List Mgmt. List Management Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter 1990crow

Who we gettin'? Tick all who apply

There's a difference between structure and ability.
Yes, but Murray has shown enough to be a viable candidate as a backup ruck/third tall, and we have two draftees from last year that are candidates to replace Walker/Murray if needed as they develop.

You're not going to get another Walker but I think we are very well-positioned to replace him. Still a valid question about whether it's in 2027 of course but that will sort itself out.

When did a team, let alone a team on the way up turnover 8 players!

Do some research as this is wildly unrealistic.
Last year there were:
34 players traded
7 signed as FA
27 players traded
60 players selected in the ND
1 player selected in the PSD
15 players selected in the RD (most were re-draftings)
18 players selected in the MSD
15 players pre-selected ahead of the RD (including both Cat A & B)
17 players signed during the PSSP

That's a total of 194 list changes across the league, or an average of 10.8 per club.

The maths is complicated by the fact that MSD picks can be used to replace players who are on the Inactive List, but the point remains that 8 list changes is not unusual - in fact it's damn close to the AFL competition average.

Note that 2025 was seen as having a weaker than normal draft (Port opted not to draft any players at all in the ND). If anything the draft numbers quoted above are below the long-term average.

Last year there were:
34 players traded
7 signed as FA
27 players traded
60 players selected in the ND
1 player selected in the PSD
15 players selected in the RD (most were re-draftings)
18 players selected in the MSD
15 players pre-selected ahead of the RD (including both Cat A & B)
17 players signed during the PSSP

That's a total of 194 list changes across the league, or an average of 10.8 per club.

The maths is complicated by the fact that MSD picks can be used to replace players who are on the Inactive List, but the point remains that 8 list changes is not unusual - in fact it's damn close to the AFL competition average.

Note that 2025 was seen as having a weaker than normal draft (Port opted not to draft any players at all in the ND). If anything the draft numbers quoted above are below the long-term average.
When was the last time we made that many changes?

Feels like the past 4-5 years we’ve made minimal changes to the list

When was the last time we made that many changes?

Feels like the past 4-5 years we’ve made minimal changes to the list
Last year we traded in Maley, signed Cotton as a Cat B rookie, drafted Ah Chee, Marsh, Ludowycke, re-drafted Welsh, and left a list vacancy open (which we filled by drafting Hall-Kahan in the MSD). That's 5 changes, not counting the delisting & re-drafting of Welsh or signing Cotton as a Cat B rookie.

In 2024 we drafted Turray in the MSD, picked up Cumming as a FA, traded for ANB & Peatling, drafted Draper & Welsh, re-drafted Burgess & Schoenberg, and signed McAndrew during the SSP. That's 7 changes, not counting the delisting & re-drafting of Burgess & Schoenberg.

Adelaide went through a big list turnover from 2020-2023. Our list turnover has been a bit below the AFL average for the last few years. Those 2020-23 recruits have now had time to show their wares - and it's time to move on those who aren't going to make it. With the 2026 draft group being rated reasonably strongly, and Tasmania just around the corner, there's no reason to think that they won't take this opportunity to refresh the list again.

EDIT: Vaders post above didn't exist when I started making this post FYI.

I was wondering how much our list changed the last few years so I looked it up the other day, I expect us to do minimal changes this year, so I wanted some context as to what minimal looks like.. Since its a subject of debate on this thread currently, here's the executive summary

Main list and rookie list changes combined (so I don't have to worry about internal movements between main and rookie list which we've had lots in the last few years)
Cut 4
Traded out 0
Left for other reason 2

Main drafted in 2
Traded in 1
Came via other mechanism 3

Cut 4
Traded out 1
Left for other reason 1

Main drafted in 2
Traded in 3
Came via other mechanism 0

Cut 4
Traded out 2
Left for other reason 2

Main drafted in 3
Traded in 1
Came via other mechanism 1

Sources:

I suspect some of those numbers might be out a bit since it seems funny we keep losing more people than we bring in for the last 3 years, but anyway's if its out its only out by probably 1 player on one side of the out/in balance and still gives me what I was after which is the context of how many list changes we have been making. 6 to 8 per offseason main and rookie listed combined.

A bit will depend on trades, the more that go out or the more that come in the more list changes you have whether you like it or not (gotta replace ones that leave and gotta make room for ones that come in).

I think 6 would be an absolute maximum this offseason. I think it will be more like 3 to 5.

