Aug 11, 2004
Under the Punt Rd Stand
I get Tambling, Deledio and Mayer.

Patterson is tall, and runs very well. No worries.

Polo is a very fit and fast midfielder.

Dean Limbach looks amazing for a forward (Running vertical jump and standing jump are huge, and he is already tall).

Why would we have picked McGuane, who is skinny, unskilled so far, and untested, and why would you pick him 16 spots AHEAD of Limbach, who looks the goods?

Have I missed something?

Why would we have picked McGuane, who is skinny, unskilled so far, and untested, and why would you pick him 16 spots AHEAD of Limbach, who looks the goods?

Have I missed something?[/QUOTE]
i guess they are taking a punt,as much as
i hate to admit it mick was a great player and maybe they are hoping it runs in the family who knows? :confused:

so we can offload him to colonwood in a couple of years for another early draft pick. :mad:

Luke McGuane
Details:
Club: Broadbeach/Queensland
DOB: 12 February 1987 Hgt: 192cm Wgt: 77kg
Position: Centre Half Forward
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
Queensland 2004
National Draft Camp 2004

Strengths: The nephew of former Collingwood (and Carlton!) player Mick, Luke is another of the developing tall forwards from Queensland to show promise in 2004.

Luke is still skinny but can take some strong contested grabs and is a good set shot. He even did some ruckwork for Queensland. Although too small to do this at AFL level, it does show his mobility and leap. Was a talented high jumper and distance runner at high school.

Weaknesses: Still has a fair bit to learn about the game and needs to put on some weight. Would be a speculative selection.

Footydraft.com comment: Personally I definitely think he is worth a punt late in the draft, although the Lions may end up taking him on their rookie list. Plenty of work to do, but plenty to like.

Bentleigh said:
Luke McGuane

Footydraft.com comment: Personally I definitely think he is worth a punt late in the draft, although the Lions may end up taking him on their rookie list. Plenty of work to do, but plenty to like.
Late in the draft we took him. So a punt it is and hopefully a good one.

Well this one is not quite a smokey ...

I had him in my August preview ...

"55. Luke McGuane (Collingwood) - Mick's nephew is very young and raw but showed some real glimpses at CHF for Qld. Maybe he might sneak into the draft."

The in the final October one as well ...

"50. Luke McGuane (Brisbane) - There is a clutch of super-raw QLD bigmen this year. Lions have ruck options so might overlook Moran. That still leaves Garner, McGuane, West all of whom are too young to rookie list. I think Luke McGunae is the most talented of the group."

Some good footballers coming out of Queensland now and they are 'cheap' because no one one wants to use a good pick on guys who haven't played at a high level and so are unknown quantities.

Weaver said:
Well this one is not quite a smokey ...

I had him in my August preview ...

"55. Luke McGuane (Collingwood) - Mick's nephew is very young and raw but showed some real glimpses at CHF for Qld. Maybe he might sneak into the draft."

The in the final October one as well ...

"50. Luke McGuane (Brisbane) - There is a clutch of super-raw QLD bigmen this year. Lions have ruck options so might overlook Moran. That still leaves Garner, McGuane, West all of whom are too young to rookie list. I think Luke McGunae is the most talented of the group."

Some good footballers coming out of Queensland now and they are 'cheap' because no one one wants to use a good pick on guys who haven't played at a high level and so are unknown quantities.

So does he have a bright future? Would he want to leave for Brisbane (QLD) in a couple of years because he was brought up there or is he okay with Victoria?

Mcguane is bottom age and a project player.

I've heard that he is a Miller special, along with Lambach.

And apparently we changed who we were going to pick at 16 at the last minute iv'e heard, and that's how it looked on the webcast.

Still, im rapt we've got Pattison, a near 2m forward/ruck who can run all day, amongst other things.

Now when you look at our young KPP stocks we have Schultz, Archibald, Moore, Pattison, Mcguane and Limbach who are all under 20yo!!

And it looks like we'll be talking Kirkby in the rookie draft, as apparently his been invited to train with us, along with a couple of other players, though i don't know their names.

sante2003 said:
So does he have a bright future? Would he want to leave for Brisbane (QLD) in a couple of years because he was brought up there or is he okay with Victoria?

Most of the QLDers are semi-QLDers. Eg Voss was born in Gippsland, Akermanis in Mildura and Reiwoldt in Tassie. There is also a developing culture in QLD that you have to come to Victoria and there are around 10 QLDers playing in the VFL for example. So I doubt it will be a problem.

Ghost of Punt Road said:
Why would we have picked McGuane, who is skinny, unskilled so far, and untested
Then why would Tom Williams go at number 6.
McGuane is very athletic and he has a lot of talent and potential to be a very good player.

A bemusing choice to say the least.

The only positive is that Beck was in S.A during the carnival so this is definately a Miller pick.
I watched the u/18 games and he didn't really shine in a fairly substandard comp.

Fingers crossed I guess,but I don't hold out much hope.

A dampner on an otherwise marvelous draft for us.

After having a read around im not shattered by getting the lad.

We got him too high, 36 which is abit sad but he was our 6th pick.

Bottem age thus a long time to work on him. Can play tall forward or ruck. Sposed to move around well, mobile and a good mark. Is a high jumper and distance runner which wont hurt.

Queensland under 16/18 player. 'McGunae' is sposed to be farily talented also.

A risk, but a good one.

Probably a bit of a risk, but is the type of risk that could produce a very good outcome for us! As mentioned previously if we can also pick up Kirkby in either the pre season draft or rookie the risk will lessen considerably and we hopefully will come out looking very good with 3 versatile, quick, agile KPP in McGuane, Limbach and Kirkby!!! :)

Weaver said:
Might be able to play ruck in the QAFL reserves but at 191cm he won't get near the ruck in the AFL. Even if he grows a little he still won't be a ruckman.

without seeing him play his background and phsique are very similar to Ray hall...Took a couple of seasons until 2004 when he made his mark in senior footy...if he can follow that path I'l be happy although Hally was a later pick than 36...still no quibble , beyond top 20 is a lottery...

Weaver said:
Might be able to play ruck in the QAFL reserves but at 191cm he won't get near the ruck in the AFL. Even if he grows a little he still won't be a ruckman.

True that.

However looks like a long term project for KKP role.

Weaver said:
There is also a developing culture in QLD that you have to come to Victoria and there are around 10 QLDers playing in the VFL for example. So I doubt it will be a problem.

Not so much a "culture", but a requirement of the draft. If you're a QLDer picked in the draft it's roughly a 1 in 16 chance of staying home, so most kids are ready to leave. Some even want to come to melbourne to be immersed in the footy culture. Even if we still had the QLD zone concession in the draft we wouldn't have been able to get him as he lived over 50Km from Brisbane, same as Riewoldt.

On McGuane, I saw him play a few games for Broady in the AFLQ last season and he shows a bit, although I was surprised he was picked up so early - thought he would have been 4th/5th round, if at all in this year draft.

But I wouldn't expect too much too soon. Most Qld kiddies (or ex-vic qld kiddies even) are generally not as developed as kids the same age in Vic/SA/WA. Would be thinking 2-3 years before he would pushing for selection. Hope he goes well for you guys.

Isn't it more than a little bit strange also that Mick McGuane was just hired by our club, a week or so before his son is picked?

Not necessarily a bad thing, but was this some sort of wierd family package? Was Mick giving some inside info on a smokey?

...how is that Grassy Knoll looking on Punt road hill? :D

Luke MCGuane? Why?