Swans120

Manly, Waratahs
What the title says, what do you think will happen with our list?

1. Hall - retired (could be WBD)
2. Shaw - stay
3. McVeigh - stay
4. Hannebery - stay
5. ROK - stay
6. CBolton - stay
7. Meredith - stay
8. DOK - 50/50 (i just cant put a label on this guy, life on the line i'd say he'll stay)
9. Malceski - stay but offer for trade
10. Currie - stay
11. Barlow - stay
12. Fosdike - retired
13. Veszpremi - stay
14. Bird - stay
15. Jack - stay
16. Jolly - stay
17. Kennelly - retired
18. White - stay
19. MOL - retired
20. Ablett - stay but offer for trade perhaps
21. Barry - retired
22. Laidlaw - stay but offer for trade (or could be delisted as he has only played one game ie would have no trade value)
23. Johnston - stay
24. JBolton - stay
25. Richards - stay
26. Playfair - delist
27. Thornton - promote to seniors
28. Crouch - retired
29. Mattner - stay
30. LRT - stay
31. Kirk - stay
32. Buchanan - trade
32. Moore - stay
34. Brabazon - stay
35. Heath - stay
36. Schmidt - delist (would like him to stay but reckon he will be gone now)
37. Goodes - stay
38. Pyke - promote to seniors
39. Grundy - stay
40. Smith - stay
41. Murphy - stay but could be delisted
42. Bevan - stay
43. O'Dwyer - stay
44. Orreal - stay
45. Coney - never got here
46. Gilchrist - stay

8-10 gaps on the list according to my list which is a lot, so some of the fringe guys may get another shot. Hope Laidlaw gets another shot.

would hang onto Schmidt. He has a bit of talent, just unlucky with injuries.

Unfortunate with all the retirements, but with a bit of money to throw at players now, let's hope there is a decent player or 2 up for grabs in the PSD

Murphy's already signed a new one-year deal so he's not going anywhere.

Made a post a while back along these lines. Roos said they're aiming for 5-8 ND selections. So far:

Retired
Hall
O'Loughlin
Barry
Kennelly
Fosdike
Crouch

= 6

Upgraded
Thornton
Pyke
(Don't think I'm making too bold a prediction here)

= -2

= 4 Selections at the ND.

Means if Roos wants to stay true to his word, that's anywhere between 1-4 more list changes; could be trades for picks, could be delisting.

Way I see it working out:

Swans Draft Picks
#7, #23, #39, #55, #71, #87, #103

Malceski/Ablett + Buchanan + #103 traded for late third rounder and fourth rounder

Leaving us with

7, 23, 39, ~45, 55, ~60, 71, 87

That's the 8 picks we'd want. Also means two more players gone, which is 6, means two delistings, which I suggest will be DOK and Schmidt.

May also look at upgrading our existing third rounder to the low 30s, or our second rounder somehow.

Anyway, that's what I see happening. Looks about right and feels right to me. Possibly we'll get a player in one of the trades as well, meaning Playfair may be shown the door, or Laidlaw.

He's... played senior games... like Pyke, that's an automatic promotion. Bloody MOD was promoted with two games, Thornton's played 5 I think? Shown quite a bit more than MOD did last year - mind you MOD's showing a lot this year, and he's my man so I should be backing him to the hilt.

Generally if you play games off the Rookie list you get promoted Danny... if you've played a Senior game it means you've shown you have the capacity, even if you finish the year in terrible form, they're likely to promote them on ability.

Thornton STARTED on the Senior's List and was only demoted after his ACL, definate promotion.

ill give it a go

Retired:
B Hall
N Fosdike
L Barry
M O'Loughlin
T Kennelly
J Crouch

Delist:
D O'Keefe
M Laidlaw
R Brabazon
A Buchanen
T Schmidt

Promote:
K Thornton
M Pyke
B Murphy
J Orreal

11 out, 4 in.... thus 7 draft picks for 2009

players like buchanen and DOK have slight chance of being picked up.... may just give them away so they have a footballing future still

however this all speculative, i obviously have less understanding regarding the reserves compared to the rest of you guys

would hang onto Schmidt. He has a bit of talent, just unlucky with injuries.

Unfortunate with all the retirements, but with a bit of money to throw at players now, let's hope there is a decent player or 2 up for grabs in the PSD

Absolutely has talent and we have all seen that, and yeh i would probably like him to stay. BUT we have a heap of younger midfielders who have been either pushing for senior games, playing senior games or out injured. Hope he does stay cause he has been crippled by horrible luck, but above was what i thought would happen and i reckon after 6 years and less than 20 games he is out of chances unfortunately. Hope he gets a shot somewhere if indeed he is delisted, he can play.

