during the Wok Cup, but he just isn't cutting it..But he's defintely a more useful player around the ground than Fev..I reckon we trade Fev and get someone with discipline. Fev only does well against ******** oppostiotn, and will no doubt be the same at other clubs.
out of interest, what do you reckon you'd ask for Fevola. top 1st round draft picks? or a good player?

blues4flag said:
He hasn't performed nearly as well as expected, but keep in mind that he has had to play in defense a lot of the time, in the absence of Livo and Thornton. Once Livo comes back, he should be better, but if he doesn't improve, we might have to trade him.

Can't believe I'm hearing trade talk already....
I think Lance is a hack... always have but I'm the opposition (so who cares what I think). Focus on your boys playing for your club and playing well. Start talking trades when your season's over (at least decided).

I hope he sucks this week, but kills everyone else.

Should be a good game Friday I can;t wait.

The winner should/could be inside the eight at the end of the round.

col44 said:
Can't believe I'm hearing trade talk already....
I think Lance is a hack... always have but I'm the opposition (so who cares what I think). Focus on your boys playing for your club and playing well. Start talking trades when your season's over (at least decided).

I hope he sucks this week, but kills everyone else.

Should be a good game Friday I can;t wait.

The winner should/could be inside the eight at the end of the round.

Well, I obviously don't want him to leave the Blues, he's one of my favourite players down here. What I am saying is if he doesn't perform this season than he should be traded, but as I wrote earlier I do believe his form will improve with the return of Livo, allowing him to play forward instead of in the defence.

Lance hasn't really done much in the home and season to date, it worries me that he gave it to much in the pre season to prove a point and now he has ran his race.

However...

Friday nights can be his stage and with Fev a certainity to be out, look for Lance to step up and kick 5-6 and rack up some touches through the half forward line.

Fingers crossed, we need him to lift right now.

Lance .... you're time may be up son