Potential trade departures:
Butts
Jones
Borlase
Taylor
Dowling

Potential delistings
Sholl
Ryan?
Maley

Potential retirement
Tex

Potential main draft selections
Max 3. 2 A real possibility. IMO likely 1 or 2 main selections and one NGA. We have a first rounder, second rounder and two third rounders. I think the two third rounders gives a hint we are going to take an NGA.

Trade in
Who knows, Bailey hopefully. There's no other real whispers of decent credibility is there. Heaps with little credibility (media speculating, us speculating).

Richmond are doing a ground up rebuild. Not sure that they'd be interested in a 31 yo ruckman - I suspect they'd want someone younger, who might develop with the rest of their group.

Essendon... well, who knows what that trainwreck will attempt to do?
You can play 19 year old mids. You can't play 19 year old ruckman.

They DO want a ruck who can develop with this group, but even if they draft one this year they'll be three+ years off contributing.

Never saw Nick Natanui or Matthew Kreuzer play at 19 I take it?

No need to be belligerent just for it's own sake.

You don't genuinely believe that young ruckmen are ready to go at 19. You had to go back to players who are years out of the game to even find an example.
Brodie Grundy still playing and starring

And I reckon the 1st ruck picked in this year's draft Harry Van Hattum will too barring injury.

Brodie Grundy still playing and starring

And I reckon the 1st ruck picked in this year's draft Harry Van Hattum will too barring injury.
Great example! Collingwood has Darren Jolly as lead ruckman for Grundy's first few years.

That's my point. Even if you draft a blue ribbon ruck, they need a mature body to play alongside them for their first few years.

Great example! Collingwood has Darren Jolly as lead ruckman for Grundy's first few years.

That's my point. Even if you draft a blue ribbon ruck, they need a mature body to play alongside them for their first few years.

You're moving the goalposts now to support your argument which is very different from your initial post.

If you're looking at ruckman who currently aren't number one rucks at their side, who's better than ROB? Maybe Sean Darcy?
Marshall
Meek
Blicavs
Witts

You can... Goad just debuted for Norf, and he's only 20.
What they need is a ruck aged around 23-24 - ready to come in, and still at the age where they can develop with the rest of the group. Bringing in a 31yo doesn't help them, particularly when the rule changes have neutered the only real strength that he had in his game.

You can... Goad just debuted for Norf, and he's only 20.

What they need is a ruck aged around 23-24 - ready to come in, and still at the age where they can develop with the rest of the group. Bringing in a 31yo doesn't help them, particularly when the rule changes have neutered the only real strength that he had in his game.

You're being very depressing to us, who would like to move ROB on. I guess the opposite of your argument is a team wanting an experienced ruck who can slot in, Mason Cox this year comes to mind

I'd like to move ROB on too. I can see him requesting a trade, and the club being open to it. I just can't see him finding a buyer.

He's a 31yo (or will be before trade week), who has been rendered obsolete by the AFL's rule changes. He's not as tall as many modern ruckmen, and his inability to jump over a tissue paper means his days in the centre square are now (mostly) behind him.

What about 19 yo key forwards?

I think I agree with this. Especially in the history of the Adelaide Crows.

Mark Mickan was a mature ruck from Brisbane Bears
Shaun Rhen didn’t play until he was 22/23, same as David Pittman.
Rhett Biglands, Matthew Clarke and Sam Jacobs were all mature players recruited to play as our number 1 ruck.

Laurence Angwin and John Meesen were tried and failed as teenagers. Ivan Maria could be the player who breaks the rule, but he didn’t play his best footy until he was in his mid 20’s with Richmond.

Even McAndrews was 23/24 before playing as a main ruck.

I’m sure many clubs have chucked teenage ruckman into the role with success, but this theory stands up if you look at our history.

I'd like to move ROB on too. I can see him requesting a trade, and the club being open to it. I just can't see him finding a buyer.

He's a 31yo (or will be before trade week), who has been rendered obsolete by the AFL's rule changes. He's not as tall as many modern ruckmen, and his inability to jump over a tissue paper means his days in the centre square are now (mostly) behind him.
I will give him his due, I watched the SANFL match (well most of it) and he was jumping at ruck contest.

That's all the good news I's got

To avoid any extra embarrassment, he won’t request a trade without someone being interested in him. His manager has some work to do before trade week.