Doubt NOG will be traded or even floated for trade by Roos with any vigour. He likes Noggy and he has found a spot that he can play and be effective each week. Amon is in need of a change of scenery imo but i dont think there will be many if any others traded. Mal, Bevo and NOG will all almost certainly be kept imo.

What the title says, what do you think will happen with our list?

1. Hall - retired (could be WBD)
2. Shaw - stay
3. McVeigh - stay
4. Hannebery - stay
5. ROK - stay
6. CBolton - stay
7. Meredith - stay
8. DOK - 50/50 (i just cant put a label on this guy, life on the line i'd say he'll stay)
9. Malceski - stay but offer for trade
10. Currie - stay
11. Barlow - stay
12. Fosdike - retired
13. Veszpremi - stay
14. Bird - stay
15. Jack - stay
16. Jolly - stay
17. Kennelly - retired
18. White - stay
19. MOL - retired
20. Ablett - stay but offer for trade perhaps
21. Barry - retired
22. Laidlaw - stay but offer for trade (or could be delisted as he has only played one game ie would have no trade value)
23. Johnston - stay
24. JBolton - stay
25. Richards - stay
26. Playfair - delist
27. Thornton - promote to seniors
28. Crouch - retired
29. Mattner - stay
30. LRT - stay
31. Kirk - stay
32. Buchanan - trade
32. Moore - stay
34. Brabazon - stay
35. Heath - stay
36. Schmidt - delist (would like him to stay but reckon he will be gone now)
37. Goodes - stay
38. Pyke - promote to seniors
39. Grundy - stay
40. Smith - stay
41. Murphy - stay but could be delisted
42. Bevan - stay
43. O'Dwyer - stay
44. Orreal - stay
45. Coney - never got here
46. Gilchrist - stay

8-10 gaps on the list according to my list which is a lot, so some of the fringe guys may get another shot. Hope Laidlaw gets another shot.

These guys are pretty much gone.

Ablett, I would like to see move on but I can't see him being forced out.

Not much trade bait amongst our list.

Will be drafting big time come seasons end. Will be looking at other avenues for kids such as the SANFL.

Why would Monty be delisted, and why would Orreal and Gillie be promoted? :confused:

monty - shadow of his former self..... his second year in succession where he has really underperformed.... can't crack it back it into the seniors

and i did admit, i wasn't an expert on the reserve players.... i guess i just got misguided by OMG OMG HE"S SO FRICKIN HOT :p

Reckon anyone who's played Seniors this year is safe - Brabazon being the key one to come into this.

With guys like DOK, Schmidt, Laidlaw, Playfair etc. unable to get on the park this season, they'll be looked at first to be moved on. Brabazon showed something against Adelaide and could yet be a decent player.

Yeah would agree with that the guys who played seniors this year will more than likely be safe, its not like they have come in and played awful. Obviously the coaching staff thinks they can produce in the future if they are willing to give them a game each week.

While the guys who have missed due to injury/selection it is going to be a uphill battle to keep their spot.

Given the lack of depth in the draft, I think they'll look to select 6 players in the National draft, and the rest as rookies.

My guess as follows.
Retired:
B Hall
N Fosdike
L Barry
M O'Loughlin
T Kennelly
J Crouch

Delist\Trade:
D O'Keefe
R Brabazon
Coney (rookie)

Trade:
Buchanan

Promote:
K Thornton
M Pyke
B Murphy

Pretty sure Orreal can stay on the rookie list for another year. Gilchrist can have a second year on the rookie list. We may see one of our delistees picked back up as a rookie, this has happened before.

This will give us 6 national draft opportunities and an additional 3 rookies or so.

That is if my additions are correct.

Will be drafting big time come seasons end. Will be looking at other avenues for kids such as the SANFL.

Yeh mate i did initially have Braba gone, but i looked at the amount of players going off the list and i had it at like 13 or something silly like that, so i went down the Stat line of argument. Ie, played senior footy this year and showed a bit having played one game last year, so will probs get one last shot.

Some younger players who have not showed a heap yet will get second chances cause of the amount of senior guys we have leaving. Hope Laidlaw is one of them and i wouldnt be against Timmy getting retained too.

Talking senior list:

OUT (retired or otherwise):

Hall
Magic
Leo
Crouch
Fosdike
Kennelly
Brabazon
1-2 delistments (Playfair, Schmidt, Laidlaw and DOK all are possibilities)

IN:

1st round pick
2nd ""
3rd ""
4th ""
(5th if we need it depending on delistings, otherwise Gordon goes here)
6th "" - Gordon (Scholarship)
Thornton (rookie upgrade)
Orreal (rookie upgrade)
Pyke (rookie upgrade)

You'll notice I'm heavy on the rookie upgrades and recommend Gordon go straight onto the senior list. I figure with so many forced list changes, they're better options than 6th/7th/8th/9th round picks (even if by that stage they're just one after the other). Thornton and Pyke have shown enough at seniors level to get an elevation, and Orreal, always a project player, has just started showing a bit in the ressies, and probably deserves another year, and needs to go onto the senior list to get that year. Gordon has already been quite regularly named in the bests this year, so if we could get that for a 6th round pick that would be a bargain.

