Lets not over-react with Jack

Man U, Storm, Victory
Look i know its great that this kid has finally got his chance to line up in the seniors, on the big stage, in front of what potentially could be a big crowd, but lets not get carried away with this kid.

Sure, he has the qualities of a star, but being 0-8 i have noticed our supporters are looking for SOMETHING to pin the season onto. Jack's debut has been in the whispers for weeks now and it appears to me that people are expecting miracles from the lad. LETS NOT GET CARRIED AWAY HERE.

No doubt, if left to play footy and not hung by the Richmond faithful, this kid will become something. I've seen it all too often... our young players (i.e. Meyer, Patto, Tambo just to name a few) get crucified when they are seen to be underperforming, when in fact they are simply in the early stages of their development.

Rather than hang these kids, lets sit back and enjoy their development :thumbsu:

Look i know its great that this kid has finally got his chance to line up in the seniors, on the big stage, in front of what potentially could be a big crowd, but lets not get carried away with this kid.

Sure, he has the qualities of a star, but being 0-8 i have noticed our supporters are looking for SOMETHING to pin the season onto. Jack's debut has been in the whispers for weeks now and it appears to me that people are expecting miracles from the lad. LETS NOT GET CARRIED AWAY HERE.

No doubt, if left to play footy and not hung by the Richmond faithful, this kid will become something. I've seen it all too often... our young players (i.e. Meyer, Patto, Tambo just to name a few) get crucified when they are seen to be underperforming, when in fact they are simply in the early stages of their development.

Rather than hang these kids, lets sit back and enjoy their development :thumbsu:

youre asking alot there mate :eek:
thats very un-feralesque :p

seriously though completely agree with your sentiments, hes being talked up way too much

i agree mate he is only 18 heis no superstar yet (hoping he becomes one) and he is likely to get either mal or fletcher two of the best defenders in the comp

Anything less than 8 goals on sat night will be an absolute disgrace and I will be calling for his immediate axing.

I reckon you should ax him before then.. just in case.. imagine if he didn't perform on the big stage? no point in risking that! Trade him to Essendon!

Seriously, I wish the kid good luck - win, lose or draw, I hope he does the Tiges proud.

Couldnt agree more and I wrote a post on the subject last week. The thing is that he has been the one real good news story at Richmond so far this season, a draft pick they appear to have got right and that decision being vindicated by his VFL form. So the club is also milking every ounce of hype and drama out of his debut they can as well to get something positive into the media and off our 0-8 start and Wallace's 2011 comments. Hope it doesnt overwhelm him, fingers crossed.

LMAO at people on here already labelling him a dud or star, as if they have a clue.

I don't know any posters on here from a bar of soap, but I'm willing to bet none of you are qualified to make that sort of prediction based on viewing a handful of VFL games.

Of course its fair enough to make comments on his apparent attributes (good mark, footysmart) and drawbacks (speed, small for KPP) and speculate on how that might afftect his potential career. But anyone who pre-ordains him with the either of the two extreme descriptions of DUD or STAR - IMO has NFI and no credibility.

Noone knows for sure how he will go at AFL level, he may be found out, he may thrive. So I suggest you give the kid a go, and I would suggest more than one senior game, before making your bold predictions.

So if he does turn out to be a superstar, we may have trouble keeping him.

Young superstar and dud team don't go together, heaps of teams will come out to get him I bet next year or so.

LMAO at people on here already labelling him a dud or star, as if they have a clue.

I don't know any posters on here from a bar of soap, but I'm willing to bet none of you are qualified to make that sort of prediction based on viewing a handful of VFL games.

Of course its fair enough to make comments on his apparent attributes (good mark, footysmart) and drawbacks (speed, small for KPP) and speculate on how that might afftect his potential career. But anyone who pre-ordains him with the either of the two extreme descriptions of DUD or STAR - IMO has NFI and no credibility.

Noone knows for sure how he will go at AFL level, he may be found out, he may thrive. So I suggest you give the kid a go, and I would suggest more than one senior game, before making your bold predictions.
Spot on Big Punter! Jack has not even pulled on his first Yellow & Black in anger and he must have had about 1000 posts about him!
I guess we are a bunch of passionate Tigers of Old looking for some ray of light, something to really get excited about... Good luck JR :thumbsu:

Couldnt agree more and I wrote a post on the subject last week. The thing is that he has been the one real good news story at Richmond so far this season, a draft pick they appear to have got right and that decision being vindicated by his VFL form. So the club is also milking every ounce of hype and drama out of his debut they can as well to get something positive into the media and off our 0-8 start and Wallace's 2011 comments. Hope it doesnt overwhelm him, fingers crossed.

I don't necessarily know if the club are trying to milk the good news story exactly.

I think it is more a case of an ongoing process to shift the mindset of the fans. Slowly trying to sell the Generation Next message. Take Richo etc out of the limelight and get the fans thinking youth policy.

Try to adjust our thinking to walking out of games talking about the positives (Edwards, Polo, Foley etc) than getting disheartened and giving it all away.