That will leave 4-5 live picks in the ND. I'd rather not reach into the 5th round, so if we could try to work a trade where we, for example, upgrade that 5th rounder to a 3rd rounder, and/or maybe the 4th into a 2nd rounder, would be ideal. Perhaps trading Ablett and a 5th rounder for a 3rd rounder and a 4th rounder could be the sort of deal that would work. Anything to try to nudge the picks we use live towards the top of the draft, and the ones we preselect/don't use because of rookie upgrades to the back.

BTW, Swans120, I've got Windon for 3U English, you know the bloke? Brilliant but voice as soft as a mouse, drives me to intense boredom. Back, probably, seven pages of my 3U English Exercise book for the entire year has just been me theorising over precisely this: first challenge was to see if I could remember all the blokes and their numbers, then decided who would go in the next 2 years, then decided which of the blokes left were good and made a team of U23s.

I remember I used to get Hanners and Heath mixed up so in one of my early U23 teams he was in the back pocket. :p

Then progressed to naming the team for each week.

3U English well and truly became a Swans brainstorming session haha. :thumbsu:

Hahahaha yeh i know the guy, had him in form II. Bloody smart guy but not a great high school teacher in my book. Would make a great uni lecturer.

Yeh i did that quite a bit in the back of my exercise books too in HSC year, not quite to the extent you've gone to so congrats on that! Still do it in uni in dull lectures, makes even an accounting lecture go that little bit quicker. Our boys help us through even our darkest times dont they!

What do ppl think of the chances of Henry staying on the list? I think they ar actually better than what we are giving him. Didnt get a chance at all this year and from what he has been saying in the papers every now and then and on the radio on matchday he has seemed relatively confident he will be back next year. Thoughts? Would you re-sign him? Do you think he will be resigned?

Interesting to read that no one has considered saving a pick or two for the pre season draft. Good option to consider if you like recycled/disgruntled players...and we generally do well with them!

I should have rephrased and said we'll pick up 5-6 players. I don't actually think they will all be kids. At the end of the day, this is not a race to have the youngest list, this a race to win a premiership. If we don't recruit an experienced player by either trading of the PSD I will be incredibly surprised.

As far as Ablett is concerned he has to be delisted.Offers absoloutely zero.Kindest thing that can be said about him is he will give you a contest but the facts are he cant get the ball and when he does he butchers it.At least our other hard nosed mids like Kirk and Bolton can link up and get handball recieves which at least contributes to our already static ball movement.Abletts dour type style of put your head over the ball and win posession as long as the oppositon doesent get it play only compounds it.Sorry but he has served his purpose and imo would struggle to be a really prominent player even at VFL level.Would like to hear others opinions on him as i am not trying to denigrate his great contribution to past success as i have as much respect for his efforts as any of the other Premiership heroes who are calling it a day.Unfortunately using his body as a human battering ram for the benefit of his club may have been to his detriment.

Ablett has shown he can play the Rooke role, in the forward line, locking it up and adding general toughness. Can also kick a couple of goals.

Yeh mate i did initially have Braba gone, but i looked at the amount of players going off the list and i had it at like 13 or something silly like that, so i went down the Stat line of argument. Ie, played senior footy this year and showed a bit having played one game last year, so will probs get one last shot.

Some younger players who have not showed a heap yet will get second chances cause of the amount of senior guys we have leaving. Hope Laidlaw is one of them and i wouldnt be against Timmy getting retained too.

I had high hopes for Schmidt, I remember after he played that game against Port @ AMMI last season and thought he was gonna be a gun. But he has struggled to keep it together since so just don't think he'll stay on the list.

But you're right in that some guys may be saved by the fact heaps of guys are out due to retirements.

Hahahaha yeh i know the guy, had him in form II. Bloody smart guy but not a great high school teacher in my book. Would make a great uni lecturer.

Yeh i did that quite a bit in the back of my exercise books too in HSC year, not quite to the extent you've gone to so congrats on that! Still do it in uni in dull lectures, makes even an accounting lecture go that little bit quicker. Our boys help us through even our darkest times dont they!

What do ppl think of the chances of Henry staying on the list? I think they ar actually better than what we are giving him. Didnt get a chance at all this year and from what he has been saying in the papers every now and then and on the radio on matchday he has seemed relatively confident he will be back next year. Thoughts? Would you re-sign him? Do you think he will be resigned?

Playfair should definitely go our forward line isnt actually looking to bad with goodes white johnston veszpremi so i say get rid of him as it will mean we can keep one of the younger ones such as schmidt who have much more upside than playfair